DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 7, line 18 of the disclosure appears to contain a typographical error and should read “… speed of every actuator is limited individually.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmayr (US-20200223671-A1) in view of Bramberger (US-20210363728-A1).
Claim 1
Bergmayr teaches
an input interface (102) configured to receive readings of sensors (174, 520) sensing operating parameters of the crane;
(Bergmayr - [0044] Besides the above-mentioned components the loading crane 14 has various sensors for detecting the instantaneous position or geometry of the loading crane 14. … A rotary encoder DG1 is provided for detecting the rotary angle of the crane post 16 relative to the crane base 15. A further rotary encoder DG2 is provided for detecting the bend angle in a vertical plane between the crane post 16 and the lift arm 17. … A rotary encoder DG3 is provided for detecting the bend angle between the lift arm 17 and the crane arm extension 18 in a vertical plane. … A switch S1 is provided for detecting the retraction state of an extension boom arm 19 of the crane arm extension 18. A rotary encoder DG4 is further provided for detecting the bend angle between the crane arm extension 18 and the attachment arm 20 in a vertical plane. … A switch S2 is provided for detecting the retraction state of an extension boom arm 21 of the attachment arm 20. In principle it should not be excluded that the extension position of the individual extension boom arms is detected by way of an extension position sensor with for example a travel measuring device)
EXAMINER NOTE: The rotary encoders, switches, extension position sensors, etc are examples of sensors capturing operating parameters.
(Bergmayr -[0045] The sensor signals are respectively fed to the crane controller 1 by way of signal inputs, of which by way of example the signal inputs 6, 7 for the sensor signals of the pressure sensors DS1, DS2 are shown. Sensor data are then computed in the crane controller 1 from those sensor signals and from data stored in a memory 10 and in this example specific to the loading crane 14, by means of a processor P of the crane controller 1, said sensor data being characteristic of the currently prevailing lift load situation or the operating state of the loading crane 14. )
EXAMINER NOTE: Crane controller corresponds to input interface.
an output interface (104) to output control data to cause actuators of the crane to perform a movement; and
(Bergmayr -[0046] The crane controller 1 is adapted to control the actuators of the loading crane 14. Control commands for the crane controller can be delivered by way of the input device 2. The input device 2 can be spatially separate from the crane controller 1 and in the illustrated embodiment is arranged in a mobile operating console 11.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Crane controller 1 also functions as an output interface.
Bergmayr may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Bramberger teaches
a compute circuit (106) configured to control the movement of the actuators in a first operation mode and in a second operation mode, wherein at least one kinematic parameter of the actuators is limited in the second mode as compared to the first mode.
(Bramberger - [0003] Construction machines used on construction sites, such as cranes, excavators, crawlers, vibrators or tillers, usually all have electronic control devices that incorporate safety programs for monitoring stability, load limit or tilt control. For example, in revolving tower cranes, the crane controller comprises a load monitoring which monitors the load taken up and the outreach thereof or the tilting moment induced by it and, if necessary, shuts down the crane once it reaches or exceeds a load limit that endangers the stability.
[0004] In this respect the construction machines and their control devices have to be updated or adapted to the respective tasks depending on the construction site and the structure to be erected, which regularly involves reconfiguring the electronic control device. If, for example, a revolving tower crane is able to cope with the normal, standard load-limiting function for the majority of the lifting tasks to be carried out on a construction site and, on the other hand, a special lifting task exceeding the maximum lifting capacity has to be carried out, it is advantageous not to install a correspondingly larger crane but to reconfigure the load monitoring function, which is implemented in the electronic control device, for this special lift by installing a program packet into the control device which, for example, permits a larger load at limited, reduced travel speeds and/or only permits operation by a very experienced crane operator who has to identify himself by means of a code.)
Bramberger demonstrates that it is common for cranes to operate according to different operating modes wherein certain operating modes are more limited than others. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Bramgerger's reconfigurable control limitations in Bergmayr's loading crane controller in order to safely configure the crane for the task at hand.
Claim 2
The combination of Bergmayr and Bramberger teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the at least one kinematic parameter comprises at least one of:
a maximum speed, a reference acceleration, a reference deceleration, a maximum extension, a maximum rotation, a lifting capacity and a functionality.
