DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1 line 9, claim 8 line 10, and claim 20 line 10, the phrase “there are two first card slots” should read --wherein the first card slot comprises two first card slots--. Claims 2-7 include all the limitations of claim 1 and are objected to for the same reason. Claims 9-19 include all the limitations of claim 8 and are objected to for the same reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (2017/0093057).
With regard to claim 1, Wang teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “A card tray structure 2 and 3, comprising: a card tray 3, wherein a first card slot 314 and 315 is arranged on one side of the card tray 3, and a second card slot 313 is arranged on an other side of the card tray 3; the card tray 3 comprises a supporting body 31, a first connecting beam (shown below), and a second connecting beam (see below) , wherein the supporting body 31 is a frame enclosed by a frame edge 312, a first platform portion (top part of 314 and 315 in figure 3) is arranged at an edge on one side 311 of the frame edge 311 and 312 to form the first card slot, a second platform portion (bottom part of 313 in figure 2) is arranged at an edge on an other side 312 of the frame edge to form the second card slot 313, two ends of the first connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, there are two first card slots 314 and 315, and the two first card slots are respectively located on two sides of the first connecting beam; and two ends of the second connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, the second platform portion and the second connecting beam define the second card slot 313, the first connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the second card slot 313, and the second connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the first card slot”.
With regard to claim 2, Wang teaches: “The card tray structure according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein a surface of a side of the first connecting beam facing the second card slot 313 is planar and coplanar with a surface of the second platform portion”.
With regard to claim 3, Wang teaches: “The card tray structure according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein a surface of a side of the second connecting beam facing the first card slot is planar and coplanar with a surface of the first platform portion”.
With regard to claim 4, Wang teaches: “The card tray structure according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the card tray 3 further comprises: a limiting baffle (shown below), wherein the limiting baffle is arranged at an edge of a frame edge of the supporting body 31”.
With regard to claim 7, Wang teaches: “The card tray structure according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein convex ribs 317 and 318 are arranged on inner side walls of the first card slot and the second card slot 315”.
With regard to claim 8, Wang teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “A card tray assembly (shown in figure 1), comprising: a card tray structure 2 and 3, wherein the card tray structure comprises: a card tray 3, wherein a first card slot 314 and 315 is arranged on one side 311 of the card tray 3, and a second card slot 313 is arranged on an other side 312 of the card tray 3; the card tray 3 comprises a supporting body 31, a first connecting beam (shown below), and a second connecting beam (shown below), wherein the supporting body 31 is a frame enclosed by a frame edge 311 and 312, a first platform portion (top part of 314 and 315 in figure 3) is arranged at an edge on one side 311 of the frame edge to form the first card slot, a second platform portion (bottom part of 313 in figure 2) is arranged at an edge on an other side 312 of the frame edge to form the second card slot 313, two ends of the first connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, there are two first card slots 314 and 315, and the two first card slots are respectively located on two sides of the first connecting beam; and two ends of the second connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, the second platform portion and the second connecting beam define the second card slot 313, the first connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the second card slot 313, and the second connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the first card slot; and a card holder 1, wherein the card tray structure is arranged on the card holder 1”.
With regard to claim 9, Wang teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein a surface of a side of the first connecting beam facing the second card slot 313 is planar and coplanar with a surface of the second platform portion”.
With regard to claim 10, Wang teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein a surface of a side of the second connecting beam facing the first card slot is planar and coplanar with a surface of the first platform portion”.
With regard to claim 20, Wang teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “An electronic device, comprising a card tray assembly (shown in figure 1), wherein the card tray assembly comprises: a card tray structure 2 and 3, wherein the card tray structure comprises: a card tray 3, wherein a first card slot 314 and 315 is arranged on one side 311 of the card tray 3, and a second card slot 313 is arranged on an other side 312 of the card tray 3; the card tray 3 comprises a supporting body 31, a first connecting beam (shown below), and a second connecting beam (shown below), wherein the supporting body 31 is a frame enclosed by a frame edge 311 and 312, a first platform portion (top part of 314 and 315 in figure 3) is arranged at an edge on one side of the frame edge to form the first card slot, a second platform portion (bottom part of 313 in figure 2) is arranged at an edge on an other side of the frame edge to form the second card slot 315, two ends of the first connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, there are two first card slots 314 and 315, and the two first card slots are respectively located on two sides of the first connecting beam; and two ends of the second connecting beam are respectively connected to the frame edge, the second platform portion and the second connecting beam define the second card slot 313, the first connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the second card slot 313, and the second connecting beam is arranged correspondingly to the first card slot; and a card holder 1, wherein the card tray structure is arranged on the card holder 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2017/0093057) in view of Chen et al. (2019/0289736).
