DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/20/2026. Please see page 4 of the Supplemental Restriction Requirement dated 1/9/2026 concerning the reasoning for independence/distinctness and/or search burden between Species A and B.
Examiner recognizes that Applicant’s election of Species A encompasses claims 1-5. However, please note that claim 3 is also directed towards non-elected Species B at least because Applicant’s disclosed inks only possess the feature of claim 3 (5.0 wt% or less of solvent B) in combination with the non-elected high viscosity binder polymer dispersion liquid. See Applicant’s Exemplary Inks.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024, 8/12/2024, and 3/1/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2020/0048488 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Wilson et al. disclose an aqueous ink comprising:
water (paragraph 22);
a solvent group A having a vapor pressure of 1.0 Pa or more at 25°C (paragraph 16)
a thickener (at least glycerol: paragraph 18); and
a binder polymer (paragraph 19),
wherein the solvent group A is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 25 wt% to 30 wt% with respect to a total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 16),
wherein the thickener is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 13.1 wt% to 27.3 wt% with respect to a total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 18), and
wherein the aqueous ink has a viscosity of 10 mPas to 14 mPas at 25°C (paragraph 155).
Regarding claim 2:
Wilson et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the thickener includes a solvent group B having a vapor pressure of less than 1.0 Pa at 25°C (paragraph 18), and the solvent group B is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 25.0 wt% or less with respect to the total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 4:
Wilson et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the binder polymer is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 5.0 wt% or less with respect to the total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoni et al. (US 2020/0140708 A1) in view of Akatani et al. (US 2008/0070009 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Shimoni et al. disclose an aqueous ink comprising:
water (paragraph 223);
a solvent group A having a vapor pressure of 1.0 Pa or more at 25°C (propylene glycol: paragraph 223)
a thickener (glycerol: paragraph 223); and
a binder polymer (PVP: paragraph 223),
wherein the solvent group A is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 25 wt% to 30 wt% with respect to a total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 223),
wherein the thickener is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 13.1 wt% to 27.3 wt% with respect to a total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 223), and
wherein the aqueous ink has a viscosity that is set to a particular range (paragraph 124-125).
Shimoni et al. do not expressly disclose an ink viscosity of 10 mPas to 14 mPas at 25°C.
However, Akatani et al. teach that the viscosity of an aqueous ink should generally be 2 mPas to 10 mPas at 25°C, from the viewpoint of jetting responsibility at high speed (paragraph 39).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shimoni et al.’s ink such that the ink viscosity is e.g. 10 mPas, as suggested by Akatani et al.
Regarding claim 2:
Shimoni et al.’s modified ink comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Shimoni et al. also disclose that the thickener includes a solvent group B having a vapor pressure of less than 1.0 Pa at 25°C (inherent to glycerol: paragraph 223), and the solvent group B is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 25.0 wt% or less with respect to the total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 223).
Regarding claims 4-5:
Shimoni et al.’s modified ink comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Shimoni et al. also disclose that the binder polymer is present in the aqueous ink in a weight percent of 3 wt% or less with respect to the total amount of the aqueous ink (paragraph 223).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853