(Bramberger - [0004] In this respect the construction machines and their control devices have to be updated or adapted to the respective tasks depending on the construction site and the structure to be erected, which regularly involves reconfiguring the electronic control device. If, for example, a revolving tower crane is able to cope with the normal, standard load-limiting function for the majority of the lifting tasks to be carried out on a construction site and, on the other hand, a special lifting task exceeding the maximum lifting capacity has to be carried out, it is advantageous not to install a correspondingly larger crane but to reconfigure the load monitoring function, which is implemented in the electronic control device, for this special lift by installing a program packet into the control device which, for example, permits a larger load at limited, reduced travel speeds and/or only permits operation by a very experienced crane operator who has to identify himself by means of a code.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The lifting capacity is limited unless the program packet permits a larger load. When this packet is implemented, the speed is limited.
Claim 3
The combination of Bergmayr and Bramberger teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the compute circuit (106) limits a maximum load allowed to be lifted by the crane in the second mode as compared to the first mode.
(Bramberger - [0004] In this respect the construction machines and their control devices have to be updated or adapted to the respective tasks depending on the construction site and the structure to be erected, which regularly involves reconfiguring the electronic control device. If, for example, a revolving tower crane is able to cope with the normal, standard load-limiting function for the majority of the lifting tasks to be carried out on a construction site and, on the other hand, a special lifting task exceeding the maximum lifting capacity has to be carried out, it is advantageous not to install a correspondingly larger crane but to reconfigure the load monitoring function, which is implemented in the electronic control device, for this special lift by installing a program packet into the control device which, for example, permits a larger load at limited, reduced travel speeds and/or only permits operation by a very experienced crane operator who has to identify himself by means of a code.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The lifting capacity is limited unless the program packet permits a larger load.
Claim 4
The combination of Bergmayr and Bramberger teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Bergmayr broadly discloses detecting the state of attachments, which appears to indicate the presence of an attachment
(Bergmayr - [0017] The sensors of the loading crane can be sensors for detecting the state of the loading crane and the state of attachments and the area around the loading crane.)
Bergmayr is silent as to activation of a second mode in response to signal information indicative of an attachment. However, Bramberger teaches
wherein the input interface (102) is configured to receive signal (174, 520) information indicative of the presence of an attachment at the crane,
wherein the control circuitry (100) is configured to activate the second mode in response to receipt of said signal (174, 520) information.
(Bramberger - [0005] In a similar way, the control device of construction machines is reconfigured by installing program packets when the mechanical setup state of the construction machine is changed, for example by attaching additional attachments …
[0015] For example, the program packet, which was requested from the responsible host server via the open server platform and installed online via the separate, external machine data database, is used to modify a torque limiter of a lifting device used, such as a revolving tower crane, telescopic crane or other crane. Alternatively or additionally, an tilt monitoring and/or limiting system is modified on a construction machine vehicle such as an articulated truck, mobile crane, earthmover such as an excavator or crawler by means of such a program packet…
[0017] Alternatively or additionally, the program packet is designed to adapt the control function of the construction machine to a respective setup state of the construction machine and/or to reconfigure it for this purpose, for example changing attachments )
EXAMINER NOTE: The operating mode is changed when the attachment is changed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Bramgerger's reconfigurable control limitations in Bergmayr's loading crane controller in order to safely configure the crane for the task at hand.
Claim 6
The combination of Bergmayr and Bramberger teaches the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Bergmayr also teaches
wherein the control circuitry (100) is configured to control the movement of a crane having a single boom.
(Bergmayr - [0046] The crane controller 1 is adapted to control the actuators of the loading crane 14.
[0043] The loading crane 14 can be mounted with its crane base 15 for example on a vehicle. A crane post 16 rotatable about a vertical axis is mounted on the crane base 15. A lift arm 17 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of an actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 22 is arranged on the crane post 16. In turn arranged on the lift arm 17 is a crane arm extension 18 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of a further actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 23, the extension 18 having at least one telescopic extension boom arm 19. )
EXAMINER NOTE: The controller controls the actuators of the crane, which includes boom arm 19. See Fig. 1.
Claim 15
Bergmayr teaches
… control movement of actuators on the crane
(Bergmayr -[0046] The crane controller 1 is adapted to control the actuators of the loading crane 14. Control commands for the crane controller can be delivered by way of the input device 2. The input device 2 can be spatially separate from the crane controller 1 and in the illustrated embodiment is arranged in a mobile operating console 11.)
EXAMINER NOTE: Crane controller 1 also functions as an output interface.
