Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2023/0047690 A1) in view of Oki (US 9,981,487 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a sheet conveyance device comprising:
a reversing conveyance portion (170) into and out of which a sheet from a sheet reversing portion (180) in the horizontal direction travels to be switched back so that a conveyance direction of the sheet is switched (Figure 1); and
Saito does not disclose specifically disclose the reversing conveyance portion includes a conveyance guide member provided in the reversing conveyance portion, the conveyance guide member having a sheet conveyance face facing a bottom face of the sheet passing through the reversing conveyance portion, wherein the sheet conveyance face has one or more curved portions curved in the up-down direction as viewed from a width direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the sheet so as to form projections and depressions in the up-down direction, the sheet conveyance face curving the sheet in the up-down direction along the curved portion. However, Oki discloses a similar device that includes a conveyance guide member (61), the conveyance guide member having a sheet conveyance face (top surface of 61) facing a bottom face of the sheet passing through, wherein the sheet conveyance face has one or more curved portions (80, 80a) curved in the up-down direction (Figures 5 and 6) as viewed from a width direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the sheet so as to form projections (80) and depressions (80a) in the up-down direction (Figures 5 and 6), the sheet conveyance face curving the sheet in the up-down direction (Figure 6 clearly shows a downward component for the sheet conveyance direction, column 9 lines 53-59, and the curving of the sheet would be based on the rigidity of the sheet being conveyed which would fall under MPEP 2115) along the curved portion (Figure 6) for the purpose of reducing contact area between the sheet and the conveyance surface to reduce static electricity and friction (column 9 lines 12-24). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s filing to modify Saito by utilizing a conveyance guide member provided in the reversing conveyance portion, the conveyance guide member having a sheet conveyance face facing a bottom face of the sheet passing through the reversing conveyance portion, wherein the sheet conveyance face has one or more curved portions curved in the up-down direction as viewed from a width direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction of the sheet so as to form projections and depressions in the up-down direction, the sheet conveyance face curving the sheet in the up-down direction along the curved portion, as disclosed by Oki, for the purpose of reducing contact area between the sheet and the conveyance surface to reduce static electricity and friction.
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses a relay conveyance portion (152) arranged below the conveyance guide member in parallel therewith and extending from upstream to downstream of the reversing conveyance portion with respect to an entering direction of the sheet into the reversing conveyance portion (Figure 1), the relay conveyance portion conveying downstream the sheet discharged from a sheet discharging portion (150 or 151).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses the conveyance guide member (Oki) has an inclined portion (along the path in Figure 1 of Saito) at a downstream end with respect to the entering direction of the sheet into the reversing conveyance portion, the inclined portion being inclined upward or downward (the top end of path 170 is inclined up).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the conveyance guide member (Oki) extends downstream of the sheet reversing portion in the conveyance direction of the sheet (along the path in Figure 1 of Saito), and a length of the conveyance guide member in a horizontal direction is smaller than a length of the longest sheet conveyed to the reversing conveyance portion in the conveyance direction (the material worked upon does not limit an apparatus claim, see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses a sheet reversing portion (Saito, 170); a sheet discharge portion (Saito, 151); and the sheet conveyance device according to claim 1 (see above).
Regarding claim 6, Saito discloses an image reading portion (191) that is arranged above the reversing conveyance portion (Figure 1) and that reads an image on a document.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Oki discloses the side face 80a serves as a scooping face to scoop up the edge of the roll paper 1 so that the roll paper 1 is transported (conveyed) smoothly without getting caught and that is not conveyed while being curved along the side face 80a. The examiner agrees that Oki discloses 80a scoops the edge of the roll paper 1 so that it is conveyed smoothly but as clearly seen in Figure 6 and column 9 lines 53-59 of Oki, the sheet bends into the recess at 80a (arrow on right side that is directed to the left and downward) and is guided back upward to 80 (arrow on the left side that is directed to the right and upward). The sheet is disclosed as curving into the recess of 80a and then directed back to 80. Oki teaches the amended limitations.
Applicant argues that claim 4 is for the configuration of a device for conveying a sheet and not for processing a sheet and therefore does not fall under MPEP 2115. In response, claim 4 attempts to define the length of the conveyance guide member relative to “a length of the longest sheet conveyed to the reversing conveyance portion”. The material worked upon, the longest sheet, does not limit an apparatus claim and therefore does not limit the length of the conveyance guide member.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653