DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/29/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6,7,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mani (US 8600239) in view of Wu et al; (CN 112202523A).
Regarding claim 1, Mani discloses an operation method for two-way delay error compensation in a communication system, (optical communication system with master side and slave side, see figure 3) the operation method comprising: setting a first wavelength (λ1) as a signal wavelength for a master;(one PTP session designated as "A" is established between the master and the slave over the fiber-optic cable pair using wavelength channel identified with wavelength λ1, ; see column 6, lines 22-26 and figure 3) and a third wavelength (λ3) as a signal wavelength for a slave in a first step; (a second PTP session designated as "B" is established using wavelength λ2 and additional PTP sessions can be established using additional wavelengths ; see column 6, lines 26-28 and figure 3) identifying a first time point (t1), a second time point (t2), a third time point (t3), and a fourth time point (t4) by using Precision Time Protocol (PTP) in a second step; (two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λA, and t4λA) and t1λB, and t4λB); see column 65-67 and figure 3), setting a second wavelength (λ2) as a signal wavelength for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) for the slave in a third step;(the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3) identifying a fifth time point (t5), a sixth time point (t6), a seventh time point (t7), and an eighth time point (t8) by using the PTP in a fourth step;(two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λA, and t4λA) and t1λB, and t4λB); see column 65-67 and figure 3).
However, Mani does not explicitly disclose identifying a delta value for a two-way delay error on the basis of the first time point to the eighth time point in a fifth step; and identifying a compensation value of the two-way delay error on the basis of the delta value for the two-way delay error in a sixth step.
In a related field of endeavor, Wu discloses identifying a delta value for a two-way delay error on the basis of the first time point to the eighth time point in a fifth step; ;( the obtained values TIC1, TIC2, TIC3 and TIC4 are measured by time measuring modules, in step 1 and calculating the master-slave station clock difference ΔT based on the timing values obtained in step 1; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1) and identifying a compensation value of the two-way delay error on the basis of the delta value for the two-way delay error in a sixth step ;( according to the clock difference obtained in step 2, compensating the slave station clock by slave station time delay compensation module, realizing the master-slave station time synchronization; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the delay compensation of Wu with Mani to accurately calculate the clock difference of the master-slave station, and the motivation is to realize real-time automatic compensation, improve the optical fiber time transmission precision.
Regarding claim 6, Mani does not explicitly disclose the operation method of claim 1, wherein the first step to the sixth step are repeatedly performed to improve accuracy of the compensation value of the two-way delay error.
In a related field of endeavor, Wu discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein the first step to the sixth step are repeatedly performed to improve accuracy of the compensation value of the two-way delay error; (realizing the master-slave station time synchronization and further repeating steps, obtaining the instantaneous clock difference, realizing the master-slave station real-time time synchronization, see pages 17-19).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the repeating steps of Wu with Mani to provide increased synchronization between the master and salve stations and the motivation is to provide increased synchronization accuracy between the master and slave stations.
Regarding claim 7, Mani discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein when the first wavelength (λ1) is set for the master and the third wavelength (λ3) ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) is set for the slave, a signal with the first wavelength is input from a first input port and output to a first output port in a first cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the master; (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Mani discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) is set for the slave, a signal with the second wavelength is input from a first input port and output to a second output port in a first cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the master; (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Mani discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) a signal with the second wavelength is input from a second input port and output to a first output port in a second cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the slave (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mani (US 8600239) in view of Wu et al; (CN 112202523A) and further in view of Zampetti (US 9264132).
Regarding claim 2, Mani discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein when the first wavelength (λ1) is set for the master and the third wavelength (λ3) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3).
However, the combination of Mani and Wu does not explicitly the first time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the second time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the third time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, and the fourth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed.
In a related field of endeavor, Zampetti discloses the first time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed;( an exchange of packets between master 210 and slave 220 is provided wherein the packet is transmitted by Master and time-of-departure is t1; see column 3, lines 8-10 and figure 2) the second time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed,( the packet arrives at slave station that measures the time-of-arrival as ꞇ2 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-arrival with respect to the master timescale is t2=ꞇ2−ε, see column 3, lines 11-14 and figure 2) the third time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, (packet is transmitted by slave that notes the time-of-departure is ꞇ3 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-departure with respect to the master timescale is t3= ꞇ3−ε, see column 3, lines 15-18 and figure 2) and the fourth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed; (Packet arrives at Master that measures time-of-arrival as t4; see column 3, lines 19 and 20 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the timing of packet delay of Zampetti with Mani and Wu to provide packet-based two-way time delay between the master and slave station and th motivation is provide time synchronization between the master and slave station.
Regarding claim 3, Mani discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the slave;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3).
However, the combination of Mani and Wu does not explicitly disclose the fifth time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the sixth time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the seventh time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, and the eighth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed.
