DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a first Office Action on the merits of the application. Claims 1 - 9 are presented for examination. Claims 1 - 9 are rejected.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Element 366 in FIG. 17 and element 21 in FIG. 20 are not disclosed in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [00148] of the specification recites element “user computer 808”, but it is recommended the number of the element recites “1008”, to correspond with the element in FIG. 37. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [00151] of the specification recites element “production computer 806”, but it is recommended the number of the element recites ”1006”. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [00152] recites “provider computer 804”, but it is recommended the number of the element recites “1004”, to correspond with the element in FIG. 37. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 7 - 9 lack antecedent basis for (comprising the step of (Claim 5, line 2, claim 7, line 2; claim 8, line 2; claim 9, line 2).
Dependent claim 6 is rejected due to inherited claim deficiencies of claim 5.
Suggested language: Amend the claims to recite “comprising a step of”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A), hereinafter “Dai”.
As per claim 1, Dai discloses:
a method of manufacturing a golf club, comprising receiving user information via a user interface (Dai, page 3, line 5 discloses obtaining characteristic information from a golfer.)
selecting at least one parameter of the golf club by a user, wherein the at least one parameter is selected from a plurality of parameters (Dai, page 3, line 6 discloses generating ball head parameter information based on the obtained information from the golfer, with page 3, lines 27 - 31 adds the information from the golfer includes swing habit parameter information, body parameter information, and appearance information.)
generating a design model of a golf club head defining a body based on user information or at least one parameter of the golf club in a design space (Dai, page 3, lines and 9 - 10 discloses generating a 3D ball head structure model based on ball head parameter information generated, which is based on the golfer information obtained.)
generating a three-dimensional lattice environment, the three-dimensional lattice environment including a first lattice array, wherein the first lattice array includes plurality of nodes and plurality of beams (Dai, page 5, lines 31 - 32 discloses a lattice structure formed from a formation of lattice bars, with FIG. 2 showing the structure in the golf club head.)
inlaying the three-dimensional lattice environment into the design model of the golf club (Dai, page 5, lines 36 - 37 discloses FIG. 2, which shows the lattice bars forming a straight line to create the lattice structure.)
orienting the first lattice array of the three-dimensional lattice environment according to the user information (Dai, page 5, line 36 discloses FIG. 2, which shows the lattice bars forming a straight line to create the lattice structure, with page 5, lines 32 - 35 adds gaps formed between the lattice bars arranged based on the needs of the different golfers.)
adjusting, based on the user interface, at least a thickness, a shape, or a density of a lattice beam of the first lattice array (Dai, page 5, lines 32 - 35 adds an arrangement of the size and number of gaps between the lattice bars in the lattice structure based on altering of the emptiness of the ball striking section of the ball head.)
customizing the at least one parameter of the plurality of parameters based on at least a swing characteristic of the user or a location of center of gravity of the golf club (Dai, page 5, lines 25 - 29 discloses gaps in the cavity structure if a golf head provided to adjust the center of gravity, and page 5, lines 35 - 38 adds the gaps obtained from the placement of lattice bars in the lattice structure of a golf head adjusted for different golfers to obtain the different centers of gravity in ball heads.)
printing, layer by layer using an additive manufacturing device, the golf club including a lattice structure within an internal volume of a body (Dai, page 8, lines 1 - 25 discloses steps S2002 - S3001 regarding using a slice file of the ball head 3D structure model to print the golf head using additive manufacturing equipment, including printing different types of internal cavity structures that are connected, with page 5, lines 31 - 32 clarifying the inner cavity structure includes a lattice structure.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A), and further in view of Soracco et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0097050 A1), hereinafter “Soracco”.
As per claim 2, the prior art of Dai discloses the method of claim 1.
The prior art of Dai does not expressly disclose:
further including displaying the design model to the user via, a display screen to update the at least one parameters in real-time while the user makes the golf club head in the design space.
Soracco however discloses:
further including displaying the design model to the user via, a display screen to update the at least one parameters in real-time while the user makes the golf club head in the design space (Soracco, par [0006] discloses a user on a web browser or other interface, to provide information to generate data for fabricating individualized golf club components, including clubs, with par [0009] - [0010] discloses information includes a golfer’s physical characteristics (height, handedness), along with selecting attributes including center of gravity, lie angle, loft angle, toe height, etc., with par [0091] adding the changes of a user selection can be updated as the user choses the options to customize features.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai with the updates to selections a user presents when customizing golf club components based on their characteristics teaching of Soracco. The motivation to do so would have been because Soracco discloses the benefit of providing a process that allows a larger population of golfers to benefit from having individualized golf club components, which can increase their enjoyment of the game of golf (Soracco, par [0006]).
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A), in view of Soracco et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0097050 A1) and further in view of Day et al. (U.S. Patent 10,343,031 B1), hereinafter “Day”.
As per claim 3, the combination of Dai and Soracco discloses the method of claim 2.
The combination of Dai and Soracco does not expressly disclose:
wherein at least one of the plurality of nodes and at least one of the plurality of beams are connected to a wall of the body of the golf club forming a connection point.
