DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hou et al. (US PG Pub. 20200341358).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Hou discloses a cooling device for an optical engine (illustrated in fig. 1) having at least one heat source (light valve 110 of figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a cooler module (cooling element 140, heat dissipation module 113 and heat conducting block 112 of fig. 1) comprising a cooler (140), the cooler having a heat-absorbing surface and a heat-dissipating surface (para. 0024; cooling element 140 has a cold end surface and a hot end surface), and the heat-absorbing surface (para. 0025; the light valve module 110 via a perforation of the carrier substrate 111, and the other end of the metal heat conducting block 112 contacts the cold end surface S1 of the cooling element 140) being thermally coupled to the at least one heat source (illustrated in fig. 2);
a first temperature/humidity sensor (first temperature sensor 150 of fig. 1) disposed in a position not in contact with the cooler module (illustrated in fig. 1);
a second temperature/humidity sensor (second temperature sensor 160 senses the cold end temperature of the cold end surface S1 at position P3 of fig. 2) disposed on the heat-absorbing surface; and
a temperature control system (controller 170 of fig. 1) capable of receiving a signal from the first temperature/humidity sensor, receiving a signal from the second temperature/humidity sensor, and transmitting a signal to the cooler module (para. 0027; The controller 170 is coupled (electrically connected) to the brightness sensor 130, the first temperature sensor 150, the second temperature sensor 160, the cooling element 140 and further, the controller 170 calculates a dew point temperature based on the ambient temperature sensed by the first temperature sensor 150. Next, the controller 170 adjusts the operating power of the cooling element 140 according to the dew point temperature, the specified temperature and the cold end temperature. Furthermore, the controller 170 compares the cold end temperature of the cold end surface S1 with the dew point temperature and the specified temperature to adjust the operating power of the cooling element 140 according to the temperature comparison result).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hou discloses wherein the first temperature/humidity sensor (151) is capable of detecting an ambient temperature (para. 0029; controller 170 calculates a dewpoint temperature according to the ambient temperature sensed by the first temperature sensor 151) and a relative humidity of environment and transmitting the detected ambient temperature (para. 0029; controller 170 calculates a dewpoint temperature according to the ambient temperature sensed by the first temperature sensor 151 and the ambient humidity sensed by the humidity sensor 152) and the relative humidity to the temperature control system, the temperature control system is capable of calculating a dew point of the environment based on the ambient temperature and the relative humidity (para. 0029), the second temperature/humidity sensor (160) is capable of detecting a temperature of the heat-absorbing surface and transmitting the detected temperature to the temperature control system (para. 0027; second temperature sensor 160 is configured to sense a cold end temperature of the cold end surface S1 of the cooling element 140. The second temperature sensor 160 can be disposed at any position capable of sensing the cold end temperature of the cold end surface S1. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 2, the second temperature sensor 160 may be disposed at a position (e.g., position P1) on the carrier 111 and adjacent to the heat conductive block 112. Alternatively, the second temperature sensor 160 may be disposed on the heat conductive block 112 (e.g., position P2). Otherwise, the second temperature sensor 160 may be disposed on the cold end surface S1 (e.g., position 3) or at a position adjacent to the cold end surface S1), and the temperature control system (170) is capable of regulating the temperature of the heat-absorbing surface to ensure the temperature of the heat-absorbing surface is higher than the dew point (para. 0027; The controller 170 is coupled (electrically connected) to the brightness sensor 130, the first temperature sensor 150, the second temperature sensor 160, the cooling element 140 and further, the controller 170 calculates a dew point temperature based on the ambient temperature sensed by the first temperature sensor 150. Next, the controller 170 adjusts the operating power of the cooling element 140 according to the dew point temperature, the specified temperature and the cold end temperature. Furthermore, the controller 170 compares the cold end temperature of the cold end surface S1 with the dew point temperature and the specified temperature to adjust the operating power of the cooling element 140 according to the temperature comparison result).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Hou discloses wherein the heat source comprises at least one of a light-emitting diode, a laser diode and a digital micro-mirror chip (para. 0023; light valve module 110 is, for example, a digital micromirror device (DMD)).
Regarding claim 11, Hou discloses wherein the cooler module (illustrated in fig. 2) comprises a cooler (140) having a heat-absorbing surface and a heat-dissipating surface (para. 0023; cooling element 140 has a cold end surface S1 and a hot end surface S2 (as shown in FIG. 2). When the cooling element 140 is electrically conducted, a temperature of the cold end surface S1 is lower than a temperature of the hot end surface S2).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US PG Pub. 20200341358) as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Matsui et al. (US PG Pub. 20160349493).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Hou discloses a thermal block in contact with the light valve 110 of fig. 2 and a cooling element 140 in thermal contact with the thermal block.
Hou fails to teach a base and a thermal block, and the cooler is disposed between the base and the thermal block.
