DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informality “the first sheet metal connector (622) abutting against the blade (3), and the handle (1) and the blade best (2) being hinged with each other” in lines 3-4. This should be corrected to “the first sheet metal connector (622) abutting against the blade (3); and the handle (1) and the blade best (2) being hinged with each other” for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the heat conduction assembly (42) in a heat conduction mode" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, upon which claim 4 depends, conditionally recites “a heat conduction mode” in lines 4, 6, and 8. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether “a heat conduction mode” in claim 4 is the same “a heat conduction mode” as recited in claim 4 or a new heat conduction mode. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “a heat conduction mode” of claim 4 to be the same as “a heat conduction mode” of claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "to the first heat conduction assembly (62) in a heat conduction mode" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, upon which claim 10 depends, conditionally recites “a heat conduction mode” in lines 4, 6, and 8. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether “a heat conduction mode” in claim 10 is the same “a heat conduction mode” as recited in claim 1 or a new heat conduction mode. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “a heat conduction mode” of claim 10 to be the same as “a heat conduction mode” of claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first refrigerating body (64) in a heat conduction mode" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10, upon which claim 12 depends, recites “a heat conduction mode” in line 5. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether “a heat conduction mode” in claim 12 is the same “a heat conduction mode” as recited in claim 10 or a new heat conduction mode. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “a heat conduction mode” of claim 12 to be the same as “a heat conduction mode” of claim 10.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "to the second heat conduction assembly (72) in a heat conduction mode" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, upon which claim 17 depends, conditionally recites “a heat conduction mode” in lines 4, 6, and 8. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether “a heat conduction mode” in claim 17 is the same “a heat conduction mode” as recited in claim 1 or a new heat conduction mode. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “a heat conduction mode” of claim 17 to be the same as “a heat conduction mode” of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick.
Regarding claim 1, Patrick discloses a manual razor (Patrick, Fig. 1, shaver 10) having a temperature-changing function, comprising a handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 1, handle 16) and a blade rest (2) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head 12) connected to each other, wherein a blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b) is mounted on the blade rest (2) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head 12); and the handle (1) is provided with a heat transfer structure (4) configured to heat (see Examiner annotated Patrick Figure 1, hereinafter “EAPF1”; heat transfer structure), and the heat transfer structure (4) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) and the blade (3) (Patrick, para. 7, “a heating element bonded to the razor blade, the heating element generating heat when an electric current is passed therethough”) are connected to each other in a heat conduction mode (Patrick, Claim 17, “said shaving device further comprises: a first pair of electrical contacts arranged in the head in electrical communication with the resistive heating element… when the head is attached to the handle to provide an electrical connection between the electric supply means and the resistive heating element”); or the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 1, handle 16) is provided with a heating structure (7), (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) and the heating structure (7) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) and the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b) are connected to each other in a heat conduction mode; the blade (3) is connected with a heat conduction bracket (31) (Patrick, Fig. 1, heating element 26a, 26b), and the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b) is connected to the heat transfer structure (4) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) in the heat conduction mode through the heat conduction bracket (31) (Patrick, Fig. 1, heating element 26a, 26b; Patrick, para, 22, “power is supplied to each of the heating elements 26a, 26b via a pair of electrical conductors 28, 30 in electrical contact with the heating elements”; Patrick, para. 24, “The electrical contacts 42, 44 are in electrical communication with the electrical conductors 28, 30 and corresponding electrical conductors 50, 52 within the handle”); or the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b) is connected to the heating structure (7) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) in the heat conduction mode through the heat conduction bracket (31) (Patrick, Fig. 1, heating element 26a, 26b; Patrick, para, 22, “power is supplied to each of the heating elements 26a, 26b via a pair of electrical conductors 28, 30 in electrical contact with the heating elements”; Patrick, para. 24, “The electrical contacts 42, 44 are in electrical communication with the electrical conductors 28, 30 and corresponding electrical conductors 50, 52 within the handle”).
Regarding claim 3, Patrick discloses the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b) is integrally formed (Patrick, para. 7, “a heating element bonded to the razor blade”) with the heat conduction bracket (31) (Patrick, Fig. 1, heating element 26a, 26b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick in view of US 20190299459 A1 by Bruno et al. (hereinafter “Bruno”).
Regarding claim 2, Patrick does not explicitly disclose a hinge.
