DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The original prior art is used for the following limitations: “A method, comprising: accessing first location information of a first specified area, wherein the first specified area is an area of physical space in which use of an extended reality (XR) device is permitted; accessing second location information of a second specified area, wherein the second specified area is an area of physical space in which certain uses of the XR device are prohibited; determining whether an XR device is located within the first specified area; based at least in part on determining, at a first time, that the XR device is located within the first specified area, transmitting a first signal to the XR device indicating that a function of the XR device is permitted; based at least in part on determining, at a second time that is later than the first time, that the XR device is located within the second specified area, transmitting a second signal to the XR device indicating the function of the XR device is prohibited”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Peacock for the following limitations: “and based at least in part on the second signal, generating for display a visual indication of instructions for navigating the XR device from the second specified area, in which the function of the XR device is prohibited, back to the first specified area, in which the function of the XR device is permitted.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 11, 14, 17, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pub No. US 20220308654 A1) in view of Peacock (Pub No. US 10366521 B1).
As per claim 1, Chen teaches the claimed:
1. A method, comprising: accessing first location information of a first specified area, wherein the first specified area is an area of physical space in which use of an extended reality (XR) device is permitted; (Chen [0121]: “In step 725, based on determining that the XR experience has a predefined virtual play area, the users' available virtual play areas may be fit into the predefined virtual play area. In this circumstance, the predefined virtual play area might comprise an outer boundary of areas within which the users' available virtual play areas may fit.” The virtual play area is the first specified area, with boundaries, in which use of the device is allowed.).
accessing second location information of a second specified area, wherein the second specified area is an area of physical space in which certain uses of the XR device are prohibited; (Chen [0102]: “The available virtual play area need not be the same size or shape as the physical play area determined, and in many cases might be different in size, scope, and design. For example, based on determining one object in a physical play area is dangerous, the available virtual play area may be shaped in a manner that discourages a user from getting near the dangerous object. As another example, the available virtual play area might be a shape (e.g., a rectangle) that is a subset of the physical play area. Setting the available virtual play area to a discrete shape (e.g., a rectangle) may make fitting the available virtual play area into a predefined virtual play area, as will be described below with respect to step 725.” The shape outside the boundaries of the virtual play area is the second specified area. Chen figs. 4A-5B show physical play areas in relation to a room that are safe and boundaries separating them from other area of the room based on the presence of dangerous objects. Use of the XR device is discouraged in that area.).
determining whether an XR device is located within the first specified area; (Chen Abstract: “Virtual play areas for each of the XR devices may be determined. The different virtual play areas may be fit into different areas of a predefined virtual play area, and/or may be combined to form a combined virtual play area. Each XR device might be provided a different portion of the virtual play area. The XR devices may be sent different virtual map positioning data to provide the group XR experience.” Virtual map positioning determines whether the XR device is in the defined play area.).
based at least in part on determining, at a first time, that the XR device is located within the first specified area, transmitting a first signal to the XR device indicating that a function of the XR device is permitted; (Chen teaches environmental parameters that indicate the user is in the virtual play area, which is the first specified area. Chen [0097]: “In step 713, XR environment parameters may be determined. The XR environment parameters may comprise, for example, a map of an XR environment, roles which may be assigned to users in the XR environment, or the like. For example, the XR environment parameters may comprise the map of the virtual room 400c, including indications of virtual objects such as the virtual crate 406a and the virtual gun storage area 406b. As another example, the XR environment parameters might comprise a list of roles which might be assigned to one or more participants of the XR environment. The XR environment parameters may additionally and/or alternatively comprise an available play area, such as the combined virtual play area.” The map of the virtual environment and the indications of virtual objects show that the user is in the virtual play area, which is the first specified area. This indication would be transmitted through a signal to the XR device. The virtual play area that is allowed is established and the user will be in that safe area. This is the first time in which the XR device is located in the first area, which is the available play area. Chen [0102]: “In step 718, an available virtual play area may be determined. The available virtual play area may correspond to an area that a particular user may travel while in an XR environment, and may be the same or different as compared to the physical play area determined in step 717. For example, the available virtual play area might be a subset of the physical play area, keeping in mind that the user should be kept a sufficient distance away from walls and objects so as to keep the user from inadvertently striking walls/objects. The available virtual play area might be determined based on the available areas of all users.”).
