DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Specification
The amendments to the specification of April 29, 2026 (see SPEC of 04/29/2026) have been reviewed and the amendments are accepted.
Drawings
The amendments to the drawings of April 29, 2026 (see DRW of 04/29/2026) have been reviewed and the amendments are accepted. The drawings objections of the Non-Final of December 29, 2025 (see CTNF of 12/29/2025, paragraph 0002) have been overcome.
Upon further review of the claims, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the following claimed limitations (see below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The claimed limitations not shown are:
“the support element” (see claim 2 line 3)
“the means to transfer load” (see claim 2 line 4)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the support element” (line 3) lacks antecedent basis. No support element is claimed earlier in this claim. Nor is a support element claimed in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the support element will be interpreted as referring to the load block.
“the means to transfer load” (line 4) lacks antecedent basis. Did Applicant mean -means to transfer force to a cable-? For the purpose of examination, “the means to transfer load” will be interpreted as referring to the means to transfer force to a cable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) will be interpreted under 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C 112, sixth paragraph:
“means to transfer force to a cable” (claim 1 line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, this claim claims “wherein the curved contour of the functional portion has an increasing curvature, the curvature increasing the further the curved contour deviates from a central axis of the support element, the central axis being defined by the center of the means to transfer load to the cable and by the center of the mounting interface”.
This limitation renders the claim indefinite because the boundaries of the increasing curvature are boundless. The claimed increasing curvature appears to increase to infinity. What are the boundaries of the claimed increasing curvature?
For the purpose of examination, the limitation of “wherein the curved contour of the functional portion has an increasing curvature, the curvature increasing the further the curved contour deviates from a central axis of the support element” will be interpreted as the curvature increasing from a central axis of the hook block to at least one of the sides of the hook block.
Please review all claims before the formal response is submitted, as any new 112(b) rejections introduced in the response may be grounds for a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available).
Regarding claim 1, JPH 04117896 U (from here on just referred to as JPH 896’) discloses:
A device for reducing the hoisting force of a hydraulically driven winch of a mobile crane (see paragraph 0001 of the attached machine translation) comprising:
A load block (7, see figure 7) for a crane (a mobile crane, see paragraph 0001), the load block comprising:
a mounting interface (considered the bottom half of hook block 7) to attach a load to the load block (see figure 7),
means to transfer force (considered one of pulleys 10, see figure 7) to a cable (6, see figure 7), wherein a surface (considered the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block as shown in figure 7) of the load block comprises a functional portion (considered the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block as shown in figure 7) having a curved contour (considered the contour of the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block as shown in figure 7) that causes a turning moment (see paragraph 0003 of the attached machine translation) on the load block if the functional portion of the surface engages an abutment (12, see figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, JPH 896’ further shows wherein the mounting interface (considered the bottom half of hook block 7) comprises a bore (considered the bore for 9, see figure 7, and see annotated figure below) configured to serve as a bearing (considered the bearing surface of the bore) for a bolt (9, see figure 7, and see annotated figure below) supporting a hook (see annotated figure below, and figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, JPH 896’ further shows a hook (see annotated figure above, and figure 7) attached to the mounting interface.
Regarding claim 7, JPH 896’ further shows wherein the load block exhibits one or more pulleys (a second of pulleys 10, and see paragraph 0002 of attached machine translation) for using the load block in a two-wire mode of operation (see figure 7) or in a multi-wire mode of operation.
Regarding claim 8, JPH 896’ further shows a bore (considered the bore of 11, see figure 7, and the annotated figure below) for a bolt (see figure 7, and see annotated figure below) to attach the wire (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, JPH 896’ further shows wherein the curved contour of the functional portion causes a turning moment on the load block if the functional portion of the support block is pushed towards a planar abutment (see paragraph 0003 of attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 12, JPH 896’ further shows wherein the functional portion comprises a protrusion (considered the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block as shown in figure 7) for interacting with an abutment (12, see figure 7) of a boom (1, 2 and 12, see figure 7) of the crane, wherein the protrusion causes a turning moment of the load block with respect to the boom of the crane (see paragraph 0003 of attached machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available).
