DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 03/01/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 12-13 recite the abbreviation “SCF”. The meaning of “SCF”
is unclear. The “SCF” should be replaced with “Sensing Control Function (SCF)”.
ii. Claim 17 recites the limitation "the URSP" in line 8. There is insufficient
antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the abbreviation “URSP”. The meaning of “URSP” is unclear.
The first occurrence of “URSP” in line 8 should be replaced with “User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YING et al. (US 2024/0205639 A1).
As to claim 1, YING discloses the invention as claimed, including a method for processing a sensing service (Abstract, “provides a UE sensing method and a communication apparatus. An SF network element, an NEF network element, an AMF network element, an SMF network element, a RAN network element, or the like may perform sensing detection on UE for a sensing requester or the UE, and provide a corresponding sensing service for the sensing requester or the UE”), comprising:
receiving, by a sensing control function (SCF) (Figs. 3-4a, Sensing network element (SF network element), NEF), a sensing service request message (¶0230-¶0231) sent by a first device (Fig. 4a, AF/AS, UE) (Fig. 4a, 22; ¶0229, “22. The AF/AS sends a first sensing service request message to an NEF, where the first sensing service request message is used to request a first sensing service”; ¶0231, “the first sensing service request message further includes information such as a service type, a service requirement, a QoS requirement, and location information of the UE”; ¶0273; ¶0307; ¶0344; ¶0385; ¶0447, “the UE may directly request the first sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element…the UE requests the first sensing service from the SF network element by using the control plane”; ¶0487, “302. The AF or the AS sends a sensing service request message 1 to an NEF based on the sensing requirement from the UE or a sensing requirement of the AF or the AS”; ¶0619);
sending, by the SCF (Figs. 3-4a, Sensing network element (SF network element), NEF), sensing service control information to a sensing device (Fig. 3, “AMF, RAN, UDM/UDR, GMLC network elements; Fig. 4a, first network element (AMF network element or RAN network element)), wherein the sensing service control information is generated by the SCF according to the sensing service request message (¶0230-¶0231) (Fig. 4a, 25-26; Fig. 4b, 76-77; ¶0030, “The SF network element sends a sensing control request message to the first network element”; ¶0262, “if the SF network element determines the first RAN network element in step 25, the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the first RAN in step 26”; ¶0291, “77. The SF network element sends a sensing control request message to the first network element”; ¶0328; ¶0333; ¶0552, “1011. The sensing network element sends a sensing control request message to a first network element (for example, a RAN network element or the AMF network element)”; ¶0610, “The sensing control request message 1 includes the location information of the UE. Optionally, information such as the UE ID, the service type, the service requirement, and the QoS requirement may be further included”), and the sensing service control information is used to indicate the sensing device to obtain sensing measurement data (¶0030, “The SF network element sends a sensing control request message to the first network element, where the sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element to perform a sensing operation of the first sensing service”; ¶0291, “The sensing control request message is used to control the RAN network element to perform a sensing operation of the first sensing service”; ¶0611, “the RAN senses, based on the sensing control request message 1, a location indicated by the location information of the UE, to obtain first sensing data”); and
receiving, by the SCF (Figs. 3-4a, Sensing network element (SF network element), NEF), the sensing measurement data (i.e. location information of the UE, sensing data), sent by the sensing device (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0044, “The SF network element receives first sensing data and the sensing correlation identifier from the first network element”; ¶0241, “the NEF sends the location information of the UE to the SF network element by using the second sensing service request message”; ¶0252, “the SF network element may obtain the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF network element, or the LMF…the SF network element sends a location request message to the GMLC, the AMF, or the LMF, where the UE location request message includes a UE ID. The GMLC, AMF, or LMF initiates positioning of the UE based on the location request message, to obtain a location of the UE, and provides the location for the SF network element”; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0352; ¶0588, “411. The sensing network element obtains the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF, or an LMF”; ¶0589).
As to claim 2, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing service control information is further used to indicate at least one of the following: the sensing device configures a sensing measurement resource; or the sensing device performs sensing measurement (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0044, “The SF network element receives first sensing data and the sensing correlation identifier from the first network element”; ¶0252, “the SF network element may obtain the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF network element, or the LMF…the SF network element sends a location request message to the GMLC, the AMF, or the LMF, where the UE location request message includes a UE ID. The GMLC, AMF, or LMF initiates positioning of the UE based on the location request message, to obtain a location of the UE, and provides the location for the SF network element”; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0352).