based at least in part on determining, at a second time that is later time than the first time, that the XR device is located within the second specified area, transmitting a second signal to the XR device indicating the function of the XR device is prohibited. (Chen [0088]: “In step 710, it may be determined whether to output a notification corresponding to the object. In some circumstances, such as where a physical object has been identified, it might be useful to provide a user warnings or other similar notifications about the physical object. A notification may be any form of message about a physical object, such as a safety warning, a request to move and/or reconfigure the physical object, and/or an advertisement to buy a new model of the physical object. For example, if the physical object is a tripping hazard (e.g., is low to the ground relative to the XR device), a notification warning a user about the tripping hazard may be determined.” The second specified area is defined by the presence of the physical object. The user begins in an approved area as explained above and at a later time would be in an area with a dangerous object. The time when the user moves into an area with a dangerous object is the second time that is later than the first. Thus, the warning of the physical object is a warning of being in the wrong location. Presence in the wrong region of the area can be prevented based on this information. Travelling to that area as part of play is the function being prevented. Chen [0118]: “Generating the combined virtual play area may comprise determining one or more regions where certain users are prevented from traveling. Because the size and shape of available virtual play areas may be different, certain users might be permitted to move in certain areas that other users are not. An example of such a circumstance is provided above regarding FIG. 4D and FIG. 4E, where the first user is prevented by the virtual door 406c, but the second user is not.” Travelling through an area and through a virtual door comprise the function. The notification is transmitted to the XR system.).
Chen alone does not explicitly teach the remaining claim limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Peacock teaches the claimed:
and based at least in part on the second signal, generating for display a visual indication of instructions for navigating the XR device from the second specified area, in which the function of the XR device is prohibited, back to the first specified area, in which the function of the XR device is permitted. (Peacock teaches leading a user with a visual indication on a safe path away from a restricted, dangerous area. Peacock col. 16 lines 40-51: “While a worker is typically at a workstation performing tasks, in some instances the worker may need to move about the assembly center (e.g., to go on break, retrieve additional parts and/or tools, etc.). To increase the safety of the worker 940, a computer resource 902 may provide augmented reality data to the AR glasses 950 worn by the worker that results in the AR glasses presenting augmented reality information that indicates safe paths 963-3 that the worker may follow and/or restricted areas, such as Landing Area 963-1, Do Not Enter area 963-2, and/or Do Not Enter area 963-3 where the worker is not to enter.” Augmented reality is similar to extended reality and the AR function of Peacock could be combined with the XR function of Peacock. Peacock col. 16, 52-col. 17 line 3: “In some implementations, the autonomous units 910 may communicate with and/or receive navigation instructions from the computer resource 901 and the computer resource may know the current position and path of each autonomous unit, such as aerial vehicles 910-1 and 910-2. Likewise, the computer resource may know the current position of the worker 950 as the worker moves about the assembly center. Based on the known current position of the worker, the known current position of the autonomous units, and the path of the autonomous units, the computer resource may determine safe and/or unsafe areas for the worker. Visual data in the form of augmented reality may be transmitted to the AR glasses worn by the worker and presented by the AR glasses to provide the worker with an augmented reality indicating to the worker where the worker may safely move within the assembly center, for example along path 963-3, and areas that are restricted or prohibited from entry by the worker 940, such as Landing Area 963-1 and/or restricted areas 963-2, 963-3.” Peacock fig. 9 shows a line pointing a user to the proper path. This is the visual indication.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the visual indication of a path back to a safe area as taught by Peacock with the system of Chen in order to clearly guide a user to the correct areas of an augmented reality environment.
