Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 3/1/2024 where claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claims 5-10 and 15 – 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 11, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guedalia (US 2014/0244834)
Regarding claim 1, Guedalia discloses an information processing method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first communication device, first information, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: information about a task execution mode of a terminal, state information for the task execution mode of the terminal, activation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal, or deactivation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal (Guedalia;
see e.g. [0040], [0086]
The supervisor device (first communication device) obtains state/task execution information about IoT devices, including whether they are on/off, idle/active, available/busy. This corresponds to the claimed first information” (task execution mode, state, activation/deactivation)); and
performing, by the first communication device, a first operation based on the first information, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following (Guedalia;
see e.g. [0040], [0045]6], [0086]
Guedalia teaches that the supervisor device (first communication device) obtains state information and performs operations based on that information):
sending second information(Guedalia;
see e.g. [0040], [0045][0046], [0086]
Sending information (state/task execution to the IoT server for further management); or
requesting for deregistration and/or re-initiating registration after deregistration (Guedalia;
see e.g. [0086]
Registering devices into the IoT network which under BRI encompasses deregistration and reinitiating registration as part of the same device management flow);
Thus Guedalia discloses that the first communication device performs an operation comprising either sending second information or requesting deregistration/re-registration
wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: information about the task execution mode of the terminal, state information for the task execution mode of the terminal, activation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal, or deactivation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal (Guedalia;
see e.g. [0040], [0085]
Guedalia teaches that the supervisor device (first communication device) collects and communicates state information of IoT devices. The disclosed states values – on/off, idel/active, available/busy – directly correspond to task execution mode and sate information of the device. Under BRI, activation/deactivation time information is encompassed by “on/off” state transitions and “available/busy” scheduling. Therefore, Guedalia discloses that the second information includes task execution node, state, activation, and deactivation information as claimed)
Regarding claim 3, Guedalia discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the state information for the task execution mode of the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
the task execution mode of the terminal is in an active state or is activated; or the task execution mode of the terminal is in an inactive state or is deactivated (Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0085])
Regarding claim 4, Guedalia discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the task execution mode of the terminal comprises one of the following: a task execution mode at a digital twin service granularity, applicable to all digital twin tasks; a task execution mode per digital twin task; a task execution mode per time interval; or a task execution mode per geographic interval (Guedalia, see e.g. [0071], [0086], [0040])
Regarding claim 11, Guedalia disclose an an information processing method, comprising:
obtaining, by a second communication device, second information, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
information about a task execution mode of a terminal, state information for the task execution mode of the terminal, activation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal, or deactivation time information for the task execution mode of the terminal (Guedalia;
see e.g. [0040], [0086]
Guedalia teaches that the supervisor device (communication device) obtains state information from IoT devices. The disclosed state values – on/off, idle/active, available/busy – correspond directly to “task execution mode” and “state information” Under BRI, “activation time” and deactivation time” are inherently covered by the transition events (on/off, active/idle)
Therefore Guedalia discloses that a communication device obtains second information comprising taks execution mode, state, activation time or deactivation time information as claimed); and
performing, by the second communication device, a second operation based on the second information, wherein the second operation comprises: determining and/or sending third information (Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]); wherein
the third information comprises at least one of the following:
information about the task execution mode of the terminal (Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]);
configuration information related to the task execution mode(Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]);
activation information for the configuration information related to the task execution mode(Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]);
state information for the configuration information related to the task execution mode, wherein the state information is used to indicate that the configuration information is in an active state or
an inactive state(Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]);
activation information for the task execution mode (Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]); or
state information for the task execution mode, wherein the state information is used to indicate that the task execution mode is in an active state or an inactive state(Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]).
Guedalia teaches that the supervisor device (communication device) performs operations based on obtained state/task execution information, The disclosed states – on/off, idle/active, available/busy 00 are precisely the “state information” that indicates whether a configuration is active or inactive. Managing attributes, activities, or states (see e.g. [0040]) inherently includes configuration information associated with device operation. Thus Guedalia discloses performing an operation based on second information, wherein the operation includes handling third information about task execution mode, configuration info, activation info, and state info indicating active/inactive status.
Regarding claim 13, Guedalia comprises
The method according to claim 11, wherein the state information for the task execution mode of the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
the task execution mode of the terminal is in an active state or is activated (Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]); or
the task execution mode of the terminal is in an inactive state or is deactivated(Guedalia; see e.g. [0040], [0086]).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1,
Regarding claim 20. Guedalia discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the information processing method according to claim | are implemented (Guedalia, see e.g.[0136] [0137})
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Guedalia in view of Mars (US 2022/0019212)
Regarding claim 2, Guedalia discloses the method according to claim 1, Guedalia does not expressly disclose wherein the task execution mode of the terminal comprises one of the following:
a task execution mode at a digital twin service granularity, applicable to all digital twin tasks; a task execution mode per digital twin task;
a task execution mode per time interval; or a task execution mode per geographic interval.
However in analogous art Mars discloses
a task execution mode at a digital twin service granularity, applicable to all digital twin tasks; a task execution mode per digital twin task(Mars; see e.g. Abstract “... digital twin service ...”);
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dat
e of the claimed invention to incorporate Mars’ digital win service. Tee motivation being the combined solution provides for migrating to digital twin services (a known technique) resulting in increased efficiencies of network operation.
Regarding claim12, Guedalia discloses he method according to claim 11, Guedalia does not expressly disclose wherein the information about the task execution mode of the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
full mode; wherein in the full mode, the terminal is used only for performing a digital twin service or the terminal is not used for a service other than the digital twin service;
or mixed mode; wherein in the mixed mode, the terminal is able to be used only for performing a digital twin service or a service other than the digital twin service.
However in analogous art Mars disclose:
full mode; wherein in the full mode, the terminal is used only for performing a digital twin service or the terminal is not used for a service other than the digital twin service (Mars, see Abstract “digital twin service ...”);
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mars’ digital win service. Tee motivation being the combined solution provides for migrating to digital twin services (a known technique) resulting in increased efficiencies of network operation.
Regarding claim 14, Guedalia in view of Mars discloses The method according to claim 12, wherein the configuration information related to the task execution mode comprises at least one of the following:
first configuration information related to the full mode (The combined solution per Guedalia ([0040], [0086] and Mars (see Abstract)); or
second configuration information related to the mixed mode.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mars’ digital win service. Tee motivation being the combined solution provides for migrating to digital twin services (a known technique) resulting in increased efficiencies of network operation.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449