DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has submitted two pieces of non-patent literature which purport to show that Vitamin E is not a secondary antioxidant as claimed by Applicant in instant Claim 9. So, either Vitamin E is not a secondary antioxidant and Claim 9 is indefinite as it claims something which is not physically possible OR applicant has made a discovery that all variations of Vitamin E are a secondary antioxidant in which case the primary claim is anticipated by Deschamps, Ho, and rendered obvious by Deschamps further in view of Kulprathipanja et al. (US 2003/0089228) as detailed below. Applicant’s paragraphs 33 and 34 in combination tell a person of ordinary skill in the art that tocopherol and Irganox 1520, which applicant has submitted NPL which states that Irganox 1520 is both a primary and secondary antioxidant, are equivalent and that “As the antioxidant, one type of these may be used alone, or two or more types of these may be used in combination” which would lead one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to be led to believe that all such listed antioxidants are equivalent in use and that all can function as both primary and secondary antioxidants and that one may expect equivalent performance from any such subset of listed antioxidants. As this is applicant’s assertion in their originally filed application that these are equivalent products for use in the invention then substitution of tocopherol in place of Irganox 1520 would be expected to have the same results, and applicant’s assertion that different results are present between only a primary antioxidant and a primary with secondary antioxidant are not relevant as all listed equivalent antioxidants taught by applicant are assumed to have the same effect of having both a primary and secondary antioxidant effect because they are listed by applicant as equivalent.
In response to applicant's argument that vitamin E is not both a primary and secondary antioxidant , the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Courts have held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.01
The courts have held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, as in the case of Vitamin E and analogues thereof as claimed by Applicant, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112
In the instant case applicant has not sufficiently proved that the claimed invention which comprises both a primary and secondary antioxidant which, as disclosed by applicant in the originally filed applicant and the current claim set Vitamin E and analogues thereof are all equivalent and substantially identical for use in the current invention are distinguished over the prior art which teaches the use of Vitamin E and analogues as antioxidants as claimed by applicant and as rejected hereinbelow. As such the rejections of the claims in view of Deschamps, Ho, and as rendered obvious by Deschamps further in view of Kulprathipanja et al. (US 2003/0089228) are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Deschamps et al. “Poly(ethylene oxide)/poly(butylene terephthalate) segmented block copolymers: the effect of copolymer composition on physical properties and degradation behavior” NPL hereinafter “Deschamps”.
With regards to Claim 1 Deschamps teaches:
Polymer films comprising Poly(Ethylene Oxide) (PEO) and Poly(Ethylene Glycol) (PEG) as well as Poly(Ethylene Oxide) Terephthalate (PEOT) and Poly(Butylene Terephthalate) (PBT) segments synthesized from PEG. (See Deschamps pg. 9335, Abstract) The PEOT/PBT co-polymer reads on applicant’s claimed polymer which has a polyethylene oxide structure including the PEOT which reads on applicant's claimed ethyleneoxy unit at a proportion of 57% or more in terms of weight ratio with respect to 100% of constitutional units of a main chain. (See Deschamps pg. 9336 Table 1 and 2.1 “Polymerizations”) The polymer film also comprises an antioxidant, Irganox 1330 and/or vitamin E, at 0, 0.5, 1, and 2 wt.% which reads on applicant's claimed antioxidant having an I/O value of 0.4 or less according to applicant’s specification Paragraph 34. (See Deschamps Pg. 9337, 2.4 “Degradation”)
The film which comprises both the PEOT/PBT co-polymer and the antioxidant, in particular vitamin E, reads on applicant’s claimed separate functional layer containing “a primary antioxidant and a secondary antioxidant as the antioxidant” which is interpreted in view of applicant’s disclosure, Paragraph 33, to mean that there is a singular antioxidant which performs both as a “radical scavenger” and as a “peroxide decomposition agent”. Applicant discloses vitamin E as performing both of these functions.