As per claim 11, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 4, Chen teaches the claimed:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that an XR device is located within the first specified area or the second specified area is based on image analysis using image information received from the XR device. (Chen teaches that the XR devices uses image capture from a camera the physical environment and combining it with a virtual environment. Chen [0040]: “The XR device 302 may provide an XR (e.g., a virtual, augmented, and/or mixed reality) environment to a user (e.g., a player of an XR game). In general, virtual reality environments may provide an environment which is intended to entirely replace the real world (and, e.g., replaces all of a user's field of view with display of a virtual environment), whereas augmented reality and/or mixed reality environments might provide an environment which displays both real-world and simulated elements (by, e.g., replacing only a portion of a user's field of view with display of virtual objects, and/or by reproducing a video feed of the real world in a simulated environment). For example, an augmented reality system might use cameras to capture video of a physical area surrounding a user and then superimpose computer-generated images on top of that captured video. The XR device 302 may be a device specifically configured to provide an extended reality environment (e.g., an extended reality headset), or may be a combination of devices (e.g., a smartphone inserted into and/or communicatively coupled to a headset) which, when operated in a particular manner, provides an extended reality environment.” Chen [0045]: “[0045] The cameras 303d may be used to aid in the safety of the user as well as the presentation of an extended reality environment. The cameras 303d may be used to monitor the surroundings of a user. For example, the cameras 303d may be configured to detect one or more elements of an environment of the user (e.g., walls, chairs, or the like). Using the output from the cameras 303d, the XR environment might be configured to display a bounding box so as to discourage the user from inadvertently contacting elements (e.g., walls) in the real world. The cameras 303d may additionally and/or alternatively monitor the user (e.g., the eyes of the user, the focus of the user's eyes, the pupil dilation of the user, or the like) to determine which elements of an extended reality environment to render, the movement of the user in such an environment, or the like.” Because the virtual play area is the first specified area and is distinguished from the second area by the present of dangerous physical objects, the images or video from the camera are determining whether the user is in the first or second region. Thus, image analysis is being used for this function.).
As per claim 14, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 4, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 7, Chen teaches the claimed:
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a number of XR devices detected within the first specified area; and
dynamically updating a size and a shape of the first specified area based on the number of detected XR devices. (Chen teaches multiple XR devices from different users in changing the dimensions of play area depending on the number and relationship of users. Abstract: “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are described for providing XR experiences to multiple users. A plurality of XR devices might participate in a group XR experience. Physical environment data may be determined for each XR device. Virtual play areas for each of the XR devices may be determined. The different virtual play areas may be fit into different areas of a predefined virtual play area, and/or may be combined to form a combined virtual play area. Each XR device might be provided a different portion of the virtual play area. The XR devices may be sent different virtual map positioning data to provide the group XR experience” Chen [0053]: “As a preliminary introduction of FIGS. 4A-4E, users of XR devices (e.g., the XR device 302) might have different physical environments in which they use the XR devices. For example, one user might play an XR game in their living room, while another might play the same XR game (and, e.g., in a multiplayer experience) in their home office. That said, both users might want to participate in a multiplayer XR experience and, e.g., participate in the same XR environment. The differences in the physical environments of each user may pose unique challenges. For example, one user might be able to walk in a broader area than another, meaning that one user might need to be discouraged from walking as much as another. As another example, both users might be in different locations in the same room, meaning that they might be near different furniture (and thus might not be able to both travel in the same direction at the same time). In particular, as shown in FIGS. 4A-4E, it might be desirable to apportion an available virtual play area to different users based on properties of their physical play areas.” This is dynamically changing the size and shape of the play area.).
As per claim 17, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 7, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 9, Chen teaches the claimed:
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating for display on the XR device an indicator of boundaries of the first specified area at the first time, and an indicator of boundaries of the second specified area at the second time. (Chen [0128]: “Providing the XR environment to the one or more users may comprise sending virtual map positioning data to one or more XR devices. The virtual map positioning data might be different for each XR device. For example, each XR device might receive different map positioning data, each indicating a different starting point (and, in turn, a different perspective of a group XR experience). The virtual map positioning data might comprise, for example, information about a virtual play area for a user. For example, the virtual map positioning data may comprise boundary data that indicates a boundary of a virtual play area. Such a boundary might be represented by a virtual wall in a XR environment.” The boundary, such as a wall, is the indicator of boundaries between the first and second specified areas. The first and second times are the initial time when the user is in a safe area of the environment and a second time when the user has crossed a boundary into a prohibited dangerous area.).
As per claim 19, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 9, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 22, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Peacock teaches the claimed:
22. The method of claim 1, wherein the visual indication comprises one or more arrows highlighting a path from the first specified area to the second specified area. (Peacock fig. 9 shows an arrow leading to an authorized area and away from restricted areas.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the arrow pointing to the allowed area as taught by Peacock with the system of Chen in order to use a clear visual indication of a path with a direction.
Claims 2, 5-6, 10, 12, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Peacock and further in view of Buck (Pub No. US 20210258350 A1).
