DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the pending claims, applicant argues that Yao fails to teach providing, by the computing device, the configuration data to the equipment node to cause the equipment node to reallocate one or more computing resources from a first function to a second function in accordance with the identified allocation of resources. Examiner respectfully traverses this argument.
Examiner notes paragraphs 102, 105 and 120, which teaches the various measures taken in response to a predicted network issue. Paragraphs 102 and 105 recite “re-configurations of coverage related attributes”, and paragraph 111 which recites “the recommended actions may be for example to schedule the “scale-in” and “scale out” of VNFs to dynamically (re-)allocate the virtualized resources to where they are needed, or to create/update the resource allocation policy for different network slices to allow the network slices getting different percentage of resources in different time periods according the traffic patterns”. It is the examiner’s belief that this reads on providing, by the computing device, the configuration data to the equipment node to cause the equipment node to reallocate one or more computing resources from a first function to a second function in accordance with the identified allocation of resources, as the resources being dynamically re-allocated would comprise changing the functions being performed by at least some of the computing resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2021/0037400 (Yao et al.)
As to claims 1, 10 and 17, Yao teaches a system comprising:
an Operations Support System (OSS) device (see paragraphs 60, 62 and 120, OSS consumes MSAS so that it may provision services and handle faults in wireless network) configured to:
receive status information relating to operation of at least one equipment node (see paragraphs 71, 81 and 82, MDAS collects various performance metrics of wireless network);
determine, based on the status information, a predicted issue associated with the at least one equipment node (see paragraphs 71, 110 and 120, predicting potential issues/failures based on collected performance metrics);
identify an allocation of resources associated with the predicted issue; generate instructions associated with the allocation of resources; and provide the instructions to the at least one equipment node (see paragraphs 102, 105 and 111, various mitigation measures taken to resolve predicted issues); and
the at least one equipment node configured to reallocate one or more computing resources from a first function to a second function in accordance with the received instructions (see paragraphs 31, 102, 105 and 111, RAN nodes such as base station would implement the various mitigation measures such as creating new cells, beams, virtual network resources, slices or adding/changing physical units. Network resources such as virtual network functions may be re-configured/re-allocated as part of the mitigation measures).
As to claim 5, Yao further teaches providing a request to an administrator device operated by an administrative user of a network that includes the equipment node (see paragraph 78, human operator may be provided with information from OSS+MDAS so that they may decide what measure to take).
As to claim 6, Yao further teaches wherein the configuration data is provided to the equipment node upon receiving an authorization from the administrator device (see paragraphs 78 and 79, mitigation measures decided by human operator executed).
As to claim 7, Yao further teaches wherein reallocating the one or more computing resources comprises stopping the first function on a set of computing resources and starting the second function on the set of computing resources (see paragraphs 102, 105 and 111, network resources may be re-configured/re-allocated as part of the mitigation measures).
As to claim 8, Yao further teaches wherein the status information includes metric values associated with a performance of the equipment node (see paragraphs 71, 81 and 82, MDAS collects various performance metrics of wireless network).
As to claim 11, Yao further teaches wherein the predicted issue is determined based on one or more metrics indicated in the status information exceeding a threshold metric value within a predetermined amount of time (see paragraphs 82-100, various quantifiable metrics are measured for a time period to determine if there is a potential issue).
As to claim 12, Yao further teaches wherein the allocation of resources comprises additional computing resources dedicated to a function associated with the predicted issue (see paragraphs 102, 105 and 111, network resources may be added as part of the mitigation measures).
As to claim 13, Yao further teaches wherein the configuration data comprises an indication of the allocation of resources and instructions to implement the allocation of resources (see paragraphs 31, 102, 105 and 111, RAN nodes such as base station would implement the various mitigation measures such as creating new cells, beams, virtual network resources, slices or adding/changing physical units).
As to claim 14, Yao further teaches wherein the status information includes at least one metric value associated with a performance of the equipment node (see paragraphs 71, 81 and 82, MDAS collects various performance metrics of wireless network).
As to claim 15, Yao further teaches wherein determining the predicted issue associated with the equipment node comprises determining that the at least one metric value exceeds a threshold value for a period of time (see paragraphs 82-100, various quantifiable metrics are measured for a time period to determine if there is a potential issue).
As to claim 16, Yao further teaches wherein the status information is received at periodic intervals (see paragraphs 81 and 118, metrics collected periodically).
As to claim 18, Yao further teaches wherein the at least one equipment node comprises a base station (see paragraph 31).
As to claim 19, Yao further teaches wherein the base station services multiple user devices operating on a cellular network (see paragraph 32, UE served by RAN).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of US 2022/0386225 (Sapra et al.).
As to claim 2, Yao further teaches receiving, at the computing device, second status information relating to the equipment node; determining, by the computing device based on the second status information, that the predicted issue is resolved (see paragraphs 103).
What is lacking from Yao is and providing, by the computing device to the equipment node, instructions to cause the equipment node to reallocate the one or more computing resources to a default configuration.
In analogous art, Sapra teaches reverting a network node to a default configuration after an issue has determined to have been resolved (see Sapra, paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sapra, for those situations where the predicted issue is transitory and only requires a temporary solution.
As to claim 3, Yao further teaches wherein determining that the predicted issue is resolved is based on one or more conditions being met for a period of time (see paragraphs 82-83 and 103, various quantifiable metrics are measured for a time period to determine if an issue has been solved or mitigated).
As to claim 4, Yao further teaches wherein the one or more conditions being met comprise at least one data value determined from the status information exceeding a threshold data value (see paragraphs 82-100 and 103, various quantifiable metrics are measured for a time period to determine if an issue has been solved or mitigated).
As to claim 20, what is lacking from Yao is wherein the at least one equipment node is further configured to implement a previous allocation of the one or more computing resources upon a determination that the predicted issue has been mitigated..
In analogous art, Sapra teaches reverting a network node to a default or previously pre-issue configuration after an issue has determined to have been resolved (see Sapra, paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sapra, for those situations where the predicted issue is transitory and only requires a temporary solution.
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claim 9, what is lacking from Yao is wherein the predicted issue is determined based on an indication in the status information of a number of connection requests occurring over a period of time.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a network issue on the basis of a number of connection requests occurring over a period of time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Sapra so as to remedy potential overloading of the network, potentially by bad faith actors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641