Matsui discloses a base (heat base 160 of fig. 1C) and a thermal block (base plate 150 of fig. 1C), and the cooler (para. 0075; temperature adjustment mechanisms 170… temperature adjustment units include Peltier elements) is disposed between the base and the thermal block (illustrated in fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the cooling device of Hou with the base and thermal block of Matsui in order to efficiently cool the light valve.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Hou discloses a thermal block in contact with the light valve 110 of fig. 2 and a cooling element 140 in thermal contact with the thermal block.
Hou fails to teach wherein the cooler module further comprises a heat sink, and the heat sink is thermally coupled to the base.
Matsui discloses wherein the cooler module further comprises a heat sink (heat sinks 183 of fig. 1C), and the heat sink (183) is thermally coupled to the base (160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the cooling module of Hou with the heat sink of Matsui in order to efficiently dissipate the heat to the surrounding environment.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US PG Pub. 20200341358) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (KR 20180133008 A).
Regarding claim 4, Hou discloses a control system (controller 170 of fig. 1) comprising first and second temperature sensors (first temperature sensor 151, a second temperature sensor 160 of fig. 1).
Hou fails to teach wherein the second temperature/humidity sensor is configured to detect a relative humidity around the heat-absorption surface if the first temperature/humidity sensor fails, and the temperature control system is capable of adjusting a power of the cooler according to the relative humidity detected by the second temperature/humidity sensor.
Jeon discloses wherein the second temperature/humidity sensor (temperature sensor 310 of fig. 3) is configured to detect a relative humidity around the heat-absorption surface if the first temperature/humidity sensor fails (temperature sensor 308 of fig. 3), and the temperature control system (control unit 210; pg. 4 3rd para.) is capable of adjusting a power of the cooler according to the relative humidity detected by the second temperature/humidity sensor (pg. 4 3rd para.; temperature sensor 310 is provided to measure the temperature of the cooling water flowing through the cooling water flow path 306. The coolant temperature sensor 310 is intended to replace the role of the LDC temperature sensor 308 when the LDC temperature sensor 308 is not operating normally. The control unit 210 determines that the cooling water temperature sensor 310 does not function as the LDC temperature sensor 308 even though the LDC temperature sensor 308 does not operate normally and thus the temperature detection of the LDC 204 becomes impossible, It is possible to normally perform the cooling control.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify temperature control system of Hou with the control method of Jeon in order to perform adequate cooling for the projection system (Jeon; pg. 4 3rd para.).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US PG Pub. 20200341358) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Yao et al. (CN 112874318 A).
Regarding claim 5, Hou discloses a control system (controller 170 of fig. 1) comprising first and second temperature sensors (first temperature sensor 151, a second temperature sensor 160 of fig. 1).
Hou fails to teach wherein the temperature control system is configured to reduce a cooling efficiency of the cooler if the second temperature/humidity sensor fails.
Yao discloses wherein the temperature control system is configured to reduce a cooling efficiency of the cooler if the second temperature/humidity sensor fails (pg. 3 1st para.; detecting whether the temperature sensor and the cooling system is fault, when the temperature sensor fault or the cooling system fault, controlling the electric automobile to enter into the power limit mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify control system of Hou with the control system of Yao reducing the power output while still allowing the system to cool down.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US PG Pub. 20200341358) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Cai et al. (CN 209858091 U).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Hou discloses a projection device comprising a cooling apparatus (illustrated in figs. 1 and 2) further comprising a thermoelectric cooler (140).
Hou fails to teach wherein each of the first temperature/humidity sensor and the second temperature/humidity sensor comprises a thin film and a component layer having a recess, and the thin film overlays the recess of the component layer.
Cai discloses wherein each of the first temperature/humidity sensor and the second temperature/humidity sensor (pg. 12 7th para.; the sensor of the embodiment comprises a hollow frame body 61) comprises a thin film (waterproof breathable film 64 of fig. 12) and a component layer (sensor PCB 62 and integrated circuit 63 of fig. 12) having a recess (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12), and the thin film (64) overlays the recess of the component layer (illustrated in fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the temperature sensors of Hou with the film of Cai in order to protect the sensor from moisture (Cai; pg. 12 2nd para.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Hou discloses a projection device comprising a cooling apparatus (illustrated in figs. 1 and 2) further comprising a thermoelectric cooler (140).
Hou fails to teach wherein the thin film is composed of either one or any combination of polyurethane methacrylate, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinyl chloride, and Teflon.
Cai discloses wherein the thin film is composed of either one or any combination of polyurethane methacrylate, polytetrafluoroethylene (pgs. 14-15, claim 6; the waterproof ventilate film is made of polytetrafluoroethylene), polyvinyl chloride, and Teflon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the sensor of Hou with the film of Cai with polytetrafluoroethylene because PTFE is a waterproof material well known for its exceptional hydrophobic properties.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 12 February 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882