DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the charge quantity carried by a first-type charged particle" in lines 15-16. Claims 20 and 21 recited similar limitations. It is unclear if this charge quantity is the charge quantity carried by the first charged subparticles and the second charged subparticles or if it is a different charge quantity associated with the charged particle For the purposes of art rejection, Examiner interprets the charge quantity to be of the charged subparticles. Claims 2-18 do not further clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al (US PGPub 2014/0104675) and Qiu et al. (US PGPub 2019/0004388).
Regarding claim 1, Morikawa discloses an electronic paper display panel ([0255], “The display device according to the exemplary embodiment may be included in an electronic device, a display medium, a card medium, or the like (specifically, for example, an electronic bulletin board, electronic notice board, electronic blackboard, electronic advertisement, electronic signboard, blinking signal, electronic paper, electronic newspaper, electronic book, electronic document, sheet used for a copying machine or a printer, portable computer, tablet computer, mobile phone, smart cart, signing machine, timepiece, shelf label or flash drive)” also see fig. 2, display device 10), comprising a first substrate (fig. 2, display substrate 20) and a second substrate (fig. 2, back substrate 22) opposite to each other and a plasma layer between the first substrate and the second substrate (fig. 2 and [0182], a display substrate 20 that is a display surface; a back substrate 22 that is disposed opposite the display substrate 20 with a gap interposed therebetween” where fig. 2 shows the dispersion medium 50), wherein
the plasma layer comprises an electrophoretic fluid, first-type charged particles ([0185], “Plural kinds of the color particle groups 34 are the particles that electrophoretically move between the substrates. The absolute values of voltages of the respective color particle groups required for moving in response to an electric field are different from one another”), and second-type charged particles (Morikawa: fig. 2, white particles 36), wherein
the first-type charged particles have charges with a first electrical property ([0028], “The color particles are positively or negatively charged and move in the dispersion when an electric field having a predetermined field intensity or higher is formed”), the second-type charged particles have charges with a second electrical property, wherein the first electrical property is opposite to the second electrical property (Morikawa: [0120], “It is preferable that the white particles have a charging property having a polarity opposite to that of the color particles”), and the first-type charged particles comprise first charged subparticles ([0018] and fig. 1, 34L: large-diameter color particles) and second charged subparticles ([0018] and fig. 1, 34S: small-diameter color particles), wherein a first charged subparticle of the first charged subparticles has a particle size of D1, a second charged subparticle of the second charged subparticles has a particle size of D2, a charge quantity of the first charged subparticles is q1, and a charge quantity of the second charged subparticles is q2, wherein (D1 - D2) x (q1 – q2) >0 ([0020], “a larger charge amount Cl of the large-diameter color particles and a smaller charge amount Cs of the smaller-diameter color particles are advantageous. Each charge amount represents the charge amount per unit area of display”).
While Morikawa discloses a charge amount which represents the charge amount per unit area of display, it has been known to have a charge amount based on a charge quantity carried by a charge subparticle. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Qiu discloses a charge quantity carried by the first charged subparticle is q1, and a charge quantity carried by the second charged subparticle is q2 ([0075], “a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the second charged particle may be larger than a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the first charged particle 1021b”).
In view of the teachings of Morikawa and Qui, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the quantity of electric charge of a charge particle, as taught by Qui, as the method of determining charge of Morikawa, for the purpose of measuring total charge quantity within a unit area of a display or measuring charge quantity carried by a single subparticle as known types of charge measuring where Qiu teaches increasing a bright state of a display device by alternating a quantity of electric charge relative to the mass of a charged particle (Qui: [0075]).
The combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the charge quantity carried by a first-type charged particle having a larger particle size is greater than the charge quantity carried by a first-type charged particle having a smaller particle size (Morikawa: [0020], “a larger charge amount Cl of the large-diameter color particles and a smaller charge amount Cs of the smaller-diameter color particles are advantageous” and Qiu: [0075], “a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the second charged particle may be larger than a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the first charged particle 1021b; in such a case, the second charged particle can move to the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 at faster speed (compare with the speed of the first charged particle 1021b) when the first voltage is applied on the display pixels, such that the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 can be covered with the second charged particles more effectively, and the ratio of the totally reflected light to the incident light λ can be effectively decreased when the display sub-pixel 102 is in the bright state, such that the display brightness of the display sub-pixel 102 in the bright state can be further increased”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein a relative viscosity between a surface of the first charged subparticle and the electrophoretic fluid is µ1, and a relative viscosity between a surface of the second charged subparticle and the electrophoretic fluid is µ2, wherein (D1 - D2) X (µ1 - µ2) <0 (while Morikawa discloses viscosity in general at [0159] and [0123], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a larger surface area represented by the large diameter color particles would move slower through an electrophoretic fluid than the small diameter color particles and thus the relative viscosity of the first charged particle would be less than the relative viscosity of the second charged subparticle).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein D2/D1 ≤ 0.414 (Morikawa: [0041]-[0042], where for example if the diameter of the small-diameter color particle is 0.3 and a diameter of the large-diameter color particle is 5 then 0.3/5 is 0.06 which is less than 0.414).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein Di>D2; and a ratio of a number of the first charged subparticles to a number of the second charged subparticles is between 1:2 and 1:1 (Morikawa: [0015], “A ratio (hereinafter, referred to as "Cs/Cl ratio") of a charge amount Cs of the small-diameter color particles per unit area of display to a charge amount of Cl of the large-diameter color particles per unit area of display is less than or equal to 5” where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the ratio be less than 2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the electronic paper display panel has a first display state, wherein in the first display state, a first electric field is formed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein in the first electric field, the first-type charged particles move to the first substrate; and an electric intensity of the first electric field gradually increases as a driving time length increases within a time length of one frame in the first display state (Qui: [0075], “For example, a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the second charged particle may be larger than a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the first charged particle 1021b; in such a case, the second charged particle can move to the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 at faster speed (compare with the speed of the first charged particle 1021b) when the first voltage is applied on the display pixels, such that the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 can be covered with the second charged particles more effectively, and the ratio of the totally reflected light to the incident light λ can be effectively decreased when the display sub-pixel 102 is in the bright state, such that the display brightness of the display sub-pixel 102 in the bright state can be further increased”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the electronic paper display panel has a first display state, wherein in the first display state, a first electric field is formed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein in the first electric field, the first-type charged particles move to the first substrate; and a time length of one frame in the first display state comprises a first driving sub-stage and a second driving sub-stage sequentially arranged in a time dimension, and the first electric field has a first electric intensity in the first driving sub-stage and a second electric intensity in the second driving sub-stage, wherein the second electric intensity is greater than the first electric intensity (Morikawa: [0232], “in the driving method according to the exemplary embodiment, the voltage ranges required for moving the color particle groups 34 of the respective colors are set so as not to overlap each other. As a result, the color particle groups 34 of the respective colors are driven independently of each other”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the first-type charged particles are positively charged ([0028], “The color particles are positively or negatively charged and move in the dispersion when an electric field having a predetermined field intensity or higher is formed”);
the first substrate comprises a common electrode layer, the second substrate comprises a plurality of pixel electrodes (Morikawa: [0217], “one of the surface electrode 40 and the back electrode 46 may be grounded and the other may be connected to the voltage application portion 16”), and in the first display state, a first voltage is applied to the common electrode layer and a second voltage is applied to the plurality of pixel electrodes so that the first electric field is formed, wherein the first voltage has a negative value, and the second voltage has a positive value (Morikawa: [0222], “In the display medium 12, the color particles move in response to an electric field formed between the display substrate 20 and the back substrate 22; as a result, a color corresponding to each pixel of image data is displayed on each cell corresponding to each pixel of the display medium 12”);
the time length of the one frame in the first display state comprises a first time and a second time, wherein in the time dimension, the first time is earlier than the second time, and the electric intensity of the first electric field at the second time is greater than the electric intensity of the first electric field at the first time; and an absolute value of the first voltage applied to the common electrode layer at the first time is less than an absolute value of the first voltage applied to the common electrode layer at the second time (Morikawa: [0232], “in the driving method according to the exemplary embodiment, the voltage ranges required for moving the color particle groups 34 of the respective colors are set so as not to overlap each other. As a result, the color particle groups 34 of the respective colors are driven independently of each other”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein in at least part of time within the time length of the one frame in the first display state, an absolute value of the first voltage is equal to an absolute value of the second voltage (Morikawa: [0223], “As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the display medium 12, the absolute values of voltages of the respective color particle groups 34, which are required for electrophoretically moving between the substrates in response to an electric field, are different for each color. The color particles groups 34 of the respective colors have voltage ranges required for moving the color particles groups 34 of the respective colors. The voltage ranges are different from one another. In other words, the absolute values of voltages have the voltage ranges, and the voltage ranges are different for each color of the color particle groups 34”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the second-type charged particles are the same in terms of particle size and the same in terms of carried charge quantity (Morikawa: [0121] teaches the size of the white particles); wherein the second-type charged particles are greater than at least part of the first-type charged particles in terms of particle size (Morikawa: [0041]-[0042] and [0121] teaches that the size of the white particles could be greater than the size of the smaller diameter particles).