DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Transmittal of New Application filed 03/01/2024.
B. Claims 1-20 remains pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hope, Eric et al. (US Pub. 2009/0153288 A1), herein referred to as “Hope”.
As for claims 1 and 19-20, Hope teaches. A method and corresponding terminal of claim 19 and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20 storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor of a terminal cause the terminal to: for playing back a multimedia resource, comprising: one or more processors; a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the one or more processors; wherein the one or more processors, when loading and executing the one or more instructions, are caused to (par. 9 and 59 describe the hardware and software environment of the device having a graphical use interface for interacting with; par. 7 One or more touch sensitive displays may be provided on the device. For example, the device may have a touch screen that occupies most or all of the front face of the device):
playing back the multimedia resource on a playback interface (par. 10 media system of the handheld device transmits data signals to denote various states such as playback speed, title information and time information);
playing back the multimedia resource in a multi-speed mode in response to a first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface, wherein the multi-speed mode corresponds to a reference playback multi-speed (fig. 17; par. 156 user can gesture (drag/swipe) onto the touch screen device to adjust the playback speed of the video being played back currently within the range of -32x to 32x; various gestures denote various playback speeds achievable on the user interface); and
continuously playing back, in response to a progress adjust operation on the playback interface, the multimedia resource in the multi-speed mode, wherein a playback progress corresponding to the progress adjust operation is used as a playback start point (par. 156 fig. 17 the user is shown the video at a continuous playback speed based upon touch gesture recognized).
As for claim 2, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, wherein the progress adjust operation is a swipe operation to a first direction or a swipe operation to a second direction on the playback interface, and wherein the swipe operation to the first direction and the swipe operation to the second direction correspond to different adjust directions of the playback progress (par. 156; fig. 17 various directions and spatial distance from initial gesture denotes various multi-speed playback).
As for claim 3, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, wherein a playback progress bar of the multimedia resource is displayed on the playback interface, and the progress adjust operation is a drag operation performed on the playback progress bar (par. 89 progress bar 95 and progress indicator 96); and
the method further comprises:
displaying first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar, wherein the first prompt information is configured to prompt the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode ( par. 11 As media system remote control gestures are supplied to the handheld electronic device, the handheld electronic device may display confirmatory information on the display of the handheld electronic device. This confirmatory information may serve to inform the user that a gesture has been properly recognized. The confirmatory information may be displayed in a way that allows the user to monitor the confirmatory information using only peripheral vision or momentary glances at the display; fig. 17 display of multi-speed playback);
or
displaying first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and a cumulative use duration of an object in using an application not reaching a first reference duration, wherein the playback interface is an interface in the application, and not displaying the first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and the cumulative use duration reaching the first reference duration, wherein the first prompt information is configured to prompt the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode (par. 89 elapsed time in relation to user gesture of fig. 17);
or
displaying first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and a number of times of entering the multi-speed mode based on the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface not reaching a first reference number, and not displaying the first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and the number of the times of entering the multi-speed mode based on the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface reaching the first reference number, wherein the first prompt information is configured to prompt the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode (fig. 17 a current speed indictor is displayed as confirmatory information); or
displaying first prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar, and not displaying the first prompt information in response to a display duration of the first prompt information reaching a second reference duration, wherein the first prompt information is configured to prompt the first multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode (fig. 17 various spots the user can swipe/drag too in order to achiever various playback speeds and direction/orientation).
As for claim 4, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, wherein a playback progress bar of the multimedia resource is displayed on the playback interface, and the progress adjust operation is a drag operation performed on the playback progress bar (par. 89 progress bar 95 and progress indicator 96); and
the method further comprises:
displaying second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar, wherein the second prompt information is configured to prompt a second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode (fig. 17 and device 12 may display confirmatory information on display 34 whenever a gesture is made; par. 126);
or
displaying second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and a cumulative use duration of an object in using an application not reaching a third reference duration, wherein the playback interface is an interface in the application, and not displaying the second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and the cumulative use duration reaching the third reference duration, wherein the second prompt information is configured to prompt a second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode;
or
displaying second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and a number of times of entering the multi-speed mode based on the second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface not reaching a second reference number, and not displaying the second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar and the number of the times of entering the multi-speed mode based on the second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface reaching the second reference number, wherein the second prompt information is configured to prompt a second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode;
or
displaying second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar, and not displaying the second prompt information in response to a display duration of the second prompt information reaching a fourth reference duration, wherein the second prompt information is configured to prompt a second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface to enter the multi-speed mode (fig. 17 multiple speeds achievable within the given example range of -32x to 32x).
