DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 02 March 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-031961 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 June 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0076133 to Suzuki et al. (“Suzuki”).
With regard to Claims 1-2, Suzuki teaches a method for manufacturing a gas barrier laminate via forming a layer of inorganic deposited film or a polysilazane-based compound on a substrate (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0021], [0023], [0025], [0060], [0068]-[0085]). In the case of forming a layer of polysilazane-based compound, said compound is subsequently modified after layer formation via treatment (see ¶¶ [0025], [0060], [0085]). Suzuki teaches deposition of layer materials using any known method without particular limitation (see ¶¶ [0092]). In the case of inorganic deposited film material, Suzuki teaches formation thereof via multilayer application (see ¶ [0067]).
Suzuki teaches the thickness of layers such as the polysilazane-based compound is not particularly limited (see ¶ [0090]). Although Suzuki does not expressly teach formation of multiple polysilazane-based compound layers; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deposited multiple layers of any thickness, including thicknesses within the claimed range, in view of Suzuki’s disclosure to deposit an alternative layer material as such. It would have otherwise been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have laminated first and second layers of polysilazane-based compound to achieve a desired thickness of a polysilazane-based compound layer prior to modification treatment thereof.
With regard to Claim 3, Suzuki teaches modification treatment such that a composition gradient is developed in the direction of an outer surfaced towards the substrate surface (see ¶¶ [0021], [0023], [0103], [0120], [0130]-[0131], [0143]-[0144]).
With regard to Claim 4, Suzuki does not expressly teach the claimed layer thickness ratio. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deposited an initial layer thicker than subsequently applied layers in order to exercise a high degree of control of overall layer thickness in obtaining a desired thickness.
With regard to Claim 5, Suzuki teaches formation of a gas barrier laminate layer within the claimed thickness (see ¶ [0090]).
With regard to Claim 13, Suzuki teaches ion implantation at doses and treatment conditions sufficient to meet intended use of the laminate (see ¶ [0140], [0143]). The reference does not expressly teach the claimed duration; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed duration throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in obtaining a laminate fit for a desired use.
Similarly, with regard to Claim 14, Suzuki teaches treatment depth can be controlled in order to meet intended use (see ¶¶ [0130], [0143]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have obtained a thickness of modification treatment within the claimed range.
With regard to Claim 15, Suzuki teaches thickness ratios of modified regions within the claimed range (see Abstract; ¶ [0058]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 June 2026 have been fully considered in view of the claims as amended but are not found persuasive. As noted herein, Suzuki teaches multiple layer application operations, and that polysilazane-component layer thickness is not particularly limited in pursuit of a desired overall layer thickness.
New grounds of rejection are presented herein in response to the claims as amended.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712