DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 13 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kirchschlager et al. (10,723,405). In regard to claim 1, Kirchschlager discloses a scooter comprising a seat unit (Fig. 3, item 12), rotatably arranged on a main body of the scooter (Fig. 3, item 1) and comprising a first position as a seat after being unfolded (Fig. 3) and a second position as a handrail after being folded (Fig. 4), and a locking unit, arranged on the main body of the scooter, the locking unit positioning the seat unit when the seat unit is in the first position and the second position (Fig. 3, item 15).
In regard to claim 2, Kirchschlager discloses wherein front and rear ends of the seat unit comprise mounting openings for mounting a handrail unit, the handrail unit being mounted at the mounting opening at the front end of the seat unit when the seat unit is in the first position, and the handrail unit being mounted at the mounting opening at the rear end of the seat unit when the seat unit is in the second position (Figs. 3 and 4, unnumbered receptacles into which item 9 is mounted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchschlager et al. (10,723,405) as applied to claims 1 – 2 above, and further in view of Wang (CN218085862). Kirchschlager does not disclose the use of an elastic unit in the locking unit. In regard to claim 3, Wang discloses a locking unit comprising a lock head movably arranged on the main body of the scooter (Fig. 4, item 32), a first elastic unit is arranged between the lock head and the main body of the scooter (Fig. 4, item 44), and the seat unit comprises a cavity body for at least part of the lock head to enter (Fig. 4, item 22), the seat unit being positioned when the lock head enters the cavity body (Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elastic unit of Wang, to the scooter of Kirchschlager, in order to provide a secure and easily releasable locking mechanism to the seat/body joint.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kirchschlager et al. (10,723,405) discloses a scooter similar to the instant invention; however Kirchschlager, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a scooter comprising (in regard to claim 4) an upper cavity body, a lower cavity body and a plurality of holes, at least one of the holes is a through-penetration hole, and a lock pin is mounted at the through-penetration hole, and the lock pin is mounted on a cover body of the main body of the scooter after passing through the upper cavity body, and the lock pin comprises a limiting head for limiting the seat unit, wherein (in regard to claim 11) the handrail unit comprises a built-in cavity and a through hole communicating with the built-in cavity, and a second elastic unit is arranged in the built-in cavity, the second elastic unit comprises a pin head arranged at the through hole, and the pressing unit comprises a raised head matching with the pin head. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rudell et al. (6,089,586) disclose a convertible scooter;
Berndorfer et al. (9,254,883) disclose a scooter;
Wang (D908,808) discloses a scooter;
Hu et al. (CN215826901) disclose a multifunctional scooter;
Lin (CN217198494) discloses a three wheeled scooter.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613