Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 12, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,943. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application presents claims that are broader versions of the patented claims. The applicant omitted the limitations, “with at least one of Bluetooth or Wi-Fi technology” and “wherein said adjustable light blinking rate control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light color control unit are updatable; wherein said adjustable light blinking rate module, said light pattern module, and said light color module are updatable”, which would make the scope of the instant application to be broader than that of Patent No. 12,160,943.
18/592,296 (Instant Application)
Patent No.: US 12,160,943
1) A pattern-light lamp system comprising: a lamp unit; a control box, wherein said lamp unit connects to said control box with at least one of wired or wireless method; a mobile user interface ("UI") application, wherein said mobile UI application connects wirelessly to said control box
with at least one of Bluetooth or Wi-Fi technology;
wherein said mobile UI application gives instructions to said control box, which in turn gives commands to said lamp unit; wherein said control box sends light status back to said mobile UI application which displays light status in real time; wherein said lamp unit comprises a modifiable light blinking rate component that controls how lights blink and blinking speed, a light pattern component that controls light patterns, and a light color component that controls light colors; wherein said control box further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate control unit that commands said light blinking rate component, a light pattern control unit that commands said light pattern component, and a light color control unit that commands said light color component; wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate module that commands said modifiable light rate control unit, a light pattern module that commands said light pattern control unit, and a light color module that commands said light color control unit.
2) The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a software download module that permits a user to acquire at least one of new light colors, new light color control units, and new light color modules; new light blinking rates, new light blinking rate units, and new light blinking rate modules; and new light patterns, new light pattern units, and new light pattern modules.
3) The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a global positioning software (GPS) module that gathers local traffic laws and builds dynamic filters that filter out illegal light patterns.
4) The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said control box comprises a GPS component.
5) The lamp system of claim 1 further comprises upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights.
6) The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said control box further comprises a sequence control unit that permits a user to design a sequence of said light color control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light blinking rate control unit; wherein said sequence control unit communicates with said mobile UI application.
7) A method for a pattern-light lamp system comprising: providing a lamp unit; providing a control box; connecting said lamp unit to said control box with at least one of wired or wireless method; providing a mobile user interface ("UI") application that wirelessly connects to said control box
with at least one of Bluetooth or Wi-Fi technology;
wherein said mobile UI application gives instructions to said control box, which in turn gives commands to said lamp unit; wherein said control box sends light status back to said mobile UI application which displays light status in real time; wherein said lamp unit comprises a modifiable light blinking rate component that controls how lights blinking and blinking speed, a light pattern component that controls light patterns, and a light color component that controls light colors; wherein said control box further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate control unit that commands said light blinking rate component, a light pattern control unit that commands said light pattern component, and a light color control unit that commands said light color component; wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate module that commands said modifiable light rate control unit, a light pattern module that commands said light pattern control unit, and a light color module that commands said light color control unit.
8) The method of claim 7, wherein providing a software download module that permits a user to acquire at least one of new light colors, new light color control units, and new light color modules; new light blinking rates, new light blinking rate units, and new light blinking rate modules; and new light patterns, new light pattern units, and new light pattern modules.
9) The method of claim 7, wherein providing a global positioning software (GPS) module that gathers local traffic laws and builds dynamic filters that filter out illegal light patterns.
10) The method of claim 7, wherein said control box comprises a GPS component.
11) The method of claim 7, wherein said lamp unit further comprises upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights.
12) The method of claim 7, wherein providing a sequence control unit that permits a user to design a sequence of said light color control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light blinking rate control unit; wherein said sequence control unit communicates with said mobile UI application.
1. A pattern-light lamp system comprising: a lamp unit; a control box, wherein said lamp unit connects to said control box with at least one of wired or wireless method; a mobile user interface (“UI”) application, wherein said mobile UI application connects wirelessly to said control box;
wherein said mobile UI application gives instructions to said control box, which in turn gives commands to said lamp unit; wherein said control box sends light status back to said mobile UI application which displays light status in real time; wherein said lamp unit comprises an adjustable light blinking rate component that controls how lights blink and blinking speed, a light pattern component that controls light patterns, and a light color component that controls light colors; wherein said control box further comprises an adjustable light blinking rate control unit that commands said light blinking rate component, a light pattern control unit that commands said light pattern component, and a light color control unit that commands said light color component; wherein said mobile UI application further comprises an adjustable light blinking rate module that commands said adjustable light rate control unit, a light pattern module that commands said light pattern control unit, and a light color module that commands said light color control unit;
wherein said adjustable light blinking rate control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light color control unit are updatable; wherein said adjustable light blinking rate module, said light pattern module, and said light color module are updatable.
