DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hioki (WO 2021182338) in view of Loccufier et al (U.S. Pub. 2021/0139733)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet treatment liquid composition for pigment textile printing (Paragraphs 0001-0002, 0014) comprising:
A particle containing organopolysiloxane (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116)
A water-soluble organic solvent (Paragraph 0041)
Water, wherein: a content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 7% by mass or more with respect to a total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116)
Loccufier discloses it is known in the art to use a water-soluble organic solvent in pre-treatment liquid or ink jet ink wherein 1,2-hexanediol is a preferable water-soluble organic solvent (Abstract; Paragraph 0070). The filed specification discloses 1,2-hexanediol is a known water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less [Paragraph 0042 of Specification filed 3/1/2024], therefore the claim limitation is met.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Loccufier into the treatment liquid composition of Hioki, for the purpose of omproving the dissolution of a compound in the pre-treatment liquid (Paragraph 0070)
Regarding claim 2, wherein the organopolysiloxane is an oily compound (Paragraphs 0012, 0037, 0096, 0116)
Regarding claim 3, a content of a coloring material is 0.1% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Example A-1)
Regarding claim 4, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 90% by mass or more with respect to a total solid content in the treatment liquid composition (Paragraph 0116; Example A-1)
Regarding claim 5, wherein the organopolysiloxane is a nonionic silicone (Paragraphs 0012, 0037: dimethyl polysiloxane)
Regarding claim 6, the organopolysiloxane is one or more selected from dimethyl silicone, methyl phenyl silicone, and methyl hydrogen silicone (Paragraphs 0012, 0037: dimethyl polysiloxane)
Regarding claim 8, the water-soluble organic solvent (Paragraph 0041)
Loccufier discloses it is known in the art to use a water-soluble organic solvent in pre-treatment liquid or ink jet ink wherein 1,2-hexanediol is a preferable water-soluble organic solvent (Abstract; Paragraph 0070). The filed specification discloses 1,2-hexanediol is a known water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less [Paragraph 0042 of Specification filed 3/1/2024], therefore the claim limitation is met.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Loccufier into the treatment liquid composition of Hioki, for the purpose of omproving the dissolution of a compound in the pre-treatment liquid (Paragraph 0070)
Regarding claim 9, a water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more in an amount of 15% by mass or more and 40% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Example A-1; Paragraph 00116)
Regarding claim 10, an SP value lower limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 9 or more (ethanol [11.8]; Paragraph 0041)
Regarding claim 11, an SP value upper limit of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more is 17 or less (propylene glycol [SP=14.2]; Example A-1; Paragraph 00116)
Regarding claim 12, the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 17% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition (ammino modified silicone oils; Paragraphs 0012; Table 1; Example A-1; Paragraphs 0096, 0116)
Regarding claim 15, an ink jet textile printing recording method comprising: an ink attachment step of attaching an ink jet ink composition containing a pigment and water to a fabric by an ink jet method (Paragraphs 0002-0011); a treatment liquid attachment step of attaching the treatment liquid composition according to claim 1 (refer to claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 16, an attachment amount of the treatment liquid composition is 10 g/m² or more and 55 g/m² or less (Paragraph 0154)
Regarding claim 17, a drying step is not provided between eh ink attachment step and the treatment liquid attachment step (Paragraph 0154)
Regarding claim 7, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to using water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of using water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less is 0.1% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less with respect to the total amount of the treatment liquid composition, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Regarding claim 13, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill int eh art at the time the invention was made to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 12.5 or less to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 0.04 or more and 0.27 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Regarding claim 14, Hioki discloses the claimed invention except for a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of to using a mass ratio of a content of the water-soluble organic solvent having an SP value of 13 or more to the content of the particle containing the organopolysiloxane is 1 or more and 2 or less, for the purpose of improving the frictional fastness of the textile print object on which the image is formed
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 February 5, 2026