As per claim 2, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Buck teaches the claimed:
2. wherein the first location information and the second location information are previously defined and stored in a server,
and where in the method further comprises: accessing, via a network connection from the server, the first location and the second location information. (Buck teaches communication through network connection and through a server for the XR system. Buck [0216]: “In an embodiment, the server 720 is not located near a user of a computing device, and is communicated with over a network. In a different embodiment, the server 720 is a device that a user can carry upon his person, or can keep nearby. In an embodiment, the server 720 has a large battery to power long distance communications networks such as a cell network or Wi-Fi. The server 720 communicates with the other components of the personal mobile device system via wired links or via low powered short range wireless communications such as Bluetooth. In an embodiment, one of the other components of the personal mobile device system plays the role of the server, e.g., the watch 710b, the head mounted device or glasses or virtual reality or extended or augmented reality device 710d, the phone or mobile communications device 710c, the tablet 710e, the PC 710a, and/or the vehicle (e.g., an automobile, or other manned or unmanned or autonomous vehicle for land or aerial or aquatic operation) 710f. Other of the device may be, or be equipped with, extended reality devices, e.g., devices 710c, 710e, 710b, and 710f Other types of computing devices 710 include other wearable devices, devices incorporated into clothing, implantable or implanted devices, ingestible devices, or ‘things’ in the internet of things (IoT), which may be sensors or actuators or mobile or sessile devices, or hubs or servers controlling such ‘things’ or facilitating their communications.”
Buck teaches communication by servers over a network for XR devices. The XR devices include a policy for determining whether some locations are permitted and some are not. Buck [0125]-[0130]: “The policy may constrain the physical locations such input is allowed. The policy may constrain the physical conditions (e.g., altitude, velocity) during which such input is allowed. In general, policy may be specified by the user or others, and may control XR presentation during activities, at certain times or locations, access by applications to sensors, access by applications to output/displays, and may control the input of content, including what content or types of content to be blocked, allowed, and/or modified. [0127] The management by guide 610 of content acquisition and content display may be based on policies that provide conditions governing the acquisition and presentation of content. The conditions may be based on the source of the content, or on the actual content itself [0128] A policy may control what XR constructs are available to whom. [0129] In embodiments, XR content from multiple sources may be available for sharing with device 612 for incorporation into a composite display. A policy may control what sources may contribute. The policy may be based on security and privacy considerations, such as: enterprise considerations (to allow or disallow XR content not expressly on a “good” list or from sources of ill repute), trust levels of the sources, context (e.g., current task, geolocation, connected network).” Thus, the server contains information about the allowed and prohibited areas. The geolocation indicates whether or not the user is in the correct specified area.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the server and communication network as taught by Buck with the system of Chen in order to store the information of the computer system containing the data on the VR system including the separate locations and boundaries related to them.
As per claim 12, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 2, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 5, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Buck teaches the claimed:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the function of the XR device comprises execution of an application, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining an application type of the application; and
transmitting either the first signal or the second signal based on the determined application type. (Buck teaches different applications for different aspects of the XR system to interact with both virtual and physical environments. Buck [0008]: “Further regarding mobile devices that may be used to view different types of alternate realities(e.g., virtual reality (VR), extended reality (ER), or augmented reality (AR), or anywhere in the continuum of extended reality (XR)), applications that allow the user to experience actual reality with added virtual, augmented, or otherwise computer-generated features (which may include both video and audio features) may conceal certain real features or distract the user from noticing certain real features.” Buck [0010]: “In this way, XR applications and devices bridge the cyber world and the physical world. But the real world may present real danger to the user. And a bad user interface design on such devices is no longer just a nuisance, but rather something that can threaten the user's safety in the real world. Thus, it would be desirable for users if a systems and methods existed for alerting a user of an augmented reality device in certain situations to pay attention to their surroundings.” These applications provide the interactions with both the physical and virtual world, and would be different depending on the interactions needed. The applications would be different depending on whether the user is in the virtual play area or the area outside that is considered dangerous, which are taught by Chen above. For example, in the virtual play area, the user would be interacting with virtual objects, while in the dangerous area, the user would be interacting more with the real physical environment for safety. Thus, the application type is tied to the indications of which specified area of Chen the user is occupying.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the applications types for different XR interactions as taught by Buck with the system of Chen in order to device the different specified areas of XR used with certain computer interactions that are only allowed in that portion of the physical area.
