DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a bore” (claim 4), “a bearing” (claim 4), “a bolt” (claim 4), “one or more pulleys” (claim 7), “two-wire mode of operation” (claim 7), “multi-wire mode of operation” (claim 7), “a bore” (claim 8), “a bolt” (claim 8), “a planar abutment” (claim 11), “an abutment” (claim 12), “end faces” (claim 16), “a main boom” (claim 17), and “at least one extension” (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) will be interpreted under 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C 112, sixth paragraph:
“means to transfer force to a cable” (claim 1 line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, “the curvature” (line 6) lacks antecedent basis. The limitation of “increasing curvature” is recited in dependent claim 2, not earlier claims 4 or 1 of this claim.
Regarding claim 10, this claim claims:
wherein the first part comprises a fixed bolt to engage with a recess formed by the second part and a first bore serving as a bearing for a removable bolt; and
wherein the second part comprises the recess to engage with the removable bolt of the first part and a second bore serving as a bearing for the removable bolt.
The above limitations render the claim indefinite because the limitations are unclear as to whether 1) the fixed bolt engages the recess or 2) the removable bolt engages the recess. Thus, the scope of the claim is indefinite.
The fixed bolt appears to engage the recess. The removable bolt appears to engage the first bore and the second bore, not the recess.
For this office action, the above limitations will be considered as requiring the fixed bolt to be the bolt that engages the recess.
Regarding claim 15, “the functional surface” (lines 2-3) lacks antecedent basis. Is Applicant referring to the -functional portion- recited in claim 1?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazawa discloses a device for housing hook for wheel crane (see figures 1-6) comprising:
A load block (3, see figures 1-6, especially figures 2-3) for a crane, the load block comprising;
a mounting interface (considered the bottom part portion of main hoisting hook 3) to attach a load to the load block, means to transfer force (7, see figures 2-3) to a cable (4, see figures 2-3), wherein a surface (see below) of the load block comprises a functional portion (considered the top surface of block 3 that contacts lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) having a shape (considered the shape of the top surface) that causes a turning moment (see turning movement of block 7 in figures 2-3) on the load block if the functional portion of the surface engages an abutment (considered lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazawa further shows the mounting interface comprises a bore (considered the bore for the bolt supporting the hook, see figures 2-3) configured to serve as a bearing for a bolt (considered the bolt supporting the book, see figures 2-3) supporting a hook (see hook as shown in figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazawa further shows a hook (see hook as shown in figures 2-3) attached to the mounting interface (see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazawa further shows wherein the load block (3) exhibits one or more pulleys (7, see figures 2-3) for using the load block in a two-wire mode of operation (see figures 2-4) or in a multi-wire mode of operation (see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 11, Miyazawa further shows wherein the functional portion (considered the top surface of block 3 that contacts lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) has a shape (considered the shape of the top surface) that causes a turning moment (see figure 2-3) on the load block if the functional portion of the support block is pushed towards a planar abutment (considered lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Miyazawa further shows wherein the functional portion (considered the top surface of block 3 that contacts lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) comprises a protrusion (considered the protrusion of the top surface of block 3, see figures 2-3) for interacting with an abutment (considered lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) of a boom (21, 2a, and 2, see figures 2-3) of the crane, wherein the protrusion causes a turning moment (see figures 2-3) of the load block with respect to the boom of the crane.
Regarding claim 13, Miyazawa further shows:
a crane (see figures 1-6) comprising: a boom system (21, 2a, and 2) mounted on a rotatable column (considered the column supporting upper rotating body B, see figure 1);
a winch arrangement (considered the main hoisting winch, see paragraph 0004 of attached machine translation) attached to the crane to perform winding or unwinding of a cable (4, see figures 1-6, and paragraph 0004 of attached machine translation) of the winch arrangement; and
a load block (3, see figures 1-6) according to claim 1 attached to the cable.
Regarding claim 14, Miyazawa further shows an abutment (considered lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) for the load block at a tip (see figures 2-4) of the boom system.
Regarding claim 17, Miyazawa further shows a main boom (2, see figures 1-6) connected to the rotatable column, the main boom comprising at least one extension (2a, see figures 1-6), wherein the abutment (considered lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) for the load block is present at the tip region of the main boom (see figures 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A) in view of Wiedemann (US Publication 2022/0371862 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazawa does not explicitly disclose a bore for a bolt to attach the wire (i.e. a fastening means for a wire).
