DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. “Cho” US 2018/0359802.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Cho teaches network side device (Figures 6 and 7, and 46, paragraph 683) and a radio network service configuration method, comprising:
executing, by a first function, a first behavior according to first information, wherein the first function belongs to a first network function or a first network element, the first behavior comprises at least one of establishing a radio service channe, reconfiguring a radio service channel, mapping the first information to an established radio service channel, or releasing a radio service channel, and the radio service channel comprises at least one network function and/or at least one network function instance in a radio access network (Figures 6 and 7 shows connection establishment and reconfiguration (Paragraphs 161-164). The establishment/re-establishment are based on an initial request being sent. Further paragraph 165 teaches establishing, modifying, and releasing a radio bearer. The Examiner notes the system need only perform one of the behaviors as the claim is written in the alternative. Paragraph 444 further teaches that the actions performed are based on user plane requirements (i.e. first information) and Figure 17 shows the various functions/connections (i.e. network function/instance in a RAN) with respect to both user plane and control plane information); wherein
after executing, by the first function, the first behavior, sending, by the first function, a first message to a first object and/or first terminal wherein the first object includes a second network function or second network element (S6020 of Figure 6 or S7010 of Figure 7 shows a network element sending information to the terminal. The object is written in the alternative therefore the limitation is not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation);
The first message comprising one of the following:
Channel configuration information to indicate the channel has been established, or reconfigured or released (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. Note, these limitations are claimed in the alternative, therefore three of the 4 limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches the first information comprises at least one of the following:
user plane requirement information (Paragraph 444 teaches that the actions performed are based on user plane requirements (i.e. first information) and Figure 17 shows the various functions/connections with respect to both user plane and control plane information);
control plane requirement information (Paragraph 444 teaches that the actions performed are based on user plane requirements (i.e. first information) and Figure 17 shows the various functions/connections with respect to both user plane and control plane information);
context information of each network function in a radio access network (Paragraph 102 teaches the network have functions (i.e. context information) related to the establishment, maintaining, and releasing of bears) note this limitation is claimed in the alterative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation); or
a first request, wherein the first request is sent by a terminal to request the first function to establish a radio service channel, reconfigure a radio service channel, or release a radio service channel (Figure 6 S6010 shows a UE sending a request to the network to establish a connection) note this limitation is claimed in the alterative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches wherein the context information of the network function comprises at least one of the following: a type of the network function (paragraph 102 teaches connection, maintaining, release connections (i.e. type of network function); an identifier of the network function; an identifier of the network function instance; an identifier of a radio service channel, wherein the radio service channel is related to the network function; capability information of the network function; location information of the network function; or load information of the network function (note the entire claim is claimed in the alterative as noted in Claim 2, therefore the limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches wherein the context information of the network function is implemented through a network repository function, wherein in a case that a core network and the radio access network are separately serviced, the network repository function belongs to the radio access network; or in a case that a core network and the radio access network are jointly serviced, the network repository function belongs to the core network (note the entire claim is claimed in the alterative as noted in Claims 2 and 3, therefore the limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches wherein in a case that the first request is used to request the first function to establish a radio service channel, the first request carries at least one of the following: an identifier of the terminal; a cause for requesting to establish the radio service channel (Figure 6 and S6010 is a RRC connection request. This would tell the network it wants to establish a connection/channel (i.e. cause)); composition information of a network function comprised in the radio service channel that is requested to be established; a function sequence between network functions of the radio service channel that is requested to be established; or whether the function sequence is a transmit end sequence or a receive end sequence (note the entire claim is claimed in the alterative as noted in Claims 2, therefore the limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches wherein in a case that the first request is used to request the first function to reconfigure a radio service channel, the first request carries at least one of the following: an identifier of the terminal; a cause for requesting to reconfigure the radio service channel (Figure 6 and S6010 is a RRC connection request. This would tell the network it wants to establish a connection/channel (i.e. cause)); an identifier of the radio service channel that is requested to be reconfigured; a quantity of network functions comprised in the radio service channel that is requested to be reconfigured; a variation of the quantity of network functions in the radio service channel that is requested to be reconfigured; a function composition supported by the radio service channel; composition information of a network function comprised in the radio service channel that is requested to be reconfigured; a function sequence between network functions of the radio service channel that is requested to be reconfigured; whether the function sequence is a transmit end sequence or a receive end sequence of target data; first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a network function reconfiguration type, and the network function reconfiguration type comprises at least one of increasing a quantity of network functions in the radio service channel, reducing a quantity of network functions in the radio service channel, or modifying a network function in the radio service channel; second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating an information reconfiguration type, and the information reconfiguration type comprises at least one of increasing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, reducing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, and modifying a service data unit carried on the radio service channel; or third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate a type of a service data unit carried on the radio service channel. (note the entire claim is claimed in the alterative as noted in Claim 2, therefore the limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches in a case that the first request is used to request the first function to release a radio service channel, the first request carries at least one of the following:
An identifier of the terminal; a cause for requesting to release the channel; or identifier of the channel requested to be released (Figure 7 shows RRC reconfiguration to modify the RRC connection and can be used to release a RB (i.e. identify the channel); Paragraphs 164-165. (note the entire claim is claimed in the alterative as noted in Claims 1 and 2, therefore the limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches wherein the radio service channel configuration information sent by the first function to the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the radio service channel (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. This is the identifier of a radio service channel); a quantity of network functions comprised in the radio service channel; a function composition supported by the radio service channel; a function sequence between network functions comprised in the radio service channel; whether the function sequence is a transmit end sequence or a receive end sequence; composition information of a network function comprised in the radio service channel; or fourth indication information, wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate a type of a service data unit carried on the radio service channel (Note, all of the limitations of claim 9 are claimed in the alternative as noted in claim 8, therefore these limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 10, Cho teaches wherein the radio service channel reconfiguration information sent by the first function to the terminal comprises at least one of the following:
