Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurow (EP 3111647 B1), and further in view of Wang (US 20220292649 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thurow teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a new texture to apply to a selected region of a first video frame of a video sequence (par. 0024: “The functions herein may employ texture mapping techniques which enable the use of existing software and hardware methods in the field of texture mapping to reduce computational complexity. Texture mapping is a technique wherein a three-dimensional (3D) surface is defined in computer memory with reference to a predefined 3D frame of reference, and a two-dimensional (2D) bitmap image termed a 'texture' or 'texture bitmap' is projected onto the 3D surface in accordance with a predefined texture map to generate a 3D textured surface which may be termed a "textured surface".”);
generating a mesh for the selected region of the first video frame of the video sequence, wherein the mesh includes a plurality of control points arranged within the mesh (par. 0033: “Prior to modification based on the optical properties of the camera, panel vertices may be implemented as a quad mesh 400 as shown in FIG. 4”);
determining control point location data for each of the plurality of control points for additional video frames of the video sequence (par. 0024: “The texture map does not, in general, define a one-to-one relationship of each and every pixel of the 2D texture to the 3D surface, but rather defines a mapping of a subset of points in the 2D texture to the vertices of the 3D surface. Projection of the 2D texture to the 3D surface employs interpolation between the vertices based on corresponding content of the 2D texture.”);
generating warped video frames by applying the new texture to the additional video frames of the video sequence using the control point location data for the additional video frames of the video sequence (par. 0028: “The 3D surface panel associated with each video feed may be modified, or warped, in order to correct lens distortion in the video frames of the video feed, caused by the optical properties of the corresponding camera, when the video frames are projected as texture bitmaps onto the modified panel.”);
generating blended video frames by blending the new texture in the warped video frames (par. 0047: “Computer graphics methods may also be used to provide blending of adjacent images in the overlapping border area, a task commonly done using computer vision methods.”); and
providing a modified version of the video sequence using the generated blended video frames (par. 0064: “FIG. 17 illustrates the steps in the process. Images from neighbouring cameras in an array were projected onto corresponding panels warped to correct lens distortion to produce texture panels with lens distortion correction 1710. The textured panels were then visually aligned by manipulation of the underlying panels to produce a stitched textured panels with lens distortion correction 1720. These were then alpha-composited to produce blended, stitched textured panels with lens distortion correction 1730. Finally, corresponding positive and negative difference textures were generated and projected onto the respective panels to produce stitched, blended, and colour-normalized textured panels with lens distortion correction - a panoramic image 1740.”).
Thurow fails to teach wherein the blending includes gradient-domain blending of the new texture with a corresponding video frame and adding high-frequency residuals computed from the corresponding video frame.
Wang teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a new texture to apply to a selected region of a first video frame of a video sequence (par. 0025: “The video editor copies the “fifty-yard line” object, subject to these motion constraints, and thereby modify the “fifty-yard line” object to include the UHD blades of grass or an axial rotation. In certain cases, the video editor determines that a nearby 3D object or a sub-region of the “fifty-yard line” object requires modification. Such a 3D “yardage marker” object, corresponding to the “fifty-yard line” object, requires modification to ensure the 3D “yardage marker” object does not appear with a geometric distortion (e.g., a parallax effect, pulling effect (e.g., a stretched background image), perspective distortion, warp, axial rotation, radial distortion, barrel distortion, pincushion, asymmetry, compression, elongation, texture gradient, image gradient, etc.).”);
determining control point location data for each of the plurality of control points for additional video frames of the video sequence (par. 0017: “Certain aspects involve video inpainting using motion constraints based on sparse feature points or motion values. For instance, a video editor assists with modifying a target region of a video, which includes portions of video frames depicting an object to be removed or modified, by using the computed motion of a scene depicted in the video frames to identify content to be copied into the target region.”);
generating warped video frames by applying the new texture to the additional video frames of the video sequence using the control point location data for the additional video frames of the video sequence (par. 0086: “In this example, the weighting function ω.sub.grad is used to provide a weight to gradient constraints based on their respective textures. For instance, the weighting function ω.sub.grad is designed to provide a higher weighted value to gradient constraints that correspond to a hole region with less texture. Further, the weighting function ω.sub.grad is also designed to provide a lower weighted value to gradient constraints that correspond to a hole region with more texture.”);
generating blended video frames by blending the new texture in the warped video frames, wherein the blending includes gradient-domain blending of the new texture with a corresponding video frame and adding high-frequency residuals computed from the corresponding video frame (par. 0058: “The image mixer 114 combines the abovementioned information to arrange and generate images depicting the inpainted target regions within each video frame of the set of video frames. The image mixer 114 outputs the generated images (e.g., modified scene 124) to one or more computing devices. It should be appreciated that the image mixer 114 generates the images by blending, layering, overlaying, merging, slicing, or any other suitable audio visual integration technique.”); and
providing a modified version of the video sequence using the generated blended video frames (par. 0058, as above).
