DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7, 10, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 11,265,226).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu teaches a method for providing and/or using services, the services being provided at least indirectly by a network operator, the method comprising: providing a communication link between a network of the network operator and a user equipment (UE) (Figure 2, gateway, which comprises gateway control planes and gateway user planes enables a communication link between the UE network operator, which is the internet service provider (ISP)); transmitting a first communication address of a service controller of the network operator to the UE (Col. 13 lines 38 – 42, communication address of gateway), wherein the service controller manages an access to services that can be used by the UE (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, gateway provides the network slice information, which the services are based on, thus the gateway effectively manages access to the services); sending, by the UE, a request to access a particular service of the service controller to the first communication address of the service controller (Col. 15 lines 1 – 12, session connection create request); transmitting a message comprising a second communication address of the service from the service controller to the UE (Cols. 17 lines 26 – 33, 18 lines 44 – 60, service policy info comprises network slice connection policy, performs a service based on network slice, access type is the address of the service); and sending, by the UE, a request to start the service to the second communication address of the service (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, establishing and initiating the connection for the service).
Regarding Claim 12, Hu teaches a service controller for managing and/or providing services, wherein the service controller comprises: a first communication interface to a network layer of a network operator (Figure 2, gateway will communicate with internet network and thus the ISP in order to provide services to the UE via the access network thus there will be an interface to communicate with the ISP); a second communication interface to a service layer of the network operator (Figure 2, gateway will communicate with internet network and thus the ISP in order to provide services to the UE via the access network thus there will be an interface to communicate with the ISP); and a third communication interface to a user equipment (UE) (Figure 2, gateway communicates with the UE via the access network); wherein the service controller is configured to: provide a communication link between a network of the network operator and the UE (Figure 2, gateway, which comprises gateway control planes and gateway user planes enables a communication link between the UE network operator, which is the internet service provider (ISP)); transmit a first communication address of the service controller to the UE (Cols. 17 lines 26 – 33, 18 lines 44 – 60, service policy info comprises network slice connection policy, performs a service based on network slice, access type is the address of the service); manages an access to services that can be used by the UE (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, gateway provides the network slice information, which the services are based on, thus the gateway effectively manages access to the services); receive, via the first communication address of the service controller, a request to access a particular service of the service controller (Col. 15 lines 1 – 12, session connection create request).
Regarding Claim 14, Hu teaches a communication system, comprising: a service controller of a network operator (Figure 2, gateway, which comprises gateway control planes and gateway user planes); and a user equipment (UE) (Figure 2); wherein the service controller is configured to: provide a communication link between a network of the network operator and the UE (Figure 2, gateway, which comprises gateway control planes and gateway user planes enables a communication link between the UE network operator, which is the internet service provider (ISP)); transmit a first communication address of a service controller of the network operator to the UE (Col. 13 lines 38 – 42, communication address of gateway); and manage an access to services that can be used by the UE (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, gateway provides the network slice information, which the services are based on, thus the gateway effectively manages access to the services); wherein the UE is configured to send a request to access a particular service of the service controller to the first communication address of the service controller (Col. 15 lines 1 – 12, session connection create request); wherein the service controller is further configured to transmit a message comprising a second communication address of the service from the service controller to the UE (Cols. 17 lines 26 – 33, 18 lines 44 – 60, service policy info comprises network slice connection policy, performs a service based on network slice, access type is the address of the service); and wherein the UE is further configured to send a request to start the service to the second communication address of the service (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, establishing and initiating the connection for the service).
Regarding Claim 2, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu further teaches wherein the first communication address of the service controller is transmitted upon a request by the UE and/or by a network controller upon the UE registering to the network (Col. 13 line 13, UE sends an attach request message).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu further teaches wherein the service controller transmits to the UE a list of possible available services of different types, wherein the UE selects the service from the list (Col. 18 lines 55 – 57, searching network slices thus there will be a list of slices).
Regarding Claim 5, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu further teaches wherein the message comprises parameters characterizing the service (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, network slice information characterizes the service).
Regarding Claim 6, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 5. Hu further teaches wherein the message comprises a list with respective second communication addresses of several different implementations of a respective service (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, access types are the addresses, plurality of network slices thus there will be a list), wherein: the UE selects one of the implementations based on the parameters and/or the service controller performs a pre-selection of the implementations based on a second criteria (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, selection based on the desired service).
Regarding Claim 7, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu further teaches wherein a service provider registers the service, wherein the service is known to the service controller, and wherein the service controller keeps the service available for requests (Figure 2, Cols. 17 lines 26 – 33, 18 lines 44 – 60, typical ISPs register the services they offer, gateway provides network slice information, which is service information thus gateway keeps slices available).
Regarding Claim 10, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu further teaches wherein the service is set up in the network of the network operator or in a further network of a further network operator (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, the service will be set up in the network of the ISP (Figure 2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 11,265,226) in view of Yoshizawa (US 2016/0044544).
Regarding Claim 3, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 2. Hu does not teach wherein the network controller selects, from among a plurality of service controllers, the service controller whose first communication address it transmits to the UE according to a first criterion.
Yoshizawa, which also teaches the use of gateways, teaches wherein the network controller selects, from among a plurality of service controllers, the service controller whose first communication address it transmits to the UE according to a first criterion (Sections 0017, 0018, appropriate gateway is selected to accommodate handoff based on a handoff request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hu with the above features of Yoshizawa for the purpose of preserving calls when changing networks as taught by Yoshizawa.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 11,265,226) in view of Agarwal et al. (US 2017/0171818)
Regarding Claim 8, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu does not teach wherein in case that the service is not available yet, the service controller sets up the service.
Agarwal, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein in case that the service is not available yet, the service controller sets up the service (Section 0090, in DRX the mobile can be sleep during inactive periods while remaining connected to the network, the connection has been established or set up).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hu with the above features of Agarwal for the purpose of providing an efficient use of power as taught by Agarwal.
Regarding Claim 9, Hu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 8. Hu does not teach wherein the service controller for setting up the service obtains execution-relevant information from a provider of the service and/or an internal service database of the network operator.
Agarwal, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein the service controller for setting up the service obtains execution-relevant information from a provider of the service and/or an internal service database of the network operator (Section 0090, device can wake up and monitor for activity which comprises execution relevant information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hu with the above features of Agarwal for the purpose of providing an efficient use of power as taught by Agarwal.
Claim(s) 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 11,265,226) in view of Govindassamy (US 10,531,361)
Regarding Claim 11, Hu teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Hu does not teach wherein the service is set up in a distributed manner in the network of the network operator and in a further network of a further network operator.
Govindassamy, which also teaches use of internet services, teaches wherein the service is set up in a distributed manner in the network of the network operator and in a further network of a further network operator (Col. 4 lines 18 – 36, distribution of internet services across access networks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hu with the above features of Govindassamy for the purpose of enabling a client device to get internet service from multiple sources as taught by Govindassamy.
Regarding Claim 13, Hu combination teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Hu further teaches a service handling engine; a service database; a service monitoring engine; a life cycle management engine; and/or a trust relation management engine (Col. 18 lines 44 – 60, gateway provides the network slice information, which the services are based on thus the entity of said gateway that handles the network slice information is the service handling engine).
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
January 31, 2026