DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 13-19, and 21-24 have been considered. The amendments to the claims, however, require a new grounds for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and further further in view of CN 113766811 to Liu.
As to claim 1, Endige discloses a watercraft (disclosure is to a monitor for boating and marine applications) comprising: a display (pg. 2, para 1); wherein the display is a touch screen (pg. 3, para 5); and wherein the display does not include a reflective coating (Endige uses an “Anti-reflective” layer, pg. 3, para 4); and wherein the display has a brightness of at least 500 nits (pg. 3, para 2). Endige fails to disclose wherein the display includes an electrical connection extending from a back of the display; and a liquid cooling system coupled to the display and configured to cool the display; wherein the liquid cooling system includes a block coupled to the back of the display, a channel formed in the block, a cover coupled to a surface of the block such that the cover encloses the channel in the block; and a liquid configured to flow through the channel; and wherein the block includes an aperture formed in the surface of the block; and wherein the electrical connection extends through the aperture; and wherein an inlet formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel and an outlet formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel.
Yang teaches a vehicle mounted display (2, see e.g. fig. 2) with a liquid cooling system (18-27) coupled to the display and configured to cool the display, a block (8) coupled to the back of the display (2), a cover (9) coupled to a surface of the block (see e.g. fig. 3, the cover 9 rests on the outer periphery of block 8), an inlet formed in the cover (18) and an outlet formed in the cover (19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the display of Endige with the cooling system of Yang in order to prolong the life of the display by preventing over heating from extended us as taught by Yang (“…long time use of the control screen will generate a large amount of heat in the interior, so as to cause damage” Background, para 2).
Endige in view of Yang fails to disclose wherein the display includes an electrical connection extending from a back of the display, a channel formed in the block, a cover coupled to the block such that the cover encloses the channel in the block; and a liquid configured to flow through the channel; wherein an inlet formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel and an outlet formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel, and wherein the block includes an aperture formed in the surface of the block; and wherein the electrical connection extends through the aperture.
Bauduin shows that a channel configuration of this sort is well known in the art for the cooling of electronic devices teaching a block (fig. 2, 104), a channel (115) formed in the block, a cover (106) coupled to the block such that the cover encloses the channel in the block; and a liquid (water, para [0004]) configured to flow through the channel; wherein an inlet (125) formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel and an outlet (127) formed in the cover is in fluid communication with the channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling block of Endige and Yang with the channel configuration as taught by Bauduin in order to increase the affected surface area of the heat transfer region between the cooling fluid and the heat producing component.
Endige in view of Yang and Bauduin fail to teach wherein the display includes an electrical connection extending from a back of the display and wherein the block includes an aperture formed in the surface of the block; and wherein the electrical connection extends through the aperture.
Liu teaches a liquid cooled display (300, e.g. fig. 1) that includes an electrical connection extending from a back of the display (see Liu FIG 1 below with annotations)
and wherein a block (3101) includes multiple apertures formed in the surface of the block, and wherein the electrical connections extend through the apertures (again see Liu FIG 1 below, the electrical connections, e.g. data connections, extending though block 3101 when connected with an ethernet cable, the coupling functioning as one single electrical connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the block of Endige in view Yang and Bauduin with electrical connections extending from the back of the display, as this configuration is common in the art among display devices, and serves as a means of providing power and signal to the display.
As to claim 3, modified Endige further teaches the watercraft of claim 1, wherein the display is a capacitive touch screen (Endige pg. 3, para 5).
As to claim 5, modified Endige further teaches the watercraft of claim 1, wherein the brightness is at least 1,000 nits (Endige pg. 3, para 2).
As to claim 6, modified Endige further teaches the watercraft of claim 5, wherein the brightness is at least 1500 nits (Endige pg. 3, para 2).
As to claim 9, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1. Endige and Yang in view of Bauduin further teach a channel in the cooling block. Endige fails to disclose wherein the channel forms a serpentine fluid flow path. Yang teaches a serpentine flow path (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the channel of modified Endige with a serpentine flow path as taught by Yang to cover a large surface area of the heat exchange region with contact with the coolant liquid.
As to claim 13, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1. Endige fails to teach wherein the liquid cooling system further includes a pump configured to circulate the liquid through the channel. Yang teaches a pump (22) configured to circulate liquid through a cooling system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify Endige with the pump of Yang in order to efficiently circulate liquid through the system.
As to claim 15, modified Endige further teach the watercraft of claim 8. Endige fails to disclose wherein the liquid cooling system is a closed-loop system. Yang teaches a liquid cooling system (see fig. 2/3 of Yang) that is a closed-loop system (i.e. one fluidly connected circuit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify Endige with a closed-loop system as taught by Yang in order to conserve the amount of cooling fluid used in the system.
As to claim 17, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1. Endige is silent as to wherein the liquid cooling system further includes a heat exchanger to expel heat generated by the display to an environment. Yang teaches a liquid cooling system (fig. 1) with a heat exchanger (23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify Endige in view of Yang with a heat exchanger in order to cool the liquid coolant of the cooling system.