Wang fails to teach generating a mesh for the selected region of the first video frame of the video sequence, wherein the mesh includes a plurality of control points arranged within the mesh.
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art to introduce the warped frames of Wang into the image-stitching method taught by Thurow, as both are in the same field of endeavor of video frame image editing. Wang makes frequent mention of such frame-warping as an element of image stitching (par. 0047: “the motion estimation engine 136 uses sparse feature points to avoid geometric distortions such as parallax or pulling effects, perspective or radial distortions, warping, axial rotations, asymmetries, compressions, etc.”), which demonstrates that such an aspect is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 1. Thurow further teaches wherein determining the control point location data for each of the plurality of control points for the additional video frames of the video sequence further comprises:
for each pair of consecutive video frames of the video sequence:
determining motions of each of the plurality of control points from the first video frame of the video sequence to a second video frame of the video sequence from an optical flow mapping of the video sequence (par. 0036: “Having generated a modified, warped quad mesh of the panel, correction of lens distortion in a corresponding video frame is performed automatically when the video frame is projected as a texture bitmap onto the panel wherein the texture bitmap is piecewise mapped to the quad mesh at discrete points in the map, namely the vertices of the quads.”),
generating a transformation function representing deformation of the plurality of control points using the determined motions of each of the plurality of control points (par. 0034: “The translation required for each vertex may be determined according to any suitable method. For example, a function of the openCV library, for example cvlnitUndistMap(in: A, in: DistortionCoefficients, Out: mapX, out: mapY), may be used. Alternative methods are possible.”),
generating locations for each of the plurality of control points in the second video frame of the video sequence by warping the plurality of control points from the first video frame of the video sequence using the generated transformation function (par. 0034: “each vertex of the quad mesh is translated in the plane of the panel to a location corresponding to where the corresponding texture bitmap pixel would appear in an image but for lens distortion.”), and
storing the generated locations for each of the plurality of control points in the second video frame of the video sequence as the control point location data (par. 0067: “The machine-readable medium can contain various sets of instructions, code sequences, configuration information, or other data, which, when executed, cause a processor to perform steps in a method according to an embodiment of the invention.”).
Regarding claim 4, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 2. Thurow further teaches wherein generating the warped video frames by applying the new texture to the additional video frames of the video sequence using the control point location data for the additional video frames of the video sequence further comprises:
determining first control point location data for the first video frame and second control point location data for a target video frame of the video sequence from the generated control point location data (par. 0030: “an original pixel point (x,y) may be related to a corrected pixel point (x.sub.corrected, y.sub.corrected) as follows:… …wherein r is a measure of the distance between the original point and the distortion center.”);
generating a warping function using the first control point location data and the second control point location data (par. 0032: “The intrinsic camera parameter matrix A and the distortion coefficients Distortion.sub.coefficients may be used to modify, or warp, the panel associated with the corresponding camera in order to correct lens distortion”); and
warping the new texture from the first video frame to the target video frame using the generated warping function (par. 0034: “In order to provide lens distortion correction, the panel quad mesh is then modified, or warped, based on the intrinsic camera parameter matrix A and the distortion coefficients.”).
Regarding claim 5, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 4. Thurow further teaches wherein generating the blended video frames by blending the new texture in the warped video frames further comprises:
for each video frame of the additional video frames of the video sequence:
generating a preliminary blend by blending the new texture with the region in the video frame (par. 0049: “Blending of the two panels in the boundary area may then be performed by alpha compositing in the boundary area. In other words, for one or both of the panels, an alpha value of the panel pixels in the boundary area may be assigned so as to decrease from the boundary to the panel edge, thereby increasing the texture panel's transparency progressively from the boundary edge to the panel edge.”),
computing high-frequency residuals lost during the generating of the preliminary blending by blending a transparent image with the video frame (par. 0050: “When neighbouring panels are in a common plane, they may be offset slightly in a direction orthogonal to that plane (e.g. along a z-axis) to provide for overlap as to assist blending in the boundary area. In this way, blending is performed in the overlapping boundary area of the first and second panels, with the first panel positioned above, or in front of, the second panel, or vice versa, where the alpha values of the first panel in the boundary area are lower than 1.0 thus rendering the textured panel transparent allowing the second textured panel to be visible partly in the boundary area. The lower the alpha value, the more the second texture panel becomes visible from behind the first textured panel.”), and
computing a final blend of the new texture with the region in the video frame by merging the preliminary blend and the computed high-frequency residuals (par. 0051: “with reference to FIG. 8, the method 300 may be continued by modifying, in each boundary area of neighbouring panels, a transparency in a corresponding upper panel to blend the corresponding corrected calibration images in the boundary area (step 830).)”).
