Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each claim appears to suffer from lack of proper antecedent basis. In the third element/s "a recording medium" is currently recited. However, a recording medium is introduced in the second element of the claim/s. Therefore, it appears for proper antecedent agreement, the third element/s should recite: "the recording medium".
Similar language appears, and concerns are made for each of claims 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Appropriate correction or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230223136 to Goossen et al. (hereinafter Goossen).
With regard to claim 1, Goossen discloses:
1. An information processing system (see, detailed description, including, Fig. 2, and is a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072, comprising:
at least one processor (see, detailed description, including, The system 1 further comprises a central computer system 7, all computers possess at least one processor) para. 0070, configured to:
obtain image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Fig. 2, and is a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072);
evaluate the image data on the basis of evaluation criteria for each of one or more evaluation items related to image quality (see, detailed description, including, The determination of one or more or all of the image quality metrics may be performed using image processing applied to the image. The image processing may include a segmentation of the image, para. 0073-0074); and
allow an evaluation method based on the evaluation criteria to be changed according to an evaluation result in the evaluation of each of the evaluation items (see, detailed description, including, The inventors have found that the image quality metrics interact in their effect on the image quality, which is a measure of the suitability of the medical image for medical diagnosis, para. 0082-0083).
With regard to claim 2, Goossen discloses:
2. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured such that when the evaluation result meets a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation item to be excluded from evaluation (see, detailed description, including, for images in which the deviation of the rotation angle α about the tibia's longitudinal axis from the optimum rotation angle is comparatively small, the flexion angle β of the ankle joint can have a comparatively large deviation from the optimum flexion angle, and the inventors have further shown that a combined quality metric, which takes into account this interaction between image quality metrics allow a more accurate determination of whether or not an image is of diagnostic quality, para. 0084-0085).
With regard to claim 3, Goossen discloses:
3. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured such that when the evaluation result meets a second condition different from the predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation criterion for the evaluation item to be relaxed (see, Fig. 4, and detailed description, including, shows a contour line 10 of equal height, which represents combinations of a first image quality metric (represented by the x-axis 8) and a second image quality metric (represented by the y-axis 8), for which the combined quality metrics has a constant value. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, the first image quality metric (represented by the x-axis 8) is the rotation angle about the tibia's longitudinal axis (designated in FIG. 2 as α) and the second image quality metric (represented by the y-axis 9) is the flexion angle of the ankle, para. 0086).
With regard to claim 6, Goossen discloses:
6. A diagnostic system comprising:
the information processing system according to claim 1;
an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072; and
a reading device that reads an image formed on a recording medium by the image processing device and creates image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Each of the medical imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c is configured to determine, for each of the acquired images, a plurality of image quality metrics based on the image data of the respective image, para. 0071).
With regard to claim 11, claim 11 (a method claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 12, claim 12 (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a system claim) and is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above (with the addition of claim 1 of Goossen that recites: a processor that couples to the memory and is configured to execute the plurality of instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210056673 A1 to Narashima-Iyer in view of Goossen.
With regard to claim 4, Goossen fails to explicitly disclose:
4. The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple consecutive evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed.
Narashima-Iyer discloses:
the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple consecutive evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 6, and detailed description, including, a graph 600 of an example short term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, authentication attempt #1 is performed at a fingerprint sensing system. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 17 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17, the quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 20 to 18. In one embodiment, a failure count is incremented from zero to one, and, At t.sub.2, authentication attempt #2 is performed at the fingerprint sensing system. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17 and the quality threshold is reduced to 18, the reduced quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 18 to 16. In one embodiment, the failure count is incremented from one to two. Para. 0069-0070).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Goossen with Narashima-Iyer before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Narashima-Iyer, with Goossen, including the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple consecutive evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 6, and detailed description, including, a graph 600 of an example short term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, authentication attempt #1 is performed at a fingerprint sensing system. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 17 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17, the quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 20 to 18. In one embodiment, a failure count is incremented from zero to one, and, At t.sub.2, authentication attempt #2 is performed at the fingerprint sensing system. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17 and the quality threshold is reduced to 18, the reduced quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 18 to 16. In one embodiment, the failure count is incremented from one to two. Para. 0069-0070).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art1.
