DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 44-63 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Volpe et al. (US 2008/0312709) in view of Chen et al. (US 2010/0041975).
Regarding amended independent claims 44 and 56, Volpe et al. teaches a wearable cardiac monitoring and treatment device including ECG sensing electrode, therapy electrodes, signal acquisition and monitoring circuitry and a processor configured to determine electrode fall-off and/or ECG signal contamination, determine whether an arrhythmia condition is present, and initiate therapy in response thereto ([0028], [0033]-[0036]).
Volpe et al. does not expressly teach selecting first and second monitored electrode pairings from a plurality of available electrode pairing following a determination of electrode fall-off and/or signal contamination.
Chen et al. teaches automatically evaluating multiple electrode configurations, assessing ECG signal quality and selecting suitable electrodes for ECG acquisition based on electrode contact and signal quality ([0044]-[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Chen’s automatic electrode-selection techniques into Volpe’s monitoring system to select alternative electrode pairings when electrode fall-off and/or ECG signal contamination is identified, thereby improving acquisition of usable ECG signals and increasing reliability of subsequent arrhythmia detection. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claims 45-55 and 57-63 are rejected for substantially the same reasons as their respective base claims and as further evidenced by the references applied in the prior Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the following points in which the examiner provides a reason(s) as to why the arguments are not persuasive:
The rejection does not rely on Chen alone to teach determining electrode fall-off, ECG contamination, arrhythmia determination or therapy initiation. Rather, Volpe et al. teaches determining electrode fall-off events and ECG signal contamination/interference and utilizing ECG data to determine whether therapy is appropriate, [0033]-[0036], while Chen et al. teaches automatically evaluating multiple electrode configurations and selecting suitable electrodes based on electrode contact and ECG acquisition, [0044]-[0048].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Chen’s electrode-selection techniques could be incorporated into Volpe’s monitoring system to select alternative electrode pairings when Volpe identifies electrode fall-off and/or contaminated ECG signals, thereby improving acquisition of usable ECG signals. Applicant’s arguments attack Chen individually rather than the combined teachings of the references and therefore are not persuasive.
No separate arguments have been presented for dependent claims 45-55 and 57-63. Accordingly, these claims stand or fall with their respective independent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796