DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 02/29/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 8 and 15 are the base independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 10 -12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rao (WO 2024211515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rao’515 discloses a method comprising:
processing a plurality of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) opportunities associated with a configured grant (CG) cycle(see abs, which discusses a WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle);
applying a first logical channel prioritization (LCP) setting(see para.0151, which discusses the WTRU may receive one or more configurations and/or sets of parameters to be applied… the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following: LCP configurations (e.g., rules/restrictions/policy for PDU and/or PDU set level handling, time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy), thus first logical channel prioritization (LCP) since LCP configurations includes one and more), when processing a first PUSCH opportunity of the plurality of PUSCH opportunities(see abs, which discusses a WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle, thus first PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions/opportunities include one and more), to generate a first medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU)(see para.0151, which discusses the WTRU may receive one or more configurations and/or sets of parameters to be applied at different layers…the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following:.. MAC: LCH parameters (e.g., priority, PBR, BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level), LCP configurations (e.g., rules/restrictions/policy for PDU and/or PDU set level handling, time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy)…, see para.0124, The WTRU may send the information/indications associated with multi-PUSCH CG to network via, for example, one or more of the following message types:… UL MAC CE (e.g., new MAC CE, regular BSR, periodic BSR, padding BSR, enhanced BSR, pre-emptive BSR, delay status report (DSR) which may include remaining delay information and/or amount of time elapsed since data arrival in buffer, elastic BSR which may be scalable/adjustable by sending subsequent indications, possibly without cancelling an earlier BSR), see abs & see para.0006, which discusses the WTRU… sends PDUs of the PDU set using resources in the activated FDRA sub-config and CG PUSCH occasions, thus generate MAC relate to BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level);
evaluating whether at least one condition(see para.0151, which discuses evaluate time duration as condition, see para.0135, which discusses when detecting certain configured events as condition) for switching from the first LCP setting to a second LCP setting is met(see para.0151, which discusses time duration for changing/switching between different LCP rules/policy, see para.0135, whether such LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events, thus time duration and/or certain configured events as condition); and
determining, based on the evaluation(i.e. time duration and/or certain configured events as condition), if the second LCP setting is to be applied(see para.0135, which discusses whether such LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events (e.g., surge in number of PDUs/data with high QoS requirements), fall back/default LCP configurations) to generate a second MAC PDU(see para.0151, which discusses the WTRU may receive one or more configurations and/or sets of parameters to be applied at different layers…the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following:.. MAC: LCH parameters (e.g., priority, PBR, BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level), LCP configurations (e.g., rules/restrictions/policy for PDU and/or PDU set level handling, time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy)…, see para.0124, The WTRU may send the information/indications associated with multi-PUSCH CG to network via, for example, one or more of the following message types:… UL MAC CE (e.g., new MAC CE, regular BSR, periodic BSR, padding BSR, enhanced BSR, pre-emptive BSR, delay status report (DSR) which may include remaining delay information and/or amount of time elapsed since data arrival in buffer, elastic BSR which may be scalable/adjustable by sending subsequent indications, possibly without cancelling an earlier BSR), see abs & see para.0006, which discusses the WTRU… sends PDUs of the PDU set using resources in the activated FDRA sub-config and CG PUSCH occasions, thus generate MAC relate to BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level)when processing a second PUSCH opportunity of the plurality of PUSCH opportunities(see abs, which discusses A WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle, thus second PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions/opportunities include one and more).
Regarding claim 2, Rao’515 discloses wherein the first LCP setting includes a mapping restriction of a logical channel (LCH), a priority of the LCH, a prioritized bit rate (PBR) of the LCH, or a bucket size duration (BSD) of the LCH(see para.0114, which discusses upon mapping, a set of parameters (e.g., priority, PBR, BSD) and/or configurations (e.g., LCP restrictions) may be applied…, see para.0115, which discusses associated LCH parameters (e.g., PBR, BSD, priority) ).
Regarding claim 7, Rao’515 discloses wherein the first LCP setting is a default LCP setting(see para.0135, which discuses default LCP configuraton(s)/setting).