Bruno, however, does teach the handle (1) and the blade rest (2) are hinged with each other (Bruno, para. 100, “may be in pivotal relation to the handle 12 via, for example, a spring, a joint, a hinge, a bearing, or any other suitable connection…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the handle of Patrick to be hinged as taught by Bruno in order to allow for rotational motion for improved comfort, closeness, and efficiency (Bruno, para. 96, “it is preferable if a shaving razor system array can be designed such that any cartridge can be releasably attached to any handle while delivering both the benefit from the handle through the skin interconnect member and providing good shaving performance in terms of comfort, closeness, and efficiency”).
Regarding claim 4, Patrick discloses the heat transfer structure (4) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) comprises a circuit board (41) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70), a heating body (43) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control contact 74), and a heat conduction assembly (42) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) connected to the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b), the heating body (43) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control contact 74) being both electrically connected to the circuit board (41) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70) and connected to the heat conduction assembly (42) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) in a heat conduction mode. Patrick does not explicitly disclose a refrigerating body.
Bruno, however, does teach a refrigerating body (44) (Bruno, Fig. 2B, skin interconnect member 20; Bruno, para. 71, “the at least one skin interconnect member 20 may include a fluid dispensing element, a thermal element which heats or cools the skin, or a combination thereof”), and the refrigerating body being both electrically connected to the circuit board (41) and connected to the heat conduction assembly (42) in a heat conduction mode (Bruno, para. 73, “Heating or cooling of the skin interconnect member 20 can be achieved by pressing the skin benefit actuator… and which closed a powered circuit inside handle 12 to a circuit inside the skin interconnect member”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the razor of Patrick to have a refrigerating body as taught by Bruno in order to reduce skin inflammation during shaving, as colder temperatures cause blood vessel constriction in the skin.
Regarding claim 8, the Patrick/Bruno combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses a battery (5) (Patrick, Fig. 4, battery 32) configured to power the circuit board (41) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70) is further arranged in the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16), and the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16) is provided with a battery level display lamp (11) (Patrick, Fig. 4, indicator light 60) connected to the circuit board (41).
Regarding claim 9, the Patrick/Bruno combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16) is further provided with a switch button (12) (Patrick, Fig. 4, on/off switch 46) connected to the circuit board (41) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70), the switch button (12) comprising a heating button (121) (Patrick, para. 24, “an on/off switch 46 for selectively applying power through electrical conductors 50, 52 to the heating elements”). Patrick does not explicitly disclose a refrigeration button.
Bruno, however, does teach a refrigeration button (122) (Bruno, para. 73, “Heating or cooling of the skin interconnect member 20 can be achieved by pressing the skin benefit actuator 13, which can be a depressible button, a touch sensitive button, or a sliding button, and which closes a powered circuit inside handle 12 to a circuit inside the skin interconnect member”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Patrick to include a refrigeration button as taught by Bruno in order to allow for the refrigerating body to be operable (Bruno, para. 73, “Heating or cooling of the skin interconnect member 20 can be achieved by pressing the skin benefit actuator 13, which can be a depressible button, a touch sensitive button, or a sliding button, and which closes a powered circuit inside handle 12 to a circuit inside the skin interconnect member”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick in view of US 20190299459 A1 by Bruno as detailed in the rejections above, and further in view of CN 212887713 U by Hu et al. (hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claim 5, the Patrick/Bruno combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Furthermore, Patrick/Bruno do not explicitly disclose semiconductors.
However Hu, which is pertinent to the issue of a heat transfer structure for a hair cutting apparatus, does teach the heating body (43) (see Hu English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “HEMTD”; Description, para. 31, “a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously. It has two functions: cooling and heating”; HEMTD, Description, para. 18, “The cooling element generates heat during operation”) is a heating semiconductor (HEMTD, Description, para. 30, “The cooling element 6 is a semiconductor cooling element”), and the refrigerating body (44) (HEMTD, Description, para. 31, “a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously. It has two functions: cooling and heating”) is a refrigerating semiconductor (HEMTD, Description, para. 30, “The cooling element 6 is a semiconductor cooling element”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the heat transfer structure of Patrick to incorporate semiconductors as taught by Hu in order to reduce thermal inertia and heat conduction time (HEMTD, Description, para. 31, “As a special cold source, a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously… The thermoelectric cooler has very low thermal inertia, and it’s cooling and heating time is very fast. With good heat dissipation at the hot end and no load at the cold end, the cooler can reach its maximum temperature difference in less than one minute after being powered on”), and further as applying a known technique (in this case, the use of semiconductors in an electrical system) to a known device (in this case, hair cutting apparatus) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (in this case, the benefits of using semiconductors in an electrical system is commonly known to the art).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick in view of US 20190299459 A1 by Bruno as detailed in the rejections above, and further in view of US 20100031510 A1 by Gester et al. (hereinafter “Gester”).
