DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 and 21-24 are pending in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel (US PGPUB No. 2013/0111555) in view of Okami (US PGPUB No. 2021/0185510).
As per claim 1, Leneel teaches a method for enabling a secure communication session, the method comprising: sending a request from a first device to a second device, the request relating to establishing a communication session between the first device and the second device (Abstract, establishing a communication session between two paired devices using a secured channel via a SIM card), the first device having a closed communication SIM (Abstract, secured communication channel for a device using a SIM card); receiving an indication of a determination that the second device has a closed communication SIM ([0022], detecting that the other device has a sibling SIM card that can be paired with) (Examiner Note: closed communication is interpreted as being exclusive or having limited participants); establishing a communication session when the determination is received that the second device has the second device closed communication SIM, wherein the communication session is established between the first device closed communication SIM and the second device closed communication SIM (Abstract, [0022], pairing the two devices via the sibling SIMs to set up a secured communication session).
Leneel does not explicitly teach that each device has an open communication subscriber identity module and along with a respective closed communication subscriber identity module wherein the open communication SIMs are logically separate and distinct from the respective closed communication SIMs; and disabling the first device open communication SIM such that communications with the first device are only possible via the first device closed communication SIM during the established communication session. Okami teaches that each device has an open communication subscriber identity module ([0006], one SIM card is selected for general applications and one for closed network business applications) and along with a respective closed communication subscriber identity module wherein the open communication SIMs are logically separate and distinct from the respective closed communication SIMs ([0095], multiple SIMs can be implemented on a device with one dedicated to secure communications related to a specific application/s related to business or other sensitive areas); and disabling the first device open communication SIM such that communications with the first device are only possible via the first device closed communication SIM during the established communication session ([0025]-[0026], communications are switched between general and business and while in business the communications are made exclusively on the closed network SIM card meaning the second SIM card is disabled until reverting back to a general application).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel with the teachings of Okami, that each device has an open communication subscriber identity module and along with a respective closed communication subscriber identity module wherein the open communication SIMs are logically separate and distinct from the respective closed communication SIMs; and disabling the first device open communication SIM such that communications with the first device are only possible via the first device closed communication SIM during the established communication session, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 2, the combination of Leneel and Okami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second device open communication SIM is disabled such that communications with the second device are only possible via the second device closed communication SIM during the established communication session (Okami; [0025]-[0026], communications are switched between general and business and while in business the communications are made exclusively on the closed network SIM card meaning the second SIM card is disabled until reverting back to a general application – this would be combined with the device to device communication taught in Leenel).
As per claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 21, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3, 4, 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel and Okami in further view of Mostafa et al. (US PGPUB No. 2025/0031119) [hereinafter “Mostafa”].
As per claim 3, the combination of Leneel and Okami method of claim 1.
The combination of Leneel and Okami does not explicitly teach wherein the first device has a pool of closed communication SIMs and the method further comprises temporarily provisioning the second device closed communication SIM from the pool of closed communication SIMs. Mostafa teaches wherein the first device has a pool of closed communication SIMs and the method further comprises temporarily provisioning the second device closed communication SIM from the pool of closed communication SIMs ([0048], provisioning server can provide a multitude of eSIMs to a device including via a secured channel - each with its own individual profile see [0003]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel and Okami with the teachings of Mostafa, wherein the first device has a pool of closed communication SIMs and the method further comprises temporarily provisioning the second device closed communication SIM from the pool of closed communication SIMs, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 4, the combination of Leenel, Okami and Mostafa teaches the method of claim 3, wherein each of the open communication SIMs of the first and second devices and each of the closed communication SIMs of the first and second devices are embedded SIMs (Mostafa; [0050], SIMs can be embedded directly into hardware including iSIMs).
As per claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 22, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claims 2 and 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationales.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel and Okami in further view of Fok et al. (US PGPUB No. 2008/0294384) [hereinafter “Fok”].
As per claim 5, the combination of Leenel and Okami teaches the method of claim 1 as well as a secure communication session mode that disables the first device open communication SIM and a software instance unassociated with the communication session (Okami; [0025]-[0026], communications are switched between general and business and while in business the communications are made exclusively on the closed network SIM card meaning the second SIM card is disabled until reverting back to a general application).
The combination of Leenel and Okami does not explicitly teach a user interface element switchable between a plurality of positions including: a first position that is selectable to place the first device in a monitor mode that monitors an environment around the first device and tracks data transfer between the first device and intended recipients of the data transfer; a second position that is selectable to place the first device in a privacy mode that disables location services associated with the first device. Fok teaches a user interface element switchable between a plurality of positions (Examiner Notice: a selectable user interface element is “well known” in the art) including: a first position that is selectable to place the first device in a monitor mode that monitors an environment around the first device and tracks data transfer between the first device and intended recipients of the data transfer ([0063], triggering the collection of diagnostic or usage data at a mobile device); a second position that is selectable to place the first device in a privacy mode that disables location services associated with the first device ([0035], triggering the termination of limiting of the collection of GPS data, i.e. location services see [0029]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel and Okami with the teachings of Fok, a user interface element switchable between a plurality of positions including: a first position that is selectable to place the first device in a monitor mode that monitors an environment around the first device and tracks data transfer between the first device and intended recipients of the data transfer; a second position that is selectable to place the first device in a privacy mode that disables location services associated with the first device, to provide the devices the ability to control the release of potentially sensitive data from a device.