2. The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a software download module that permits a user to acquire at least one of new light colors, new light color control units, and new light color modules; new light blinking rates, new light blinking rate units, and new light blinking rate modules; and new light patterns, new light pattern units, and new light pattern modules.
3. The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a global positioning software (GPS) module that gathers local traffic laws and builds dynamic filters that filter out illegal light patterns.
4. The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said control box comprises a GPS component.
5. The lamp system of claim 1 further comprises upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights.
6. The lamp system of claim 1, wherein said control box further comprises a sequence control unit that permits a user to design a sequence of said light color control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light blinking rate control unit; wherein said sequence control unit communicates with said mobile UI application.
7. A method for a pattern-light lamp system comprising: providing a lamp unit; providing a control box; connecting said lamp unit to said control box with at least one of wired or wireless method; providing a mobile user interface (“UI”) application that wirelessly connects to said control box;
wherein said mobile UI application gives instructions to said control box, which in turn gives commands to said lamp unit; wherein said control box sends light status back to said mobile UI application which displays light status in real time; wherein said lamp unit comprises an adjustable light blinking rate component that controls how lights blinking and blinking speed, a light pattern component that controls light patterns, and a light color component that controls light colors; wherein said control box further comprises an adjustable light blinking rate control unit that commands said light blinking rate component, a light pattern control unit that commands said light pattern component, and a light color control unit that commands said light color component; wherein said mobile UI application further comprises an adjustable light blinking rate module that commands said adjustable light rate control unit, a light pattern module that commands said light pattern control unit, and a light color module that commands said light color control unit;
wherein said adjustable light blinking rate control unit, said light pattern control unit,
and said light color control unit are updatable; wherein said adjustable light blinking rate module, said light pattern module, and said light color module are updatable.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein providing a software download module that permits a user to acquire at least one of new light colors, new light color control units, and new light color modules; new light blinking rates, new light blinking rate units, and new light blinking rate modules; and new light patterns, new light pattern units, and new light pattern modules.
9. The method of claim 7, wherein providing a global positioning software (GPS) module that gathers local traffic laws and builds dynamic filters that filter out illegal light patterns.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein said control box comprises a GPS component.
11. The method of claim 7, wherein said lamp unit further comprises upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights.
12. The method of claim 7, wherein providing a sequence control unit that permits a user to design a sequence of said light color control unit, said light pattern control unit, and said light blinking rate control unit; wherein said sequence control unit communicates with said mobile UI application.
Remarks
The Office has cited particular columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanson (US 2021/0076474 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hanson).
Regarding claim 1 Hanson discloses a pattern-light lamp system (Figs. 4-6) comprising:
a lamp unit (illumination devices 102);
a control box (300, para 0065), wherein said lamp unit connects to said control box with at least one of wired or wireless method;
a mobile user interface ("UI") application (202, “remote user device 200 such as a smartphone 202”, para 0050; “remote user device 202 typically includes an app or software program loaded on associated remote user device 202”, para 0069), wherein said mobile UI application connects wirelessly to said control box with at least one of Bluetooth or Wi-Fi technology (para 0062); wherein said mobile UI application gives instructions to said control box (para 0069), which in turn gives commands to said lamp unit (para 0065); wherein said control box sends light status back to said mobile UI application which displays light status in real time (“2) monitor whether one or more lights on the illumination device are burned out and/or operating properly; 3) monitor whether one or more illumination devices are operating properly”, para 0069);
wherein said lamp unit (illumination devices 102) comprises a modifiable light blinking rate component (“11) control flashing or strobing frequency of one or more lights on one or more of the illumination devices”, para 0069) that controls how lights blink and blinking speed, a light pattern component (“8) control light illumination pattern of the one or more lights on one or more of the illumination devices”, para 0069) that controls light patterns, and a light color component (“9) control the color of the one or more lights on one or more of the illumination devices”, para 0069) that controls light colors;
wherein said control box (300, para 0065) further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate control unit (see item 11 at para 0069) that commands said light blinking rate component, a light pattern control unit (see item 8 at para 0069) that commands said light pattern component, and a light color control unit (see item 9 at para 0069) that commands said light color component (“the one or more illumination devices 102 are connected to a control box 300. Control box 300 can include the same components described above with respect to FIG. 4 that are included in housing 106 of illumination device 102. As such, control box 300 can include a wireless communication interface, one or more light control modules, memory, CPU, sound generator, power supply, switches, and/or circuitry (not shown).”, para 0065; “remote user device 202 typically includes an app or software program loaded on associated remote user device 202 to enable the user to communicate with/control one or more illumination devices 102 and/or communicate with/control box 300 from a remote location”, para 0069);
wherein said mobile UI application (remote user device such as a smartphone 202 includes an app or software program, para 0050, 0069) further comprises a modifiable light blinking rate module (see item 11 at para 0069) that commands said modifiable light rate control unit, a light pattern module (see item 8 at para 0069) that commands said light pattern control unit, and a light color module (see item 9 at para 0069) that commands said light color control unit (“remote user device 202 typically includes an app or software program loaded on associated remote user device 202 to enable the user to communicate with/control one or more illumination devices 102 and/or communicate with/control box 300 from a remote location”, para 0069).