Bergmayr may not explicitly teach the following limitations in combination. However, Bramberger teaches
activating a first operation mode (710) or a second operation mode (720) … and
limiting at least one kinematic parameter (730) of the actuators in the second mode as compared to the first mode.
(Bramberger - [0003] Construction machines used on construction sites, such as cranes, excavators, crawlers, vibrators or tillers, usually all have electronic control devices that incorporate safety programs for monitoring stability, load limit or tilt control. For example, in revolving tower cranes, the crane controller comprises a load monitoring which monitors the load taken up and the outreach thereof or the tilting moment induced by it and, if necessary, shuts down the crane once it reaches or exceeds a load limit that endangers the stability.
[0004] In this respect the construction machines and their control devices have to be updated or adapted to the respective tasks depending on the construction site and the structure to be erected, which regularly involves reconfiguring the electronic control device. If, for example, a revolving tower crane is able to cope with the normal, standard load-limiting function for the majority of the lifting tasks to be carried out on a construction site and, on the other hand, a special lifting task exceeding the maximum lifting capacity has to be carried out, it is advantageous not to install a correspondingly larger crane but to reconfigure the load monitoring function, which is implemented in the electronic control device, for this special lift by installing a program packet into the control device which, for example, permits a larger load at limited, reduced travel speeds and/or only permits operation by a very experienced crane operator who has to identify himself by means of a code.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The lifting capacity is limited unless the program packet permits a larger load. When this packet is implemented, the speed is limited.
Bramberger demonstrates that it is common for cranes to operate according to different operating modes wherein certain operating modes are more limited than others. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Bramgerger's reconfigurable control limitations in Bergmayr's loading crane controller in order to safely configure the crane for the task at hand.
Claim(s) 7-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmayr (US-20200223671-A1) in view of Bramberger (US-20210363728-A1), and further in view of Hufnagl (US 20160257543 A1).
Claim 7
The combinaton of Bergmayr and Bramberger teaches the circuitry of claim 1 as outlined above. Bergmayr further teaches
a boom system (130) mounted on a rotatable column (160);
(Bergmayr - [0043] The loading crane 14 can be mounted with its crane base 15 for example on a vehicle. A crane post 16 rotatable about a vertical axis is mounted on the crane base 15. A lift arm 17 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of an actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 22 is arranged on the crane post 16. In turn arranged on the lift arm 17 is a crane arm extension 18 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of a further actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 23, the extension 18 having at least one telescopic extension boom arm 19. )
a mounting interface (220)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1. Bergmayr's crane includes attachment arm 20 for mounting attachments.
Bergmayr may not explicitly teach a mounting interface designed for a workman basket. However, Hufnagl teaches a workman basket system with mounting provisions which is easy to store and deploy. Hufnagl teaches
a mounting interface (220) designed for mounting a workman basket (210) at the boom system (130); and
(Hufnagl - [0029] In FIGS. 1-3, a personnel basket apparatus formed in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is broadly identified by reference numeral 10. Basket apparatus 10 is attachable to a boom 2 of a crane to safely support and lift a worker so that the worker may perform tasks with respect to elevated structures such as roadwork/construction, mining, agricultural equipment as well as buildings, and the like. Basket apparatus 10 generally comprises a collapsible spine 12, a foldable support platform 14, a connection member 16, an adapter 18 mounted at a tip of crane boom 2, and a foldable rail assembly 20.)
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 4B. Hufnagl's connection member attaches at the end of the boom 2 and appears to serve the same purpose as Bergmayr's attachment arm 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Hufnagl's basket with Bergmayr's crane, as that is its intended purpose. Additionally, adapting Hufnagl's basket to Bergmayr's crane would enable the lifting of personnel to perform tasks which they are unable to perform while on the ground, thus increasing the variety of tasks able to be performed with Bergmayr's crane.
Claim 8
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 7 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the mounting interface (220) is mounted at a tip (145) of the boom system (130).
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 4B and paragraph [0029] of Hufnagl (reproduced above with respect to claim 7). The connection member 16 is mounted at the top of the crane boom 2 via adapter 18.
Claim 9
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the mounting interface (220) comprises a horsehead (222, 230) mounted to the tip (145) of the boom system (130).
