DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,904,588 B1 to Stewart et al in view of US 11,102,260 B1 to Wu et al.
As to claim 1, Stewart discloses a packager having a processing device configured to create a manifest comprising links to a plurality of chunks of a multimedia presentation, each chunk associated with a respectively different first network address by which each chunk may be accessed by a decoding device (see fig.1A and 1B; col.2,ll.7-43, col.7,ll.37-45).
Stewart fails explicitly discloses where the processing device encodes the filename of the manifest as a name selected using a property received from the portion of the bitstream corresponding to the first chunk addressed in the manifest.
Wu discloses where the processing device encodes the filename of the manifest as a name selected using a property received from the portion of the bitstream corresponding to the first chunk addressed in the manifest (see fig.3-4; col.7,ll.1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stewart with the teaching as taught by Wu in order to provide a concurrent streaming sessions to transition to a new streaming session.
As to claim 2, Stewart further discloses where the property is a PCR value (see fig.1A and 1B; col.2,ll.7-26).
As to claim 3, Stewart further discloses a second packager having a second processing device configured to create a redundant manifest comprising links to the plurality of chunks packaged by the first packager, where second processing device encodes the redundant manifest with a filename selected using the same property used by the first packager and received from the portion of the bitstream corresponding to the first chunk addressed in the redundant manifest (see fig.1B; col.2,ll.44-col.3.ll.3 and fig.2, el.214,216; col.ll.54-59 and see col.7,ll.37-45).
As to claim 4, Stewart further discloses where each of the packager and the second packager are configured to create a plurality of sequential ones of said manifest, each sequential manifest comprising links to respectively different subsets of said chunks (see fig. 1A and 1B; col.2,ll.7-29).
As to claim 5, Stewart further discloses synchronized with the redundant packager(see fig.1B; col.2,ll.44-col.3.ll.3).
Conclusion
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424