With regard to claim 5, Goossen fails to explicitly disclose:
5. The information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item in an ongoing way, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed.
Narashima-Iyer discloses:
the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item in an ongoing way, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 11, and detailed description, including, FIG. 11 illustrates a graph 1100 of an example long term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 1 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 28 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 28, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed, and, At t.sub.2, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 2 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 23 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 23, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed to allow for authentication of the fingerprint image. However, there is a decreasing trend in quality of the fingerprint image. As such, subsequent t.sub.2, the quality threshold is adapted to 15, in accordance with the detected trend. Para. 0085-0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Goossen with Narashima-Iyer before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Narashima-Iyer, with Goossen, including the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item in an ongoing way, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 11, and detailed description, including, FIG. 11 illustrates a graph 1100 of an example long term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 1 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 28 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 28, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed, and, At t.sub.2, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 2 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 23 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 23, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed to allow for authentication of the fingerprint image. However, there is a decreasing trend in quality of the fingerprint image. As such, subsequent t.sub.2, the quality threshold is adapted to 15, in accordance with the detected trend. Para. 0085-0086).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art2.
With regard to claim 7 Goossen discloses:
7. A diagnostic system comprising:
the information processing system according to claim 2 (see, as above claim 2, and wherein the processor is configured such that when the evaluation result meets a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation item to be excluded from evaluation (see, detailed description, including, for images in which the deviation of the rotation angle α about the tibia's longitudinal axis from the optimum rotation angle is comparatively small, the flexion angle β of the ankle joint can have a comparatively large deviation from the optimum flexion angle, and the inventors have further shown that a combined quality metric, which takes into account this interaction between image quality metrics allow a more accurate determination of whether or not an image is of diagnostic quality, para. 0084-0085);
an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072; and
a reading device that reads an image formed on a recording medium by the image processing device and creates image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Each of the medical imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c is configured to determine, for each of the acquired images, a plurality of image quality metrics based on the image data of the respective image, para. 0071).
With regard to claim 8 Goossen discloses:
8. A diagnostic system comprising:
the information processing system according to claim 3 (see, as above claim 3, and wherein the processor is configured such that when the evaluation result meets a second condition different from the predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation criterion for the evaluation item to be relaxed (see, Fig. 4, and detailed description, including, shows a contour line 10 of equal height, which represents combinations of a first image quality metric (represented by the x-axis 8) and a second image quality metric (represented by the y-axis 8), for which the combined quality metrics has a constant value. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 4, the first image quality metric (represented by the x-axis 8) is the rotation angle about the tibia's longitudinal axis (designated in FIG. 2 as α) and the second image quality metric (represented by the y-axis 9) is the flexion angle of the ankle, para. 0086);
an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072; and
a reading device that reads an image formed on a recording medium by the image processing device and creates image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Each of the medical imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c is configured to determine, for each of the acquired images, a plurality of image quality metrics based on the image data of the respective image, para. 0071).
With regard to claim 9, Goossen discloses:
9. A diagnostic system comprising:
[the information processing system according to claim 4];
an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072; and
a reading device that reads an image formed on a recording medium by the image processing device and creates image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Each of the medical imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c is configured to determine, for each of the acquired images, a plurality of image quality metrics based on the image data of the respective image, para. 0071).
With regard to claim 9, Goossen fails to explicitly disclose:
the information processing system according to claim 4.
