Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-20, 25, 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4,756,091 to Van Denend in view of US Patent Publication 2018/0356153 to Ku and further in view of US Patent 5.678,323 to Domingue.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 2
Van Denend discloses a method for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate comprising: moving (Col. 4, Line 36, Step a) a coated target substrate item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10, the oven) including at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs) (Fig. 1, 22) detecting (by sensor 34), in the irradiation area using the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), at least one physical property of at least one of the target coating layer, the target substrate, or a particular molecule in the atmosphere of the enclosure or oven chamber; collecting information (Col. 4, Line 55-60), from the at least one sensor on the at least one detected physical property; translating (Col. 4, Line 60-68) the information on the at least one detected physical property into a measurement or sequence of measurements; and, executing (Col. 5, Line 1-5) a heating process utilizing the at least one array of NREDs (Fig. 1, 22) and utilizing instructions to bring the coating layer and the target substrate to a desired state (Col. 5, Line 5-14, automatically overriding, maintain and adjustment) in accordance with the measurement, the sequence of measurements, or the collected information from the at least one sensor,
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 3
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) is a sensor operatively connected to the control system (Fig. 1, 36).
In Reference to Claim 4
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) is placed in at least one of before, in, and after the at least one irradiation zone (Fig, 1, 14, the chamber), if the target substrate is being irradiated by moving it through the irradiation area.
In Reference to Claim 5
Van Denend discloses the instructions comprise stored code (Fig. 1, 36, the programmable controller).
In Reference to Claim 6
Van Denend discloses the executing of the heating process includes utilizing information from at least one of machine learning algorithms and artificial intelligence. (Col. 4, Line 65-68, programming the power levels to the infrared source to predetermine temperature.
In Reference to Claim 7
Van Denend discloses the target substrate (Fig. 1, 12) is moved through the irradiation area, the target substrate is coated (Abstract, the system is to drying a coating) within at least one of an area before entering the irradiation area, an area within the irradiation area, and an area of after exiting the irradiation area.
In Reference to Claim 8
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) is a temperature sensor.
In Reference to Claims 13, 14 and 25
Van Denend discloses a method for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate in which the target substrate has temperature sensitivity of at least becoming softer and deforming at higher temperatures, the method comprising: moving (Col. 4, Line 36, Step a) a coated target substrate item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10, the oven) including at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs) (Fig. 1, 22) detecting (by sensor 34), in the irradiation area using the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), at least one physical property of at least one of the target coating layer, the target substrate, or a particular molecule in the atmosphere of the enclosure or oven chamber; collecting information (Col. 4, Line 55-60), from the at least one sensor on the at least one detected physical property; translating (Col. 4, Line 60-68) the information on the at least one detected physical property into a measurement or sequence of measurements; and, executing (Col. 5, Line 1-5) a heating process utilizing the at least one array of NREDs (Fig. 1, 22) and utilizing instructions to bring the coating layer and the target substrate to a desired state (Col. 5, Line 5-14, automatically overriding, maintain and adjustment) in accordance with the measurement, the sequence of measurements, or the collected information from the at least one sensor,
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 15
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) is a sensor operatively connected to the control system (Fig. 1, 36).
In Reference to Claim 16
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor position (Fig. 1, 34) is operatively connected to the control system (Fig. 1, 36).
In Reference to Claim 17
Van Denend discloses the instructions comprise stored code (Fig. 1, 36, the programmable controller).
In Reference to Claim 18
Van Denend discloses the target substrate (Fig. 1, 12) is moved through the irradiation area, the target substrate is coated (Abstract, the system is to drying a coating) within at least one of an area before entering the irradiation area, an area within the irradiation area, and an area of after exiting the irradiation area.
In Reference to Claim 19
Van Denend discloses the target substrate (Fig. 1, 12) is moved through the irradiation area, the target substrate is coated (Abstract, the system is to drying a coating) within at least one of an area before entering the irradiation area, an area within the irradiation area, and an area of after exiting the irradiation area.
In Reference to Claim 20
Van Denend discloses the at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) is a temperature sensor.