Regarding claim 8, Rao’515 discloses an apparatus comprising:
memory(see para.0027, which discusses memory 130-132, see fig.1B) to store information related to a plurality of PUSCH opportunities(see para.0032, which discusses store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132, see abs, which discusses a WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration);
processing circuitry, coupled with the memory, to(see fig.1B, which shows processor 118 couple to memory 130-132):
process a plurality of PUSCH opportunities associated with a configured grant (CG) cycle(see abs, which discusses a WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle);
apply a first logical channel prioritization (LCP) setting(see para.0151, which discusses the WTRU may receive one or more configurations and/or sets of parameters to be applied… the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following: LCP configurations (e.g., rules/restrictions/policy for PDU and/or PDU set level handling, time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy), thus first logical channel prioritization (LCP) since LCP configurations includes one and more), when processing a first PUSCH opportunity of the plurality of PUSCH opportunities(see abs, which discusses a WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle, thus first PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions/opportunities include one and more), to generate a first medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (see para.0151, which discusses the WTRU may receive one or more configurations and/or sets of parameters to be applied at different layers…the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following:.. MAC: LCH parameters (e.g., priority, PBR, BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level), LCP configurations (e.g., rules/restrictions/policy for PDU and/or PDU set level handling, time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy)…, see para.0124, The WTRU may send the information/indications associated with multi-PUSCH CG to network via, for example, one or more of the following message types:… UL MAC CE (e.g., new MAC CE, regular BSR, periodic BSR, padding BSR, enhanced BSR, pre-emptive BSR, delay status report (DSR) which may include remaining delay information and/or amount of time elapsed since data arrival in buffer, elastic BSR which may be scalable/adjustable by sending subsequent indications, possibly without cancelling an earlier BSR), see abs & see para.0006, which discusses the WTRU… sends PDUs of the PDU set using resources in the activated FDRA sub-config and CG PUSCH occasions, thus generate MAC relate to BSD for PDU and/or PDU set level);
determine to switch from the first LCP setting to a second LCP setting(see para.0151, which discusses time duration for changing/switching between different LCP rules/policy, see para.0135, whether such LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events, thus determine condition to switch) for a second PUSCH opportunity(see abs, which discusses A WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities… per CG period/cycle, thus second PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions/opportunities include one and more); and
switch from the first LCP setting to the second LCP setting (see para.0135, which discusses whether such LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events (e.g., surge in number of PDUs/data with high QoS requirements), fall back/default LCP configurations) for processing the second PUSCH opportunity (see abs, which discusses A WTRU receives configuration information comprising at least one multi-PUSCH CG configuration and one or more FDRA sub-configurations and parameters associated with the sub-configuration, see para.0093, which discusses multi-PUSCH CG, may correspond to one or more configured resources or configured grant (CG) configurations, where each CG configuration may consist of a set of consecutive or non-consecutive PUSCH occasions/opportunities…)based on the determination(see para.0151, which discusses time duration for changing/switching between different LCP rules/policy, see para.0135, whether such LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events).
Regarding claim 9, Rao’515 discloses wherein the determination is based on a base station(see para.0087, which discusses the network may include any of a base station (e.g., gNB, TRP, RAN node, access node) configuring the UE to apply the first LCP setting (see para.0114, which discusses…configurations/settings (e.g., LCP restrictions) may be applied…, thus first LCP setting since configurations includes one and more) for the first PUSCH opportunity(see para.0135, which discusses the WTRU may indicate the updated LCP rules/restrictions (e.g., restrictions associated with mapping from DRB/LCHs to resource grants or CG) that may be applied for a set of forwarding/resource configurations, see para.0134, which discusses CG resources (e.g., PUSCH occasions/opportunities or slots), thus first PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions includes one and more PUSCH opportunities) and to apply a second LCP setting(see para.0114, which discusses…configurations/settings (e.g., LCP restrictions) may be applied…, thus second LCP setting since configurations includes one and more) for the second PUSCH opportunity(see para.0135, which discusses the WTRU may indicate the updated LCP rules/restrictions (e.g., restrictions associated with mapping from DRB/LCHs to resource grants or CG) that may be applied for a set of forwarding/resource configurations, see para.0134, which discusses CG resources (e.g., PUSCH occasions/opportunities or slots), thus second PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions includes one and more PUSCH opportunities).
Regarding claim 13, Rao’515 discloses wherein the determination to switch from the first LCP setting to a second LCP setting(see para.0151, which discusses the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following:…time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy, see para.0135, which discusses LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events ) for the second PUSCH opportunity (see para.0135, which discusses the WTRU may indicate the updated LCP rules/restrictions (e.g., restrictions associated with mapping from DRB/LCHs to resource grants or CG) that may be applied for a set of forwarding/resource configurations, see para.0134, which discusses CG resources (e.g., PUSCH occasions/opportunities or slots), thus second PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions includes one and more PUSCH opportunities) is based on a buffer storing less than a threshold amount of data(see para.0154, see para.0169, which discusses Other buffer status metrics that may be monitored for determining the expected QoS include the number of data units buffered which may be below a configured threshold in one or more associated forwarding configurations, see para.0135).
