DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s submission of an Information Disclosure Statement on 9/11/2024 has been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0285404 to Lin (Fig. 2 is shown below to the left for convenience) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0076661 to Mitchell (Fig. 1 is shown below to the right for convenience).
With regard to claim 1, Lin discloses an orthopedic training device comprising: at least two members (e.g., see at least Fig. 3, proximate phalange segment 321 and intermediate phalange segment 322; see also paragraph 18 that discusses phalange portions of each digit 3) each member sized and shaped to simulate a human bone structure (e.g., see at least paragraph 6 that discusses phalange and metacarpal parts that represent parts of a human hand), the at least two member defining a joint therebetween (e.g., see Figs. 3 and 4, that show joints 37, 38, and 39; see also paragraph 20 that discusses first, second, and third joints, 37, 38, and 39); a base (e.g., see at least Fig. 2, base seat 21; see also paragraph 16 for discussion of base seat 21) operably coupled to a first end of a first member (e.g., base seat 21 is coupled to the first end of first member 321 by various intermediary elements, including 22 and 31) of the at least two members (i.e., members 321 and 322); an elastic element (e.g., see at least Fig. 3, actuating cord 51; see also paragraph 22 that discusses actuating units 5 and actuating cord 51; it is unclear if actuating cord is an “elastic” element because the disclosure is silent on this issue) operably coupled to the base on a second end (e.g., see Fig. 2 for connection of actuating cord 51 to the base seat 21) and to a second member (e.g., see Fig. 3 for connection of actuating cord 51 to the second member 322; see also paragraph 22 for discussion of actuating cord 51 connections) of the at least two members on a third end (e.g., see Fig. 3 for connection of actuating cord 51 to the second member 322; see also paragraph 22 for discussion of actuating cord 51 connections); and a tensioner (e.g., see at least at least Fig. 2, that shows solenoid actuator unit 4; see also paragraphs 23 and 24 that discuss operation of actuator unit 4) operably coupled to the base and configured to selectively change a tension on the elastic element (e.g., see at least Fig. 3 and 5 that show a less tension position in Fig. 3 and a larger tension position in Fig. 5);
[claim 2] the first member includes a first thruway with a first opening at the first end and at least one second opening adjacent an opposing fourth end of the first member; and the elastic element is at least partially disposed within the first thruway (e.g., see at least Fig. 3 that shows actuating cord 51 passing through members 321 and 322; see also paragraph 22 that discusses “actuating cord 51 passes through the intermediate and proximate phalange segments 322, 321”);
[claim 3] wherein the tensioner includes a frustoconical shaped peg that is rotatably coupled to the base (e.g., see Figs, 2, 3, and 5 that show frustoconical shaped pegs 42 and 43);
[claim 4] wherein the peg is configured to adjust the tension in the elastic element in response to rotating the peg (e.g., see Figs 3 and 5 for adjusting tension; see also paragraph 24 for discussion of “tensely fastened to the second plunger”);
[claim 7] wherein the first member is sized and shaped to simulate a human proximal phalanx bone (e.g., see Fig. 3, proximate phalange segment 321, see also paragraph 18 that discusses phalange portions of each digit 3) and the second member is sized and shaped to simulate a human middle phalanx (e.g., see Fig. 3, intermediate phalange segment 322, see also paragraph 18 that discusses phalange portions of each digit 3);
With regard to claims 1 and 5, Lin fails to expressly disclose the use of an elastic member operates an anatomical model under tension.
From the same field of endeavor, Mitchell teaches the use of an elastic member that operates an anatomical model under tension (e.g., see at least paragraph 20 that discusses that “segments 12 are held together by at least one elastic cord 62”). It is also noted that Mitchell’s device is an orthopedic training device with members sized and shaped to simulate a human bone (e.g., see paragraph 2 for discussion of a medical model and paragraph 7 for discussion of simulating bones of a human).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Lin with elastic cord as taught by Mitchell in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, using an elastic cord provides for greater realism in simulating the motion of a human hand/foot with ligaments/tendons that are elastic.