Regarding claim 7, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 1. Thurow further teaches wherein generating the blended video frames by blending the new texture in the warped video frames comprises:
receiving a second input including a prompt, the prompt indicating a requested texture for the selected region of the first video frame (par. 0044: “using the input and display means the user may translate, rotate, or scale any individual textured panel, which thereby defines 3D coordinates of the panel in the predefined 3D frame of reference. In particular, the user may use the input and display means to position adjacent corrected video frames - that is, corrected video frames corresponding to cameras having overlapping fields of view - so as achieve visual overlap of the adjacent corrected video frames along bordering portions thereof, and in this way define the relative position of the underlying panels corresponding to the corrected video frames in the 3D frame of reference in computer memory.”).
Claim 8 is functionally identical to claim 1, and differs only in that it outlines a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions rather than a method. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 9 is functionally identical to claim 2, and differs only in that it depends on claim 8 rather than claim 1. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 2.
Claim 11 is functionally identical to claim 4, and differs only in that it depends on claim 9 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 4.
Claim 12 is functionally identical to claim 5, and differs only in that it depends on claim 11 rather than claim 4. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 4.
Claim 14 is functionally identical to claim 7, and differs only in that it depends on claim 8 rather than claim 1. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 7.
Claim 15 is functionally identical to claim 1, and differs only in that it outlines a system rather than a method. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 16 is functionally identical to claim 2, and differs only in that it depends on claim 15 rather than claim 1. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 2.
Claim 18 is functionally identical to claim 4, and differs only in that it depends on claim 16 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 4.
Claim 19 is functionally identical to claim 5, and differs only in that it depends on claim 18 rather than claim 4. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 4.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurow (EP 3111647 B1) and Wang (US 20220292649 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and further in view of Geissler (GB 2609996 A).
Regarding claim 3, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 2. Geissler further teaches:
determining a reverse optical flow location of a control point in the first video frame of the video sequence using a reverse optical flow mapping from the second video frame of the video sequence to the first video frame of the video sequence (p. 31, lines 19-29: “Preferably, for every individual frame that is aligned, the assessment will be subject to the following constraints: (a) Applying neighbour frame constraint The assumption is that neighbouring frames should have: (i) similar transformations for alignment, and (ii) similar scores that quantify the alignment through image alignment metrics (e.g. mutual information or cross correlation) If a frame violates these constraints, the frame can be flagged for further human operator assessment during or after the entire video sequence is stitched.”);
calculating a distance between an original location of the control point and a reverse optical flow location of the control point (p. 32, lines 6-8: “the alignment procedure searches for a transformation that best aligns the virtual and the camera based on a numeric metric (e.g. mutual information, cross correlation, sum squared error for corresponding points).”); and
removing the control point from the plurality of control points when the calculated distance is greater than a threshold value (p. 32, lines 10-11: “frames with numeric metrics that exceed a certain threshold can be flagged.”).
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Geissler’s control point calculations into Thurow’s image stitching method, as both are in the same field of endeavor of image stitching. Thurow’s outlier calculations are an obvious innovation to Geissler, as it allows for more refined adjustments of frame data.
Claim 10 is functionally identical to claim 3, and differs only in that it depends on claim 9 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 3.
Claim 17 is functionally identical to claim 3, and differs only in that it depends on claim 16 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 3.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurow (EP 3111647 B1) and Wang (US 20220292649 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and further in view of Zhou (US Patent No. 7,831,074).
Regarding claim 6, Thurow and Wang teach the method of claim 2. Zhou further teaches wherein generating the transformation function representing the deformation of the plurality of control points using the determined motions of each of the plurality of control points further comprises:
generating a first transformation function representing rigid deformation (col. 7, lines 32-34: “To reduce appearance variation, each video frame is aligned with respect to a mean shape using a rigid similarity transform.”) and a second transformation function representing non-rigid deformation (col. 4, lines 19-25: “As shown in image frames 202-212, the LV endocardium presents severe appearance changes over a cardiac cycle due to nonrigid deformation, imaging artifacts like speckle noise and signal dropout, movement of papillary muscle (which is attached to the LV endocardium but not a part of the wall), respiratory interferences, unnecessary probe movement, etc.”); and
generating the transformation function by applying a weighting to the first transformation function and the second transformation function (col. 4, lines 55-62: “In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, a two class LogitBoost algorithm is outlined in FIG. 3. The crucial step on the Logitboost algorithm is step 2(b) which requires fitting a weighted LS regression of z.sub.i to x.sub.i with weights w.sub.i. The LogitBoost algorithm acts as a feature selection oracle: picking up from the structural space F the weak learner (or feature function) that minimizes its weighted LS cost.di-elect cons.(f).”).
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transformation functions in Zhou into Thurow’s method, as both are in the same field of endeavor of image modification based on other images, and the functions of Zhou have long been known in the art.
Claim 13 is functionally identical to claim 6, and differs only in that it depends on claim 9 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 6.
Claim 20 is functionally identical to claim 6, and differs only in that it depends on claim 16 rather than claim 2. It is thereby rejected on the same basis as claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ALLEN BARHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613