Claims 6-8, 15, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel, Okami and Fok in further view of Mostafa.
As per claim 6, the combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok teaches the method of claim 5.
The combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok does not explicitly teach a listing of networks each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage a communication medium associated with the first device open communication SIM; and a listing of software instances each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage each software instance of the listing of software instances. Mostafa teaches a listing of networks each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage a communication medium associated with the first device open communication SIM ([0050], selecting from a list of PLMN to initiate wireless access for a device); and a listing of software instances each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage each software instance of the listing of software instances (Mostafa; [0050], selecting from a collection of software modules that manage access to particular networks via particular eSIMs – each SIM is associated with a particular wireless network see [0005]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel, Okami and Fok with the teachings of Mostafa, a listing of networks each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage a communication medium associated with the first device open communication SIM; and a listing of software instances each having a selectable element configured to engage or disengage each software instance of the listing of software instances, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 7, the combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok teaches the method of claim 5.
The combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok does not explicitly teach wherein the communication session has a software instance associated therewith and when the third position is selected, only the software instance associated with the communication session is enabled. Mostafa teaches wherein the communication session has a software instance associated therewith and when the third position is selected, only the software instance associated with the communication session is enabled ([0050], only the selected software module for a particular SIM is enabled and switched to an active state).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel, Okami and Fok with the teachings of Mostafa, wherein the communication session has a software instance associated therewith and when the third position is selected, only the software instance associated with the communication session is enabled, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 8, the combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok teaches the method of claim 5.
The combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok does not explicitly teach enabling only the software instance associated with the communication session; and disabling software instances unassociated with the communication session. Mostafa teaches enabling only the software instance associated with the communication session; and disabling software instances unassociated with the communication session ([0050], CSS application can enable a selected software module for a particular SIM by placing it in an active state and place others in an inactive state).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel, Okami and Fok with the teachings of Mostafa, enabling only the software instance associated with the communication session; and disabling software instances unassociated with the communication session, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 23, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claims 6 and 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationales.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel, Okami, Fok and Mostafa in further view of Lin et al. (US PGPUB No. 2015/0356110) [hereinafter “Lin”].
As per claim 9, the combination of Leneel, Okami, Fok and Mostafa teaches the method of claim 8.
The combination of Leneel, Okami, Fox and Mostafa does not explicitly teach wherein the software instance associated with communication session includes a file sharing application that allows for a file to be only shared via the communication session. Lin teaches wherein the software instance associated with communication session includes a file sharing application that allows for a file to be only shared via the communication session ([0083], files are accessed exclusively via filesystem client which establishes a session with the fileserver).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel, Okami, Fok and Mostafa with the teachings of Lin, wherein the software instance associated with communication session includes a file sharing application that allows for a file to be only shared via the communication session, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel and Okami in further view of Kao et al. (US PGPUB No. 2016/0066122) [hereinafter “Kao”].
As per claim 10, the combination of Leneel, Okami and Fok teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Leneel, Okami and Fox does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of the determination that the second device has the closed communication SIM is received from an access point selected by a user associated with the first device. Kao teaches wherein the indication of the determination that the second device has the closed communication SIM is received from an access point selected by a user associated with the first device ([0024] and [0026], pairing server determines whether the pairing requests are from valid and registered SIM devices – the pairing server is inherently a part of a service provider network selected by the user see Fig. 1 and [0018]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Leneel and Okami with the teachings of Kao, wherein the indication of the determination that the second device has the closed communication SIM is received from an access point selected by a user associated with the first device, to provide the devices the ability to easily switch between various networks allowing for ease of use for the user.
As per claim 11, the combination of Leneel, Okami and Kao teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the second device has an identifier and the indication of the determination that the second device has the closed communication SIM is determined based on comparing the second device identifier with a list of device identifiers (Kao; [0026], pairing server verifies that IMSI identifier from two SIM devices are registered and valid).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leneel and Okami in further view Lin and in further view of Kao.
As per claim 24, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claims 9 and 10. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (US PGPUB No. 2020/0288298), Diamond et al. (WO-2013103913-A2), Wong et al. (US Patent No. 11,057,865), Vagelos (US PGPUB No. 2023/0013356), Liu et al. ("Stacked Intelligent Metasurfaces for Wireless Communications: Applications and Challenges," in IEEE Wireless Communications, vol. 32, no. 4, pp. 46-53, August 2025, doi: 10.1109/MWC.001.2500002), Pradhan et al. ("Secure Protocol for Subscriber Identity Module," 2017 Second International Conference on Recent Trends and Challenges in Computational Models (ICRTCCM), Tindivanam, India, 2017, pp. 358-362, doi: 10.1109/ICRTCCM.2017.74), Madlmayr et al. ("The benefit of using SIM application toolkit in the context of near field communication applications," International Conference on the Management of Mobile Business (ICMB 2007), Toronto, ON, Canada, 2007, pp. 5-5, doi: 10.1109/ICMB.2007.62) and Badra et al. ("Toward SSL integration in SIM SmartCards," 2004 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference (IEEE Cat. No.04TH8733), Atlanta, GA, USA, 2004, pp. 889-893 Vol.2, doi: 10.1109/WCNC.2004.1311304) all disclose various aspects of the claimed invention including securing and limiting SIM communication sessions between devices.
/PETER C SHAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 February 28, 2026