DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jacob et al [US 2017/0188679] in view of Parkinson et al [US 2006/0238347]
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A carrying device (the baggage 100, see Figs. 1, 15, abstract, comprising: a camera (the camera/image, video, see Fig. 5C, para [0082, 0087]);
one or more sensors (the various sensors such as a motion sensor, proximity sensor, temperature sensor, weight sensor, accelerometer and gyroscope, see Figs. 1, 5, para [0038, 0054, 0056, 0075, 0082, 0100-0103, 0119, 0144]);
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (reads upon the SD card port connected to another the computer device, see Fig. 5C, para [0087]),
and
a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution
by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access sensor data associated with
the one or more sensors and camera data associated with the camera (the luggage computer device is a microprocessor or processors 1503 may execute instructions of a luggage control program to perform various functions including locked/unlocked, camera/image, video, sensors, lights, display and speaker then to communicate data information with another computing device, (see Figs. 5C, 15, para [0082, 0087, 0118-0121]). But
Jacob et al fails to disclose configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions. However,
Jacob et al teaches that the luggage 100 in which the kickstand 115 may be retracted into the body of the luggage 100 or may flip back to a closed/in position (in which it lays flat against the bottom portion 108 of the luggage 100) when the luggage is tilted at an angle a that is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold angle. For example, the kickstand 115 may start out in an open/out position when the luggage is in the upright position. Then, when a user tilts the luggage 100 to roll the luggage 100 on its wheels 114, the kickstand 115 may move to the closed/in position once the luggage is tilted so that it is at an angle a that is less than the predetermined threshold angle. In some embodiments, the predetermined threshold angle may be approximately 80 degrees. In such embodiments, if the luggage 100 is tilted to have an angle a of 80 degrees or less, the kickstand 115 may automatically move to the closed/in position. The angle at which the luggage 100 is tilted may be determined by a computing device 1500 is a microprocessor or any other processor for reading and writing data and executing instructions (e.g., computer-executable instructions or computer programs). within the luggage based on measurements taken from a gyroscope, accelerometer, or other device within the luggage 100. In some embodiments, the determination to retract the kickstand 115 may be based on movement of the luggage. For example, if an accelerometer in the luggage indicates that the luggage is being moved (e.g., acceleration exceeds a predetermined threshold), then a computing device within the luggage 100 may control the kickstand to be retracted (see Figs. 3, 15, para [0062, 0118-0121]).
The luggage management servers 1660 may be configured to store or provide various information. For example, the luggage management servers 1660 may store or provide user customizable settings for customizing interfaces displayed on the mobile device 1650 or luggage 100, tracking information for tracking the luggage 100, user information (e.g., contact information, such as a user email address or telephone number) regarding the user 1651 of the mobile device 1650 or luggage 100, and luggage identification information (e.g., a serial number associated with a particular piece of luggage 100). In some embodiments, the luggage management servers 1660 may store biometric information or other identification information (e.g., a PIN, password, voice recognition data, etc.) of the user 1651 so that this information may be protected in case a person steals the luggage 100. In some embodiments, where sensitive information (e.g., biometric information) is stored locally on the luggage 100, the luggage 100 may be configured to wipe such sensitive information from local memory of the luggage 100 in the event that luggage 100 is stolen or misplaced (see Fig. 16, para [0129]).
Parkinson et al suggests that the person-portable object tracking system that achieves the identified exemplary objectives and many others as well, by providing a person-portable object tracking system wherein a location of a transportable tracked person-portable object, such as a security tracking bag or die cut money pack, is identified by a tracking means or location identifier powered by a portable power source and transmitted to a central processor by a communication means being a long haul communicator such as a cellular band device, a paging band device or similar wireless tracking device (see abstract, para [0024]).
As has been described, certain event detectors may be susceptible to giving an event indication under conditions where an event indication is unwanted, a false positive result. Moreover, it is desirable to provide an adaptability of the event detector to variable conditions so that the events that result in positive indications are selectively implemented. Thus, it is desirable to provide an event detector to a person-portable object tracking system with reduced false positive indications. This can be accomplished by combining two or more event detectors using programmable or pre-programmed logic. The logic can be implemented using a micro controller. Thus, there is a need for an person-portable object tracking system having plural event detectors connected by logic, for example AND logic. Similarly, there is a need for an person-portable object tracking system having plural event detectors connected to a micro controller using logic to process output signals from the event detectors (see para [0021]).
Wherein said event comprises at least one of: impact above a predetermined threshold, exposure of a predetermined position to light, opening an enclosure, motion, cutting, lifting a handle, and proximity beyond a predetermined distance from a predetermined location. (See claim 3),
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and/or implement the using programmable or pre-programmed logic to the two or more event detectors such as impact above a predetermined threshold, exposure of a predetermined position to light, opening an enclosure, motion, cutting, lifting a handle, and proximity beyond a predetermined distance from a predetermined location of Perkinson et al to the luggage computer device or servers being programmed or set and stored of biometric, fingerprint, iris, voice of a user/owner, and/or a predetermined angle and weight threshold of Jacob et al for executing to comparing and determining based on the store of biometric, fingerprint, iris, voice of an owner or user, and the movement of the luggage or opening/closing of the luggage to activate an alarm to notify a user or owner for retrieving his/her luggage.
