DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202310195393.5, filed on 03/03/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “communicated”, "two-dimensional charge balance state must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “communicated” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “communicated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term communicated is used four times in the specification but it is not clear how this term is applied to the components of Fig. 14.
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “charge balance state,” and “charge surplus working state“ in claim 3 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “charge balance state,” and “charge surplus working state” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Guan et al. ( US 2011/0101446 A1; hereinafter Guan )
Regarding claim 1, Guan teaches an impact-resistant super junction device, comprising: a silicon substrate ( Fig. 5N #502 ), a first epitaxial layer ( Fig. 5N #511 ), a second epitaxial layer ( Fig. 5N #504 ), at least one voltage-resistant layer (Fig. 5N #504 ), a gate oxide layer ( Fig. 5N #526 ), gates ( Fig. 5N #528 ), an interlayer dielectric ( implicit in Fig. 5N ), metal through holes ( implicit in Fig. 5N ), a circuit link layer ( implicit in Fig. 5N ), and at least one passivation layer ( [0032] Only the superjunction columns are shown in the layout of FIG. 4A other features such as metal layers, oxides, source and body regions are omitted for the sake of clarity; where the oxides are the passivation layer ); wherein the silicon substrate, the first epitaxial layer, the second epitaxial layer, the at least one voltage-resistant layer, the gate oxide layer, the gates, the interlayer dielectric, the metal through holes, the circuit link layer, and the at least one passivation layer are sequentially disposed from bottom to top ( as shown in Fig. 5N ); the at least one voltage-resistant layer comprises a first columnar region and a second columnar region( as shown in Fig. 5N ); the second columnar region is of a first polarity ( Fig. 5N #504 ); the first columnar region is of a second polarity ( Fig. 5N #514, #520 ); the first polarity ( [0036] to [0042] the sub layers of 504 are N type ) is opposite to the second polarity ( [0040] A diffusion process may now be carried out to diffuse out all the P-type implants into P-type regions forming up the P-type columns 514 and 520.); body regions and sources are disposed between the at least one voltage-resistant layer and the gate oxide layer ( Fig. 5N #522, #524 ); the metal through holes are uniformly distributed in the interlayer dielectric ( implicitly shown in Fig. 5N ); a lower end of each of the metal through holes is communicated with a corresponding one of the body regions and corresponding sources ( as shown in Fig. 5N ); an upper end of each of the metal through holes is communicated with the circuit link layer ( Fig. 5N gate 528 ).
Regarding claim 2, Guan teaches the impact-resistant super junction device according to claim 1 (as discussed above ), wherein more than one voltage-resistant layer is provided ( as shown in Fig. 5N ).
Regarding claim 3, Guan teaches the impact-resistant super junction device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the first columnar region comprises first columns of the second polarity ( Fig. 4A #306 ); the second columnar region comprises second columns of the first polarity ( Fig. 4A #308 ) ; an upper right corner of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as an origin ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); a vertical direction of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as an X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4A ) ; a horizontal direction of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as a Y direction ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); the first columns of the second polarity extending in the Y direction and disposed along the Y direction are alternately disposed with the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); the first columns of the second polarity disposed on the X direction and extending in the Y direction are alternately disposed with the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); wherein an interval between each two adjacent first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction and disposed along the Y direction is a first interval of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); an interval between each two adjacent first columns of the second polarity extending in the Y direction and disposed along the X direction is a second interval of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); wherein an interval between any one of the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction and disposed along the X direction and an adjacent second polar column extending in the Y direction is defined as a third interval of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); an interval between any one of the first columns of the second polarity extending in the Y direction and disposed along the X direction and an adjacent second polar column extending in the X direction is defined as the third interval of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); wherein an interval between any one of the first columns of the second polarity extending in the Y direction and disposed along the Y direction and an adjacent second polar column extending in the X direction is defined as a fourth interval of the second polarity; an interval between any one of the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction and disposed along the Y direction and an adjacent second polar column extending in the Y direction is defined as the fourth interval of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4A ); when each first interval of the second polarity is equal to each second interval of the second polarity, and each third interval of the second polarity is equal to each fourth interval of the second polarity, the impact-resistant super junction device is in a two-dimensional charge balance state ( as shown in Fig 4A ); when each first interval of the second polarity is not equal to each second interval of the second polarity, and each third interval of the second polarity is not equal to each fourth interval of the second polarity, the impact-resistant super junction device is in a first polarity charge surplus working state or a second polarity charge surplus working state ( Fig 4A #306 and #308 ).