As per claim 15, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 5, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 6, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Buck teaches the claimed:
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the first signal or the second signal is transmitted based on a set of predetermined rules defining at least one of a time period or a location in which an application type is permitted to be executed on the XR device. (Buck [0103]-[0106]: “Alerting the user to a detected real event by accompanying the event with an alert, such as a startling visual and/or auditory stimulus to grab the user's attention. [0104] Detecting movement or change of a real object in a composited XR scene and adjusting the display to increase the visibility of the real object by, e.g., suppressing the XR component, moving an XR component, or providing for the real object to bleed through the XR component. [0105] When MCD 612 is displaying a 3D space that extends virtually beyond the actual physical (or safe physical) bounds of the user's space, adding visual elements to the display to inform and prevent the user from moving into an unsafe area of the real world. [0106] When MCD 612 is displaying a 3D space that extends virtually beyond the actual physical (or safe physical) bounds of the user's space, removing virtual elements to show the user the real space.” The different applications change based on which specified area of the physical space is occupied. Buck teaches preventing a user from moving into an unsafe area of the world. This involves a set location, the unsafe area, where many of the virtual elements are prohibited. These virtual elements are tied to certain application types.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the restriction of certain applications in a certain location as taught by Buck with the system of Chen in order to change the use of applications in a certain restricted area of the XR environment, such as the second specified area outside the virtual play area.
As per claim 16, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 6, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 10, Chen teaches the claimed:
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing a location database comprising a dataset of information related to restricted locations where certain uses of the XR device are prohibited; and (Chen teaches a database that contains the information of the objects in the physical environment which are related to the allowed and restricted areas. Chen [0067]: “FIG. 6A shows an example of a room 600 with a first detected sitting area 601a, a second detected sitting area 601b, a third detected sitting area 601c, and a detected waist-high obstruction 602b. FIG. 6A thereby represents portions of output from an XR device, such as the XR device 302. As will be described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 7A-7C, the XR device 302 might detect the presence of one or more objects. For example, the XR device 302 might capture images of one or more objects using the cameras 303d, and might use these images to query a database of known objects to identify such objects. The database may store information indicating images of the objects for pattern matching, and an object may be recognized or identified in a room if the image of the room includes a pattern matching a pattern in the database. The database may also comprise additional parameters for the object such as interactive surfaces (e.g., a seat of chair may be sat upon, while legs of the chair might be affixed and not amenable to interaction), types of interaction (button presses, moving parts, hinges, etc.), portability (e.g., whether the object can be moved, range of permitted motion, etc.), and any other desired characteristics. The XR device 302 might determine whether a user might be capable of interacting with the objects.” Chen [0069]: “A database might store information indicating how objects are to be displayed to different users based on their physical environment. For example, a database might indicate that a virtual couch is to be displayed as opaque to a user that can sit in the virtual couch, whereas the same virtual couch is to be displayed as partially translucent to users that cannot sit in the virtual couch.”).
Chen alone does not explicitly teach the remaining claim limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Buck teaches the claimed:
based at least in part on determining that a current location of the XR device is a restricted location, causing to be displayed a pass-through image of a real environment of the XR device. (Buck [0103]-[0106]: “Alerting the user to a detected real event by accompanying the event with an alert, such as a startling visual and/or auditory stimulus to grab the user's attention. [0104] Detecting movement or change of a real object in a composited XR scene and adjusting the display to increase the visibility of the real object by, e.g., suppressing the XR component, moving an XR component, or providing for the real object to bleed through the XR component. [0105] When MCD 612 is displaying a 3D space that extends virtually beyond the actual physical (or safe physical) bounds of the user's space, adding visual elements to the display to inform and prevent the user from moving into an unsafe area of the real world. [0106] When MCD 612 is displaying a 3D space that extends virtually beyond the actual physical (or safe physical) bounds of the user's space, removing virtual elements to show the user the real space.” The applicant’s specification [0002] describes “passthrough” mode as a mode where the user can see the physical area through the XR device. Removing the virtual elements from the view with the XR device is the passthrough image.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the passthrough image that shows the real environment to the XR display device as taught by Buck with the system of Chen in order to allow the user to see the real environment when they go outside the safe bounds of the virtual area to avoid dangerous interaction with the real-world area.
As per claim 20, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 10, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Peacock and further in view of Berliner (US 20220253200 A1).