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the second-type charged particles comprise fourth charged subparticles and fifth charged subparticles, wherein a fourth charged subparticle of the fourth charged subparticles has a particle size of D4, a fifth charged subparticle of the fifth charged subparticles has a particle size of D5, a charge quantity carried by the fourth charged subparticle is q4, and a charge quantity carried by the fifth charged subparticle is q5, wherein (D4-D5)x(q4-q5) >0 (where the combination of Morikawa and Qui discloses the equation as discussed in relation to claim 1 and Morikawa discloses at [0028], “The color particles are positively or negatively charged and move in the dispersion when an electric field having a predetermined field intensity or higher is formed” therefore the equation and particles could be either positively or negatively charged as also discussed in Qui: [0065], “For example, illustrative descriptions will be given to the charged types of the charged particles and the method of applying voltages. For example, the charged particles may be positively charged or negatively charged. For example, in a case that the charged particles are positively charged, the first voltage refers to positive voltage applied on the first electrodes 1022 (that is, to apply positive voltage onto the first electrodes 1022), the second voltage refers to negative voltage applied on the first electrodes 1022; for example, in a case that voltage is applied on the first electrodes 1022, the second electrodes is grounded. For another example, in a case that the charged particles are negatively charged, the first voltage refers to negative voltage applied on the first electrodes 1022; the second voltage refers to positive voltage applied on the first electrodes 1022”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Morikawa and Qui further discloses wherein the first-type charged particles are white charged particles (Morikawa: [0026], “In addition, the particle dispersion for display according to the exemplary embodiment may further contain, in addition to color particles, white particles for display (hereinafter, referred to as "white particles") that does not move in response to an electric field or move at a slower (in particular, extremely slower) response time to an electric field than those of the color particles (that is, the white particles may be dispersed in the dispersion medium). In this case, the color particles adopt particles of colors other than white”), and the second-type charged particles are black charged particles (Morikawa: [0299], “The cyan particles having the positive charge and the red particles having the positive charge move to the negative electrode side, that is, move to the display electrode side. In this state, when the evaluation cell is observed from the display substrate side, black display which is the mixed color of cyan and red is observed due to the cyan particles and the red particles”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Morikawa and Qui discloses a display device, comprising an electronic paper display panel (Morikawa: [0255], “The display device according to the exemplary embodiment may be included in an electronic device, a display medium, a card medium, or the like (specifically, for example, an electronic bulletin board, electronic notice board, electronic blackboard, electronic advertisement, electronic signboard, blinking signal, electronic paper, electronic newspaper, electronic book, electronic document, sheet used for a copying machine or a printer, portable computer, tablet computer, mobile phone, smart cart, signing machine, timepiece, shelf label or flash drive)” also see fig. 2, display device 10), wherein the electronic paper display panel is within the scope of the electronic paper display panel of claim 1 and is therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 includes allowable subject matter relating to the relationship between the size and the charge quantity of the first and second subparticles where (i) the first subparticle is larger than the second subparticle, (ii) the first charge quantity of the first subparticle is larger than the second subparticle, and (iii) the ratio of the quantity of electric charge to the size of the first subparticle is larger than the second subparticle. In the closest related prior art, Qiu discloses a second subparticle smaller than the first subparticle ([0073]) however Qiu teaches a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the second charged particle may be larger than a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the first charged particle 1021b ([0075]), therefore the relationship for (iii) of Qiu is opposite the relationship as claimed and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 3 depends on claim 2.
Claim 4 includes allowable subject matter relation to the relationship between the size and the charge quantity of the first and second subparticles where (i) the first subparticle is larger than the second subparticle, (ii) the first charge quantity of the first subparticle is larger than the second subparticle, and (iii) the difference between the sizes of the subparticles is less than a difference between the quantity of charges of the subparticles. The prior art of record does not discuss a relationship between the difference between the sizes of the subparticles being less than a difference between the quantity of charges of the subparticles, where relationship (iii) would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 includes allowable subject matter where the relationships as claimed are similar to (and add more details than) the relationships of claim 2 (see above for reasoning).
Claims 9 and 10 depend on claim 8.
Claim 17 includes allowable subject matter where the relationships as claimed are similar to the relationships of claim 2 (see above for reasoning).
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 21 includes the allowable subject matter of claim 2 (see above reasoning).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argue that the combination of Morikawa and Qiu fails to disclose Features-A (see pages 11-17), however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner maintains Morikawa and Qiu teaches wherein the charge quantity carried by a first-type charged particle having a larger particle size is greater than the charge quantity carried by a first-type charged particle having a smaller particle size. Morikawa teaches large-diameter color particles 34L and small-diameter color particles 34S ([0018] and fig. 1) where a larger charge amount Cl of the large-diameter color particles and a smaller charge amount Cs of the smaller-diameter color particles are advantageous. Each charge amount represents the charge amount per unit area of display ([0020]). Morikawa teaches a larger charge amount and a smaller charge amount without explicitly specifying that the charge amount is a charge quantity carried by the charged particles. Further, Qiu additionally teaches a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the second charged particle may be larger than a ratio of the quantity of electric charge and the mass of the first charged particle 1021b; in such a case, the second charged particle can move to the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 at faster speed (compare with the speed of the first charged particle 1021b) when the first voltage is applied on the display pixels, such that the inner surface of the second electrodes 1023 can be covered with the second charged particles more effectively, and the ratio of the totally reflected light to the incident light λ can be effectively decreased when the display sub-pixel 102 is in the bright state, such that the display brightness of the display sub-pixel 102 in the bright state can be further increased ([0075]) where the mass of a particle would be proportional to the size.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629