As for claim 5, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 4, wherein said displaying the second prompt information on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar comprises:
displaying a thumbnail of the multimedia resource on the playback interface in response to the drag operation on the playback progress bar, and displaying the second prompt information in an associated region of the thumbnail, wherein the thumbnail corresponds to a multimedia resource screen determined based on the drag operation (par. 89 FIG. 8 shows an illustrative now playing display screen that may be presented to a user by media system 14. Media system 14 may present the now playing screen of FIG. 8 when media system 14 is performing a media playback operation. For example, when media system 14 is playing an audio track, media system 14 may display a screen with an image 91 (e.g., album art), progress bar 95, progress indicator 96, and track information such as the audio track name 92, artist name 93, and album name 94.).
As for claim 6, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 5, further comprising:
playing back the multimedia resource in the multi-speed mode in response to the second multi-speed set operation on the playback interface in performing the drag operation on the progress bar (Par. 159 For example, when the user's hold location coincides with the location of a speed (e.g., +2X) on the confirmatory status information 164 that is being presented on display screen 34 of user device 12, the remote control command information 162 may maintain that speed (e.g., +2.times.) for the media system. The fast forward mode may therefore remain at the relative speed selected by the user's chosen hold position until the user terminates the hold operation (e.g., removes their finger) or until another user input is received by user device 12 (e.g., a tap gesture to play or pause or a non-gesture input).
As for claim 7, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, wherein a playback progress bar of the multimedia resource is displayed on the playback interface; and
the method further comprises at least one of:
displaying prompt information of the multi-speed mode in the playback progress bar in the multi-speed mode, wherein the prompt information of the multi-speed mode is configured to prompt current playback of the multimedia resource in the multi-speed mode (par. 159 For example, when the user's hold location coincides with the location of a speed (e.g., +2X) on the confirmatory status information 164 that is being presented on display screen 34 of user device 12, the remote control command information 162 may maintain that speed (e.g., +2.times.) for the media system. The fast forward mode may therefore remain at the relative speed selected by the user's chosen hold position until the user terminates the hold operation (e.g., removes their finger) or until another user input is received by user device 12 (e.g., a tap gesture to play or pause or a non-gesture input).;
and
displaying third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, wherein the third prompt information is configured to prompt a progress adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback progress of the multimedia resource (par. 159 displaying user playback speed and progress indictor on process bar);
or
displaying third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to a cumulative use duration of an object in using an application not reaching a fifth reference duration, the playback interface being an interface in the application, and not displaying the third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to the cumulative use duration reaching the fifth reference duration, wherein the third prompt information is configured to prompt a progress adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback progress of the multimedia resource;
or
displaying third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to a number of times of adjusting the playback progress based on the progress adjust operation not reaching a third reference number, and not displaying the third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to the number of the times of adjusting the playback progress based on the progress adjust operation reaching the third reference number, wherein the third prompt information is configured to prompt a progress adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback progress of the multimedia resource;
or
displaying third prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, and not displaying the third prompt information in response to a display duration of the third prompt information reaching a sixth reference duration, wherein the third prompt information is configured to prompt a progress adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback progress of the multimedia resource.
As for claim 8, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, wherein the fourth prompt information is configured to prompt a multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource (par. 136 confirmatory status information 138 that may be presented to a user to provide visual feedback when a media system remote control gesture from a user has been used to control a system parameter in media system 14. Status information 138 may be displayed to provide a user with information on a volume level adjustment, brightness level adjustment, or other suitable parameter adjustment in media system 14);
or
displaying fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to a cumulative use duration of an object in using an application not reaching a seventh reference duration, the playback interface being an interface in the application, and not displaying the fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to the cumulative use duration reaching the seventh reference duration, wherein the fourth prompt information is configured to prompt a multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource;
or
displaying fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to a number of times of adjusting the playback multi-speed based on the multi-speed adjust operation not reaching a fourth reference number, and not displaying the fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode in response to the number of the times of adjusting the playback multi-speed based on the multi-speed adjust operation reaching the fourth reference number, wherein the fourth prompt information is configured to prompt a multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource;
or
displaying fourth prompt information on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, and not displaying the fourth prompt information in response to a display duration of the fourth prompt information reaching an eighth reference duration, wherein the fourth prompt information is configured to prompt a multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface to adjust a playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource; and
adjusting the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource in the multi-speed mode in response to the multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface, and playing back the multimedia resource based on the adjusted playback multi-speed.
As for claim 9, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 8, wherein said adjusting the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource in response to the multi-speed adjust operation on the playback interface comprises:
determining a playback multi-speed corresponding to a swipe amplitude of a swipe operation in response to the swipe operation on the playback interface, and adjusting the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to the playback multi-speed corresponding to the swipe amplitude (par. 156 based upon amount of interaction of a gesture performed by the user on top of the video playback area determines how much speed is applied playback).