As to claim 3, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by an SCF, a sensing service request message sent by a first device comprises: directly receiving, by the SCF, the sensing service request message sent by the first device; receiving, by the SCF through a network exposure function, the sensing service request message sent by the first device; or receiving, by the SCF through an access and mobility management function, the sensing service request message sent by the first device (¶0447, “the UE may directly request the first sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element…the UE requests the first sensing service from the SF network element by using the control plane”), wherein the first device comprises an application function (AF) or a consumer terminal device (Fig. 4a, AF/AS, UE; ¶0229, “22. The AF/AS sends a first sensing service request message to an NEF, where the first sensing service request message is used to request a first sensing service”; ¶0273; ¶0307; ¶0344; ¶0385; ¶0447, “the UE may directly request the first sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element…the UE requests the first sensing service from the SF network element by using the control plane”; ¶0487, “302. The AF or the AS sends a sensing service request message 1 to an NEF based on the sensing requirement from the UE or a sensing requirement of the AF or the AS”; ¶0619).
As to claim 4, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing service request message comprises at least one of the following: description information of the sensing service, an identifier of the consumer terminal device, or target range information of the sensing service; wherein the target range information of the sensing service comprises range information corresponding to position information of the consumer terminal device; or, wherein the description information of the sensing service comprises at least one of the following: type information of the sensing service; information about a sensing object; sensing quantity information of the sensing object; purpose or usage information of the sensing service; granularity information of the sensing service; execution time information of the sensing service; related reporting information of the sensing measurement data; or quality of service (QoS) information of the sensing service (¶0018-¶0019, “request message includes one or more of the following: a first identifier of the UE, a sensing service type, a sensing distance, a sensing area, a sensing speed range, sensing distance resolution, angle measurement accuracy of sensing, sensing speed resolution, a QoS requirement, sensing object identification accuracy, a sensing object identification false alarm rate, sensing data accuracy, a sensing data update frequency, a sensing dimension, a sensing feedback manner, a sensing requester type, a sensing requester identifier, a sensing application type, and a sensing application identifier”; ¶0020; ¶0231, “the first sensing service request message further includes information such as a service type, a service requirement, a QoS requirement, and location information of the UE”).
As to claim 5, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the SCF, sensing service control information to a sensing device comprises: sending, by the SCF through an access and mobility management function (i.e., AMF), the sensing service control information to the sensing device (i.e., RAN network element), wherein the sensing device comprises at least one of the following: a sensing terminal device or a sensing access network device; wherein before the sending, by the SCF, sensing service control information to a sensing device, the method further comprises at least one of the following: selecting, by the SCF, the sensing device according to the sensing service request message sent by the first device; or selecting, by the SCF, the sensing device according to an identifier or address information that is of the sensing device and that is obtained at the access and mobility management function (Fig. 4b, 76-77; ¶0293, “if the first network element in step 76 is the AMF network element (for example, the first AMF), in step 77, the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the first AMF network element, and the first AMF network element further sends a second sensing control request message to the first RAN network element”; ¶0377, “the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the AMF if the first network element is the AMF network element, and the AMF network element further sends a second sensing control request message to the RAN network element”).
As to claim 6, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by the SCF, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the SCF through a control plane tunnel, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device; or receiving, by the SCF through a user plane tunnel, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device (¶0182, “The 5G-RAN is connected to a UPF through a user plane interface N3, and is configured to transmit data of the terminal device. The 5G-RAN establishes a control plane signaling connection to an AMF through a control plane interface N2 to implement functions such as radio access bearer control”; ¶0184; ¶0198; ¶0447, “sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element, and receive the second sensing data of the first sensing service from the sensing network element”; ¶0751).
