DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 26-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites, “the pad portions.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as “the pads.”
Claim 26 recites, “a bottom wall of a cage.” It is unclear how this cage differs from the cage of claim 26, ln. 2. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as, “a bottom wall of the cage.”
Claims 27-28 inherit the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-15, and 18-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 2020/0194940 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches an electrical connector configured for mounting to a printed circuit board and comprising a first mating interface configured for mating the electrical connector to a mating component, the electrical connector comprising:
a first subassembly (i.e. 150) comprising: a first housing (i.e. 158), and a first plurality of conductive elements (i.e. 154 and 156) held by the first housing, each of the first plurality of conductive elements comprising a mating contact portion and a tail configured for connection to a printed circuit board; and
a second subassembly (i.e. 120), configured to be separably coupled to the first subassembly at a second mating interface, wherein the second subassembly comprises: a second housing (i.e. 128); and a second plurality of conductive elements (i.e. 126 and 124) supported by the second housing, the second plurality of conductive elements comprising conductive elements of a first type (i.e. signal) and conductive elements of a second type (i.e. ground), wherein: each of the second plurality of conductive elements comprises a contact portion (i.e. 126) exposed at the first mating interface; each of the first type of conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements comprises a mating end portion (i.e. 124) configured to mate with a mating contact portion (i.e. 154) of a respective conductive element of the first plurality of conductive elements at the second mating interface and each of the second type of conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements comprises a tail portion (i.e. 124) configured for cable termination.
Regarding claim 2: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, further comprising: a member (i.e. 130) configured to hold the first subassembly relative to the second subassembly such that the mating contact portions of the first plurality of conductive elements are coupled to the mating end portions of the first type of conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements.
Regarding claim 4: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein: the second subassembly comprises a plurality of terminal subassemblies (i.e. each 122), each of the plurality of terminal subassemblies comprising a housing (i.e. housing of each 122); and the second housing comprises the housings of the plurality of terminal subassemblies.
Regarding claim 5: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 4, wherein: the plurality of terminal subassemblies comprises a first terminal subassembly (i.e. 122--1) and a second terminal subassembly (i.e. 1222); and the housing of the first terminal subassembly comprises a first insulative portion (i.e. housing of 122) coupled to intermediate portions of at least some conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements.
Regarding claim 7: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein: the second housing comprises a slot (i.e. bottom slotted edge of 128); and at least a portion (i.e. internal slotted wall of 150) of the first subassembly is disposed in the slot of the second housing.
Regarding claim 8: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 7, wherein: the slot is elongated between a first end, facing the mating interface, and a second end; and the slot of the second housing is open at the first end.
Regarding claim 9: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein: the mating contact portions of the first plurality of conductive elements or the mating end portions of the first type conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements are compliant beams such that the mating end portions of the first type of conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements are mated to mating contact portions of the respective conductive element of the first plurality of conductive elements through a pressure contact.
Regarding claim 10: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein: the mating end portions of the first type of the second plurality of conductive elements are configured to wipe over the mating contact portions of the first plurality conductive elements when the first subassembly and second subassembly are assembled.
Regarding claim 11: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the tail of each of the first plurality of conductive elements is configured for a press fit connection.
Regarding claim 12: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the first subassembly and the second subassembly are configured to nest.
Regarding claim 13: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein: the electrical connector is in combination with a printed circuit board and a plurality of cables; the first plurality of conductive elements is mounted to the printed circuit board at a first location; and cables of the plurality of cables are connected to the ends of the second type of conductive elements configured for a cable termination and are electrically coupled to the printed circuit board at a second location, different from the first location.
Regarding claim 14: Cohen (Figure 1) An electrical connector, comprising: a first subassembly (i.e. 150) comprising: a first housing (i.e. 158), and a first plurality of conductive elements (i.e. 154, 156) held by the first housing and configured to be mounted to a printed circuit board; and a second subassembly (i.e. 120), configured to be separably coupled to the first subassembly, wherein the second subassembly comprises: a second housing (i.e. 128); and a second plurality of conductive elements (i.e. 124, 126) supported by the second housing, having conductive elements of a first type (i.e. signal) and a second type (i.e. ground); wherein conductive elements of the first type have mating end portions (i.e. 124) configured for a separable electrical connection to the first plurality of conductive elements and conductive elements of the second type have tail portions (i.e. 124) configured for a cable termination.