As for claim 10, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 9, wherein
the method further comprises:
displaying a plurality of multi-speed controls on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, wherein the plurality of multi-speed controls correspond to different playback multi-speeds (fig. 17 multiple speeds displayed as confirmatory status information 160,164,168 etc…); and
said determining the playback multi-speed corresponding to the swipe amplitude of the swipe operation in response to the swipe operation on the playback interface, and adjusting the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to the playback multi-speed corresponding to the swipe amplitude comprise:
adjusting, in response to the swipe operation on the playback interface, the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to a playback multi-speed corresponding to a selected multi-speed control in the plurality of multi-speed controls based on the multi-speed control in the plurality of multi-speed controls selected by the swipe amplitude of the swipe operation (par. 158 FIG. 17, a swipe and hold gesture that includes swipe 102 may generate remote control command information 158. The dashed line for remote control command information 158 represents remote control command information for media system 14 that causes media system 14 to enter a fast forward mode. Remote control command information 158 may cause the fast forward mode to increase incrementally in speed at a constant rate. The increase in fast forward mode speed may continue until a limit is reached such as the fastest mode supported (e.g., +32.times.). The increase in fast forward mode speed may continue until a user terminates the hold portion of the swipe and hold gesture).
As for claim 11, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 10, further comprising:
adjusting, in response to a trigger operation on any multi-speed control in the plurality of multi-speed controls, the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to a playback multi-speed corresponding to the any multi-speed control in the plurality of multi-speed controls (par.157-159 various gesture controls on the video interface for mult-speed controls of playback).
As for claim 12, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 10, further comprising:
not displaying the plurality of multi-speed controls in the multi-speed mode in response to a duration from a current time to an operation time of the multi-speed adjust operation reaching a reference duration (par. 140 the media system parameter and the corresponding level 139 in status information 138 may increase incrementally at a fixed rate in response to an upward swipe and hold gesture until hold operation 103 is terminated by a user lifting their finger from touch screen display 34. If desired, the upward movement of level 139 (and the corresponding adjustment of the controlled parameter in media system 14) may continue uninterrupted until a maximum value is reached or until the user repositions hold position 103).
As for claim 13, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 9, wherein
the method further comprises:
displaying a multi-speed progress bar on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, wherein two ends of the multi-speed progress bar respectively correspond to an upper threshold and a lower threshold of the playback multi-speed (fig. 17 various threshold levels and gesture thresholds are shown; par. 159-161 describes this further); and
said determining the playback multi-speed corresponding to the swipe amplitude of the swipe operation in response to the swipe operation on the playback interface, and adjusting the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to the playback multi-speed corresponding to the swipe amplitude comprise (par. 158 detecting gesture input from user on the playback interface of the device):
adjusting, in response to the swipe operation on the playback interface, the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to a playback multi-speed corresponding to a first multi-speed progress based on the first multi-speed progress determined by the swipe amplitude of the swipe operation (par. 159-161 setting various playback speed settings based upon gesture recognition of the user within the user interface; FIG. 17, the swipe and hold remote control gesture may cause the fast forward mode to increase incrementally in speed at a constant rate until the speed of the fast forward operation matches the location of the hold position. For example, when the user's hold location coincides with the location of a speed (e.g., +2X) on the confirmatory status information 164 that is being presented on display screen 34 of user device 12, the remote control command information 162 may maintain that speed (e.g., +2.times.) for the media system. The fast forward mode may therefore remain at the relative speed selected by the user's chosen hold position until the user terminates the hold operation (e.g., removes their finger) or until another user input is received by user device 12 (e.g., a tap gesture to play or pause or a non-gesture input).
As for claim 14, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 13, further comprising:
adjusting, in response to a drag operation on the multi-speed progress bar, the playback multi-speed of the multimedia resource to a playback multi-speed corresponding to a second multi-speed progress based on the second multi-speed progress determined by the drag operation (par. 99 As shown in FIG. 10, a swipe gesture may be formed from a combination of a tap at tap point 101 and an associated swipe motion such as the swipe motion indicated by arrowed line 102. For example, a user may start by placing their finger at tap point 101 and then drag their finger in a swipe motion 102 across the touch screen display 34.).
As for claim 15, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 8, wherein the multi-speed adjust operation is a swipe operation to a third direction or a swipe operation to a fourth direction, wherein the swipe operation to the third direction and the swipe operation to the fourth direction correspond to different adjust directions of the playback multi-speed (par. 159-161 multiple swipe directions denote different gestures for different playback speeds and playback direction/orientations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hope in view of Chaudhri, Imran A. et al. (US Pub. 2017/0336960 A1), herein referred to as “Chaudhri”.
