DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-42 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/7/24
Claims 1-42 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 5/29/24, 9/13/24, 7/1/25 and 4/16/26 have been acknowledged.
4. NO oath is of record.
7. Claims 1-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. 9,079,948 (or 10,047,152 or 10,047,153 or 11,174,305 (IDS reference)) in view of U.S.Pub 2008/0071063 and U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
The ‘948 patent teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising Fel d1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:18, 26, 306 and 314, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 and 24, respectively (claims 1-12). Given that the claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 or 24 comprises SEQ ID NO:4, 6, 8, 12, AAS, 14, 18, 20, 22, 26, KAS, 28, respectively, it meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 30, 33 and 35. Further, the ‘948 patent teaches the use of SEQ ID NO:18/26, 306/314 alone and 18/26, 306 and 314 together (note claims 9-10).
IN addition, the ‘948 patent teaches addition of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier including polysorbate, container comprising the composition, delivery device and prefilled syringes (col. 40) to accommodate various routes of administrations. The dosage forms include 10-250mg (col. 40).
The disclosure of the ‘948 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of about 10mM histidine buffer, sucrose at about 2.7-7.5%, arginine at about 60-130mM and 0.05-0.2% polysorbate as in claims 1-40 and kits comprising thereof as in claims 41-42 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘063 publication teaches liquid stable formulations comprising about 10mM histidine, sucrose at about 5%, 1-200mM of amino acid including arginine and about 0.001-0.1% of polysorbate (p. 8-9, 36, 38) and the exemplary antibodies comprise wide variety of antigens (p. 19-22). The ‘063 publication teaches composition comprising histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduce aggregates, improve viscosity and enhance stability of antibody (p. 2-3). Given that the identical formulations are being used to various antibodies, this would expect to stabilize the Fel dl antibody set forth in claim 1.
Likewise, the ‘523 publication teaches histidine about 10mM, antibody at 80-250mg/ml, sucrose at about 60-250mM and polysorbate at about 0.1% at pH 6 improves stability (p.2, claims) and kits (p. 35) comprising label for convenience.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to excipient concentrations as taught by the ‘063 and kits taught by the ‘523 publication into the monoclonal antibody taught by the ‘948 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduces viscosity and aggregates improve stability of antibody and kits would enhance convenience in packing for prefilled syringes for accurate dosage.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
9. Claims 1-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Pat. 9,079,948 in view of U.S.Pub 2008/0071063 and U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘948 patent recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising Fel d1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:18, 26, 306 and 314, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 and 24, respectively (claims 1-12). Given that the claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 or 24 comprises SEQ ID NO:4, 6, 8, 12, AAS, 14, 18, 20, 22, 26, KAS, 28, respectively, it meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 30, 33 and 35. Further, the ‘948 patent teaches the use of SEQ ID NO:18/26, 306/314 alone and 18/26, 306 and 314 together.
The claims of the ‘948 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of about 10mM histidine buffer, sucrose at about 2.7-7.5%, arginine at about 60-130mM and 0.05-0.2% polysorbate as in claims 1-40 and kits comprising thereof as in claims 41-42 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘063 publication teaches liquid stable formulations comprising about 10mM histidine, sucrose at about 5%, 1-200mM of amino acid including arginine and about 0.001-0.1% of polysorbate (p. 8-9, 36, 38) and the exemplary antibodies comprise wide variety of antigens (p. 19-22). The ‘063 publication teaches composition comprising histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduce aggregates, improve viscosity and enhance stability of antibody (p. 2-3). Given that the identical formulations are being used to various antibodies, this would expect to stabilize the Fel dl antibody set forth in claim 1.
Likewise, the ‘523 publication teaches histidine about 10mM, antibody at 80-250mg/ml, sucrose at about 60-250mM and polysorbate at about 0.1% at pH 6 improves stability (p.2, claims) and kits (p. 35) comprising label for convenience.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to excipient concentrations as taught by the ‘063 and kits taught by the ‘523 publication into the monoclonal antibody taught by the ‘948 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduces viscosity and aggregates improve stability of antibody and kits would enhance convenience in packing for prefilled syringes for accurate dosage.
10. Claims 1-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Pat. 10,047,153 in view of U.S.Pub 2008/0071063 and U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘153 patent recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising Fel d1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:18, 26, 306 and 314, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 and 24, respectively (claims 1-12). Given that the claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 or 24 comprises SEQ ID NO:4, 6, 8, 12, AAS, 14, 18, 20, 22, 26, KAS, 28, respectively, it meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 30, 33 and 35. Further, the ‘153 patent teaches the use of SEQ ID NO:18/26, 306/314 alone and 18/26, 306 and 314 together.