As to claim 22, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1. Endige is silent as to wherein the cover is removably coupled to the block. Yang teaches a cover (9) that is removably coupled to block (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the display of Endige with the cooling system of Yang in order to prolong the life of the display by preventing over heating from extended us as taught by Yang (“…long time use of the control screen will generate a large amount of heat in the interior, so as to cause damage” Background, para 2).
As to claim 23, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1, wherein the surface of the block faces away from the back of the display (Yang fig. 3) such that the block is positioned between the display and the cover (Yang fig. 2); and wherein the channel is recessed into the surface of the block and opens toward the cover (demonstrated in Endige in view of Yang and Bauduin, see e.g. Bauduin fig. 2), and wherein the cover at least partially defines a fluid flow path through the channel (Bauduin fig. 2).
As to claim 24, modified Endige teaches watercraft of claim 23, wherein the aperture is formed in the surface of the block at a location spaced apart from the channel (one skilled in the art would know to make the combination of Yang, Bauduin, and Liu such that cable apertures would not impede fluid channels), and wherein a portion of the block separates the aperture from the channel.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further further in view of CN 1410954 to Zhang.
As to claim 7, modified Endige teaches the watercraft of claim 1. Endige is silent as to wherein the display includes a circuit board, a housing, and a glass panel. Zhang teaches a display (fig. 4) including a circuit board (2) and a glass panel (11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the display of Endige to include a glass panel and a circuit board as taught by Zhang in order to provide a means for operating and viewing the contents of the display as is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further further in view of US 2021/0268869 to Chen et al.
As to claim 14, modified Endige teach the watercraft of claim 13. Endige is silent as to wherein the liquid cooling system further includes a reservoir. Chen teaches (see e.g. fig. 1) a liquid cold display (1) with a liquid cooling system (10) which includes a reservoir (11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the Endige with the reservoir of Chen in order to allow more time for water in the coolant system to dissipate heat as there would be a larger volume of water, increasing the cycle time of the water in the system.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further further in view of US 2023/0089178 to US Pascualinotto Junior et al (hereafter Pasc).
As to claim 16, modified Endige teach the watercraft of claim 1. Endige is silent as to wherein the liquid includes ethylene glycol and deionized water. Pasc in a liquid cooling system teaches the use of ethylene glycol and deionized water (para [0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling system of modified Endige with ethylene glycol and deionized water as taught by Pasc, as these are well known liquids in the art as shown by Pasc which have a good thermal conductivity.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further further in view of US 2023/0089178 to US 2020/0255112 to Doremus et al.
As to claim 18, modified Endige teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Endige fails to disclose an electric drive and a battery electrically coupled to the electric drive; wherein the liquid cooling system is coupled to the electric drive and the battery and is configured to cool the electric drive and the battery. Doremus teaches (see Fig. 1) a watercraft (10) including an electric drive, the electric drive including electric motor (14) and power converter (70), and a battery (24) electrically coupled to the electric drive; wherein a liquid cooling system (see Doremus Fig. 4), (beginning e.g. with coolant in the chine cooler (50a), flowing then through coolant passage (66) via pump (76) to power converter (70), power module (68), onboard charging module (72), and finally motor (14); similarly coolant from chine cooler (50b) flows through coolant passage (66) via pump (76) to cool battery (24)) is coupled to the electric drive (power converter (70) and motor (14)) and the battery (24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify Endige with the cooling and propulsion system of Doremus to provide an efficient and fuel effective means of cooling electrical components.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further in view of US 2023/0089178 to US 2003/0109184 to Kanno.
As to claim 19, modified Endige teach all of the claim limitations of claim 1. Modified Endige fail to disclose a dash, and a steering wheel extending from the dash, wherein the display is positioned on the dash. Kanno teaches (see Fig. 1) a watercraft (10) including a dash (the part of the watercraft which seats components (42), (13), (41), and (20)) a steering wheel (30) extending from the dash, and a display (41) positioned on the dash. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify Endige with the dash configuration of Kanno in order to allow the drive of the watercraft convenient access to instruments including the monitor (41).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDIGE BOATING. “Sunlight readable monitors for boating and marine applications.” 10 December to Endige Boating (hereinafter, “Endige”) in view of CN 115604986 to Yang et al. and further in view of US 2024/0074107 to Bauduin et al. and CN 113766811 to Liu further in view of US 2023/0089178 to CN 209149015 to Yu.
As to claim 21, modified Endige teach the watercraft of claim 1. Endige is silent as to a temperature sensor positioned between the block and the display. Yu teaches a temperature sensor (18, fig. 1) positioned between a block (4) and a display (1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the display of modified Endige with the temperature sensor of Yu in order to monitor the real time status of the display as taught by Yu ( Description, para 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2007/0063338 to Chang disclosing a channel cooling structure.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841