a quantity of network functions comprised in the radio service channel; fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information is used to indicate a network function reconfiguration type, and the network function reconfiguration type comprises at least one of increasing a quantity of network functions in the radio service channel, reducing a quantity of network functions in the radio service channel, or modifying a network function in the radio service channel ; a variation of the quantity of network functions in the radio service channel; a function composition supported by the radio service channel; sixth indication information, wherein the sixth indication information is used for indicating an information reconfiguration type, and the information reconfiguration type comprises at least one of increasing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, reducing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, or modifying a service data unit carried on the radio service channel; or seventh indication information, wherein the seventh indication information is used to indicate a type of a service data unit carried on the radio service channel (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. This is the identifier of a radio service channel and the modification is a reconfiguration type. Note, all of the limitations of claim 9 are claimed in the alternative as noted in claim 8, therefore these limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches the radio service channel release information sent by the first function to the first object or terminal includes an identifier of the service channel (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. The message with respect to a particular radio bearer; Paragraph 165 (i.e. service channel identifier). This claim is written in the alternative as noted in claim 8, therefore these limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches wherein the radio service channel configuration information or reconfiguration information sent by the first function to the first object comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the radio service channel (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. The message with respect to a particular radio bearer; Paragraph 165 (i.e. service channel identifier); information about a source network function, wherein the source network function is used to indicate a network function of protocol data that the first object needs to receive in the radio service channel; information about a target network function, wherein the target network function is used to indicate a network function of protocol data that is sent by the first object and that needs to be received in the radio service channel; eighth indication information, wherein the eighth indication information is used for indicating an information reconfiguration type, and the information reconfiguration type comprises at least one of increasing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, reducing a service data unit carried on the radio service channel, or modifying a service data unit carried on the radio service channel; or ninth indication information, wherein the ninth indication information is used to indicate a type of a service data unit carried on the radio service channel (This claim is written in the alternative as noted in claim 8, therefore these limitations are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches before the sending, by the first function, a first message to a first object and/or the terminal, the method further comprises:
determining, by the first function, the first message according to second information wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used for determining the first message, and the first configuration information is implemented through a protocol stipulation, an upper layer configuration, or a network side device configuration; or the first request (in response to the request (S6010) received at the network, the network sends back RRC connection setup information S6020 (i.e. second information); See Figure 6 and paragraphs 162-163).
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches wherein after the sending, by the first function, a first message to a first object and/or the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first function, a second message (S6030 of Figure 6 is received by the network and S7020 of Figure 7 is received by the network),
wherein the second message comprises at least one of the following: a radio service channel configuration complete message, used to indicate that the first object or the terminal has established a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel configuration information; a radio service channel reconfiguration complete message, used to indicate that the first object or the terminal has reconfigured a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel reconfiguration information; or a radio service channel reject message, used to indicate that the first object or the terminal has rejected the radio service channel configuration information or the radio service channel reconfiguration information (S6030 is a RRC connection complete message and S7020 is a RRC connection reconfiguration complete message.
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Cho teaches a terminal with a processor and memory (UE of Figure 6 and 7, see 4620 of Figure 46, paragraph 683). radio network service configuration method, wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a terminal, a second message to a first function when receiving a first message sent by the first function (the terminal sends S6030 (i.e. second message) of Figure 6 to the network after receiving S6020 (i.e. first message). Figure 7 shows the UE receiving S7010 (i.e. first message) and then sending S7020 (i.e. second message)),
wherein the first function belongs to a first network function or a first network element, and the first message comprises at least one of the following: radio service channel configuration information, used to indicate that the first function has established a radio service channel corresponding to first information; radio service channel reconfiguration information, used to indicate that the first function has reconfigured a radio service channel corresponding to the first information; radio service channel mapping information, used to indicate a mapping relationship between the first information and an established radio service channel; or radio service channel release information, used to indicate that the first function has released a radio service channel corresponding to the first information; and/or the second message comprises at least one of the following: a radio service channel configuration complete message, used to indicate that the terminal has established a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel configuration information; a radio service channel reconfiguration complete message, used to indicate that the terminal has reconfigured a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel reconfiguration information; or a radio service channel reject message, used to indicate that the terminal has rejected the radio service channel configuration information or the radio service channel reconfiguration information, wherein the radio service channel comprises at least one network function and/or network function instance in a RAN (Figures 6 and 7 shows connection establishment and reconfiguration (Paragraphs 161-164). The establishment/re-establishment are based on an initial request being sent. Further paragraph 165 teaches establishing, modifying, and releasing a radio bearer. The Examiner notes the system need only perform one of the behaviors as the claim is written in the alternative. Paragraph 444 further teaches that the actions performed are based on user plane requirements (i.e. first information) and Figure 17 shows the various functions/connections with respect to both user plane and control plane information. As there is a mapping between the bearer and channel there is a composition and sequence).