As to claim 7, YING discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein when the sensing device is a sensing terminal device (¶0002, “communication sensing, and more specifically, to a terminal device sensing method and a communication apparatus”; ¶0005, “provides a terminal device sensing method and a communication apparatus, to support sensing for UE in an end-to-end manner”), the control plane tunnel comprises a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling tunnel of the sensing terminal device (It is noted that the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a control plane network element, is the primary entity that includes and terminates the Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signalling tunnel from the UE for registration, connection, and mobility management that is well known in the art; ¶0182, “The 5G-RAN establishes a control plane signaling connection to an AMF through a control plane interface N2 to implement functions such as radio access bearer control”; ¶0191, “control plane network element (such as an AMF or an SMF) of a network to manage and control the UE”; ¶0198).
As to claim 8, YING discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein when the sensing device is a sensing terminal device, the user plane tunnel comprises a packet data PDU session tunnel of the sensing terminal device (¶0205, “This is an interface between the SMF and the AMF, and may be used to transfer PDU session tunnel information between the RAN and the UPF, transfer a control message sent to the terminal, transfer radio resource control information sent to the RAN, and the like”).
As to claim 9, YING discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the receiving, by the SCF through a control plane tunnel, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device comprises: receiving, by the SCF through an access and mobility management function (i.e., AMF), the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device (i.e., RAN network element), wherein the control plane tunnel comprises a control plane tunnel between the SCF and the access and mobility management function; or, wherein the receiving, by the SCF through a user plane tunnel, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device comprises: receiving, by the SCF through a user plane function, the sensing measurement data sent by the sensing device, wherein the user plane tunnel comprises a user plane tunnel between the SCF and the user plane function (Fig. 4b, 76-77; ¶0182, “The 5G-RAN is connected to a UPF through a user plane interface N3, and is configured to transmit data of the terminal device. The 5G-RAN establishes a control plane signaling connection to an AMF through a control plane interface N2 to implement functions such as radio access bearer control”; ¶0184; ¶0198; ¶0293, “if the first network element in step 76 is the AMF network element (for example, the first AMF), in step 77, the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the first AMF network element, and the first AMF network element further sends a second sensing control request message to the first RAN network element”; ¶0377, “the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the AMF if the first network element is the AMF network element, and the AMF network element further sends a second sensing control request message to the RAN network element”; ¶0447, “sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element, and receive the second sensing data of the first sensing service from the sensing network element”; ¶0751).
As to claim 10, YING discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the sensing measurement data is sent by the sensing terminal device according to a UE route selection policy (URSP), and the method further comprises: requesting, by the SCF from a policy control function, the URSP corresponding to the sensing terminal device, wherein the URSP comprises a corresponding data path selection policy according to which the sensing device sends the sensing measurement data to the SCF; receiving, by the SCF, the URSP sent by the policy control function; and sending, by the SCF, the received URSP to the sensing terminal device (¶0184; ¶0188, “An application function (application function, AF) interacts with a core network element to provide some services, for example, interacts with a policy and control function (policy and control function, PCF) to perform service policy control, interacts with an NEF to obtain some network capability information, or provide some application information for a network, and provides some data network access point information for a PCF to generate routing information of a corresponding data service”; ¶0191; ¶0193; 0199; ¶0201; ¶0208, “N15: This is an interface between the PCF and the AMF, and may be used to deliver a terminal policy and an access control-related policy”).
As to claim 11, YING discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the SCF to the first device, at least one of the following: the sensing measurement data; or a sensing service analysis result obtained by the SCF according to the sensing measurement data (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0044, “The SF network element receives first sensing data and the sensing correlation identifier from the first network element”; ¶0252, “the SF network element may obtain the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF network element, or the LMF…the SF network element sends a location request message to the GMLC, the AMF, or the LMF, where the UE location request message includes a UE ID. The GMLC, AMF, or LMF initiates positioning of the UE based on the location request message, to obtain a location of the UE, and provides the location for the SF network element”; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0352).
