CTNF 18/593,082 CTNF 81623 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7, 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hioki (WO 2021182338) in view of Arai et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0314194) Regarding claim 1, an ink jet treatment liquid composition for pigment textile printing (Paragraphs 0001-0002, 0014) comprising: A particle containing organopolysiloxane (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116) A water-soluble organic solvent (Paragraph 0041) Water, wherein: a content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 7% by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116) Arai discloses it is known in the art to use a water-soluble organic solvent in pre-treatment liquid or ink jet ink wherein tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether is a preferable water-soluble organic solvent (Abstract; Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0083). The filed specification discloses tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether is a known water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less [Paragraph 0042 of Specification filed 3/1/2024], therefore the claim limitation is met. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Loccufier into the treatment liquid composition of Hioki, for the purpose of viscosity regulation and moisture retention (Paragraph 0050) Regarding claim 2, wherein the organopolysiloxane is an oily compound (Paragraphs 0012, 0037, 0096, 0116) Regarding claim 3, a content of a coloring material is 0.1% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Example A-1) Regarding claim 4, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 90% by mass or more with respect to a total solid content in the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Example A-1) Regarding claim 5, wherein the organopolysiloxane is a nonionic silicone (Paragraphs 0012, 0037: dimethyl polysiloxane) Regarding claim 6, the organopolysiloxane is one or more selected from dimethyl silicone, methyl phenyl silicone, and methyl hydrogen silicone (Paragraphs 0012, 0037: dimethyl polysiloxane) Regarding claim 9, a water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more in an amount of 15% by mass or more and 40% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Example A-1; Paragraph 00116) Regarding claim 10, an SP value lower limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 9 or more (ethanol [11.8]; Paragraph 0041) Regarding claim 11, an SP value upper limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more is 17 or less (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Example A-1; Paragraph 00116) Regarding claim 12, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 17% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116) Regarding claim 15, an ink jet textile printing recording method comprising: an ink attachment step of attaching an ink jet ink composition containing a pigment and water to a fabric by an ink jet method (Paragraphs 0002-0011); a treatment liquid attachment step of attaching the treatment liquid composition according to claim 1 (refer to claim 1 above) Regarding claim 16, an attachment amount of the treatment liquid composition is 10 g/m² or more and 55 g/m² or less (Paragraph 0154) Regarding claim 17, a drying step is not provided between eh ink attachment step and the treatment liquid attachment step (Paragraph 0154) Regarding claim 7, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of using water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed Regarding claim 13, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed Regarding claim 14, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON S UHLENHAKE whose telephone number is (571)272-5916. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas X. Rodriguez can be reached at (571) 431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 May 27, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/593,082 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853