Regarding claim 2 Hanson discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein said mobile UI application (remote user device such as a smartphone 202 includes an app or software program, para 0050, 0069) further comprises a software download module (“The app or software can be used to…. 16) update software and/or other programming on the one or more illumination devices and/or control box) that permits a user to acquire at least one of new light colors, new light color control units, and new light color modules; new light blinking rates, new light blinking rate units, and new light blinking rate modules; and new light patterns, new light pattern units, and new light pattern modules (para 0069).
Regarding claim 6 Hanson discloses the lamp system of claim 1, wherein said control box further comprises a sequence control unit (intended, see “control box 300 can include… one or more light control modules….”, para 0065”) that permits a user to design a sequence of said light color control unit (see item 9 at para 0069), said light pattern control unit (see item 8 at para 0069), and said light blinking rate control unit (see item 11 at para 0069); wherein said sequence control unit communicates with said mobile UI application (remote user device such as a smartphone 202 includes an app or software program, para 0050, 0069).
Method claims 7, 8, and 12 are essentially the same as apparatus claims 1, 2, and 6 as discussed above and are rejected similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson in view of Schumann (US 2017/0140647 A1, hereinafter referred to as Schumann).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Hanson discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above but does not explicitly discloses wherein said mobile UI application further comprises a global positioning software (GPS) module that gathers local traffic laws and builds dynamic filters that filter out illegal light patterns.
Schumann discloses “the GPS system 26 detects local traffic laws, such as speed limits, and whether or not turning right at the intersection 12 is permissible when the first lamp 14a of the traffic signal 14 is illuminated. The GPS system 26 detects the local traffic laws, and as the vehicle 10 approaches the intersection 12, if conducting the right-hand turn 18 is impermissible, the GPS system 26 sends a signal to the indicator 20 such that the graphic 24 is illuminated. The driver of the vehicle 10 then becomes aware that conducting the right-hand turn 18 at the intersection 12 is impermissible.” (see para 0024, 0025) and “The GPS system 36 of the cell phone 32 may be used to detect local traffic laws, and communicate to the instrument cluster 22 that conducting the right-hand turn 18 is impermissible.” (para 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Schumann into the device of Hanson to utilize the GPS system (cell phone 32 having a GPS system) and detect the local traffic laws and operate the vehicle accordingly, as taught by Schumann.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Hanson discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above but does not explicitly discloses wherein said control box comprises a GPS component.
Schumann discloses “the GPS system 26 detects local traffic laws, such as speed limits, and whether or not turning right at the intersection 12 is permissible when the first lamp 14a of the traffic signal 14 is illuminated. The GPS system 26 detects the local traffic laws, and as the vehicle 10 approaches the intersection 12, if conducting the right-hand turn 18 is impermissible, the GPS system 26 sends a signal to the indicator 20 such that the graphic 24 is illuminated. The driver of the vehicle 10 then becomes aware that conducting the right-hand turn 18 at the intersection 12 is impermissible.” (para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Schumann into the device of Hanson to utilize the GPS system (in the control box 26) and detect the local traffic laws and operate the vehicle accordingly, as taught by Schumann.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson in view of Zawacki (US 2017/0343181 A1, hereinafter referred to as Zawacki).
Regarding claims 5 and 11 Hanson discloses all the features and limitations as discussed above but does not explicitly disclose upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights.
Zawacki discloses upper and lower daylight running lights, upper and lower primary lights, and turn signal lights (paragraphs 0005-0007, 0017, 0018, 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Zawacki into the device of Hanson to utilize the upper and lower daylight running lights, the upper and lower primary lights, and the turn signal lights, in order to overcome loss of viewable light at extreme viewing angles, i.e., both inboard and outboard with respect to the light assembly as well as upward/downward viewing angles while meeting the requirements of any associated lighting functions as taught by Schumann (para 0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Engelen et al. (US 2014/0367164 A1) discloses identifying and controlling signal influence on one or more properties of emitted light.
/DANIEL D CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844