As to claim 12, YING discloses a method for processing a sensing service, comprising:
receiving, by an access and mobility management function (i.e., AMF; Fig. 11b, AMF), sensing service control information from an SCF (Fig. 11b, Sensing network element) (Fig. 11b, 1011; ¶0263, “the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the first AMF”; ¶0293; ¶0552, “1011. The sensing network element sends a sensing control request message to a first network element (for example, a RAN network element or the AMF network element)”); and
sending, by the access and mobility management function (i.e., AMF), the sensing service control information to a sensing device (i.e., RAN network), wherein the sensing service control information is used to indicate the sensing device to obtain sensing measurement data (Fig. 12a, 417; ¶0030, “where the sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element to perform a sensing operation of the first sensing service”; ¶0263, “the AMF network element further sends a second sensing control request message to the first RAN network element”; ¶0291, “The sensing control request message is used to control the RAN network element to perform a sensing operation of the first sensing service”; ¶0293; ¶0377; ¶0515, “then the AMF sends the sensing control request message 1 to the RAN by using signaling on the N2 interface”; ¶0609, “417. The AMF sends the sensing control request message 1 to the RAN”).
As to claim 13, YING discloses a method for processing a sensing service, comprising:
receiving, by a sensing device (i.e., AMF, RAN network), sensing service control information from an SCF (Fig. 11b, Sensing network element), wherein the sensing service control information is used to indicate the sensing device to obtain sensing measurement data (Fig. 4a, 25-26; Fig. 4b, 76-77; ¶0030, “where the sensing control request message is used to control a RAN network element to perform a sensing operation of the first sensing service”; ¶0262, “if the SF network element determines the first RAN network element in step 25, the SF network element sends a first sensing control request message to the first RAN in step 26”; ¶0291, “77. The SF network element sends a sensing control request message to the first network element”; ¶0328; ¶0333; ¶0552, “1011. The sensing network element sends a sensing control request message to a first network element (for example, a RAN network element or the AMF network element)”);
obtaining, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data according to the sensing service control information (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0044, “The SF network element receives first sensing data and the sensing correlation identifier from the first network element”; ¶0252, “the SF network element may obtain the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF network element, or the LMF…the SF network element sends a location request message to the GMLC, the AMF, or the LMF, where the UE location request message includes a UE ID. The GMLC, AMF, or LMF initiates positioning of the UE based on the location request message, to obtain a location of the UE, and provides the location for the SF network element”; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0352); and
sending, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0352).
As to claim 14, YING discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the obtaining, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data according to the sensing service control information comprises: performing, by the sensing device, sensing measurement according to the sensing service control information, to obtain the sensing measurement data; or, indicating, by the sensing device according to the sensing service control information, a second device to perform sensing measurement, to obtain the sensing measurement data sent by the second device; wherein the indicating, by the sensing device according to the sensing service control information, a second device to perform sensing measurement comprises: configuring, by the sensing device, a sensing measurement resource according to the sensing service control information; and sending, by the sensing device, information about the sensing measurement resource to the second device, wherein the information about the sensing measurement resource is used to indicate the second device to perform sensing measurement (Fig. 4a, 27; Fig. 4b, 78; ¶0044, “The SF network element receives first sensing data and the sensing correlation identifier from the first network element”; ¶0081, “The UE receives sensing resource indication information from the RAN network element, where the sensing resource indication information indicates the sensing resource”; ¶0085; ¶0116, “A RAN network element receives a sensing request message from user equipment UE, where the sensing request message is used to request a sensing resource”; ¶0117, “The RAN network element sends sensing resource indication information to the UE, where the sensing resource indication information indicates the sensing resource”; ¶0162; ¶0252, “the SF network element may obtain the location information of the UE from the GMLC, the AMF network element, or the LMF…the SF network element sends a location request message to the GMLC, the AMF, or the LMF, where the UE location request message includes a UE ID. The GMLC, AMF, or LMF initiates positioning of the UE based on the location request message, to obtain a location of the UE, and provides the location for the SF network element”; ¶0281, “the AMF sends the location information of the UE to an SF network element by using a third sensing service request message in the following step”; ¶0327; ¶0329, “the sensing correlation identifier is used to identify sensing data of the UE. That is, the sensing association identifier is an identifier of a UE granularity and is used to distinguish between sensing data of different UEs”; ¶0352; ¶0564, “FIG. 12(a) is a schematic flowchart of another UE sensing method according to this application”; ¶0669).