With regard to claim 5, Wang teaches: “The card tray structure according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein a sealing member is arranged on a side of the limiting baffle close to the frame edge”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Chen teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a sealing member 136 is arranged on a side of the limiting baffle 132 close to the frame edge (top edge of 131 in figure 2)”.
Claims 11-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2017/0093057) in view of Nagase et al. (2016/0164225).
With regard to claim 11, Wang teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein the card holder comprises: a seat body, an ejection mechanism, and a detection mechanism, a terminal is arranged on the seat body, the ejection mechanism is arranged on the seat body, the detection mechanism comprises an elastic arm, and one end of the elastic arm is connected to the seat body; in a case that the ejection mechanism is in a first state, an other end of the elastic arm stops against the terminal and is electrically communicated with the terminal; in a case that the ejection mechanism is in a second state, the ejection mechanism drives the other end of the elastic arm to detach from the terminal; and in a case that the card tray is clamped on the seat body, the card tray drives the ejection mechanism to be in the second state”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Nagase teaches, as shown in figures 1-5b and taught in paragraph 63: “herein the card holder 1 comprises: a seat body 11, an ejection mechanism 22, and a detection mechanism 17, a terminal 16 is arranged on the seat body 11, the ejection mechanism 22 is arranged on the seat body 11, the detection mechanism 17 comprises an elastic arm, and one end of the elastic arm is connected to the seat body 11; in a case that the ejection mechanism 22 is in a first state (where the card tray is inserted, as described in paragraph 63), an other end of the elastic arm stops against the terminal 16 and is electrically communicated with the terminal 16; in a case that the ejection mechanism is in a second state (when the card tray is not inserted, as described in paragraph 63), the ejection mechanism 22 drives the other end of the elastic arm to detach from the terminal 16”.
Neither Wang nor Nagase teach: “and in a case that the card tray is clamped on the seat body, the card tray drives the ejection mechanism to be in the second state”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the detection mechanism so the terminal is connected to the elastic arm when the card tray is not inserted and not connected to the terminal when the card tray is inserted in order to be able to detect a change in a switch to indicate the insertion or ejection of the tray (Nagase, paragraph 63). Also, it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 12, Wang as modified by Nagase teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Nagase teaches, as shown in figures 1-5b and taught in paragraph 63: “wherein the elastic arm is arranged adjacent to an edge (upper-left edge of 11 in figure 5b) of the seat body 11, and the elastic arm extends along the edge of the seat body 11 (as shown in figure 1b)”.
With regard to claim 16, Wang as modified by Nagese teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Neither Wang nor Nagese teach: “wherein a contact convex point is arranged in a region of the other end of the elastic arm that stops against the terminal”.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the elastic arm to have a contact convex point, since Wang teaches, as shown in figure 10, a contact convex point 713a that is used to make good contact with a mating surface 723a (Wang, paragraph 36). Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 17, Wang as modified by Nagese teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Nagese also teaches, as shown in figures 1-5b: “wherein an insulation layer 11a is arranged between the seat body 11 and the terminal 16”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Nagese with the invention of Wang as modified by Nagese in order to hold the terminal in place.
With regard to claim 18, Wang as modified by Nagese teaches: “The card tray assembly according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Nagese also teaches, as shown in figures 1-5b: “wherein the seat body 11 is provided with an accommodating groove 18, the card tray 160 is detachably arranged in the accommodating groove 18, and the card tray 160 comprises: a limiting baffle 163, the limiting baffle 163 is arranged at an edge of a frame edge of a supporting body 169, and at least part of the limiting baffle 163 is located outside the accommodating groove 18”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Nagese with the invention of Wang as modified by Nagese in order to allow the user to grasp the card tray (Nagese, paragraph 77).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13-15, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831