Day however discloses:
wherein at least one of the plurality of nodes and at least one of the plurality of beams are connected to a wall of the body of the golf club forming a connection point (Day, col 6, ln 39 - 46 discloses FIG. 3, which shows a support member in the hollow body of the golf club head, attached from one portion of the golf club head to the opposite end of the golf club head.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai and the updates to selections a user presents when customizing golf club components based on their characteristics teaching of Soracco with the adjustment mechanism with attachment points on the golf club head teaching of Day. The motivation to do so would have been because Day discloses the benefit of including a removable weight to the attachment point to allow for an adjustment of a mass or mass distribution of the club heat (Day, col 11, ln10 - 15), as well as providing a golf club head with an openwork internal rib that reinforces regions of high strain, minimizing material fatigue and preventing early breakage of the club head (Day, Abstract, lines 7 - 10).
For claim 4: The combination of Dai, Soracco, and Day discloses claim 4: The method of claim 3, wherein
the first lattice array that protrudes beyond the connection points of the golf club is removed from design space to form the lattice structure that is contained within the internal volume of the body (Dai, page 5, lines 36 - 37 discloses the lattice structure in which gaps formed between each lattice bars, with the amount of gaps adjusted based on the golfer, interpreted that the amount of lattice forming the gaps to be excessive and can be removed or rearranged.)
For claim 7: The combination of Dai, Soracco, and Day discloses claim 7: The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of:
providing cavities along a toe side of the body and a heel side of the body of the design model of the golf club, the cavities configured to receive weights (Day, col. 7, ln 65 - 67 through col 8, ln 1 - 4 discloses the club head with an openwork structure to change the mass by providing repositionable weight features to adjust the mass.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai and the updates to selections a user presents when customizing golf club components based on their characteristics teaching of Soracco with the adjustment mechanism with attachment points on the golf club head teaching of Day. The motivation to do so would have been because Day discloses the benefit of including a removable weight to the attachment point to allow for an adjustment of a mass or mass distribution of the club heat (Day, col 11, ln10 - 15), as well as providing a golf club head with an openwork internal rib that reinforces regions of high strain, minimizing material fatigue and preventing early breakage of the club head (Day, Abstract, lines 7 - 10).
For claim 8: The combination of Dai, Soracco, and Day discloses claim 8, the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of
providing a protrusion along a sole and generating an alignment bar along a front side of the design model of the golf club, the protrusion being parallel with the alignment bar (Day, col 11, ln 6 - 15 discloses an adjustment mechanism with an attachment point with a removable weight, as shown in FIG. 11.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai and the updates to selections a user presents when customizing golf club components based on their characteristics teaching of Soracco with the adjustment mechanism with attachment points on the golf club head teaching of Day, and the additional teaching of the golf club head including attachment points that contain a removable weight, also found in Day. The motivation to do so would have been because Day discloses the benefit of including a removable weight to the attachment point to allow for an adjustment of a mass or mass distribution of the club heat (Day, col 11, ln10 - 15), as well as providing a golf club head with an openwork internal rib that reinforces regions of high strain, minimizing material fatigue and preventing early breakage of the club head (Day, Abstract, lines 7 - 10).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A), and further in view of Morales et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0117424 A1), hereinafter “Morales”.
As per claim 5, the prior art of Dai discloses the method of claim 1.
The prior art of Dai does not expressly disclose:
generating at least one aperture along the body of the design model of the golf club.
Morales however discloses:
generating at least one aperture along the body of the design model of the golf club (Morales, par [0110] discloses aperture a golf club head including a plurality of apertures.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai with the apertures on the golf club teaching of Morales. The motivation to do so would have been because Morales discloses the benefit of providing apertures near the center of a face plate that aids in moving the excess powered material from the center towards to perimeter of the face place in a cell lattice to provide simplified removal (Morales, par [0122]).
For claim 6: The combination of Dai and Morales discloses claim 6: The method of manufacturing the golf club of claim 5, wherein
the at least one aperture is configured to remove debris trapped within the internal volume of the body (Morales, par [0118] discloses compressed air in the apertures used to remove excess powered material.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai with the apertures on the golf club teaching of Morales, and the additional teaching of using the apertures to remove excess powered material, also found in Morales. The motivation to do so would have been because Morales discloses the benefit of providing apertures near the center of a face plate that aids in moving the excess powered material from the center towards to perimeter of the face place in a cell lattice to provide simplified removal (Morales, par [0122]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A), and further in view of Kroneberg et al (WO 2014144824 A1), hereinafter “Kroneberg”.
As per claim 9, the prior art of Dai discloses the method of claim 1.
The prior art of Dai does not expressly disclose:
further comprising the step of: providing a channel along a rear side of the body of the design model of the golf club, the channel including a second lattice array.
Kroneberg however discloses:
further comprising the step of: providing a channel along a rear side of the body of the design model of the golf club, the channel including a second lattice array (Kroneberg, par [58] discloses a lattice structure included in a hollow diameter of the shaft of the golf club, with [59] adds the 3D lattices formed between thin walls and can be manufactured using additive layer manufacturing.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the additive manufacturing of a golf club head with lattice structure teaching of Dai with the lattice structure in additional sections of the golf club teaching in Kroneberg. The motivation to do so would have been because Kroneberg discloses the benefit of the ability to generate a computer model of a golf club, ad instead of modifying existing parts, design parameters are determined to produce the computer model, and can be updated based on a user’s required specifications (Kroneberg, par [33]).
Conclusion
/Cedric Johnson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186
February 7, 2026