DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, drawn to a method of making a fabric article, in the reply filed on 02/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/06/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the steps of forming…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the size of the rigid support”. It is unclear which rigid support the Applicant wants to refer to as there are two rigid supports.
Claim 11 recites “the rigid support” in line 3. It is unclear which rigid support the Applicant wants to refer to as there are two rigid supports.
Claim 17 recites “the first support” in line 1. It is unclear “the first support” is the same or different from “the first rigid support” in claim 7. For the purpose of applying art, “the first support” is interpreted as the first rigid support.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Linkous (US 6868626).
Regarding claim 1, Linkous teaches a method for needlepoint finishing comprising:
a/ trimming a canvas (column 4, lines 44-46, the edge of the needlework fabric is trimmed) completed with a needlepoint stitched design leaving an edge portion spaced from a stitched area of the canvas to leave an unstitched area around at least a portion of a periphery of the canvas (figs. 2, 4-5);
b/ cutting a non-paper based rigid support to a desired size (column 4, lines 21-23, cutting the support (see fig. 14) to a desired size; column 8, lines 41-43, the support comprising plastic sheets 224, and as shown in fig. 14, the support comprising a rigid plastic panel 226);
c/ placing unstitched edges of the canvas around itself or around edges of the rigid support (figs. 2 and 8b);
d/ wrapping a fabric (column 9, lines 30-32, the two piece frame is covered with fabric) composed of softer material than the rigid support around the support (the fabric is softer than the rigid plastic) and;
e/ attaching the fabric to one or both of the rigid support or the canvas (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Linkous teaches positioning a padding (fig. 14, foam 222) of softer material than the rigid support between the stitched area of the canvas and the rigid support to capture the padding between the stitched area of the canvas and the rigid support (figs. 2, 8b).
Regarding claim 3, Linkous teaches the size of the rigid support is less than a size of the canvas (figs. 2 and 8b).
Regarding claim 5, Linkous teaches the steps of forming at least one cutout in the rigid support (fig. 6a, fasteners 28, or fig. 6b, fasteners 90 make at least one cutout in the plastic sheet) and placing a grommet in the at least one cutout to reinforce the at least one cutout (column 5, lines 28-31, fasteners are framer’s points, screws, turn buttons, nails), the at least one cutout enabling the fabric and canvas to be placed in apposition.
Regarding claim 6, Linkous teaches the rigid support is composed of a substantially non-absorbent material (a plastic sheet) to limit retention of moisture and degradation of integrity of the rigid support and stitched canvas.
Regarding claim 7, Linkous teaches a method for needlepoint finishing comprising:
a/ trimming a canvas (column 4, lines 44-46, the edge of the needlework fabric is trimmed) completed with a needlepoint stitched design leaving an edge portion spaced from a stitched area of the canvas to leave an unstitched area around at least a portion of a periphery of the canvas (figs. 2, 4-5);
b/ cutting a non-paper based first rigid support to a desired size (column 4, lines 21-23, cutting the support (see fig. 14) to a desired size; column 8, lines 41-43, the support comprising plastic sheets 224, and as shown in fig. 14, the support comprising a rigid plastic panel 226);
c/ wrapping the canvas around at least edges of the first rigid support to form a first multilayered piece comprising the canvas and first rigid support (figs. 2 and 8b);
d/ wrapping a fabric (column 9, lines 30-32, the two piece frame is covered with fabric) around a second rigid support (column 8, lines 54-57, a second piece of the frame or a backing member, which is comprised of wood, plastic, metal, or heavy rubber); to form a second multilayered piece comprising the fabric and second rigid support, the fabric composed of softer material than the first rigid support (the fabric is softer than the rigid plastic);
e/ placing the first and second multilayered pieces in apposition (fig. 2); and
f/ attaching the first and second multi-layered pieces such that the first and second rigid supports restrict bending of the canvas (figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Linkous the size of the rigid support is less than a size of the canvas (figs. 2 and 8b), and further comprising one or both of a/ a first padding (fig. 14, foam 222) positioned in the first multilayered piece between the first rigid support and canvas and b/ a second padding positioned in the second multilayered piece between the second rigid support and fabric.
Regarding claim 10, Linkous teaches the first and second rigid supports are of different thicknesses and/or different sizes (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Linkous teaches one or both of the first and second rigid supports are composed of a substantially non-absorbent material (the first rigid support is a plastic sheet, the second rigid support is wood, plastic, metal or heavy rubber) to limit retention of moisture and degradation of integrity of the rigid support and stitched canvas.
Regarding claim 13, Linkous teaches attaching a second rigid support (column 8, lines 54-57, a second piece of the frame or a backing member, which is comprised of wood, plastic, metal, or heavy rubber) having one or both of a/ a different thickness than a thickness of the non-paper based rigid support or b/ a different size than a size of the non-paper based rigid support (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Linkous teaches the canvas is trimmed (column 4, line 45; column 4, lines 37-column 5, line 4) or the rigid support is cut so their contours substantially correspond (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Linkous teaches the trimmed canvas has an asymmetric shape (figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 17, Linkous teaches the first support has at least one cutout (fig. 6a, fasteners 28, or fig. 6b, fasteners 90 make at least one cutout in the plastic sheet) to enable the fabric and canvas to be placed in apposition and a grommet (column 5, lines 28-31, fasteners are framer’s points, screws, turn buttons, nails) is positioned in the at least one cutout.
Regarding claim 19, Linkous teaches the grommet is attached to the canvas ad fabric (figs. 6a, 6b).
Regarding claim 20, Linkous teaches a second support stacked with the non-paper based rigid support (fig. 14, plastic panel 226 or another layer of plastic sheet 224).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linkous (US 6868626), as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Kronenberger (US 2006/0143790).
Regarding claim 4, Linkous does not teach attaching a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and canvas are joined.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kronenberger teaches a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and design are joined (figs. 2-3, para. [0060], thread 26 is wrapped/embroidered around the perimeter edge 24 of a design 16; and the substrate layer 14 is fabric).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Linkous with attaching a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and canvas are joined as taught by Kronenberger for the benefit of providing aesthetically pleasing features to the artwork.
Regarding claim 9, Linkous does not teach attaching a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and canvas are joined.
However, Kronenberger teaches a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and design are joined (figs. 2-3, para. [0060], thread 26 is wrapped/embroidered around the perimeter edge 24 of a design 16; and the substrate layer 14 is fabric).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Linkous with attaching a cording positioned to hide a region where the fabric and canvas are joined as taught by Kronenberger for the benefit of providing aesthetically pleasing features to the artwork.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linkous (US 6868626), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Smelcer (US 2018/0093196).
Regarding claim 18, Linkous does not teach inserting a ribbon through the grommet.
However, Smelcer teaches a ribbon through the grommet (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Linkous with a ribbon through the grommet as taught by Smelcer for the benefit of holding, carrying or suspending during using or storage (Smelcer, para. [0038]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, for instance, the difference between the patented claim 1 and the instant claim 1 are minor and obvious from each other. The instant claim 1 is a broader version of the patented claim (i.e. the instant claim 1 does not include the limitations “securing a first magnet in or on the rigid support” as in the patented claim 1). Therefore, the patented claim 1 would read on the instant claim 1. Furthermore, in the instant claim 1, the claimed limitations can be found in the patented claim 1. Any infringement over the patented claim 1 would also infringe over the instant claim 1. Hence, the instant claim does not differ from the scope of the patented claim 1.
For the same reason, claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12584254.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732