DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hioki (WO 2021182338) in view of Arai et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0314194) and Kuboyama (U.S. Pat. 6,104,422)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet treatment liquid composition for pigment textile printing (Paragraphs 0001-0002, 0014) comprising:
A particle containing organopolysiloxane (unmodified and modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7; Paragraphs 0040, 0096-0098)
A water-soluble organic solvent (Paragraph 0041)
Water, wherein: a content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 7% by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1, A-6, A-7; Paragraphs 0096-0098, 0116)
Arai discloses it is known in the art to use a water-soluble organic solvent in pre-treatment liquid or ink jet ink wherein tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether is a preferable water-soluble organic solvent (Abstract; Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0083). The filed specification discloses tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether is a known water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less [Paragraph 0042 of Specification filed 3/1/2024], therefore the claim limitation is met.
Hioki discloses using silicone oils for example unmodified silicone oils (Paragraphs 0040, 0097-0098), wherein it is known Methyl hydrogen silicone is a straight (unmodified) silicone fluid
Further, Kuboyama discloses specific examples of unmodified silicone oil include methyl hydrogen silicone oil (Column 10, Lines 7-10)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Arai and Kuboyama into the treatment liquid composition of Hioki, for the purpose of viscosity regulation and moisture retention (Arai: Paragraph 0050) and improving the stability of the recorded image (Kuboyama: Column 4, Lines 8-15)
Regarding claim 2, wherein the organopolysiloxane is an oily compound (Paragraphs 0012, 0037, 0040, 0096-0098, 0116)
Regarding claim 3, a content of a coloring material is 0.1% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7)
Regarding claim 4, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 90% by mass or more with respect to a total solid content in the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7)
Regarding claim 5, wherein the organopolysiloxane is a nonionic silicone (Paragraphs 0012, 0037, 0040, 0096-0098)
Regarding claim 9, a water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more in an amount of 15% by mass or more and 40% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7; Paragraph 00116)
Regarding claim 10, an SP value lower limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 9 or more (ethanol [11.8]; Paragraph 0041)
Regarding claim 11, an SP value upper limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more is 17 or less (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7; Paragraph 00116)
Regarding claim 12, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 17% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Examples A-1, A-6, A-7; Paragraphs 0040, 0096-0098, 0116)
Regarding claim 15, an ink jet textile printing recording method comprising: an ink attachment step of attaching an ink jet ink composition containing a pigment and water to a fabric by an ink jet method (Paragraphs 0002-0011); a treatment liquid attachment step of attaching the treatment liquid composition according to claim 1 (refer to claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 16, an attachment amount of the treatment liquid composition is 10 g/m² or more and 55 g/m² or less (Paragraph 0154)
Regarding claim 17, a drying step is not provided between eh ink attachment step and the treatment liquid attachment step (Paragraph 0154)
Regarding claim 7, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of using water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Regarding claim 13, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Regarding claim 14, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 October 7, 2026