Regarding claim 4, Guan teaches preparing method of an impact-resistant super junction device ( [0016] FIGS. 5A-5O are cross-sectional and top views illustrating a method of making a superjunction MOSFET device according to an embodiment of the present invention ), comprising: a step A: preparing epitaxial layers ( [0036] As shown in FIG. 5A, a starting material to form active cells 501 may include a N+ substrate 502 and a first N-Epi layer 504.sub.1 formed on top of the N+ substrate 502 ); a step B: preparing at least one voltage-resistant layer ( [0037] A first mask 506 is applied on top of the first N-type layer 504.sub.1 for P-type dopant implantation as shown in FIG. 5B ); a step C: preparing a front vertical double-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (VDMOS) structure ( Fig. 5N #514, #520 ); and a step D: preparing a circuit link layer and at least one passivation layer.
Regarding claim 5, Guan teaches the preparing method according to claim 4 ( as discussed above ), wherein the at least one voltage-resistant layer comprises a first columnar region and a second columnar region ( Fig. 4E #410 and #412 ); the second columnar region is of a first polarity ( Fig. 4E N-type columns #412 ), and the first columnar region is of a second polarity ( Fig. 4E P-type columns #410 ); the first polarity is opposite to the second polarity ( N-type is opposite P-type by definition ); the first columnar region comprises first columns of the second polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4E ); the second columnar region comprises second columns of the first polarity ( as shown in Fig. 4E ) ; wherein an upper right corner of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as an origin, a vertical direction of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as an X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4E ); a horizontal direction of the impact-resistant super junction device is defined as a Y direction ( as shown in Fig. 4E ); the first columns of the second polarity extending in the Y direction and disposed along the Y direction are alternately disposed with the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4E ); the first columns of the second polarity disposed on the X direction and extending in the Y direction are alternately disposed with the first columns of the second polarity extending in the X direction ( as shown in Fig. 4E).
Regarding claim 6, Guan teaches the preparing method according to claim 4 ( as discussed above ), wherein the step A comprises: a step S1: growing a first epitaxial layer on a silicon substrate by chemical vapor deposition ( this is an inherent process for growing an epitaxial layer using CVD ); and a step S2: growing a second epitaxial layer on the first epitaxial layer through a high-concentration epitaxial process or performing ion implantation on the first epitaxial layer to obtain the second epitaxial layer ( this is an inherent process for growing an epitaxial layer using CVD ); wherein the first epitaxial layer is configured as a buffer layer of the impact-resistant super-junction device ( Fig. 5N #511 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-9 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al.; US 2011/0101446 A1; 10/2009 in view of Dai et al; US 20220367616A1; 10/2020
Claim 7: Guan discloses the preparing method according to claim 4 ( as discussed above), wherein when only one voltage-resistant layer is provided (Fig. 5N #504 ).
Guan does not appear to disclose the step B comprises: a step S3: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition; a step S4: growing a hard film by chemical vapor deposition, spin-coating first photoresist on the hard film, exposing the first photoresist through a photoetching machine, defining a first pattern on the photoresist through a first mask, and defining the first pattern of the first photoresist on the hard film by etching; a step S5: preparing trenches by etching, and then removing the hard film; and a step S6: growing a reverse conductive layer by the chemical vapor deposition, filling the trenches to obtain the one voltage-resistant layer; performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities.