The claims of the ‘153 patent differ from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of about 10mM histidine buffer, sucrose at about 2.7-7.5%, arginine at about 60-130mM and 0.05-0.2% polysorbate as in claims 1-40 and kits comprising thereof as in claims 41-42 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘063 publication teaches liquid stable formulations comprising about 10mM histidine, sucrose at about 5%, 1-200mM of amino acid including arginine and about 0.001-0.1% of polysorbate (p. 8-9, 36, 38) and the exemplary antibodies comprise wide variety of antigens (p. 19-22). The ‘063 publication teaches composition comprising histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduce aggregates, improve viscosity and enhance stability of antibody (p. 2-3). Given that the identical formulations are being used to various antibodies, this would expect to stabilize the Fel dl antibody set forth in claim 1.
Likewise, the ‘523 publication teaches histidine about 10mM, antibody at 80-250mg/ml, sucrose at about 60-250mM and polysorbate at about 0.1% at pH 6 improves stability (p.2, claims) and kits (p. 35) comprising label for convenience.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to excipient concentrations as taught by the ‘063 and kits taught by the ‘523 publication into the monoclonal antibody taught by the ‘153 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduces viscosity and aggregates improve stability of antibody and kits would enhance convenience in packing for prefilled syringes for accurate dosage.
11. Claims 1-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Pat. 11,174,305 in view of U.S.Pub 2008/0071063 and U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘305 patent recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising Fel d1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:18, 26, 306 and 314, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 and 24, respectively (claims 1-12). Given that the claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 or 24 comprises SEQ ID NO:4, 6, 8, 12, AAS, 14, 18, 20, 22, 26, KAS, 28, respectively, it meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 30, 33 and 35. Further, the ‘305 patent teaches the use of SEQ ID NO:18/26, 306/314 alone and 18/26, 306 and 314 together.
The claims of the ‘305 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of about 10mM histidine buffer, sucrose at about 2.7-7.5%, arginine at about 60-130mM and 0.05-0.2% polysorbate as in claims 1-40 and kits comprising thereof as in claims 41-42 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘063 publication teaches liquid stable formulations comprising about 10mM histidine, sucrose at about 5%, 1-200mM of amino acid including arginine and about 0.001-0.1% of polysorbate (p. 8-9, 36, 38) and the exemplary antibodies comprise wide variety of antigens (p. 19-22). The ‘063 publication teaches composition comprising histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduce aggregates, improve viscosity and enhance stability of antibody (p. 2-3). Given that the identical formulations are being used to various antibodies, this would expect to stabilize the Fel dl antibody set forth in claim 1.
Likewise, the ‘523 publication teaches histidine about 10mM, antibody at 80-250mg/ml, sucrose at about 60-250mM and polysorbate at about 0.1% at pH 6 improves stability (p.2, claims) and kits (p. 35) comprising label for convenience.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to excipient concentrations as taught by the ‘063 and kits taught by the ‘523 publication into the monoclonal antibody taught by the ‘305 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduces viscosity and aggregates improve stability of antibody and kits would enhance convenience in packing for prefilled syringes for accurate dosage.
12. Claims 1-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-24 and 30-32 of U.S. Pat. 12,252,530 in view of U.S.Pub 2008/0071063 and U.S. Pub. 2006/0088523.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘530 patent recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising Fel d1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:18, 26, 306 and 314, identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 and 24, respectively (claims 1-12). Given that the claimed SEQ ID NO:2, 10, 16 or 24 comprises SEQ ID NO:4, 6, 8, 12, AAS, 14, 18, 20, 22, 26, KAS, 28, respectively, it meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 30, 33 and 35. Further, the ‘530 patent teaches the use of SEQ ID NO:18/26, 306/314 alone and 18/26, 306 and 314 together.
The claims of the ‘530 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of about 10mM histidine buffer, sucrose at about 2.7-7.5%, arginine at about 60-130mM and 0.05-0.2% polysorbate as in claims 1-40 and kits comprising thereof as in claims 41-42 of the instant application, respectively.
The ‘063 publication teaches liquid stable formulations comprising about 10mM histidine, sucrose at about 5%, 1-200mM of amino acid including arginine and about 0.001-0.1% of polysorbate (p. 8-9, 36, 38) and the exemplary antibodies comprise wide variety of antigens (p. 19-22). The ‘063 publication teaches composition comprising histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduce aggregates, improve viscosity and enhance stability of antibody (p. 2-3). Given that the identical formulations are being used to various antibodies, this would expect to stabilize the Fel dl antibody set forth in claim 1.
Likewise, the ‘523 publication teaches histidine about 10mM, antibody at 80-250mg/ml, sucrose at about 60-250mM and polysorbate at about 0.1% at pH 6 improves stability (p.2, claims) and kits (p. 35) comprising label for convenience.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to excipient concentrations as taught by the ‘063 and kits taught by the ‘523 publication into the monoclonal antibody taught by the ‘530 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of histidine, sucrose, arginine and polysorbate reduces viscosity and aggregates improve stability of antibody and kits would enhance convenience in packing for prefilled syringes for accurate dosage.
13. No claims allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
August 25, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641