DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 3, the recitation “a boom system” has been previously set forth in claim 1. Setting forth the same element again amounts to a double inclusion.
With respect to Claim 15, the recitations “an attachment reference” and “a defined path” have been previously set forth in claim 1. Setting forth the same elements again amounts to a double inclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iotti (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. US2023/0150800A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Iotti discloses a control circuitry for a crane 1, comprising: an input interface 31 configured to receive readings of sensors 51,52,53 sensing operating parameters of the crane; an output interface 3 to output control data to cause actuators 101,102,103,104 of the crane to cause a motion of at least one of a boom 10 of a boom system or a column of the crane; and a compute circuit configured to control the operation of a winch arrangement 2 mounted to the crane, wherein a position of an attachment reference 23 of a cable 22 of the winch arrangement moves along a defined path H during movement of the crane.
With respect to Claims 2 and 3, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the path is such that a horizontal position of the attachment reference moves within a determined deviation H from horizontal during movement of the crane.
With respect to Claim 4, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the input interface is configured to receive a reading of a boom angle sensor indicating at least one boom angle parameter of the crane; receive a reading of a cable encoder configured to generate a sensor signal indicative of a cable length unrolled by the winch; and receive a reading of a boom extension sensor indicating a length extension parameter of the boom, wherein the compute circuit is configured to control the operation of the winch based on the at least one boom angle parameter, the sensor signal and the length extension parameter (see para. [0039]).
With respect to Claim 5, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 4, wherein the at least one boom angle parameter is determined based on at least one of: an angle between a main boom of the crane and the column (via second sensor 52; para. [0028]), and an angle between a further boom and the main boom.
With respect to Claim 7, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the movement of a crane 1 having a single boom 10 attached to the column 11.
With respect to Claim 10, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 1, wherein movement of the crane comprises a movement of at least one boom 10 of the boom system.
With respect to Claim 11, Iotti discloses a control circuitry according to claim 1, wherein movement of the crane 1 comprises movement of at least one boom 10 of the boom system and rotation of the column 11.
With respect to Claim 12, Iotti discloses a crane arrangement, comprising: an extendible main boom (10; para. [0016])mounted on a rotatable column; a winch arrangement 2 attached to the crane 1 to perform winding or unwinding of a cable 22 having attached thereto a load block 23; and control circuitry according to claim 1.
With respect to Claim 14, Iotti discloses the crane of claim 12, further comprising: a remote control unit 42 to wirelessly interact with the control circuitry to cause the control circuitry to activate actuators of the crane based on an input indicative of a desired movement of the crane.
With respect to Claim 15, Iotti discloses the crane of claim 14, wherein the remote control unit 42 comprises a user interface (screen and buttons) configured to activate an operation mode of the crane in which the operation of the winch arrangement is controlled such that a position of an attachment reference follows a defined path H while the crane is moving.
With respect to Claim 16, Iotti discloses a method to operate a crane 1, comprising: receiving readings of sensors 51,52,53sensing operating parameters of the crane; controlling operation of a winch arrangement of the crane such that a position of an attachment reference at a cable coiled wound and unwound by the winch follows a defined path H while the crane is moving.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowed over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including wherein the input circuit is further configured to receive at least one of: a sensor reading of a slew angle sensor indicating an angle of rotation of the column of the crane, and a sensor reading of a platform tilt sensor indicating a tilting angle of the column.
Claim 8 is allowed over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including wherein in the operation mode, the speed of movement of the boom system is adjusted based on a winding or unwinding speed of the winch arrangement or the winding or unwinding speed of the winch arrangement is adjusted based on the speed of movement of the boom system.
Claim 9 is allowed by virtue of its dependence from claim 8.
Claim 13 is allowed over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including a pre-loaded element extending more than 80% along an axial extension of the drum, exerting force on the cable in a radially inward direction towards a cylindrical surface of the drum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EMMANUEL M MARCELO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/emm/