As for claim 16, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 8. Hope does not teach about vibrations/haptic feedback; however in the same field of endeavor Chaudhri teaches further comprising: performing a vibration prompt, wherein a vibration strength of the vibration prompt is positively correlated with the adjusted playback multi-speed (par. 645 A variety of content can be included in or used as the content that corresponds to the predefined combination. The content that corresponds to the predefined combination includes haptic content (1836), such as a vibration or vibration pattern. Thus, in some embodiments, the content that corresponds to the predefined combination includes animated content, audio content and/or haptic content (1838).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Chaudhri suggests in paragraph 208 Using tactile outputs to provide haptic feedback to a user enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device).
As for claim 17, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1. Hope does not teach further comprising:
exiting the multi-speed mode in response to an end of the first multi-speed set operation; however in the same field of endeavor Chaudhri teaches (par. 1174 the device detects an input terminating the interactive application (e.g., a tap on the close button; for example, a tap gesture including contact 3756 on exit affordance 3714 in FIG. 3756).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chaudhri into Hope because Chaudhri suggests in par. 1177 It should be understood that the particular order in which the operations in FIGS. 48A-48D have been described is merely exemplary and is not intended to indicate that the described order is the only order in which the operations could be performed. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize various ways to reorder the operations described herein. Additionally, it should be noted that details of other processes described herein with respect to other methods described herein (e.g., methods 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1400, 1600, 1800, 2100, 2400, 2600, 2800, 3100, 3300, 4200, 4400, 4600, 5000, 5200, 5400, 5600, 5800, 6000, 6200, 6400, 6600, 6800, and 7000) are also applicable in an analogous manner to method 700 described above with respect to FIGS. 48A-48D. For example, the contacts, gestures, user interface objects, tactile outputs, intensity thresholds, focus selectors, animations described above with reference to method 4800 optionally have one or more of the characteristics of the contacts, gestures, user interface objects, tactile outputs, intensity thresholds, focus selectors, animations described herein with reference to other methods described herein (e.g., methods 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1400, 1600, 1800, 2100, 2400, 2600, 2800, 3100, 3300, 4200, 4400, 4600, 5000, 5200, 5400, 5600, 5800, 6000, 6200, 6400, 6600, 6800, and 7000).
As for claim 18, Hope teaches. The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a close control of the multi-speed mode on the playback interface in the multi-speed mode, wherein the close control is configured to enable exiting the multi-speed mode; and exiting the multi-speed mode in response to a trigger operation on the close control; or exiting the multi-speed mode in response to a trigger operation on the playback interface (par. 140 user can terminate the gesture playback speed); however Hope does not disclose a close icon to clow out of a specific interface; in the same field of endeavor Chaudhri teaches a close button the be presented across various interfaces on the device to cancel operation (par. 1174 and 1177 close button and its uses upon any interface of the device to terminate any function currently running).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chaudhri into Hope because Chaudhri suggests It should be understood that the particular order in which the operations in FIGS. 48A-48D have been described is merely exemplary and is not intended to indicate that the described order is the only order in which the operations could be performed. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize various ways to reorder the operations described herein. Additionally, it should be noted that details of other processes described herein with respect to other methods described herein (e.g., methods 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1400, 1600, 1800, 2100, 2400, 2600, 2800, 3100, 3300, 4200, 4400, 4600, 5000, 5200, 5400, 5600, 5800, 6000, 6200, 6400, 6600, 6800, and 7000) are also applicable in an analogous manner to method 700 described above with respect to FIGS. 48A-48D. For example, the contacts, gestures, user interface objects, tactile outputs, intensity thresholds, focus selectors, animations described above with reference to method 4800 optionally have one or more of the characteristics of the contacts, gestures, user interface objects, tactile outputs, intensity thresholds, focus selectors, animations described herein with reference to other methods described herein (e.g., methods 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1400, 1600, 1800, 2100, 2400, 2600, 2800, 3100, 3300, 4200, 4400, 4600, 5000, 5200, 5400, 5600, 5800, 6000, 6200, 6400, 6600, 6800, and 7000).
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONTROLS BASED ON CONCURRENT GESTURES
Document ID
US 20150058729 A1
Date Published
2015-02-26
Abstract
In an embodiment, a number of parallel gestures are detected, in a particular area on a touch screen interface of a device. A command is identified based at least on the parallel gestures and an action associated with the command is performed.
MEDIA PLAYBACK NAVIGATION
Document ID
US 20160299648 A1
Date Published
2016-10-13
Abstract
Methods and devices are provided. A method includes at an electronic device with one or more processors, a display, and memory, displaying, by the display, a playback position indicator for a media file; receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for adjusting a position of the playback position indicator from a first position of the media file to a second position of the media file; and in response to receiving the user input, displaying, by the display, a snippet from a document corresponding to content of the media file at the second position of the media file.
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 February 12, 2026