Regarding claim 15: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, further comprising: a member (i.e. 130) electrically connecting the first type of conductive elements to the first plurality of conductive elements.
Regarding claim 18: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein: the electrical connector is in combination with a plurality of cables, each of the plurality of cables terminated to the tail portion of a conductive element of the second type of the first terminal subassembly.
Regarding claim 19: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein the electrical connector is in combination with a cage configured to surround at least a portion of the first subassembly and a portion of the second subassembly, and wherein the cage comprises: a floor comprising an opening configured to receive the first subassembly; a channel configured to guide a plug for engagement with a mating interface (i.e. face having 156) of the electrical connector; and pressfits configured for attachment to the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 20: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein: the first plurality of conductive elements comprises pads (i.e. 154); and the mating end portions of the conductive elements of the first type of the second plurality of conductive elements are configured to wipe along the pad portions of the first plurality conductive elements as the second subassembly is separably coupled to the first subassembly.
Regarding claim 21: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein the first subassembly is nested within the second subassembly.
Regarding claim 22: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein: the electrical connector is in combination with a printed circuit board and a plurality of cables; the first plurality of conductive elements is mounted to the printed circuit board at a first location; and the plurality of cables connected to the tail portions of the second type of conductive element and are coupled to the printed circuit board at a second location, different from the first location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 23-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen and Zerebilov (US 2024/0258723 A1).
Regarding claim 6: Cohen teaches the electrical connector of claim 5, but does not specifically teach wherein the electrical connector further comprises: a plurality of cables, each of the plurality of cables terminated to the tail portions of conductive elements of the second type of the first terminal subassembly; and the housings of the plurality of terminal subassemblies comprise a strain relief portion mechanically coupled to a portion of each of the plurality of cables.
However, Zerebilov (Figure 1) teaches wherein the electrical connector further comprises: a plurality of cables (i.e. 108), each of the plurality of cables terminated to the tail portions of conductive elements of the second type of the first terminal subassembly (i.e. 102); and the housings of the plurality of terminal subassemblies (i.e. 104) comprise a strain relief portion (i.e. ends of 104) mechanically coupled to a portion of each of the plurality of cables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the connector taught by Cohen to have the plurality of cables as taught by Zerebilov so as to connect desired portions of the connector. It also would have been obvious to include the strain relief portions taught by Zerebilov so as to protect the cable ends.
Regarding claim 23: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches a method of assembling an electronic device (i.e. 100), the method comprising: mounting a first subassembly (i.e. 150) of an electrical connector to a printed circuit board (i.e. 160) at a first location (i.e. a first 164), the first subassembly comprising a plurality of electrical conductors (i.e. 154, 156) each comprising a tail (i.e. 156), the mounting comprising mechanically and electrically connecting the tails of the plurality of electrical conductors to the printed circuit board; and coupling a second subassembly (i.e. 120) to the first subassembly, wherein: coupling the second subassembly to the first subassembly comprises electrically connecting a plurality of conductive elements (i.e. 124, 126) of a first type (i.e. signal) in the second subassembly to the first plurality of electrical conductors of the first subassembly;
but does not specifically teach connecting a plurality of cables of the second subassembly to the printed circuit board at a second location, different than the first location.
However, Zerebilov (Figure 1) teaches connecting a plurality of cables (i.e. between 102 and 112) of the second subassembly (i.e. 102) to the printed circuit board at a second location (i.e. 112), different than the first location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Cohen to include connecting cables as taught by Zerebilov so as to connect the components to other desired components.
Regarding claim 24: Cohen and Zerebilov teach the method of claim 23, Cohen further teaches wherein: the second subassembly comprises a mating interface of the electrical connector.
Regarding claim 25: Cohen and Zerebilov teach the method of claim 24, further comprising: prior to coupling the second subassembly to the first subassembly, terminating the plurality of cables to a plurality of conductive elements of a second type (i.e. Zerebilov’s cables connect to Cohen’s ground elements of 124, 126 per the combination) in the second subassembly.