In Reference to Claims 27-29
Van Denend discloses a system for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate comprising: at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs) (Fig. 1, 22) configured to emit energy in a narrow wavelength band suitable for implementing a drying or curing process for the target coating layer on the target substrate; at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) positioned to detect or measure physical properties of at least one of the target coated layer, the target substrate, or a particular molecule in an atmosphere; and, at least one processor (Fig. 1, 36) and at least one memory having stored thereon code or instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to move a coated target substrate item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10) including at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs), detect, (Fig. 1, 34) in the irradiation area using the at least one sensor, at least one physical property of at least one of the target coating layer, the target substrate, or the particular molecule in the atmosphere of the enclosure or oven chamber; collect information (Col. 4, Line 55-60), from the at least one sensor on the at least one detected physical property; translate (Col. 4, Line 60-68) the information on the at least one detected physical property into a measurement or sequence of measurements; and, execute (Col. 5, Line 1-5) a heating process utilizing the at least one array of NREDs (Fig. 1, 22) and utilizing instructions to bring the coating layer and the target substrate to a desired state (Col. 5, Line 5-14, automatically overriding, maintain and adjustment) in accordance with the measurement, the sequence of measurements, or the collected information from the at least one sensor.
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 27 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue into the combination of Van Denend, and Ku as applied to Claim 27. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claims 30-32
Van Denend a system for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate in which the target substrate has temperature sensitivity of at least becoming softer and deforming at higher temperatures, the system comprising at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs) (Fig. 1, 22) configured to emit energy in a narrow wavelength band suitable for implementing a drying or curing process for the target coating layer on the target substrate; at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34) positioned to detect or measure physical properties of at least one of the target coated layer, the target substrate, or a particular molecule in an atmosphere; and, at least one processor (Fig. 1, 36) and at least one memory having stored thereon code or instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to move a coated target substrate item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10) including at least one sensor (Fig. 1, 34), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs), detect, (Fig. 1, 34) in the irradiation area using the at least one sensor, at least one physical property of at least one of the target coating layer, the target substrate, or the particular molecule in the atmosphere of the enclosure or oven chamber; collect information (Col. 4, Line 55-60), from the at least one sensor on the at least one detected physical property; translate (Col. 4, Line 60-68) the information on the at least one detected physical property into a measurement or sequence of measurements; and, execute (Col. 5, Line 1-5) a heating process utilizing the at least one array of NREDs (Fig. 1, 22) and utilizing instructions to bring the coating layer and the target substrate to a desired state (Col. 5, Line 5-14, automatically overriding, maintain and adjustment) in accordance with the measurement, the sequence of measurements, or the collected information from the at least one sensor.
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 30 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue into the combination of Van Denend, and Ku as applied to Claim 30. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 33
Van Denend discloses a method for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate comprising: moving a coated target substrate (Fig. 1, 12) item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (Fig. 1, 22) (NREDs); executing a heating process utilizing the at least one array of NREDs (Fig. 1, 22) to bring the coating layer and the target substrate to a desired state (Col. 4, Line 65-68) using a control system (Fig. 1, 36)
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 33 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue into the combination of Van Denend, and Ku as applied to Claim 33. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
In Reference to Claim 34
Van Denend discloses a system for drying or curing a target coating layer deposited on a target substrate comprising: at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs) (Fig. 1, 22) configured to emit energy in a narrow wavelength band suitable for implementing a drying or curing process for the target coating layer on the target substrate; and, at least one processor (Fig. 1, 36) and at least one memory having stored thereon code or instructions that (As disclosed that the controller is programable), when executed by the processor, cause the system to move a coated target substrate item into an irradiation area, the irradiation area being defined by an open-atmosphere enclosure or oven chamber (Fig. 1, 10), for irradiation by at least one array of narrowband infrared radiation emitting devices (NREDs)
Van Denend is silent on the power supply of the system.
