DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claim 1-15 in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 12, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 1 “a circuit” should be - - the circuit - -.
Claim 12, line 1 “a circuit” should be - - the circuit - -.
Claim 13, line 1 “a circuit” should be - - the circuit - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiang (US Patent No. 8,083,040).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang discloses an interlocking device, comprising:
a track (see annotated Fig. 4) including:
a sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a gap extending longitudinally along a first side of the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
an interlocking component extending longitudinally along a second side of the sleeve, the second side being opposite the first side (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Chiang discloses, wherein:
the track is a first track (see annotated Fig. 4);
the sleeve is a first sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4);
the gap is a first gap (see annotated Fig. 4);
the interlocking component is a first interlocking component (see annotated Fig. 4); and
further comprising:
a second track that is engageable with the first track (see annotated Fig. 4), the second track including:
a second sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a second gap extending longitudinally along a first side of the second sleeve, and a second interlocking component extending longitudinally along a second side of the second sleeve, the second side of the second sleeve being opposite the first side of the second sleeve, and the second interlocking component configured to engage with the first interlocking component (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Chiang discloses, wherein the interlocking component and the second side of the sleeve are separated by a strip of material, the material extending an entire length of the interlocking component and the entire length of the second side of the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Chiang discloses wherein the interlocking component is one of a row of teeth, a continuous interlocking structure, a Velcro component, magnets, buttons, clasps, or other suitable fastener (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Chiang discloses an interlocking system comprising:
a track (see annotated Fig. 4) including:
a sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a gap extending longitudinally along a first side of the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a first edge of a strip of material adhered to a second side of the sleeve and extending longitudinally along the second side of the sleeve, the second side of the sleeve being opposite the first side of the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4), and
an interlocking component adhered to a second edge of the strip of material and extending longitudinally along the second edge of the strip of material (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Chiang discloses, wherein:
the track is a first track (see annotated Fig. 4);
the sleeve is a first sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4);
the gap is a first gap (see annotated Fig. 4);
the strip of material is a first strip of material (see annotated Fig. 4);
the interlocking component is a first interlocking component (see annotated Fig. 4); and
including:
a second track that is engageable with the first track (see annotated Fig. 4), the second track including:
a second sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a second gap extending longitudinally along a first side of the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4),
a first edge of a second strip of material adhered to a second side of the second sleeve and extending longitudinally along the second side of the second sleeve, the second side of the second sleeve being opposite the first side of the second sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4), and
a second interlocking component adhered to a second edge of the second strip of material and extending longitudinally along the second edge of the second strip of material, the second interlocking component configured to engage with the first interlocking component (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Chiang discloses wherein the interlocking component is one of a row of teeth, a continuous interlocking structure, a Velcro component, magnets, buttons, clasps, or other suitable fastener (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Chiang discloses wherein the interlocking component is configured to engage with a second interlocking component upon longitudinal manipulation of a sliding joiner piece (see annotated Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent No. 8,083,040), in view of Ishii (US Patent No. 4,492,006).
Regarding claim 3, Chiang further discloses, comprising:
a sleeve engagement piece, the sleeve engagement piece configured to couple with the sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4).
Chiang does not disclose a third track, the third track comprising:
a third interlocking component that is configured to engage with at least one of the first interlocking component or the second interlocking component; and
a surface anchor component, wherein a first side of the surface anchor component is coupled to the third interlocking component and the second side of the surface anchor component is coupled to a surface, the second side of the surface anchor component being opposite the first side of the surface anchor component.
However, Ishii teaches a third track, the third track comprising:
a third interlocking component that is configured to engage with at least one of the first interlocking component or the second interlocking component; and
a surface anchor component, wherein a first side of the surface anchor component is coupled to the third interlocking component and the second side of the surface anchor component is coupled to a surface, the second side of the surface anchor component being opposite the first side of the surface anchor component (see annotated Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the third track from Ishii with the first track from Chiang for a bag-shaped article with the three-tape type zipper.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US Patent No. 8,083,040), in view of Ishii (US Patent No. 4,492,006) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Voit (US Patent No. 3,456,305).
Regarding claim 4, Chiang as modified by Ishii does not disclose the surface anchor component is coupled to the surface utilizing at least one of adhesion, magnetism, suction, tension, pressure, or force.
However, Voit teaches the surface anchor component is coupled to the surface with adhesion (33) (see Fig 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use adhesive from Voit with the surface anchor component from Chiang in order to quick couple the surface anchor component to the surface.
Claims 6, 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent No. 8,083,040), in view of Cheng (US Publication No. 2008/0007940).
Regarding claim 6, Chiang discloses the claimed invention except for the strip of material contains part of a circuit.
However, Cheng teaches the strip of material contains part of a circuit (see Fig. 3 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminescent zipper device (as shown in Cheng) with the strip of material (as shown in Chiang) to emit the luminescence through receiving a power source with a principle of transforming electricity into luminescence, thereby being convenient to use, and having a high safety feature.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chiang in view of Cheng discloses wherein the part of a circuit is one of one or more optical fibers or one or more electrical conductors (21) (see Fig. 3 and abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Chiang discloses the claimed invention except for the strip of material contains part of a circuit.
However, Cheng teaches the strip of material contains part of a circuit (see Fig. 3 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the luminescent zipper device (as shown in Cheng) with the strip of material (as shown in Chiang) to emit the luminescence through receiving a power source with a principle of transforming electricity into luminescence, thereby being convenient to use, and having a high safety feature.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chiang in view of Cheng discloses wherein the part of a circuit is one of one or more optical fibers or one or more electrical conductors (21) (see Fig. 3 and abstract).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chiang in view of Cheng discloses wherein the part of a circuit is configured to couple with one or more circuit interaction components (22) (see Fig. 3 and abstract).
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677