As per claim 3, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Berliner teaches the claimed:
3. wherein determining that an XR device is located within the first specified area or the second specified area is based on geolocation information received from the XR device. (Berliner [0772]: “Some disclosed embodiments may include causing the at least one virtual object to move with the virtual display upon detection of the wearable extended reality appliance at a first geolocation and disassociating the at least one virtual object from the virtual display upon detection of the wearable extended reality appliance at a second geolocation, different from the first geolocation. When the wearable extended reality appliance is at a first geographical location, the at least one virtual object and the virtual display may move together. When the wearable extended reality appliance is at a second geographical location, the at least one virtual object and the virtual display may not move together. The first geographical location may be in a private setting, while the second geolocation may be in a public setting. For example, the wearable extended reality appliance may be located in the office of the user. When the wearable extended reality appliance is in the office of the user the at least one virtual object may move in the same direction as the virtual display. For example, the user may use a mouse to drag the virtual display in a right direction. The at least one virtual object may also be moved in a right direction. As another example, the wearable extended reality appliance may be located in a public space. While in the public space, the at least one virtual object may not be associated with the virtual display. Therefore, if a user moves a virtual display, the at least one virtual object may not move in the same direction as the virtual display. For example, if the user moves the virtual display in a downward direction, the at least one virtual object will stay in the same position.” This detection of geolocation in two different areas of XR devices can be combined with the two locations, a safe and a restricted one, of Chen.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the geolocation information of XR devices as taught by Berliner with the system of Chen in order to use that method of identifying the locations of one or more XR devices relative to the space being occupied and the restrictions of that space.
As per claim 13, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 3, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Peacock and further in view of Mukherjee (Pub No. US 20240221323 A1).
As per claim 21, Chen alone does not explicitly teach the claimed limitations.
However, Chen in combination with Mukherjee teaches the claimed:
21. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the first specified area and the second specified area is located on a property, the further comprising:
determining that the unique identifier indicates that the user is an owner of the property; (Mukherjee teaches that the virtual space can be a property. While this is a virtual reality, it would be obvious to combine it with extended reality. Mukherjee involves interaction between real and virtual environments because it can be on a parcel of land and the areas are related to parcels of land. Mukherjee [0042]: “As used herein, “virtual reality computing system”, which includes augmented reality computing systems, such as the Metaverse or the like may refer to a collection of persistent, shared, three-dimensional virtual spaces linked into a perceived virtual universe. In some embodiments, a virtual reality computing systems may not only refer to virtual worlds, but the Internet as a whole, including the spectrum of augmented reality. A virtual reality computing environment may include a number of different elements such as video conferencing, digital currencies, virtual reality platforms, social media, live data streaming, digital representations of real-life objects and/or the like. In some embodiments, a virtual reality computing environment may include virtual properties, such as virtual land parcels and estates for users to create and build-on, or structures that reflect real-life properties and/or completely original creations. These spaces may be represented by co-ordinates on the metaverse platform where users can meet up using their avatars (i.e., virtual objects) to socialize and decorate their own spaces with collectibles. Any combination of the aforementioned elements may form a computer-mediated virtual environment, i.e., a virtual world, within the metaverse. Within this self-sustaining, persistent, and shared realm, users may exist and interact with each other using their digital avatars (i.e., virtual objects).” Mukherjee teaches access privileges to determine access to certain areas. Mukherjee abstract: “Access control within a virtual reality computing system(s) is provided. Once a user requests entry into a virtual reality computing environment and their identity is verified (i.e., authenticating), access privileges are determined/assigned for the user that restrict or allow user access to virtual locations and/or virtual objects/avatars present in the virtual reality computing environment. In specific instances, the access privileges may be dynamically altered during the user's virtual reality computing session based on the user's interactions or other behaviors exhibited during the user's virtual reality computing session. As such the present invention provides necessary control over what areas of a virtual reality computing environment a user can access and/or which virtual objects/avatars a user can interact with.” Since this is a property involving a parcel of land, it would be obvious to ascribe high access privileges to the owner of that land.).
and based at least in part on determining that the unique identifier indicates that the user is the owner of the property, permitting specification of the first specified area and the second specified area within the property. (Mukherjee [0007]: “Embodiments of the present invention address the above needs and/or achieve other advantages by providing for the control of access privileges within virtual reality computing system(s), such as Metaverse or the like. In response to a user requesting entry into a virtual reality computing environment and verifying the identity (i.e., authenticating) of the user, access privileges are determined for the user that restrict or allow user access to virtual locations and/or virtual objects/avatars present in the environment. In further instances, the access privileges may be projected on other users, such that other users (i.e., other virtual objects/avatars) are allowed or restricted from interacting with the user.” The user mentioned is the owner who, through indication of identity, can restrict movement of other users. This can include indicating restricted and allowed portions of the virtual reality.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the indication of administration on the property of a certain user as taught by Mukherjee with the system of Chen in order to allow an owner of an area to control the flow of people to restricted or allowed regions of the area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS JOHN FOSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616