Regarding claim 14, Rao’515 discloses wherein the determination to switch from the first LCP setting to a second LCP setting(see para.0151, which discusses the configurations parameters to be applied at different layers may include, for example, one or more of the following:…time duration for changing between different LCP rules/policy, see para.0135, which discusses LCP rules/restrictions may be temporarily changed for a time duration, conditional LCP configurations applicable when detecting certain configured events ) for the second PUSCH opportunity (see para.0135, which discusses the WTRU may indicate the updated LCP rules/restrictions (e.g., restrictions associated with mapping from DRB/LCHs to resource grants or CG) that may be applied for a set of forwarding/resource configurations, see para.0134, which discusses CG resources (e.g., PUSCH occasions/opportunities or slots), thus second PUSCH opportunity since PUSCH occasions includes one and more PUSCH opportunities) is based on a buffer storing greater than a threshold amount of data (see para.0154, see para.0169, which discusses Other buffer status metrics that may be monitored for determining the expected QoS include the number of data units buffered which may be above a configured threshold in one or more associated forwarding configurations, see para.0135).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (WO 2024211515 A1) and in view of Wang (US 20220417963).
Regarding claim 3, Rao’515 discloses wherein the LCH is configured with a radio resource control (RRC) parameter(see ara.0111, which discusses transmitting/forwarding of information/indications may comprise receiving configuration, including receiving RRC configuration from gNB).
As discussed above, although Rao’515 discloses RRC configuration (see para.0111), Rao’515 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the RRC parameter includes an allowed configured grant (AllowedCG) list” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the RRC parameter includes an allowed configured grant (AllowedCG) list” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Wang’963.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Wang’963 teaches the use of wherein the RRC parameter includes an allowed configured grant (AllowedCG) list(see para.0079, which discusses the parameter “allowedConfiguredGrants-List” is added to the LogicalChannelConfigIE… if the allowedConfiguredGrants-List includes identifier “CG-Config-1,” this the logical channel will be mapped to the ConfiguredGrantConfigIE that contains “CG-Config-1” in the identifier parameter of the ConfiguredGrantConfigIE).
In view of the above, having the system of Rao’515 and then given the well-established teaching of Wang’963, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rao’515 to include “wherein the RRC parameter includes an allowed configured grant (AllowedCG) list” as taught by Wang’963, since Wang’963 stated in para.0028+ that such a modification would provide system for enhancing reliability and reducing latency.
Regarding claim 4, Rao’515 discloses wherein the second LCP setting indicates that the first LCH and a second LCH are allowed to be mapped to the CG(see para.0102, which discusses the WTRU may have visibility of the data units and determine the corresponding actions (e.g., perform prioritization per LCP, perform mapping to restricted CG configurations, CG periods or CG PUSCH occasions) based on the configured restrictions associated with the one or more sublayers, radio bearers and/or LCHs to which the data units may be mapped to, see para.0135,which discusses LCP configuration(s), thus LCHs includes at least first and second LCH are mapped to the CG).
As discussed above, although Rao’515 discloses he second LCP setting indicates that the first LCH and a second LCH are allowed to be mapped to the CG(Rao’515, see para.0102, which discusses the WTRU may have visibility of the data units and determine the corresponding actions (e.g., perform prioritization per LCP, perform mapping to restricted CG configurations, CG periods or CG PUSCH occasions) based on the configured restrictions associated with the one or more sublayers, radio bearers and/or LCHs to which the data units may be mapped to, see para.0135,which discusses LCP configuration(s), thus LCHs includes at least first and second LCH are mapped to the CG), Rao’515 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Wang’963.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Wang’963 teaches the use of wherein the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG(see fig.4A, see para.0108, which shows and discusses the message comprises: i) logical channel, LCH, information identifying a LCH and ii) configured grant, CG, information identifying at least one CG configuration to which the LCH is mapped, see para.0087, which discusses for each LCH mapped to one or multiple CG configurations, the RRC layer may control the LCP procedure by configuring mapping restrictions for each logical channel, thus LCP setting/procedure configured indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG, see fig.4, mapping a CG config to a set of one or more LCHs).
In view of the above, having the system of Rao’515 and then given the well-established teaching of Wang’963, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rao’515 to include “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” as taught by Wang’963, since Wang’963 stated in para.0028+ that such a modification would provide system for enhancing reliability and reducing latency.
Regarding claim 5, Rao’515 disclose wherein the second LCP setting indicates all LCHs are mapped to the CG(see para.0102, which discusses the WTRU may have visibility of the data units and determine the corresponding actions (e.g., perform prioritization per LCP, perform mapping to restricted CG configurations, CG periods or CG PUSCH occasions) based on the configured restrictions associated with the one or more sublayers, radio bearers and/or LCHs to which the data units may be mapped to, see para.0135,which discusses LCP configuration(s), thus all LCHs are mapped to the CG).
