DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-13, 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rabjohn (US 20190245492 A1).
For claim 1. Rabjohn discloses A power amplification apparatus comprising: a power amplifier stage ([0049], figure 3, power amplifier 14C) configured to amplify a signal received from an attenuator or from a variable gain amplifier (VGA) of the power amplification apparatus with an amplifier gain ([0017], [0044], attenuator/VGA 14A); and an open loop transient gain compensation circuit configured to compensate a transient turn-on gain variation of the power amplifier stage ([0035], [0050]) with a transient compensation current (figure 3, [0050], [0055]) added to a bias current ([0053], figure 3, bias current from circuit 21) supplied to the attenuator or supplied to the variable gain amplifier.
For claim 2. The power amplification apparatus of claim 1 Rabjohn discloses wherein the open loop transient gain compensation circuit includes a transient compensation current generator configured to generate the transient compensation current ([0050], [0055], figure 3, circuits 15, 16, 24 and 22).
For claim 4. The power amplification apparatus of claim 2 Rabjohn discloses wherein the transient compensation current generator of the open loop transient gain compensation circuit is adapted to generate a transient compensation current with a predefined RC-time constant ([0038]).
For claim 5. The power amplification apparatus of claim 4 Rabjohn discloses wherein a current amplitude and an RC-time constant of the transient compensation current are programmable via an integrated controller of the power amplification apparatus ([0069], [0080]).
For claim 8. The power amplification apparatus of claim 1 Rabjohn discloses wherein the power amplifier stage and the open loop transient gain compensation circuit are implemented on a power amplifier die ([0050], [0057]).
For claim 9. The power amplification apparatus of claim 2 Rabjohn discloses wherein an attenuation of the attenuator is modified by an attenuation bias current boosted by the transient compensation current generated by said transient compensation current generator during a transmission burst of the power amplification apparatus ([0017], [0044], [0067]).
For claim 10. The power amplification apparatus of claim 9 Rabjohn discloses wherein the transmission burst includes a preamble for setting a level of modulation followed by a payload for data transmission ([0035], [0038]).
For claim 11. The power amplification apparatus of claim 9 Rabjohn discloses wherein the open loop transient gain compensation circuit is adapted to compensate the transient turn-on gain variation of the power amplifier stage with the transient compensation current within an initial first millisecond of the transmission burst ([0038]).
For claim 12. Rabjohn discloses (figure 7, [0093]) A wireless communication device comprising: an antenna configured to transmit an amplified radio frequency signal; and a power amplification apparatus configured to provide the amplified radio frequency signal to the antenna, the power amplification apparatus including a power amplifier stage ([0049], figure 3, power amplifier 14C) adapted to amplify a signal received from an attenuator or received from a variable gain amplifier of the power amplification apparatus with an amplifier gain ([0017], [0044], attenuator/VGA 14A), and an open loop transient gain compensation circuit (figure 3, circuits 15, 16, 24 and 22) configured to compensate a transient turn-on gain variation of the power amplifier stage ([0035], [0050]) with a transient compensation current (figure 3, [0050], [0055]) added to a bias current ([0053], figure 3, bias current from circuit 21) supplied to the attenuator or supplied to the variable gain amplifier.
For claim 13. The wireless communication device of claim 12 Rabjohn discloses wherein the open loop transient gain compensation circuit includes a transient compensation current generator configured to generate the transient compensation current ([0050], [0055], figure 3, circuits 15, 16, 24 and 22).
For claim 15. The wireless communication device of claim 13 Rabjohn discloses wherein the transient compensation current generator of the open loop transient gain compensation circuit is configured to generate a transient compensation current with a predefined RC-time constant ([0038]).
For claim 16. The wireless communication device of claim 15 Rabjohn discloses wherein a current amplitude and the predefined RC-time constant of the transient compensation current are programmable via an integrated controller of the power amplification apparatus ([0069], [0080]).
For claim 18. Rabjohn discloses A method of compensating a transient turn-on gain variation of a power amplifier stage ([0049], figure 3, power amplifier 14C) used for amplifying a signal received from an attenuator or from a variable gain amplifier ([0017], [0044], attenuator/VGA 14A), the method comprising: generating a transient compensation current (figure 3, [0050], [0055]) when turning-on the power amplifier stage ([0035], [0038], [0050]); and adding the generated transient compensation current to a bias current ([0053], figure 3, bias current from circuit 21) supplied to the attenuator to modify its attenuation or supplied to the variable gain amplifier to modify its gain.
For claim 19. The method according to claim 18 Rabjohn discloses wherein the transient turn-on gain variation of the power amplifier stage is compensated by the generated transient compensation current within an initial first millisecond of a transmission burst ([0038]).
For claim 20. The method according to claim 19 Rabjohn discloses wherein the transmission burst includes a preamble used for setting a level of modulation followed by a payload used for data transmission ([0035], [0038]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-7, 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the claims 3, 6-7, 14 and 17.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
February 25, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643