In a related field of endeavor, Zampetti discloses the fifth time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed ;( an exchange of packets between master 210 and slave 220 is provided wherein the packet is transmitted by Master and time-of-departure is t1; see column 3, lines 8-10 and figure 2) the sixth time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed,( the packet arrives at slave station that measures the time-of-arrival as ꞇ2 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-arrival with respect to the master timescale is t2=ꞇ2−ε, see column 3, lines 11-14 and figure 2) the seventh time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, (packet is transmitted by slave that notes the time-of-departure is ꞇ3 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-departure with respect to the master timescale is t3= ꞇ3−ε, see column 3, lines 15-18 and figure 2) and the eighth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed; (packet arrives at Master that measures time-of-arrival as t4; see column 3, lines 19 and 20 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 2.
Claims 10,15,16,17 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mani (US 8600239) in view of Wu et al; (CN 112202523A).
Regarding claim 10, Mani discloses an apparatus for two-way delay error compensation in a communication system, (optical communication system with master side and slave side, see figure 3) the apparatus comprising: a transceiver ;(plurality of transmitters 110, 310 and receivers 314,114, see figure 3) and a controller operably connected to the transceiver;(controller 301, see figure 1) wherein the controller is configured to set a first wavelength (λ1) as a signal wavelength for a master ;(one PTP session designated as "A" is established between the master and the slave over the fiber-optic cable pair using wavelength channel identified with wavelength λ1, ; see column 6, lines 22-26 and figure 3) and a third wavelength (λ3) as a signal wavelength for a slave, (a second PTP session designated as "B" is established using wavelength λ2 and additional PTP sessions can be established using additional wavelengths ; see column 6, lines 26-28 and figure 3) identify a first time point, a second time point, a third time point, and a fourth time point by using Precision Time Protocol (PTP); (two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λA, and t4λA) and t1λB, and t4λB); see column 65-67 and figure 3), set a second wavelength (λ2) as a signal wavelength for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) for the slave ;(the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3) identify a fifth time point, a sixth time point, a seventh time point, and an eighth time point by using the PTP ;(two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λA, and t4λA) and t1λB, and t4λB); see column 65-67 and figure 3).
However, Mani does not explicitly disclose identify a delta value for a two-way delay error on the basis of the first time point to the eighth time point and identify a compensation value of the two-way delay error on the basis of the delta value for the two-way delay error.
In a related field of endeavor, Wu discloses identify a delta value for a two-way delay error on the basis of the first time point to the eighth time point;( the obtained values TIC1, TIC2, TIC3 and TIC4 are measured by time measuring modules, in step 1 and calculating the master-slave station clock difference ΔT based on the timing values obtained in step 1; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1) and identify a compensation value of the two-way delay error on the basis of the delta value for the two-way delay error ;( according to the clock difference obtained in step 2, compensating the slave station clock by slave station time delay compensation module, realizing the master-slave station time synchronization; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the delay compensation of Wu with Mani to accurately calculate the clock difference of the master-slave station, and the motivation is to realize real-time automatic compensation, improve the optical fiber time transmission precision.
Regarding claim 15, Mani does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to improve accuracy of the compensation value of the two-way delay error by repeatedly performing operation of the controller.
In a related field of endeavor, Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to improve accuracy of the compensation value of the two-way delay error by repeatedly performing operation of the controller ; (realizing the master-slave station time synchronization and further repeating steps, obtaining the instantaneous clock difference, realizing the master-slave station real-time time synchronization, see pages 17-19).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the repeating steps of Wu with Mani to provide increased synchronization between the master and salve stations and the motivation is to provide increased synchronization accuracy between the master and slave stations.
Regarding claim 16, Mani discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the first wavelength (λ1) is set for the master and the third wavelength (λ3) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) a signal with the first wavelength is input from a first input port and output to a first output port in a first cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the master (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Mani discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) is set for the slave, a signal with the second wavelength is input from a first input port and output to a second output port in a first cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the master (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Mani discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3) a signal with the second wavelength is input from a second input port and output to a first output port in a second cyclic arrayed waveguide grating (AWG) related to the slave; (the two wavelengths, (λ1 and λ2) along with other wavelengths in the system are wavelength division multiplexed by WDM 120 and carried over optical fiber strand 130 to the slave side where the WDM 121 extracts the two wavelength channels 126 and 326, lines 33-37 and figure 3).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mani (US 8600239) in view of Wu et al; (CN 112202523A) and further in view of Zampetti (US 9264132).
Regarding claim 11, Mani discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the first wavelength (λ1) is set for the master and the third wavelength (λ3) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3).
However, the combination of Mani and Wu does not explicitly disclose the first time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the second time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the third time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, and the fourth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed.