However, Dai teaches the step B comprises: a step S3: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition ( [0084] Referring to FIG. 5, the substrate (not shown) defining the core region I, the transition region II and the termination region III provided in step S1a is, for example, a monocrystalline silicon substrate, and a lowermost epitaxial layer 300 is then formed on the substrate using a deposition technique such as chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer deposition ) ; a step S4: growing a hard film by chemical vapor deposition, spin-coating first photoresist on the hard film, exposing the first photoresist through a photoetching machine, defining a first pattern on the photoresist through a first mask, and defining the first pattern of the first photoresist on the hard film by etching ( [0086] FIG. 6, a first patterned photoresist layer 40 is formed on a new grown lower epitaxial layer using the same photomask as has been used to form the regions 310, and with the new first patterned photoresist layer 40 serving as a mask, ions of the second conductivity type are normally implanted into a top portion of the new lower epitaxial layer, resulting in the formation of further regions 310 implanted with ions of the second conductivity type at the same depth, followed by removal of the first patterned photoresist layer 40 ); a step S5: preparing trenches by etching, and then removing the hard film ( [0029] b) etching through a partial thickness of the lower epitaxial layer to form therein a number of deep trench trenches, a width of one of the deep trenches at the interface between the transition region and the core region is less than a width of each deep trench in the core region ); and a step S6: growing a reverse conductive layer by the chemical vapor deposition, filling the trenches to obtain the one voltage-resistant layer; performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities ( [0078] S1e) performing an annealing process so that ions in the regions of the lower epitaxial layers that have received ion implantation in the first ion implantation processes diffuse so that the regions vertically merge to form alternately arranged pillars of the second and first conductivity types and that ions in the regions that have received ion implantation in the second ion implantation process diffuse so that the regions expand to meet tops of the respective pillars of the second conductivity type and thereby form wells of the second conductivity type ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Dai with Guan to implement the step B comprises: a step S3: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition; a step S4: growing a hard film by chemical vapor deposition, spin-coating first photoresist on the hard film, exposing the first photoresist through a photoetching machine, defining a first pattern on the photoresist through a first mask, and defining the first pattern of the first photoresist on the hard film by etching; a step S5: preparing trenches by etching, and then removing the hard film; and a step S6: growing a reverse conductive layer by the chemical vapor deposition, filling the trenches to obtain the one voltage-resistant layer; performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities because performing these steps in this order enables perfect charge balance and planar surface maintenance.
Claim 8: Guan and Dai disclose the preparing method according to claim 7 ( as discussed above ).
Guan does not appear to disclose when more than one voltage-resistant layer is provided, the step B comprises: a step S7: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition, performing ion implantation on the epitaxial layers, spin-coating second photoresist on the, epitaxial layers; defining a second pattern on the second photoresist through a second mask, and performing the ion implantation to obtain reverse doped regions; a step S8: repeating the step S7 to obtain the more than one voltage-resistant layer of the impact-resistant super junction device; and a step S9: performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities.
However, Dai teaches when more than one voltage-resistant layer is provided, the step B comprises: a step S7: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition, performing ion implantation on the epitaxial layers, spin-coating second photoresist on the, epitaxial layers ( [0084] The lowermost epitaxial layer 300 is for example an n-type monocrystalline silicon layer. Photoresist is then coated on the lowermost epitaxial layer 300 and subject to a sequence of photolithography steps including exposure and development so that a first patterned photoresist layer 40 is formed ); defining a second pattern on the second photoresist through a second mask, and performing the ion implantation to obtain reverse doped regions ( [0086] FIG. 7, another lower epitaxial layer 304 is formed on the lower epitaxial layer 303, and a second patterned photoresist layer 50 is formed on the lower epitaxial layer 304 using a new photomask, which has openings for ion implantation for forming the pillars of the second conductivity type, including the same openings as those in the first patterned photoresist layer 40 at the interface between the transition region II and the core region I and in the termination region III ) ; a step S8: repeating the step S7 to obtain the more than one voltage-resistant layer of the impact-resistant super junction device ( [0086] This process is repeated so that lower epitaxial layer 301, 302, 303 of the first conductivity type are successively stacked over the lowermost epitaxial layer 300 ); and a step S9: performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities ( [0088] Referring to FIGS. 8 and 9, in step S1e, a rapid annealing technique is utilized to anneal the whole structure resulting from the formation of the regions 315 so that the implanted ions of the second conductivity type in the regions 315 and 310 to 314 diffuse both vertically and horizontally ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Dai with Guan to implement when more than one voltage-resistant layer is provided, the step B comprises: a step S7: continuing to grow the epitaxial layers by chemical vapor deposition, performing ion implantation on the epitaxial layers, spin-coating second photoresist on the, epitaxial layers; defining a second pattern on the second photoresist through a second mask, and performing the ion implantation to obtain reverse doped regions; a step S8: repeating the step S7 to obtain the more than one voltage-resistant layer of the impact-resistant super junction device; and a step S9: performing high-temperature annealing, repairing lattice damage, and activating implanted impurities because the grow then implant method overcomes the limits of standard diffusion techniques.
