DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Species 1 claims 1-4,10 in the reply filed on 11/25/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “Bluetooth”_TM. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe short-range wireless and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al US 2022/0340118 in view of Ricci US 2013/0154298.
In Re 1, Meyer teaches
An emergency braking (para 5) apparatus, comprising:
a first controller (fig 1 24) controlling a braking device (12a);
a pedal stroke sensor (54-60) receiving pedal (50) stroke information of a brake pedal (50); and a
second controller (26) connected to the first controller by a wire (34 or 38) to control the first controller, based on the pedal stroke information, wherein the first controller is connected (62) to the pedal stroke sensor and receives the pedal stroke information to control the braking device (abstract)(paras 47-58,101-102)(at least all figs and paras).
Meyer does not teach although Ricci teaches wirelessly (para 82 Bluetooth_TM). Ricci further teaches wireless and wired communication interchangeable as known to those skilled in the vehicle art, paras 16,21,82). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to replace Meyer’s wired connections with Ricci’s wireless connections as Ricci teaches them interchangeable.
In Re 2, Meyer further teaches the wire includes a first wire (34) and a second wire (38), and wherein the first controller and the second controller are dually connected by the first wire and the second wire, and wherein the second controller is configured to control the first controller using one of the first wire and the second wire (abstract)(paras 47-58,101-102).
In Re 3, Meyer further teaches in response that an error (paras 101-102) has occurred in at least one of the first wire and the second wire, the first controller is wirelessly connected to the pedal stroke sensor and receives the pedal stroke information.
In Re 4, Meyer as modified by Ricci, Ricci teaches the first controller is configured to receive the pedal stroke information using Bluetooth (para 82 Bluetooth TM).
In Re 10, Meyer further teaches the first controller is configured to control the braking device to generate braking force in proportion to a size of a pedal stroke of the brake pedal (inherent)(at least all figs and paras).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL C STAUBACH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747