Courts have held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.01
The courts have held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112
Deschamps discloses a PEOT/PBT copolymer with a “soft” or PEOT segment to “hard” or PBT segment ratio of 21 to 68 percent depending on the segment ratios and weight of the initial PEG molecule with a specific 70/30 soft/hard segment ratio (wt./wt.) of 62% for PEG 1000 which anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 57% or more in terms of weight ratio with respect to 100% of constitutional units of a main chain. In the alternative Deschamps renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Deschamps as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
The method of using the apparatus, as per the preamble use as a gas separation membrane, does not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure in addition to that disclosed by Deschamps. The courts have held that the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. The apparatus or product must be structurally distinct from the prior art. See MPEP 2114
With regards to Claim 2 Deschamps teaches:
The polymer film also comprises an antioxidant, vitamin E, at 0, 0.5, 1, and 2 wt.% which reads on applicant's claimed antioxidant having an organic value of 500 which anticipates and reads on applicant's claimed range of 300 to 1,500 and an inorganic value of 145 which anticipates and reads on applicant's claimed range of 0 to 300 according to applicant’s specification Paragraph 34. (See Deschamps Pg. 9337, 2.4 “Degradation”)
Deschamps discloses an antioxidant, in particular vitamin E which has an organic value of 500 which anticipates and reads on applicant's claimed range of 300 to 1,500 and an inorganic value of 145 which anticipates and reads on applicant's claimed range of 0 to 300 according to applicant’s specification Paragraph 34. In the alternative Deschamps renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Deschamps as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
With regards to Claim 3 Deschamps teaches:
The polymer film also comprises an antioxidant, vitamin E, which is a liquid under standard conditions of 1 atmosphere of pressure and temperature of 25˚C. (See Deschamps Pg. 9337, 2.4 “Degradation”)
With regards to Claims 6 and 7:
The method of using the apparatus, as per claim 6, use as a gas separation membrane, does not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure in addition to that disclosed by Deschamps. The courts have held that the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. The apparatus or product must be structurally distinct from the prior art. See MPEP 2114
Claim(s) 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Deschamps et al. “Poly(ethylene oxide)/poly(butylene terephthalate) segmented block copolymers: the effect of copolymer composition on physical properties and degradation behavior” NPL hereinafter “Deschamps” as applied above in the rejection of Claim 1 further in view of Kulprathipanja et al. (US 2003/0089228).
With regards to Claims 5, 8 and 9:
Deschamps teaches:
A separate functional layer as detailed above in the rejection of claim 1 which comprises a functional layer comprising an antioxidant, in particular vitamin E, and a polymer as above.
Deschamps does not teach:
The film or co-polymer with an antioxidant which reads on applicant's claimed separate functional layer is formed on a porous support layer.
Kulprathipanja teaches:
A gas separation membrane, and method of forming said gas separation membrane, with a PEG matrix formed on a porous support which reads on applicant's claimed porous support (See Kulprathipanja Abstract, Paragraphs 2, 16, 21, 26)
Deschamps discloses the claimed invention except for Deschamps does not teach the functional layer is located on a porous support. Kulprathipanja teaches that it is known to place a PEG based membrane on a porous support for use in some applications for use as a membrane in order to provide additional structural integrity to the membrane. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the membrane taught by Deschamps to include a porous support as taught by Kulprathipanja, since Kulprathipanja states at Paragraph 3 “The higher the membrane permeability, the more attractive is the use of membranes for a gas separation process. As will hereinafter be shown in greater detail, the permeability of a polymeric membrane may be increased as well as altered by forming a mixed matrix membrane and thus providing a novel membrane of this invention.” In other words that such a modification would increase the permeability of the polymeric membrane compared to the polymeric membrane without the porous support material. See MPEP 2144
Additionally, Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (US 2019/0307610).
With regards to Claim 9 Ho teaches:
A polymeric membrane which reads on applicant's claimed gas separation membrane as it provides breathability and regulation of moisture and which reads on applicant's claimed separate functional layer containing tocopherols which reads on applicant's claimed vitamin E or an analogous thereof. (See Ho Paragraph 9, 14, 41 and Fig. 2 and 3) A porous backing which reads on applicant's claimed porous support layer, part 4. (See Ho Paragraphs 9, 14, and Fig. 2 and 3)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Contact Information
/BRIT E. ANBACHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
BRIT E. ANBACHT
Examiner
Art Unit 1776