Narashima-Iyer discloses:
the information processing system according to claim 4 (see, above claim 4, and the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple consecutive evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 6, and detailed description, including, a graph 600 of an example short term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, authentication attempt #1 is performed at a fingerprint sensing system. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 17 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17, the quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 20 to 18. In one embodiment, a failure count is incremented from zero to one, and, At t.sub.2, authentication attempt #2 is performed at the fingerprint sensing system. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17 and the quality threshold is reduced to 18, the reduced quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 18 to 16. In one embodiment, the failure count is incremented from one to two. Para. 0069-0070).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Goossen with Narashima-Iyer before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Narashima-Iyer, with Goossen, including the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple consecutive evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 6, and detailed description, including, a graph 600 of an example short term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, authentication attempt #1 is performed at a fingerprint sensing system. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 17 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17, the quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 20 to 18. In one embodiment, a failure count is incremented from zero to one, and, At t.sub.2, authentication attempt #2 is performed at the fingerprint sensing system. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 17 and the quality threshold is reduced to 18, the reduced quality threshold is not satisfied. The quality threshold is then adapted by decreasing the quality threshold from 18 to 16. In one embodiment, the failure count is incremented from one to two. Para. 0069-0070).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art3.
With regard to claim 10, Goossen discloses:
10. A diagnostic system comprising:
[the information processing system according to claim 5];
an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium an image processing device that forms an image on a recording medium (see, Fig. 1, and detailed description, including, a schematic illustration of an X-ray radiograph of an ankle, which is acquired by one of the imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c (shown in FIG. 1), para. 0072; and
a reading device that reads an image formed on a recording medium by the image processing device and creates image data to be diagnosed (see, detailed description, including, Each of the medical imaging units 2a, 2b and 2c is configured to determine, for each of the acquired images, a plurality of image quality metrics based on the image data of the respective image, para. 0071).
With regard to claim 10, Goossen fails to explicitly disclose:
the information processing system according to claim 5.
Narashima-Iyer discloses:
the information processing system according to claim 5 (see, above claim 5, and
the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item in an ongoing way, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 11, and detailed description, including, FIG. 11 illustrates a graph 1100 of an example long term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 1 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 28 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 28, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed, and, At t.sub.2, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 2 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 23 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 23, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed to allow for authentication of the fingerprint image. However, there is a decreasing trend in quality of the fingerprint image. As such, subsequent t.sub.2, the quality threshold is adapted to 15, in accordance with the detected trend. Para. 0085-0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Goossen with Narashima-Iyer before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Narashima-Iyer, with Goossen, including the processor is configured such that when evaluation results from multiple evaluations meet a predetermined condition in relation to one evaluation item in an ongoing way, the processor allows the evaluation method regarding the evaluation item to be changed (see, Fig. 11, and detailed description, including, FIG. 11 illustrates a graph 1100 of an example long term adaptation of a quality threshold, according to an embodiment. As illustrated, at t.sub.1, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 1 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 28 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 28, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed, and, At t.sub.2, image quality for a fingerprint image received at day 2 is determined. The quality of the received fingerprint image is determined to have a value of 23 (within a range of 0-100) and the initial quality threshold (TQ) is 20. Since the quality of the received fingerprint image is 23, the quality threshold is satisfied, and no adaptation of the quality threshold is performed to allow for authentication of the fingerprint image. However, there is a decreasing trend in quality of the fingerprint image. As such, subsequent t.sub.2, the quality threshold is adapted to 15, in accordance with the detected trend. Para. 0085-0086).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art4.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure includes: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210118114 A1 to Yosefi et al. that discusses: a system enabling users/customers to receive an objective assessment of the performance of a printer. This is accomplished by comparing a quality score of an earlier-in-time image with a quality score of a later-in-time image. A processor analyzes each image based on several criteria and uses various image-analysis methods, to flag errors within an image. A numeric quality score, based on the number of errors, is provided to the user to objectively evaluate whether the printer has degraded or not. Thus, the user can objectively present an argument to a salesperson or manufacturer that the user is due a remedy.
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 10-23-2026
1 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
2 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
3 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).
4 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).