Regarding claim 6, the Patrick/Bruno combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses the heat conduction assembly (42) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) comprises a conductive sheet (421) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical contact 42) and a sheet metal connector (422) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head conductors 28, 30) connected to each other, the sheet metal connector (422) abutting against the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head conductors 28, 30 and razor blade 20a, 20b). Patrick/Bruno do not explicitly disclose an aluminum conductive sheet.
Gester, however, does teach an aluminum conductive sheet (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 62; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the conductive sheet of Patrick to be aluminum as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, replacing the non-specific conductive sheet of Patrick for the aluminum conductive sheet for Gester for electrical conduction purposes).
Regarding claim 7, the Patrick/Bruno/Gester combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 6 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses the heat conduction assembly (42) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) further comprises a first conductive sheet (623) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical contact 44). Patrick/Bruno do not explicitly disclose a copper conductive sheet.
Gester, however, does teach a first copper conductive sheet (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 63; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”), first copper conductive sheet (623) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 63) being arranged between the aluminum conductive sheet (421) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 62) and the heating body (43) and refrigerating body (44) (Gester, Fig. 11, resistive member 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the first conductive sheet of Patrick to be copper as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, replacing the non-specific conductive sheet of Patrick for the copper conductive sheet for Gester for electrical conduction purposes).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick in view of CN 212887713 U by Hu.
Regarding claim 17, Patrick discloses the heating structure (7) (EAPF1, heat transfer structure) comprises a second circuit board (71) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70), a second heating body (73) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control contact 74), and a second heat conduction assembly (72) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) connected to the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, razor blade 20a, 20b), the second heating body (73) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control contact 74) being electrically connected to the second circuit board (71) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70) and connected to the second heat conduction assembly (72) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) in a heat conduction mode. Patrick does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor.
However Hu, which is pertinent to the issue of a heat transfer structure for a hair cutting apparatus, does teach the second heating body (43) (HEMTD, Description, para. 31, “a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously. It has two functions: cooling and heating”; HEMTD, Description, para. 18, “The cooling element generates heat during operation”) is a heating semiconductor (HEMTD, Description, para. 30, “The cooling element 6 is a semiconductor cooling element”), and the refrigerating body (44) (HEMTD, Description, para. 31, “a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously. It has two functions: cooling and heating”) is a refrigerating semiconductor (HEMTD, Description, para. 30, “The cooling element 6 is a semiconductor cooling element”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the heat transfer structure of Patrick to incorporate semiconductors as taught by Hu in order to reduce thermal inertia and heat conduction time (HEMTD, Description, para. 31, “As a special cold source, a thermoelectric cooler does not require any refrigerant and can operate continuously… The thermoelectric cooler has very low thermal inertia, and it’s cooling and heating time is very fast. With good heat dissipation at the hot end and no load at the cold end, the cooler can reach its maximum temperature difference in less than one minute after being powered on”), and further as applying a known technique (in this case, the use of semiconductors in an electrical system) to a known device (in this case, hair cutting apparatus) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (in this case, the benefits of using semiconductors in an electrical system is commonly known to the art).
Regarding claim 18, Patrick discloses a battery (5) (Patrick, Fig. 4, battery 32) configured to power the second circuit board (71) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70) is further arranged in the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16), and the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16) is provided with a battery level display lamp (11) (Patrick, Fig. 4, indicator light 60) connected to the second circuit board (71); wherein the handle (1) (Patrick, Fig. 4, handle 16) is further provided with a switch button (12) (Patrick, Fig. 4, on/off switch 46) connected to the second circuit board (71) (Patrick, Fig. 4, temperature control circuit 70).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030226258 A1 by Patrick in view of CN 212887713 U by Hu as detailed in the rejections above, and further in view of US 20100031510 A1 by Gester.