Claims 26-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen, Zerebilov, and Wu (US 2020/0366035 A1)
Regarding claim 26: Cohen and Zerebilov teach the method of claim 25, but do not specifically teach further comprising: mounting a cage to the printed circuit board at the first location, wherein the cage covers at least a portion of the first subassembly, and the first subassembly is fixed within an opening in a bottom wall of a cage, wherein: mounting the first subassembly to the printed circuit board and mounting the cage to the printed circuit board comprises pressing the cage and the first subassembly onto the printed circuit board; and coupling the second subassembly to the first subassembly comprises inserting the second subassembly into a channel of the cage and engaging at least one engagement feature of the second subassembly with at least one engagement feature of the cage.
However, Wu (Figure 1A) teaches further comprising: mounting a cage (i.e. 11) to the printed circuit board (i.e. 3) at the first location, wherein the cage covers at least a portion of the first subassembly (i.e. 15), and the first subassembly is fixed within an opening in a bottom wall of a cage, wherein: mounting the first subassembly to the printed circuit board and mounting the cage to the printed circuit board comprises pressing the cage and the first subassembly onto the printed circuit board; and coupling the second subassembly (i.e. 16) to the first subassembly comprises inserting the second subassembly into a channel (i.e. S) of the cage and engaging at least one engagement feature (i.e. sides of 16 clip to 11) of the second subassembly with at least one engagement feature (i.e. edge wall of 11) of the cage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Cohen and Zerebilov with the steps taught by Wu so as to unify the subassemblies within one housing.
Regarding claim 27: Cohen, Zerebilov, and Wu teach the method of claim 26, further comprising: disengaging the at least one engagement feature of the second subassembly from the at least one engagement feature of the cage; decoupling the second subassembly from the first subassembly; removing the second subassembly from the channel of the cage such that the first subassembly and the second subassembly are decoupled; and disconnecting the cables from the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 28: Cohen, Zerebilov, and Wu teach the method of claim 26, Zerebilov (Figure 1) further teaches connecting a second plurality of cables (i.e. 18) to the printed circuit board at the second location (i.e. 106);
but do not specifically teach further comprising: coupling a new second subassembly with the first subassembly, such that a second plurality of conductive elements of a first type of the new second subassembly contact the conductive elements of the plurality of conductive elements of the first subassembly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method taught by Cohen, Zerebilov, and Wu to further comprise replacing the second subassembly with a new subassembly when needed.
Therefore, Cohen, Zerebilov, and Wu teach further comprising: coupling a new second subassembly (i.e. 16 of Wu can be a replacement) with the first subassembly, such that a second plurality of conductive elements of a first type of the new second subassembly contact the conductive elements of the plurality of conductive elements of the first subassembly.
Claims 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen and Wu.
Regarding claim 16: Cohen (Figure 1) teaches the electrical connector of claim 14, wherein: the second subassembly comprises a plurality of terminal subassemblies (i.e. 122) comprising at least a first (i.e. 1221) and a second (i.e. 1222) terminal subassembly; each of the plurality of terminal subassemblies comprises an insulative portion (i.e. housing of 122) coupled to intermediate portions of at least some conductive elements of the second plurality of conductive elements; the second housing comprises the insulative portions of the plurality of terminal subassemblies
but does not specifically teach a connector housing; and the plurality of terminal subassemblies are disposed, at least in part, in the connector housing.
However, Wu (Figure 1A) teaches a connector housing (i.e. 11); and the plurality of terminal subassemblies (i.e. 12) are disposed, at least in part, in the connector housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the connector taught by Cohen to have a connector housing as taught by Wu so as to protect the subassemblies.
Regarding claim 17: Cohen and Wu teach the electrical connector of claim 16, Cohen (Figure 1) further teaches wherein: the electrical connector comprises a planar mounting interface (i.e. bottom face of 150) configured for mounting to a surface of a printed circuit board; and the conductive elements coupled to the insulative portions are positioned in a plurality of rows, the rows extending in a direction parallel to a plane of the mounting interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not fairly teach or suggest the member configured to hold the first subassembly relative to the second subassembly is a cage surrounding at least a portion of the first subassembly and a portion of the receptacle housing.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834