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches wherein the radio service channel configuration complete message or the radio service channel reconfiguration complete message comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the terminal (The UE and network are communicating (Figures 6 and 7), thus an identifier of the terminal is in the messaging);
an identifier of a network function instance, wherein the network function is a network function that carries the radio service channel (Paragraph 165 shows the messaging is used to setup/modify/release a channel); public land mobile network PLMN information of the terminal; or information about a non-access stratum NAS termination point of the terminal or information about another termination point other than the NAS termination point; and/or the radio service channel reject message comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the terminal; a cause for rejecting to establish or reconfigure the radio service channel; or a first time, wherein the first time is used to indicate that information of establishing or reconfiguring the radio service channel is acceptable to the terminal (As noted in claim 15, the claims are written in the alternative thus not all limitations are needed under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Cho teaches a network side device with a processor and memory (Figures 6 and 7, see also 4610 of Figure 46, paragraph 683) a radio network service configuration method, wherein the method comprises: sending, by a first object, a second message to a first function or a terminal when receiving a first message sent by the first function (S6020 of Figure 6 or S7010 of Figure 7 shows a network element sending information to the terminal. The terminal and function are written in the alternative),
wherein the first object comprises a second network function or a second network element; and the first message comprises at least one of the following: radio service channel configuration information, used to indicate that the first function has established a radio service channel corresponding to first information; radio service channel reconfiguration information, used to indicate that the first function has reconfigured a radio service channel corresponding to the first information; radio service channel mapping information, used to indicate a mapping relationship between the first information and an established radio service channel; or radio service channel release information, used to indicate that the first function has released a radio service channel corresponding to the first information; and/or the second message comprises at least one of the following: a radio service channel configuration complete message, used to indicate that the first object has established a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel configuration information; a radio service channel reconfiguration complete message, used to indicate that the first object has reconfigured a radio service channel corresponding to the radio service channel reconfiguration information; or a radio service channel reject message, used to indicate that the first object has rejected the radio service channel configuration information or the radio service channel reconfiguration information ; wherein the radio service channel comprises at least one network function and/or network function instance in a RAN (Figure 7 shows the network sending a message S7010 to the terminal which provides information on establishing, modifying, and releasing connections. **Note, these limitations are claimed in the alternative, therefore not all are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation** Figures 6 and 7 shows connection establishment and reconfiguration (Paragraphs 161-164). The establishment/re-establishment are based on an initial request being sent. Further paragraph 165 teaches establishing, modifying, and releasing a radio bearer. The Examiner notes the system need only perform one of the behaviors as the claim is written in the alternative. Paragraph 444 further teaches that the actions performed are based on user plane requirements (i.e. first information) and Figure 17 shows the various functions/connections with respect to both user plane and control plane information. As there is a mapping between the bearer and channel there is a composition and sequence).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Cho teaches the network sending RRC connection setup or reconfiguration in response to the RRC connection request which means the network sends a message to the terminal to request the UE to establish an RRC connection or perform RRC reconfiguration. Applicant argues the claimed subject matter of amended claim 1 requires the message sent by the network to the terminal is used to indicate that the UE has completed the establishment or reconfiguration of the RRC connection. Thus, the function of the message is different.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The message in claim 1 is not a RRC complete message with respect to the establishment or reconfiguration of the RRC connection. Claim 1 does not define the message to have anything to do with being a “complete” message. In fact, it is the reception of a second message (claim 14) that introduces the idea of a RRC complete message. Thus, the argument regarding the function of the message being different is not proper.
Applicant further argues the RRC reconfiguration in Cho is implemented using the UE whereas the RRC reconfiguration in amended claim 1 is performed by the network. Applicant argues Cho does not teach the network sending radio service channel config information, reconfiguration information mapping information or released information to another network element.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the rejection, Figure 7, message S7010, which is sent from the network to the UE, includes information in order for the UE to modify the RRC connection. This message is a configuration message and thus carries configuration information. One can see the UE and the network work together to achieve the intended result of a reconfiguration/modification. Therefore, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411