Regarding claim 19, the Patrick/Hu combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 17 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses the second heat conduction assembly (72) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) comprises a second conductive sheet (721) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical contact 42) and a second sheet metal connector (722) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head conductors 28, 30) connected to each other, the second sheet metal connector (722) abutting against the blade (3) (Patrick, Fig. 1, head conductors 28, 30 and razor blade 20a, 20b). Patrick does not explicitly disclose an aluminum conductive sheet.
Gester, however, does teach an aluminum conductive sheet (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 62; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the second conductive sheet of Patrick to be aluminum as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, replacing the non-specific conductive sheet of Patrick for the aluminum conductive sheet for Gester for electrical conduction purposes).
Regarding claim 20, the Patrick/Hu/Gester combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 19 above. Furthermore, Patrick discloses the second heat conduction assembly (42) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical conductors 28, 30, 50, 52) further comprises a second conductive sheet (623) (Patrick, Fig. 1, electrical contact 44). Patrick/Bruno do not explicitly disclose a copper conductive sheet.
Gester, however, does teach a second copper conductive sheet (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 63; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”), the second copper conductive sheet (623) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 63) being arranged between the second aluminum conductive sheet (421) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 62) and the second heating body (43) (Gester, Fig. 11, resistive member 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the second conductive sheet of Patrick to be copper as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, replacing the non-specific conductive sheet of Patrick for the copper conductive sheet for Gester for electrical conduction purposes).
The following is a new 103 rejection of claim 1 differing from the 102 rejection of claim 1 in view of Patrick above, as necessitated by the conditionality of claim 1, and its subsequent dependent claims.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211842105 U by Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) in view of CN 112571460 A by Ni.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a manual razor (see Chen English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “CEMTD”; Description, para. 2, “This utility model relates to the field of manual razor technology”) having a temperature-changing function (CEMTD, Description, para. 2, “a cooling and safe razor”), comprising a handle (1) (see Examiner annotated Chen Figure 3, hereinafter “EACF3”; handle) and a blade rest (2) (Chen, Fig. 3, cutter head 2) connected to each other, wherein a blade (3) is mounted on the blade rest (2) (Chen, Fig. 4, cutter head 2); the handle (1) (EACF3, handle) is provided with a refrigeration structure (6) (EACF3, refrigeration structure), and the refrigeration structure (6) (EACF3, refrigeration structure) and the blade (3) (EACF3, blades) are connected to each other in a heat conduction mode. Chen does not explicitly disclose a heat conduction bracket connected to the blade.
However Ni, which is pertinent to the issue of a refrigerating structure for a hair cutting apparatus, does teach the blade (3) (Ni, Fig. 7, electric clipper head 2; see Ni English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter “NEMTD”; Description, para. 39, “the blade of the electric clipper head 2”) is connected with a heat conduction bracket (31) (Ni, Fig. 7, heat pipe 12), the blade (3) (Ni, Fig. 7, electric clipper head 2) is connected to the refrigeration structure (6) (see Examiner annotated Ni Figure 7, hereinafter “EANF7”; refrigerating structure) in the heat conduction mode through the heat conduction bracket (31) (Ni, Fig. 7, heat pipe 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the refrigeration structure of Chen to include a heat conduction bracket as taught by Ni as use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (in this case, the use of a heat conduction bracket for improving similar hair cutting apparatuses with a refrigerating function).
Regarding claim 10, the Chen/Ni combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses the refrigeration structure (6) (EACF3, refrigeration structure) comprises a first circuit board (61) (Chen, Fig. 2, control board 23), a first refrigerating body (64) (Chen, Fig. 3, cooling plate 10), and a first heat conduction assembly (62) (see Examiner annotated Chen Figure 2, hereinafter “EACF2”; heat conduction assembly”), the first refrigerating body (64) (Chen, Fig. 2, cooling plate 10) being electrically connected to the first circuit board (61) (Chen, Fig. 2, control board 23) and connected to the first heat conduction assembly (62) (EACF2, heat conduction assembly) in a heat conduction mode. Chen does not explicitly disclose the first heat conduction assembly is connected to the blade.