With regard to claim 10, Lin discloses a hand structure member having a plurality of digits (e.g., see Fig. 2; see also digits 3). The remaining features of claims 10, 11, and 13 are made obvious by Lin in view of Mitchell as set forth above for claim 1, which is similar in claim scope.
With regard to claims 18-20, Lin discloses a method of manufacturing an orthopedic training device as set forth above in detail for claims 1 and 2, which are similar in claim scope.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mitchell as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0081627 to Ambrozio.
Lin in combination with Mitchell disclose all of the recited features but is silent regarding the at least two members are made from a material selected from the group comprising: polyurethane foam, hydroxyapatite, silicate glasses, bioglass, glass ceramics, calcium phosphates, and titanium alloy.
From the same field of endeavor, Ambrozio teaches at least two members are made from a material selected from the group comprising: polyurethane foam, hydroxyapatite, silicate glasses, bioglass, glass ceramics, calcium phosphates, and titanium alloy (e.g., see at least paragraph 20 that states that skeleton model “bone elements may be made of elements have the appearance of human bones including real bone, osseous material, plastic polymers, ceramic, or glass).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Lin with bone materials as taught by Ambrozio in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, using plastic polymers, ceramic, or glass for anatomical model are well-known to have the appearance of a human bone, which increases the visual appearance of the model.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mitchell as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0053683 to Brown.
Lin in combination with Mitchell disclose all of the recited features but is silent regarding a heating device thermally coupled to the at least two members.
From the same field of endeavor, Brown teaches a heating device thermally coupled to the at least two members (e.g., see at least paragraph 2 for discussion of using a heating device to provide temperature haptic feedback).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Lin with heating device as taught by Brown in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, a heating device provided the benefit of haptic feedback to users touching the model.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mitchell as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0215979 to McCormick.
Lin in combination with Mitchell disclose all of the recited features but is silent regarding using an elastic tube, instead of a helical spring, between the first and second members.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem faced, McCormick teaches using either a spring or an elastic tube as an elastic component to connect members (e.g., see at least paragraph 29 for discussion of using either a spring or an elastic tube as an elastic component).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Lin with the elastic tube as taught by McCormick in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, replacing a spring with an elastic tube is a design choice that may be in impacted with material availability, cost, or space.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Mitchell as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0011172 to Lowe.
Lin in combination with Mitchell disclose all of the recited features but is silent regarding using an anatomic structure that includes a cotton layer and an elastic layer.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem faced, Lowe teaches a medical simulator that includes a cotton layer reinforcing an elastic layer (e.g., see paragraph 147 that discusses a cotton reinforcement fabric with a spandex tubular elastic material.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Lin with cotton and elastic layers as taught by Lowe in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, using a layers of cotton and elastic material increase durability to withstand outside forces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes:
U.S. Patent No. 4,074,444 to Laenger discloses a mechanical hand model attached to a base (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent No. 8,177,856 to Jaworski discloses a model of human finger (e.g., see at least Fig. 2).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0072574 to Smallridge discloses an anatomical finer/hand model with joints (e.g., see at least Fig. 12A).
U.S. Patent No. 1,304,099 to Robinson discloses an artificial hand (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 3).
U.S. Patent No. 2,435,614 to Tureman discloses an artificial hand (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent No. 2,641,769 to Robinson discloses a mechanical hand (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 2).
U.S. Patent No. 3,188,753 to Lovercheck discloses an anatomical hand device (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 2).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0014246 to Veatch discloses an artificial hand with digits and joints (e.g., see at least Fig. 8).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0112580 to Fink discloses a demonstration model for surgical procedures with two bone members, elastic members, and a base (e.g., see at least Fig. 2A).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0128316 to Moller discloses an electromagnetic test model of a human hand (e.g., see at least Fig. 4)
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0090550 to Reeh discloses a portable multifunctional anatomical model for medical training of an arm and hand (e.g., see at least Fig. 2).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0166670 to Sakezles discloses a joint replica model and method of using for testing medical devices (e.g., see at least Fig. 3).
U.S. Patent No. 2,549,074 to Fishbein discloses an artificial hand with drive system (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0051729 to Zeeff discloses a soft tissue model (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent No. 4,332,570 to Getty disclose an anatomical hand model (e.g., see at least Fig. 2).
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715