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 4B and paragraph [0029] of Hufnagl (reproduced above with respect to claim 7). The connection member 16 is mounted at the top of the crane boom 2 via adapter 18. Adapter 18 corresponds to the claimed horsehead. See also Fig. 2 of Hufnagl, reproduced below
Claim 10
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the mounting interface (220) comprises one or more interface portions connected to the tip (145) of the boom system (130).
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 4B and paragraph [0029] of Hufnagl (reproduced above with respect to claim 7). The connection member 16 is mounted at the top of the crane boom 2 via adapter 18. Connection member 16 corresponds to the interface portion.
Claim 11
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 8 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the mounting interface (220) comprises a horsehead portion mounted to the tip (145) of the boom system (130) and an interface module connected to the horsehead portion.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 4B and paragraph [0029] of Hufnagl (reproduced above with respect to claim 7). The connection member 16 is mounted at the top of the crane boom 2 via adapter 18. Connection member 16 corresponds to interface module, and adapter 18 corresponds to horsehead portion.
Claim 13
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 7 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the boom system (130) comprises a main boom connected to the rotatable column (160), the main boom comprising at least one extension
(Bergmayr - [0043] The loading crane 14 can be mounted with its crane base 15 for example on a vehicle. A crane post 16 rotatable about a vertical axis is mounted on the crane base 15. A lift arm 17 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of an actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 22 is arranged on the crane post 16. In turn arranged on the lift arm 17 is a crane arm extension 18 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of a further actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 23, the extension 18 having at least one telescopic extension boom arm 19. )
wherein the mounting interface (220) is mounted at the tip (145) of the main boom.
EXAMINER NOTE: See Fig. 1, cited above with respect to claim 7. Bergmayr's crane includes attachment arm 20 for mounting attachments at the tip of the boom.
Claim 14
The combinatoin of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 7 as outlined above. As shown above, the cited combination also teaches
wherein the boom system (130) comprises a main boom connected to the rotatable column (160),
(Bergmayr - [0043] The loading crane 14 can be mounted with its crane base 15 for example on a vehicle. A crane post 16 rotatable about a vertical axis is mounted on the crane base 15. A lift arm 17 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of an actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 22 is arranged on the crane post 16. In turn arranged on the lift arm 17 is a crane arm extension 18 which is pivotable about a horizontal axis by means of a further actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 23, the extension 18 having at least one telescopic extension boom arm 19. )
at least one further boom connected to the main boom, the at least one further boom comprising least one extension, wherein the mounting interface (220) is mounted at the tip (145) of the at least one further boom.
(Bergmayr - [0043] … Equally the attachment arm 20 can have at least one telescopic extension boom arm 21.)
EXAMINER NOTE: The aspect of a mounting interface has been discussed with respect to the rejection of claim 7. It is shown that Hufnagl's basket mounts to the end of the mounting arm.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bergmayr (US-20200223671-A1) in view of Bramberger (US-20210363728-A1), and further in view of Hufnagl (US 20160257543 A1) and OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (2020). Hoisting personnel (29 CFR Ch. XVII 1926.1431). )
Claim 5
Bergmayr and Bramberger teach the limitations of claim 4 as outlined above. Note that Bergmayr's crane has provisions for various attachments
(Bergmayr - [0015] The actuators can generally involve electric or hydraulic drives of a loading crane or mobile crane like for example hydraulic cylinders, electric or hydraulic drives of winches, electric or hydraulic drives of slewing drives or electric or hydraulic drives for or of working devices or attachments.
[0017] The sensors of the loading crane can be sensors for detecting the state of the loading crane and the state of attachments …
[0043] … As shown in the FIG. 1 embodiment an attachment arm 20 can be arranged on the crane arm extension 18, the arm 20 also being pivotable by means of a further actuator in the form of a hydraulic cylinder 24 about a horizontal axis.)
Neither Bergmayr nor Bramberger explicitly discloses a workman basket. However, Hufnagl teaches a work basket which is easily deployed to attach to a crane for construction tasks. Hufnagl teaches
wherein the attachment is a workman basket (210).