Ku teaches an infrared light source drying apparatus being powered by a DC or AC power supply (Fig. 1, 12)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ku into the design of Van Denend. Doing so, would result in a DC or AC power supply is provide to the system of Van Denend. Both inventions of Ku and Van Denend are in the same field of endeavor, Ku provides a method of power supplying with a predictable result of success supplying power.
The combination of Van Denend and Ku as applied to Claim 34 does not teach the detail power level of the infrared light, such as the wavelength.
Domingue teaches the absorption rate of radiant energy by a product being dried not only depends upon the product itself but also upon the magnitude of the infrared wavelength to which the product is exposed (Col. 2, Line 40-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Domingue into the combination of Van Denend, and Ku as applied to Claim 34. Doing so, would result in the emitting power level of the IR light of Van Denend being determined by the performance requirement of the drying process. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to adjust, vary, select or optimize the numerical parameters of values of any system absent a showing of criticality in a particular recited value. It would be obvious to adjust the emitting power level of the IR light based on the product to be dried and the working environment inside the drying chamber.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2013/0228300 to Unger.
In Reference to Claim 9
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the sensor is an infrared temperature sensor.
Unger teaches the drying chamber having a noncontact infrared temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 10)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Unger into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in a noncontact infrared sensor being used in the system of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger are in the same field of endeavor, Unger teaches a method of detecting the temperature without contacting material with a predictable result of success.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2014/0157619 to Cookson.
In Reference to Claims 10 and 11
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the sensor is an infrared camera.
Cookson teaches the drying chamber having an infrared camera (Fig. 1, 110)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Cookson into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in infrared type camera being incorporated into the chamber of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger having heated drying chamber, Cookson teaches a method of monitoring the temperature without contacting material with a predictable result of success.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 6,967,717 to Boss.
In Reference to Claim 12
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the drying chamber having a Raman spectral sensor.
Boss teaches the drying chamber having an infrared camera (Col. 1, 34-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Boss into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in a Raman spectral sensor being incorporated into the chamber of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger having heated drying chamber, Boss teaches a method of monitoring the temperature with a Raman spectral sensor which permits the analysis of several components in a mixture simultaneously. So the performance would be improved.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Unger.
In Reference to Claim 21
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13 does not teach the sensor is an infrared temperature sensor.
Unger teaches the drying chamber having a noncontact infrared temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 10)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Unger into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13. Doing so, would result in a noncontact infrared sensor being used in the system of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger are in the same field of endeavor, Unger teaches a method of detecting the temperature without contacting material with a predictable result of success.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cookson.
In Reference to Claims 22 and 23
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13 does not teach the sensor is an infrared camera.
Cookson teaches the drying chamber having an infrared camera (Fig. 1, 110)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Cookson into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13. Doing so, would result in infrared type camera being incorporated into the chamber of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger having heated drying chamber, Cookson teaches a method of monitoring the temperature without contacting material with a predictable result of success.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US Patent 6,967,717 to Boss.
In Reference to Claim 24
Van Denend discloses the temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 34)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13 does not teach the drying chamber having a Raman spectral sensor.
Boss teaches the drying chamber having an infrared camera (Col. 1, 34-45)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Boss into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13. Doing so, would result in a Raman spectral sensor being incorporated into the chamber of Van Denend to measure the temperature in the chamber. Both inventions of Van Denend and Unger having heated drying chamber, Boss teaches a method of monitoring the temperature with a Raman spectral sensor which permits the analysis of several components in a mixture simultaneously. So the performance would be improved.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Denend, Ku, and Domingue as applied to Claim 13, and further in view of US Patent Publication 2004/0043156 to Emch.
In Reference to Claim 26
Van Denend discloses the infrared heating element (Fig. 1, 22)
The combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13 does not teach the type of the infrared heating element.
Ench teach the quartz lamps being used as infrared heating element. (Paragraph 48)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Emch into the combination of Van Denend, Ku and Domingue as applied to Claim 13. Doing so, quartz lamps being used as the infrared heating elements.in the drying process. Both inventions of Van Denend and Emch having infrared heating element in the drying process of coated element. Emch teaches a method of using a commercially available infrared element, to the operation cost will be reduced.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 8/25/26