Regarding claim 2, JPH 896’ further shows a central axis (considered a vertical axis passing vertically through pivot shaft 9, see annotated figure below) being defined by the center of the means to transfer load to the cable (see annotated figure below) and by the center of the mounting interface (see annotated figure below).
JPH 896’ does not explicitly disclose wherein the curved contour of the functional portion has an increasing curvature, the curvature increasing the further the curved contour deviates from a central axis.
The difference between JPH 896’ and this claim is that JPH 896’ lacks an increasing curvature (i.e. a change of shape).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JPH 896’ by increasing the curvature of the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block of JPH 896’ from the central axis of the hook block to at least one of the sides of the hook block (so that the arcuate surface has an increasing curvature), to increase the speed that the hook block turns into the underside of the boom when the winch (A) winds the wire rope, and/or as the configuration of the shape of the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block of JPH 896’ is a matter of choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent evidence that the particular configuration of the shape was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
With the modification above, the functional portion of the surface extends until the central axis at the surface of the support block opposing the mounting interface, regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, JPH 896’ further shows a hook (see figure 7, and see the annotated figure in the rejection to claim 4) attached to the mounting interface (considered the bottom half of hook block 7)
JPH 896’ does not explicitly disclose the curvature increases in a direction of an open side of the hook. The difference between JPH 896’ as modified above and this claim is that the open side of the hook is not disclosed as being arranged or reversed to be in the same direction as the increase in curvature.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JPH 896’ as modified above by reversing the open side of the hook or by rearranging the open side of the hook (so that the open side of the hook is arranged in the same direction as the increase in curvature), to arrange the open side of the hook so that the open side of the hook is directed towards the boom when the hook block is placed toward the underside of the boom for the benefit of preventing injury of crane personnel as the personnel are not exposed to the open side of the hook during storage of the hook block, as a mere reversal of the direction of the open side of the hook (In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955)), and/or as the rearrangement of the open side of the hook would not have modified the operation of the hook (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available) in view of Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1).
Regarding claim 9, JPH 896’ further shows:
the first part (considered the bottom half of hook block 7) comprising the mounting interface (considered the bottom half of hook block 7); and the second part (considered top half of hook block 7 as shown in figure 7) comprising the surface with the functional portion (considered the arcuate surface of the top half of the hook block as shown in figure 7) and the means to transfer force (considered one of pulleys 10, see figure 7) to the cable (6, see figure 7).
JPH 896’ does not explicitly disclose the load block comprises a first part and a separable second part.
Gottwald discloses a smart hook block (see figures 1-3, see especially figure 2) comprising a frame of the hook block (2, see figure 2) further comprising an upper hook part (2A, see figure 2) and a lower hook part (2B, see figure 2). Gottwald teaches that the lower hook part (2B) can be detachably connected to the upper hook part (2A) using four bolt connections (see paragraph 0053).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JPH 896’ by providing the first part of the load block separable from the second part of the load block, to provide a hook block where a lower hook part can be detachably connected to an upper hook part using bolt connections as taught by Gottwald, to provide a hook block where different lower hook parts can be attached to the upper hook part for the benefit of having the hook block adjustable in size for load of varying sizes, and/or to provide a hook block that has the second part separable from the first part for the benefit of changing the hook of the hook block without having to unreeve the cable from the hook block (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available) in view of Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Vlazny (US Patent 3,786,935).
Regarding claim 10, JPH 896’ does not explicitly disclose wherein the first part comprises a fixed bolt to engage with a recess formed by the second part and a first bore serving as a bearing for a removable bolt; and wherein the second part comprises the recess to engage with the fixed bolt of the first part and a second bore serving as a bearing for the removable bolt.
Gottwald teaches of bolts that extend from both sides of the plates of an upper hook part and a lower hook part of a hook block (see figures 1-3, see especially figure 2).
