DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first semiconductor film is between the second semiconductor film and the substrate and has a doping concentration of the second semiconductor film that is less than a doping concentration of the second semiconductor film” which is unclear because it is unclear how the first semiconductor film has the doping of the semiconductor film and also a doping less than a doping concentration of the second semiconductor film”. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2023/0074348 A1).
Regarding claim 1 , Wu discloses a tandem cell, comprising (see Figs: 1-3 [0137]- [0144])
a bottom cell, including (2):
a substrate (See Figs. 1 and 3, bottom cell of 2 is shown and [0138]) , having a front surface and a back surface that are opposite to each other.
In an additional embodiment Wu discloses before forming transport and intermediate layers a thin tunneling SiO2 dielectric passivation layer can be formed ([0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the tandem solar cell of Wu by first forming a SiO2 tunneling passivation layer (SiO2 is a dielectric material ) before forming transport and intermediate layers because Wu discloses that it is obvious to do so.
In addition, Wu discloses a semiconductor layer ([0137]-[0141], n+/ n++/p++ of n+/n++p++/p+), disposed on a surface of the tunnelling passivation dielectric (modification above) away from the substrate and is doped with doping ions wherein the semiconductor layer includes a plurality of semiconductor films (n+/ n++/p++) that are successively stacked in a direction perpendicular to the back surface of the substrate, the plurality of semiconductor films include at least a first semiconductor film (n+, 32 ) and a second semiconductor film (332/331, n++/p++), the first semiconductor film (32) is between the second semiconductor film (332/331, n++/p++) and the substrate and has a doping concentration less than second semiconductor film (332/331, n++/p++), the first semiconductor film (32) is configured to provide passivation for the bottom cell [0058], and the second semiconductor film (332/331, n++/p++) ([0047]) is configured to provide passivation and to serve as at least part of a recombination layer of the tandem cell an intermediate layer (layer p+ of n+/n++p++/p+ [0137]), disposed on a surface of the semiconductor layer away from the substrate; and a top cell (1), disposed on a side of the intermediate layer away from the substrate ([0139]-[0140]).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses wherein the doping concentration of the doping ions in the semiconductor layer gradually increases in a direction perpendicular to the back surface of the substrate and away from the substrate ([0108][0139]-[0141], graded doping indicated The doping concentration is slightly higher than the doping concentration of the n+ amorphous silicon layer, and reaches an order of 1019 cm−3 to the n++ layer which is 1020 cm−3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses wherein the plurality of semiconductor films include adjacent semiconductor films having a same thickness (thickness of n+ layer with higher doping is 0.5-1 nm from the interface of n+ and n++ layers, n++ and p++ layer can have thickness between 0.5-1 nm [0140]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses wherein the plurality of semiconductor films include adjacent semiconductor films having a same thickness (thickness of n+ layer with higher doping is 0.5-1 nm, n++ and p++ layer can have thickness between 0.5-1 nm [0140]) and the lower transport layer can have a thickness between 5nm -10nm ([0139]).
However, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor layer has a total thickness in a range of 10 nm to 120 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In another embodiment Wu discloses that the upper transport layer (31) (intermediate layer) can have and inorganic oxide ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the upper transport layer to further include a metal oxide as disclosed by Wu because Wu discloses it is obvious to do so.
Regarding claim 10, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses wherein the intermediate layer (31, p+) has a thickness
in a range of 1 nm to 20 nm ([0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu wherein a doping type of the first semiconductor film (n+) is different from a doping type of the second semiconductor film (p++ portion of n++/p++).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, modified Wu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses wherein the second semiconductor film has doping concentration in a range of 1x1018 cm3 to 1x1021 cm3 [0140] and wherein the second
semiconductor film has a thickness in the range of 1 nm to 20 nm ([0140]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new rejection relies on portions of the prior art which are not specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726