However Ni, which is pertinent to the issue of a refrigerating structure for a hair cutting apparatus, does teach a first heat conduction assembly (62) (EANF7, heat conduction assembly) connected to the blade (3) (Ni, Fig. 3, cutter head 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the refrigeration structure of Chen to have a heat conduction assembly connected to the blade as taught by Ni as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, substituting the configuration of the heat conduction assembly of Chen for the assembly of Ni for providing a refrigerating effect during hair cutting).
Regarding claim 11, the Chen/Ni combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses the first refrigerating body (64) (Chen, Fig. 4, cooling plate 10) is a refrigerating semiconductor (CEMTD, Description, para. 14, “the cooling element is a semiconductor cooling element”), and the refrigerating semiconductor is connected with a first heat dissipater (63) (Chen, Fig. 3, heat dissipation body 7).
Regarding claim 15, the Chen/Ni combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses a battery (5) (Chen, Fig. 3, battery 24) configured to power the first circuit board (61) (Chen, Fig. 3, control board 23) is further arranged in the handle (1) (EACF3, handle), and the handle (1) (EACF3, handle) is provided with a battery level display lamp (11) (Chen, Fig. 3, power indicator light 26) connected to the first circuit board (61).
Regarding claim 16, the Chen/Ni combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses the handle (1) (EACF3, handle) is further provided with a switch button (12) (Chen, Fig. 3, control buttons 25) connected to the first circuit board (61).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 211842105 U by Chen in view of CN 112571460 A by Ni as detailed in the rejections above, and further in view of US 20100031510 A1 by Gester.
Regarding claim 12, the Chen/Ni combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses the first heat conduction assembly (62) (EACF2, heat conduction assembly) comprises a first aluminum conductive sheet (621) (Chen, Fig. 2, conductive plate 12) connected to the first refrigerating body (64) (Chen, Fig. 2, cooling plate 10) in a heat conduction mode. Chen/Ni do not explicitly disclose an aluminum conductive sheet.
However Gester, which is pertinent to the art of a manual razor with a temperature-changing function, does teach a first aluminum conductive sheet (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 62; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the conductive sheet of Chen to be aluminum as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, replacing the non-specific conductive sheet of Chen for the aluminum conductive sheet for Gester for electrical conduction purposes).
Regarding claim 13, the Chen/Ni/Gester combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Furthermore, Chen discloses a first sheet metal connector (622) (Chen, Fig. 4, touch sheet 3) connected to the first conductive sheet (621) (Chen, Fig. 4, conductive sheet 11). Chen does not explicitly disclose the first sheet metal connector abuts the blade nor the blade rest being hinged.
However Gester, which is pertinent to the art of a manual razor with a temperature-changing function, does teach the first sheet metal connector (622) (Gester, Fig. 4, heat dissipating strip 40) abutting against the blade (3) (Gester, Fig. 4, skin contacting surface 41; Gester, Fig. 3, blades 30), and the handle (1) and the blade rest (2) being hinged with each other (Gester, para. 19, “The cartridge may be pivotally mounted on the handle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the first sheet metal connector of Chen to abut the blade as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, substituting the sheet metal connector of Chen with the sheet metal connector of Gester to abut the blades and connect with the conductive sheet). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of invention to modify the handle of Chen to pivot as taught by Gester as simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (in this case, substituting the handle connection of Chen with the handle connection of Gester in order to securely hold the blade rest).
Regarding claim 14, the Chen/Ni/Gester combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Furthermore, Chen does not explicitly disclose a first copper conductive sheet.
However Gester, which is pertinent to the art of a manual razor with a temperature-changing function, does teach the first heat conduction assembly (62) further comprises a first copper conductive sheet (623) (Gester, Fig. 4, electrical contact 63; Gester, para. 42, “The electrical contacts 62 and 63 may comprise silver. Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper, gold, steel, brass, nickel, and alloys thereof may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”), the first copper conductive sheet (623) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 63) being arranged between the first aluminum conductive sheet (621) (Gester, Fig. 11, electrical contact 62) and the first temperature-changing body (64) (Gester, Fig. 11, resistive member 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to add a copper conductive sheet to the electrical system of Chen as taught by Gester as use of a known technique (in this case, the application of a copper conductive sheet of Gester for good conductivity (Gester, para. 42, “Other conductive materials such as aluminum, copper… may be used for electrical contacts 62 and 63”)) to improve similar devices (in this case, manual razors with a temperature-changing function) in the same way (in this case, for use in an electrical circuit).
Conclusion
/DEBORAH LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724