Wiedemann discloses a hook block (10, see figures 1, 3 and 5) comprising an upper hook block part (20), a lower hook part (22), and the upper hook block part further comprises a fastening means (21, see figures 1, 3 and 5) with a cable (see figures 1, 3 and 5) fastened to the fastening means. Wiedemann teaches that the fastening means (21) of the upper hook block part can be lashed or fastened to another lifting hook (6b) of the crane located at the upper side of the upper hook block part (see paragraph 0064). Thus, Wiedemann teaches of providing a fastening means for a wire on the upper hook block part of a two part hook block.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Miyazawa by providing a fastening means (such as a bore and a bolt to attach a wire) to the device of Miyazawa, to lash or fasten the upper hook block part of a hook block to another lifting hook of a crane located at the upper side of the upper hook block part as taught by Wiedemann, as such a fastening means is beneficial to Miyazawa as the fastening means would allow Miyazawa to connect the auxiliary hook block (9) to the main hook block (7) for the benefit of increasing the lifting capacity of the main hook block and for the benefit of reducing pendulum movements of the main hook block as there would be two components of lifting force (one from main hoisting rope 4 of Miyazawa and another from auxiliary rope 10 of Miyazawa) instead of only one component of lifting force (from main hoisting rope 4 of Miyazawa only).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A) in view of Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazawa further shows:
the first part (the bottom part of main hoisting hook 3) comprising the mounting interface (considered the bottom half portion of main hoisting hook 3); and the second part (the top part of main hoisting hook 3) comprising the surface with the functional portion (considered the top surface of block 3 that contacts lower surface 21c, see figures 2-3) and the means to transfer force (7, see figures 2-3) to the cable (4, see figures 2-3).
Miyazawa does not explicitly disclose the load block comprising a first part and a separable second part.
Gottwald discloses a smart hook block (see figures 1-3, see especially figure 2) comprising a frame of the hook block (2, see figure 2) further comprising an upper hook part (2A, see figure 2) and a lower hook part (2B, see figure 2). Gottwald teaches that the lower hook part (2B) can be detachably connected to the upper hook part (2A) using four bolt connections (see paragraph 0053).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Miyazawa by providing the first part of the load block separable from the second part of the load block, to provide a hook block where a lower hook part can be detachably connected to an upper hook part using bolt connections as taught by Gottwald, to provide a hook block that has the second part separable from the first part for the benefit of changing the hook of the hook block without having to unreeve the cable from the hook block, and/or to provide a hook block where different lower hook parts can be attached to the upper hook part for the benefit of having the hook block adjustable in size for load of varying sizes.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A) in view of Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Vlazny (US Patent 3,786,935).
Regarding claim 10, Miyazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the first part comprises a fixed bolt to engage with a recess formed by the second part and a first bore serving as a bearing for a removable bolt; and wherein the second part comprises the recess to engage with the removable bolt of the first part and a second bore serving as a bearing for the removable bolt.
Gottwald teaches of bolts that extend from both sides of the plates of an upper hook part and a lower hook part of a hook block (see figures 1-3, see especially figure 2).
Further regarding Gottwald, once these bolts and/or nuts of the hook block are secured, they’re “fixed”. While the drawings and specification of Gottwald don’t’ explicitly specify the orientation of the bolts and/or nuts (where the head vs. threading are), there are a finite number of options:
They have threading on both sides of the bolt as taught by Vlazny (US 3,786,935, see figures 5-6),
They have the heads on one plate and the nuts on the second,
They have some bolts with heads on one plate and some bolts with nuts on that plate.
The choice of one of a finite number of options, each yielding predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the option to include some bolts set with head/nut orientation opposite is a safety decision to reduce probability of the bolts and/or nuts becoming loose due to rotational directions being in opposition.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Miyazawa as modified by Gottwald above by providing the first part of the hook block to comprise a fixed bolt to engage with a recess formed by the second part of the hook block and a first bore serving as a bearing for a removable bolt; and wherein the second part of the hook block comprises the recess to engage with the removable bolt of the first part and a second bore serving as a bearing for the removable bolt (as one of a finite number of structural options to connect the first part of the hook block to the second part of the hook block), as a safety decision to reduce probability of the bolts and/or nuts of the hook block from becoming loose during hoisting operations of the hook block, and/or to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (i.e. Obvious to try).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Miyazawa (JPH 04341496A) and Gottwald (US Publication 2023/0159305 A1) are considered the closest prior art references to dependent claims 2-3 and 16.
Neither Miyazawa nor Gottwald disclose nor would be obvious to the claim subject matter of these claims.
Conclusion
/JJC/
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619