(Hufnagl - [0029] In FIGS. 1-3, a personnel basket apparatus formed in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is broadly identified by reference numeral 10. Basket apparatus 10 is attachable to a boom 2 of a crane to safely support and lift a worker so that the worker may perform tasks with respect to elevated structures such as roadwork/construction, mining, agricultural equipment as well as buildings, and the like. Basket apparatus 10 generally comprises a collapsible spine 12, a foldable support platform 14, a connection member 16, an adapter 18 mounted at a tip of crane boom 2, and a foldable rail assembly 20.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize Hufnagl's basket with Bergmayr's crane, as that is its intended purpose. Additionally, adapting Hufnagl's basket to Bergmayr's crane would enable the lifting of personnel to perform tasks which they are unable to perform while on the ground, thus increasing the variety of tasks able to be performed with Bergmayr's crane. Examiner notes that the operation mode switching taught by Bramberger does not mention workman baskets. However, as shown above with respect to claim 1, Bramberger teaches that it is common to alter operating modes based on attachments. Just as Bramberger modifies load limits for various attachments and operations in the name of safety, one would be motivated to alter the load limit when Hufnagl's basket is attached in order to comply with OSHA regulations concerning the allowable lifting capacity of cranes with work platforms attached.
(OSHA - [p.717, col 2, ln 2] Capacity: Use of boom-attached personnel platforms. The total weight of the loaded personnel platform must not exceed 50 percent of the rated capacity for the radius and configuration of the equipment (except during proof testing).)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmayr (US-20200223671-A1) in view of Bramberger (US-20210363728-A1), and further in view of Hufnagl (US 20160257543 A1), Kahara (JP H09208181 A), and OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (2020). Hoisting personnel (29 CFR Ch. XVII 1926.1431). )
Claim 12
The combination of Bergmayr, Bramberger, and Hufnagl teaches the limitations of claim 7 as outlined above. Regarding the limitations of
a sensor (174, 520) to determine presence of the workman basket (210) mounted at the mounting interface (220)
and to generate sensor (174, 520) information for the control circuitry (100) indicating the presence of the workman basket (210).
Bergmayr broadly discloses detecting the state of attachments via sensors, which appears to indicate the presence of an attachment.
(Bergmayr - [0017] The sensors of the loading crane can be sensors for detecting the state of the loading crane and the state of attachments and the area around the loading crane.)
While Bergmayr does not specify any particular type of attachments, it was shown in the rejection of claim 7 Hufnagl suggests a work basket attachment.
(Hufnagl - [0029] In FIGS. 1-3, a personnel basket apparatus formed in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is broadly identified by reference numeral 10. Basket apparatus 10 is attachable to a boom 2 of a crane to safely support and lift a worker so that the worker may perform tasks with respect to elevated structures such as roadwork/construction, mining, agricultural equipment as well as buildings, and the like.)
Recall also from the rejections above that Bramberger demonstrates that it is common to alter the operation mode of a crane depending on the attached equipment.
(Bramberger - [0005] In a similar way, the control device of construction machines is reconfigured by installing program packets when the mechanical setup state of the construction machine is changed, for example by attaching additional attachments …
None of the above references explicitly teaches generate sensor (174, 520) information for the control circuitry (100) indicating the presence of the workman basket (210). However, Kahara teaches a system in which the presence of attachments is detected and a work mode is set by a work mode sensing device
(Kahara - [0005] [Means for Solving the Problems] The present invention was proposed to achieve the above objective, and provides an automatic crane work mode determination device for a mobile crane that can be equipped with various attachments, comprising: means for detecting the presence of various attachments equipped on the machine body; a work mode sensing device that recognizes the machine specifications and determines the work mode based on the detection signal from the detection means; and a mode setting switch for the operator to input the setting of the work mode. … and also provides an automatic crane work mode determination device that displays with a mode indicator light the work mode determined by the mode setting management device when the work mode determined by the work mode sensing device does not match. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to automatically detect the connection of an attachment on Bergmayr's crane as suggested by Kahara in order to prevent malfunctions and work safety. Kahara's system further checks that the attachment matches the operator's intended operations and notifies the operator of any mismatch, giving a redundant safety check.
(Kahara - [0004] Therefore, a technical challenge arises in order to automatically determine and display the crane's operating mode from the attachments mounted on the machine, thereby preventing crane malfunctions due to operator error and improving work safety. The present invention aims to solve this problem)
The proposed combination is especially desirable in the case of an attached work basket. The proposed modification allows proper programming to be automatically implemented such that the system complies with OSHA regulations concerning load limiting.
(OSHA - [p.717, col 2, ln 2] Capacity: Use of boom-attached personnel platforms. The total weight of the loaded personnel platform must not exceed 50 percent of the rated capacity for the radius and configuration of the equipment (except during proof testing).)
Conclusion
/JAMES MILLER WATTS III/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657