As discussed above, although Rao’515 discloses he second LCP setting indicates that the first LCH and a second LCH are allowed to be mapped to the CG(Rao’515, see para.0102, which discusses the WTRU may have visibility of the data units and determine the corresponding actions (e.g., perform prioritization per LCP, perform mapping to restricted CG configurations, CG periods or CG PUSCH occasions) based on the configured restrictions associated with the one or more sublayers, radio bearers and/or LCHs to which the data units may be mapped to, see para.0135,which discusses LCP configuration(s), thus LCHs are mapped to the CG), Rao’515 does not explicitly show the use of “the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Wang’963.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Wang’963 teaches the use of w the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG (see fig.4A, see para.0108, which shows and discusses the message comprises: i) logical channel, LCH, information identifying a LCH and ii) configured grant, CG, information identifying at least one CG configuration to which the LCH is mapped, see para.0087, which discusses for each LCH mapped to one or multiple CG configurations, the RRC layer may control the LCP procedure by configuring mapping restrictions for each logical channel, thus LCP setting/procedure configured indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG, see fig.4, mapping a CG config to a set of one or more LCHs).
In view of the above, having the system of Rao’515 and then given the well-established teaching of Wang’963, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rao’515 to include “the first LCP setting indicates that only a first LCH is allowed to be mapped to the CG” as taught by Wang’963, since Wang’963 stated in para.0028+ that such a modification would provide system for enhancing reliability and reducing latency.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (WO 2024211515 A1) and in view of ZHAO (EP 4554297).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, although Rao’515 discloses parameters associated with logical channel prioritization (LCP) (e.g., priority) (see para.0091 & see para.0114), Rao’515 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that a priority of a first LCH is set to be higher than a priority of a second LCH, and wherein the second LCP setting indicates that the priority of the second LCH is set to be higher than the priority of the first LCH” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that a priority of a first LCH is set to be higher than a priority of a second LCH, and wherein the second LCP setting indicates that the priority of the second LCH is set to be higher than the priority of the first LCH” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by ZHAO’297.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, ZHAO’297 teaches the use of wherein the first LCP setting indicates that a priority of a first LCH is set to be higher than a priority of a second LCH(see para.0015, which discusses in the case where the priority of the first LCP procedure as first LCP setting is higher than the priority of the second LCP procedure as second LCP setting, allocating resources to the logical channels using the first LCP procedure according to the first LCP procedure preferentially; when there are remaining resources, further allocating resources to the logical channels using the second LCP procedure according to the second LCP procedure, thus the first LCP setting indicates that a priority of a first LCH), and wherein the second LCP setting indicates that the priority of the second LCH is set to be higher than the priority of the first LCH (see para.0015, which discusses in the case where the priority of the second LCP procedure is higher than the priority of the first LCP procedure, allocating resources to the logical channels using the second LCP procedure according to the second LCP procedure preferentially, performing the first round of resource allocation based on PBR in a descending order of the logical channel priority; when there are remaining resources after the first round of resource allocation, further allocating the resources to the logical channel using the first LCP procedure according to the first LCP procedure; if there are still remaining resources or in the case where the priority of the second LCP procedure is higher than the priority of the first LCP procedure, allocating resources to the logical channels using the second LCP procedure, performing the first round of resource allocation and the second round of resource allocation according to the second LCP procedure; if there are remaining resources after the second round of resource allocation, allocating resources to the logical channels using the first LCP procedure according to the first LCP procedure, thus second LCP setting indicates that the priority of the second LCH).
In view of the above, having the system of Rao’515 and then given the well-established teaching of ZHAO’297, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rao’515 to include “wherein the first LCP setting indicates that a priority of a first LCH is set to be higher than a priority of a second LCH, and wherein the second LCP setting indicates that the priority of the second LCH is set to be higher than the priority of the first LCH” as taught by ZHAO’297, since ZHAO’297 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide improved system for allocating resources for a PDU set.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Lohr et al (US 2024/0284500) teaches, see abs, receive a set of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations and generate MAC PDUs according to the received set of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations by applying a first logical channel restriction configuration during a LCP procedure for generation of a first set of MAC PDUs associated with a first subset of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations of the set of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations and applying a second logical channel restriction configuration for generation of a second set of MAC PDUs associated with a second subset of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations of the set of consecutive PUSCH resource allocations.
Chin et al (US 2020/0053820) teaches, see fig.2, generation of MAC #1 and 2 with PUSCH # 1 and 2, see fig.3, apply first LCP and second LCP to generate first and second MAC PDU 341 AND 342.
Kanamarlapudi et al (US 2021/0329620) teaches, see at lest fig.4, pply first LCP and second LCP to generate first and second MAC PDU 413 and 423.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474