DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 11395403) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Lim (US 11395403) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an electronic paper display device, in at least fig. 6A-6C); comprising: a frame (116); an upper protective layer (108 top) located on a top surface of the frame (116); a lower protective layer (108 bottom) located on a bottom surface of the frame (116); flexible substrate (106) extending from the upper protective layer (108 top) to the lower protective layer (108 bottom) and having a first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) located on the upper protective layer (108 top), a second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) located on the lower protective layer (108 bottom), a bending area (106, curved portion), and two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106), wherein one of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) is located between the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) and the bending area (106, curved portion), and another one of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) is located between the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) and the bending area (106, curved portion); and a front panel (110 and 114) located on the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) of the flexible substrate (106) (106).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose a reinforcing layer located on the first area, the second area, the bending area, and the two non-deformed areas of the flexible substrate (106).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a flexible display device, in at least (Fig. 34); comprising a reinforcing layer (412) located on the first area (NBA Top), the second area (NBA bottom), the bending area (BA), and the two non-deformed areas (Fig. 35, areas right of the BA and between the BA and marked NBA area) of the flexible substrate (106) (100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the reinforcing layer located on the first area, the second area, the bending area, and the two non-deformed areas of the flexible substrate (106), of D2. For the purpose of better protecting and strengthening the overall display device from any external forces.
With regard to claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a width of each of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) is less than or equal to a bend radius of the bending area (106, curved portion) (Col. 32, Ln. 36-43; uniform thickness).
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) respectively extend from the upper protective layer (108 top) and the lower protective layer (108 bottom), such that the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) suspend in mid-air (both top and bottom of 106 in the area between the bend and the non-bend area have areas with no support).
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein two opposite edges of each of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) adjoin the bending area (106, curved portion) and one of the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) and the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom).
With regard to claim 5, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) overlap with each other in a vertical direction (Fig. 4; both open areas beneath 106 can be seen in vertical alignment.
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the one of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) does not overlap with the upper protective layer (108 top) in a vertical direction, and the another one of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) does not overlap with the lower protective layer (108 bottom) in the vertical direction (Fig. 6A; upper NDA is pushed out further than the lower NDA).
With regard to claim 7, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however, D1 does not expressly disclose a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the reinforcing layer has two strengthened areas, and the two strengthened areas respectively overlap with the two non-deformed areas of the flexible substrate.
In a related endeavor, D1 teaches a display device, in at least (figures 32-35); wherein the reinforcing layer (400) has two strengthened areas (411 and 421), and the two strengthened areas (411 and 421) respectively overlap with the two non-deformed areas (NBA) of the flexible substrate (100).
With regard to claim 8, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a sidewall of the frame (116), a sidewall of the upper protective layer (108 top) and a sidewall of the lower protective layer (108 bottom) are aligned with each other in a vertical direction (fig. 4; 108 and 116 are aligned).
With regard to claim 9, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a sidewall of the frame (116) is recessed (Fig. 4, shows the bottom side where 116 protrudes, and top side where it is recessed) from a sidewall of the upper protective layer (108 top) and a sidewall of the lower protective layer (108 bottom).
With regard to claim 10, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a sidewall of the frame (116) protrudes Fig. 4, shows the bottom side where 116 protrudes, and top side where it is recessed) from a sidewall of the upper protective layer (108 top) and a sidewall of the lower protective layer (108 bottom).
With regard to claim 11, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the frame (116) protruding Fig. 4, shows the bottom side where 116 protrudes, and top side where it is recessed) from the sidewall of the upper protective layer (108 top) and the sidewall of the lower protective layer (108 bottom) overlaps with each of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106).
With regard to claim 12, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the front panel (110 and 114) comprises a front protective sheet (114), a display medium layer (110) located between the front protective sheet (114) and the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) of the flexible substrate (106), and a function layer located on the front protective sheet.
With regard to claim 13, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); further comprising: a chip (Col. 4, Ln. 31-44; chip on film); located on the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) of the flexible substrate (106).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches an electronic paper display device, comprising: a frame (116); an upper protective layer (108 top) located on a top surface of the frame (116); a lower protective layer (108 bottom) located on a bottom surface of the frame (116); a flexible substrate (106) extending from the upper protective layer (108 top) to the lower protective layer (108 bottom) and having a first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) located on the upper protective layer (108 top), a second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) located on the lower protective layer (108 bottom), a bending area (106, curved portion), and two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106), wherein the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) respectively extend from the upper protective layer (108 top) and the lower protective layer (108 bottom), and two edges of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) respectively away from the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) and the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) adjoin the bending area (106, curved portion); and a front panel (110 and 114) located on the first area (106, area where 106 is on top of 108 top) of the flexible substrate (106).
However, D1 does not expressly disclose a reinforcing layer located on the first area, the second area, the bending area, and the two non-deformed areas of the flexible substrate (106).
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a flexible display device, in at least (Fig. 34); comprising a reinforcing layer (412) located on the first area (NBA Top), the second area (NBA bottom), the bending area (BA), and the two non-deformed areas (Fig. 35, areas right of the BA and between the BA and marked NBA area) of the flexible substrate (106) (100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the invention of D1 with the reinforcing layer located on the first area, the second area, the bending area, and the two non-deformed areas of the flexible substrate (106), of D2. For the purpose of better protecting and strengthening the overall display device from any external forces.
With regard to claim 15, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); further comprising: a chip (Col. 4, Ln. 31-44; chip on film); located on the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) of the flexible substrate (106); and a flexible circuit board located on the second area (106, area where 106 is on the bottom of 108 bottom) of the flexible substrate (106) and electrically connected to the chip (Col. 4, Ln. 31-44; chip on film);.
With regard to claim 16, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a width of each of the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) is less than or equal to a bend radius of the bending area (106, curved portion) (Col. 32, Ln. 36-43; uniform thickness).
With regard to claim 17, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein the two non-deformed areas (106, area between the portion of 106 that touches 108, and the distinctly curved portion of 106) of the flexible substrate (106) overlap with each other in a vertical direction (fig 6A, all overlap).
With regard to claim 18, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches a display device, in at least (6A-6C); wherein a sidewall of the upper protective layer (108 top), a sidewall of the frame (116), and a sidewall of the lower protective layer (108 bottom) define a vertical plane, a recess structure, or a protruding structure (fig. 4, shows the frame in both a protruding and recessed structure).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872