DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 9-12-25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to search both inventions. This is not found persuasive because there’s a serious burden to search in different classes/subclasses.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9-12-25.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: “where in” should read “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the distance between defined between the first bracket and the second bracket” should read “the distance between the first bracket and the second bracket”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeVlieger (2016/0075062).
Regarding claim 1, DeVlieger discloses a mold 2 for use in creating a surface replication of a surface of a component, the mold comprising:
A body including a first bracket 4, 5 and an opposite second bracket 6, 7 spaced a distance from the first bracket, the first bracket includes a first inner surface and the second bracket includes a second inner surface, wherein the first and second inner surfaces define at least a portion of a boundary of a mold cavity 8; and
An adjustment mechanism 26, 40 for selectively increasing or decreasing the distance defined between the first and second brackets, wherein the adjustment mechanism may selectively couple the first and second brackets to the surface of the component in sealing contact such that the mold cavity is at least partially defined by the boundary of the mold and the surface of the component (see abstract, fig. 1-7, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2 and 11, DeVlieger discloses wherein the body includes a passage defined within at least one of the first bracket and the second bracket such that the passage extends between an inlet and an outlet defined through the boundary of the mold cavity (see para 20-21).
Regarding claim 10, DeVileger discloses a mold system for use in creating a surface replication of a surface of a component, the mold system comprising:
A reservoir for use in storing a solidifying compound (inherent);
An injection tool fluidically connected to the reservoir (para 20-21); and
A mold 2 comprising:
A body including a first bracket 4, 5 and an opposite second bracket 6, 7 spaced a distance from the first bracket, the first bracket includes a first inner surface and the second bracket includes a second inner surface, wherein the first and second inner surfaces define at least a portion of a boundary of a mold cavity 8; and
An adjustment mechanism 26, 40 for selectively increasing or decreasing the distance defined between the first and second brackets, wherein the adjustment mechanism may selectively couple the first and second brackets to the surface of the component in sealing contact such that the mold cavity is at least partially defined by the boundary of the mold and the surface of the component (see abstract, fig. 1-7, claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3 and 12, the prior art does not each wherein the body further comprises a middle bracket extending between eh first bracket and the opposing second bracket, the middle bracket includes a middle inner surface that defines a portion of the boundary of the mold cavity.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, the prior art does not teach wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a threaded bore extending at least partially through at east one of the first bracket and the second bracket, and a threaded bolt sized to couple within the threaded bore such that rotation of the threaded bolt relative to the threaded bore selectively adjusts the distance defined between the first and second brackets.
Regarding claim 5 and 14, the prior art does not teach wherein the body further includes a seal extending from the inner surfaces of the first bracket and the second bracket, the seal defines at least a portion of the boundary of the mold cavity.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, the prior art does not teach wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a hinge rotationally coupling the first bracket and the second bracket and a biasing mechanism for selectively adjusting rotations of the hinge to enable the distance between the first bracket and the second bracket to be selectively adjusted.
Claims 6-7, 9, 15-16, 18 are allowable for depending from claims 3, 5, 12 and 14, respectively.
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742