Claim 9: Guan discloses the preparing method according to claim 4 ( as discussed above).
Guan does not appear to disclose the step C comprises a step S10: growing a gate oxide layer and a polysilicon, and etching the gate oxide layer and the polysilicon; a step S11: performing ion implantation to form body regions and sources; and a step S12: performing ion implantation to form ohmic contact regions.
However, Dai teaches the step C comprises a step S10: growing a gate oxide layer and a polysilicon, and etching the gate oxide layer and the polysilicon ( [0081] S1h) forming gate oxide layers and polysilicon gates in the core, transition and termination regions ); a step S11: performing ion implantation to form body regions and sources ( [0075] S1b) performing a first ion implantation process to implant ions of the second conductivity type into regions of the lower epitaxial layer ); and a step S12: performing ion implantation to form ohmic contact regions ( [0077] S1d) growing an upper epitaxial layer and performing a second ion implantation process to implant ions of the second conductivity type into regions of the upper epitaxial layer in alignment with some of the regions where the first ion implantation processes are performed ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Dai with Guan to implement the step C comprises a step S10: growing a gate oxide layer and a polysilicon, and etching the gate oxide layer and the polysilicon; a step S11: performing ion implantation to form body regions and sources; and a step S12: performing ion implantation to form ohmic contact regions because this sequence is a classic self-aligned FEOL process to build the complex high-performance vertical structure of a super junction.
Claim 10 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al.; US 2011/0101446 A1; 10/2009 in view of Escher-Poeppel et al.; US 2020/0227312 A1; 11/2019
Claim 10: Guan discloses the preparing method according to claim 4 ( as discussed above).
Guan does not appear to disclose the step D comprises: a step S13: depositing an interlayer dielectric; a step S14: defining regions of metal through holes by post-exposure etching, depositing the metal through holes by sputtering; depositing a metal layer, spinning third photoresist on the metal layer, exposing and etching the third photoresist to obtain the circuit link layer; and a step S15: depositing the at least one passivation layer, and exposing a pad region by a photolithography process and an etching process; wherein the third photoresist is etched by dry etching, wet etching, or a combination thereof.
However, Escher-Poeppel teaches the step D comprises: a step S13: depositing an interlayer dielectric ( Fig. 6A dielectric layers 24 ); a step S14: defining regions of metal through holes by post-exposure etching ( [0034] Referring back to FIG. 1A, a depth of the recess 2 may be further increased by applying at least one of an etching process and a laser process until a via hole is formed ), depositing the metal through holes by sputtering ( [0057] In a further optional act (not illustrated), a seed layer may be deposited over the bottom surfaces of the encapsulation material 4 and the semiconductor chip 6 before the spraying act, for example by applying at least one of sputtering and galvanic deposition ); depositing a metal layer, spinning third photoresist on the metal layer, exposing and etching the third photoresist to obtain the circuit link layer ( [0055] The metallization layers 26 may be formed as conductor tracks configured to make electrical contacts of the semiconductor chip 6 available at other positions of the arrangement ); and a step S15: depositing the at least one passivation layer, and exposing a pad region by a photolithography process and an etching process; wherein the third photoresist is etched by dry etching, wet etching, or a combination thereof ( [0059] For example, the first sprayed material 10A may form landing pads 34, i.e. contact pads configured to connect the semiconductor device 700 to a circuit board later on ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Escher-Poeppel with Guan to implement the step D comprises: a step S13: depositing an interlayer dielectric; a step S14: defining regions of metal through holes by post-exposure etching, depositing the metal through holes by sputtering; depositing a metal layer, spinning third photoresist on the metal layer, exposing and etching the third photoresist to obtain the circuit link layer; and a step S15: depositing the at least one passivation layer, and exposing a pad region by a photolithography process and an etching process; wherein the third photoresist is etched by dry etching, wet etching, or a combination thereof because this approach is a good strategy for reliable electrical access where high-voltage performance and long-term stability are critical.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817