Further regarding Gottwald, once these bolts and/or nuts of the hook block are secured, they’re “fixed”. While the drawings and specification of Gottwald don’t’ explicitly specify the orientation of the bolts and/or nuts (where the head vs. threading are), there are a finite number of options:
They have threading on both sides of the bolt as taught by Vlazny (US 3,786,935, see figures 5-6),
They have the heads on one plate and the nuts on the second,
They have some bolts with heads on one plate and some bolts with nuts on that plate.
The choice of one of a finite number of options, each yielding predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the option to include some bolts set with head/nut orientation opposite is a safety decision to reduce probability of the bolts and/or nuts becoming loose due to rotational directions being in opposition.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Miyazawa as modified by Gottwald above by providing the first part of the hook block to comprise a fixed bolt to engage with a recess formed by the second part of the hook block and a first bore serving as a bearing for a removable bolt; and wherein the second part of the hook block comprises the recess to engage with the fixed bolt of the first part and a second bore serving as a bearing for the removable bolt (as one of a finite number of structural options to connect the first part of the hook block to the second part of the hook block), as a safety decision to reduce probability of the bolts and/or nuts of the hook block from becoming loose during hoisting operations of the hook block, and/or to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. Obvious to try).
Claim 13-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available) in view of Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A).
Regarding claim 13, JPH 04117896 U (from here on just referred to as JPH 896’) discloses:
A device for reducing the hoisting force of a hydraulically driven winch of a mobile crane (see paragraph 0001 of the attached machine translation) comprising:
A crane (see paragraph 0001, and see figure 7) comprising:
a boom system (1, 2, and 12, see figure 7);
a winch arrangement (A, see figure 7) attached to the crane to perform winding or unwinding of a cable (6, see figure 7) of the winch arrangement; and
a load block (7, see figure 7) according to claim 1 attached to the cable (see rejection to claim 1 above).
JPH 896’ does not disclose the boom system is mounted on a rotatable column.
Miyazawa discloses a device for housing hook for wheel crane (see figures 1-6) and teaches the crane (see figures 1-6) comprises a boom system (21, 2a, and 2) mounted on a rotatable column (considered the column supporting upper rotating body B, see figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of JPH 896’ by mounting the boom system of JPH 896’ to a rotatable column, to mount a boom system on a rotatable column as taught by Miyazawa, to increase the range of operation of the boom system of JPH 896’ by increasing the range of operation of the boom system by 360 degrees, and/or to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, JPH 896’ further shows an abutment (12, see figure 7) for the load block at a tip of the boom system (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, with the modification JPH 896’ in view of Miyazawa, as discussed in the rejection of claim 13 above, the boom system comprises a main boom (1, see figure 7) connected to a rotatable column, the main boom comprising at least one extension (2, see figure 7), and wherein the abutment (12, see figure 7) for the load block is present at the tip region of the main boom (see figure 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous set of claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (see new rejections to JPH 04117896 U above) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
JPH 04117896 U (No inventor nor Applicant name is available), Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A), Wiedemann (US Publication 2022/0371862 A1), Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1), and Vlazny (US Patent 3,786,935) are considered the closest prior art references to dependent claim 15.
Claim 15 claims:
“wherein the abutment comprises a bearing rotatable about an axis and positioned such that an outer race of the bearing engages with the functional portion of the load block if the load block engages with the abutment”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area of the bolded limitation above.
None of JPH 896’, Miyazawa, Wiedemann, Gottwald, nor Vlazny disclose nor would be obvious to the limitation(s) of “wherein the abutment comprises a bearing rotatable about an axis and positioned such that an outer race of the bearing engages with the functional portion of the load block if the load block engages with the abutment”, in conjunction with all of the limitations of claims 13 and 14.
While the prior art teaches of a planar abutment, the prior art does not disclose nor teach of an abutment comprises a bearing rotatable about an axis and positioned such that an outer race of the bearing engages with the functional portion of the load block if the load block engages with the abutment, as claimed in claim 15.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JJC/
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654