As to claim 15, YING discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the sending, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF comprises at least one of the following: sending, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF through a control plane tunnel; or sending, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF through a user plane tunnel (¶0182, “The 5G-RAN is connected to a UPF through a user plane interface N3, and is configured to transmit data of the terminal device. The 5G-RAN establishes a control plane signaling connection to an AMF through a control plane interface N2 to implement functions such as radio access bearer control”; ¶0184; ¶0198; ¶0447, “sensing service from the sensing network element by using the user plane connection based on the address information of the sensing network element, and receive the second sensing data of the first sensing service from the sensing network element”; ¶0751).
As to claim 16, YING discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the sensing service control information comprises at least one of the following: description information of the sensing service, an identifier of the consumer terminal device, or target range information of the sensing service; wherein the description information of the sensing service comprises at least one of the following: type information of the sensing service; information about a sensing object; sensing quantity information of the sensing object; purpose or usage information of the sensing service; granularity information of the sensing service; execution time information of the sensing service; related reporting information of the sensing measurement data; or QoS information of the sensing service; wherein the sensing device comprises at least one of the following: a sensing terminal device or a sensing access network device (¶0518-¶0519, “the sensing control parameter may include one or more of the following: a sensing distance, a sensing angle, a sensing range, a sensing speed range, sensing distance resolution, sensing speed resolution, angle measurement accuracy of sensing (or sensing angle resolution), sensing duration, and the like”; ¶0520, “the sensing control parameter is determined by the sensing network element based on a service type, a sensing requirement, a QoS requirement, and the like that are of the sensing service. Alternatively, the sensing control parameter is obtained by the sensing network element from the sensing service request message 1”; ¶0554; ¶0556).
As to claim 17, YING discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the sensing device comprises a sensing terminal device, and the sending, by the sensing device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF comprises: sending, by the sensing terminal device, the sensing measurement data to the SCF through a NAS signaling tunnel or a packet data PDU session tunnel; wherein the sensing terminal device sends the sensing measurement data to the SCF through the packet data PDU session tunnel, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the sensing terminal device, the URSP corresponding to the sensing terminal device sent by a policy control function, wherein the URSP comprises a corresponding data path selection policy according to which the sensing terminal device sends the sensing measurement data to the SCF; and establishing or modifying, by the sensing terminal device, the PDU session tunnel according to the URSP (¶0184; ¶0188, “An application function (application function, AF) interacts with a core network element to provide some services, for example, interacts with a policy and control function (policy and control function, PCF) to perform service policy control, interacts with an NEF to obtain some network capability information, or provide some application information for a network, and provides some data network access point information for a PCF to generate routing information of a corresponding data service”; ¶0191; ¶0193; 0199; ¶0201; ¶0205, “This is an interface between the SMF and the AMF, and may be used to transfer PDU session tunnel information between the RAN and the UPF, transfer a control message sent to the terminal, transfer radio resource control information sent to the RAN, and the like”; ¶0208, “N15: This is an interface between the PCF and the AMF, and may be used to deliver a terminal policy and an access control-related policy”; ¶0210, “This is an interface between the PCF and the UDR, and may be used by the PCF to obtain policy-related subscription data and application data-related information from the UDR”; ¶0750, “707. If the N11 message in step 704 is specifically a PDU session establishment request message, the SMF selects an appropriate user plane function UPF for the UE, and the SMF establishes an N4 connection between the SMF and the UPF”).
As to claim 18, YING discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the method for processing a sensing service according to claim 13 is implemented (Figs. 18-19; ¶0145-¶0146; ¶0966-¶0971).
As to claim 19, YING discloses a network side device, comprising processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the method for processing a sensing service according to claim 1 is implemented (Figs. 18-19; ¶0145-¶0146; ¶0966-¶0971).
As to claim 20, YING discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and when the program or the instruction is executed by a processor, the method for processing a sensing service according to claim 1 is implemented (Figs. 18-19; ¶0145-¶0146; ¶0966-¶0971).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YAO et al. (US 2024/0236924), An et al. (US 2014/0036728), ZHANG et al. (US 2024/0214976), WU et al. (US 2022/0304081), LIU et al. (US 2024/0430649), YING et al. (US 2024/0205652), Ying et al. (US 2024/0214785), YING et al. (US 2024/0205817) disclose sending-based positioning method and apparatus and communication device.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 April 1, 2026