In a related field of endeavor, Zampetti discloses the first time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed ;( an exchange of packets between master 210 and slave 220 is provided wherein the packet is transmitted by Master and time-of-departure is t1; see column 3, lines 8-10 and figure 2) the second time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, ( the packet arrives at slave station that measures the time-of-arrival as ꞇ2 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-arrival with respect to the master timescale is t2=ꞇ2−ε, see column 3, lines 11-14 and figure 2) the third time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, (packet is transmitted by slave that notes the time-of-departure is ꞇ3 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-departure with respect to the master timescale is t3= ꞇ3−ε, see column 3, lines 15-18 and figure 2) and the fourth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed (Packet arrives at Master that measures time-of-arrival as t4; see column 3, lines 19 and 20 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the timing of packet delay of Zampetti with Mani and Wu to provide packet-based two-way time delay between the master and slave station and th motivation is provide time synchronization between the master and slave station.
Regarding claim 12, Mani discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the master and the second wavelength (λ2) is set for the slave ;(two wavelengths (λ1 and λ2) are set for the master side and the salve side, see figure 3).
However, the combination of Mani and Wu does not explicitly disclose the fifth time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the sixth time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed, the seventh time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, and the eighth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed.
In a related field of endeavor, Zampetti discloses the fifth time point is a time point of transmission at the master when transmission from the master to the slave is performed ;( an exchange of packets between master 210 and slave 220 is provided wherein the packet is transmitted by Master and time-of-departure is t1; see column 3, lines 8-10 and figure 2) the sixth time point is a time point of reception at the slave when transmission from the master to the slave is performed,( the packet arrives at slave station that measures the time-of-arrival as ꞇ2 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-arrival with respect to the master timescale is t2=ꞇ2−ε, see column 3, lines 11-14 and figure 2) the seventh time point is a time point of transmission at the slave when transmission from the slave to the master is performed, (packet is transmitted by slave that notes the time-of-departure is ꞇ3 assuming that the slave time offset from master is ε, the actual time-of-departure with respect to the master timescale is t3= ꞇ3−ε, see column 3, lines 15-18 and figure 2) and the eighth time point is a time point of reception at the master when transmission from the slave to the master is performed ; (packet arrives at Master that measures time-of-arrival as t4; see column 3, lines 19 and 20 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 11.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mani (US 8600239) in view of Wu et al; (CN 112202523A).
Regarding claim 19, Mani discloses an operation method of a master in a communication system,(optical communication system with master side and slave side, see figure 3) the operation method comprising: setting a first wavelength (λ1) as a signal wavelength for the master;(one PTP session designated as "A" is established between the master and the slave over the fiber-optic cable pair using wavelength channel identified with wavelength λ1, ; see column 6, lines 22-26 and figure 3) identifying a first time point and a third time point by using Precision Time Protocol (PTP); (two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λA, and t4λA), see column 6, lines 65-67 and figure 3) setting a second wavelength (λ2) as a signal wavelength for the master;(a second PTP session designated as "B" is established using wavelength λ2 and additional PTP sessions can be established using additional wavelengths ; see column 6, lines 26-28 and figure 3) and identifying a fifth time point and a seventh time point by using the Precision Time Protocol (PTP),( two reference sets of time-stamps for the two sessions, "A" and "B", are denoted by (t1λB, and t4λB); see column 65-67 and figure 3).
However, Mani does not explicitly disclose wherein the first time point, the third time point, the fifth time point, and the seventh time point are the basis for obtaining a delta value for a two-way delay error, and the delta value for the two-way delay error is the basis for identifying a compensation value of the two-way delay error.
In a related field of endeavor, Wu discloses wherein the first time point, the third time point, the fifth time point, and the seventh time point are the basis for obtaining a delta value for a two-way delay error ;( the obtained values TIC1, TIC2, TIC3 and TIC4 are measured by time measuring modules, in step 1 and calculating the master-slave station clock difference ΔT based on the timing values obtained in step 1; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1) and the delta value for the two-way delay error is the basis for identifying a compensation value of the two-way delay error ;( according to the clock difference obtained in step 2, compensating the slave station clock by slave station time delay compensation module, realizing the master-slave station time synchronization; see column 6, lines 10-16 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the delay compensation of Wu with Mani to accurately calculate the clock difference of the master-slave station, and the motivation is to realize real-time automatic compensation, improve the optical fiber time transmission precision.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,5,13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Bottari et al; (9584217) discloses a method of determining properties of an optical communications path between a first optical network node (A) and a second optical network node (B) determines, at the second optical network node (B), a time difference between respective first and second optical test signals received on different wavelengths (λ1, λ2) from the first optical network node, see figure 3A.
b. Sagarwala et al; (US 8462821) discloses a master node is configured to receive, from a slave node, a request to perform a modified two-step synchronization (sync) operation in a manner that precludes transmitting a follow-up packet; generate a sync packet in a manner that includes information associated with a previous time that a prior sync packet was transmitted to the slave node; transmit the sync packet to the slave node; receive, from the slave node, a delay request packet; transmit, to the slave node, a delay response packet, where the delay response packet stores information associated with another time at which the delay request packet was received, see figure 5.
c. James (WO 2016/092242) discloses alignment of slave clocks to a master clock and in dealing with transmission delay asymmetries where the forward and reverse communication paths between the master and slave clocks have asymmetric transmission rates, see figure 3.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634