Jacob et al also fails to disclose transmit to a web-based platform the sensor data and camera data, and receive a command from the web-based platform. However,
Jacob et al teaches that the luggage data might still be transferred between the computing device (e.g., microcontroller or microprocessor) within the luggage 100 and another computing device 1540, 1650, 1680, 1685 and 1670 via a wireless communication protocol (e.g., WiFi, IEEE 802.11, IEEE 802.15, Bluetooth, etc. (see Figs. 5C, 15, 16, para [0087]).
As shown in FIG. 2, the environment 1600 may include a network 1601 configured to connect various computing devices, including the luggage 100, a mobile device 1650 (e.g., smartphone, tablet, PDA, etc.) of a user 1651, one or more luggage management servers 1660, and one or more third party servers 1670. Collectively, these computing devices may form a luggage management system. The network 1601 may be any type of network, like the network 1530 described above, and use one or more communication protocols (e.g., protocols for the Internet (IP), Bluetooth, cellular communications, satellite communications, etc.) to connect computing devices and servers within the environment 1600 so they may send and receive communications between each other (see Figs. 1, 2, 15, 16, para [0126-0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the luggage management server is functionally as a web-based platform for communicating data information received from the sensors to another computer device.
Claim 2. (Previously Presented) A carrying device with a built-in security system (the luggage 100 is top portion 107 being integral with the shell/body during molding process of the shell/body 101. The top portion 107 includes a computer, microcontroller, LED screen, images, video, GPS and proximity sensors at the top handle 103, weight sensors at the bottom wheels 114, see abstract, Figs. 1A, 4, 5A, 5C, 15, 16, para [0054, 0056, 0068, 0075]), comprising:
a carry bag having an open and closed position and an outer surface and an internal cavity (the luggage 100 having locked/closed and unlocked/opened positions and compartments, see Figs. 1, 4, 10, 12, 13, para [0012, 0033, 0036, 0051, 0059]);
wherein said internal cavity has an inner surface (the luggage compartments 1201, 1202, 1300 for storing items or things, see Figs. 12, 13, para [0108-0113]);
a security unit comprising: a camera with a light sensor; a GPS tracker (the camera/image, video and GPS, see Figs. 1, 5C, 15, 16, para [0082, 0087]);
a microcontroller (the luggage data might still be transferred between the computing device (e.g., microcontroller or microprocessor) within the luggage 100 and another computing device, see Fig. 5C, 15, para [0087]);
a transponder for sending and accepting digital data (the Bluetooth transceiver or
transponder, NFC, RFID for wirelessly communicating luggage data information, see Figs. 1, 5C, 15, para [0011, 0074, 0085, 0087]);
wherein the microcontroller, the camera the GPS tracker, and the transponder are
electrically connected (as cited above, see Figs. 15, 16);
wherein the security unit is housed within a single integral unit (the luggage security’s computer device, microcontroller and sensors are fixed or integral to the compartment 405, see Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 13, 15, para [0038, 0075, 0078, 0079, 0111]); and
wherein the security unit is built-in and embedded in the outer surface or the inner
surface of the carry bag (the luggage security’s computer device, microcontroller and sensors are fixed or integral to the compartment 405 in the molded top portion 107, see Figs. Figs. 1, 4, 13, 15, para [0038, 0075, 0078, 0079, 0111]).
Claim 3. (Currently Amended) A method of detecting environmental conditions surrounding a carrying device, the method comprising: detecting, via a microcontroller mechanically coupled to the carrying device, a change in environmental conditions that satisfies a predetermined sensor condition (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al cited in respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and including the environment such as temperature and pressure surrounding the luggage 100, see Figs. 1A, 5A, 5C, para [0082, 0119]);
collecting environmental conditions data via a security unit coupled to an outer surface
of the carrying device (the environmental conditions data such as pressure, temperature data and weather information, see para [0012, 0119, 0134]), the security unit comprising:
a motion sensor (the gyroscope, accelerometer, GPS or other device within the luggage 100 detect the tilted angle and/or moving distance of the luggage 100, see Figs. 3, 5C, 23, para [0062, 0085, 0180]); and
a gyroscope (the gyroscope, accelerometer, or other device within the luggage 100, see Figs. 1, 3, para [0062, 0119]);
transmitting collected environmental conditions data to a transponder; sending
information, based at least in part on the collected environmental conditions data, from
the transponder to a remote control; and receiving instructions data from the remote
control, said instructions data directing the operation of the sensor housing (as cited in
respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 15, 16).
Claim 5. (Currently Amended) A carrying device, comprising: a camera; one or more sensors; a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al in respect to claim 1 above); and a processor, the computer-executable instructions configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: activate the camera based at least in part on a first command from a user device; access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a second command from a user device (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al, and wherein the one or more commands and instructions from the executing of luggage computing device 1500 and the remote user computing device 1540 to activating and operating the camera/image, video and other sensors of the luggage 100 and setting different distances, see Figs. 1A, 5C, 15, 16, para [0018, 0082, 0087, 0120-0124, 0180]);
access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors; determine satisfaction of
the preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on the accessed sensor
data; and based at least in part on the determination, generate and transmit to the user
device an indication that the preprogrammed sensor condition has been satisfied (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al, and wherein the computing device may receive information from the proximity sensor indicating that the lid is moved to the closed position. Also, the luggage may include a display device configured to output a screen generated by the computing device. The computing device may also be configured to control the display device to display a notification, e.g., message, blinking lights, etc. The notification may indicate that the lid is locked after controlling a locking mechanism to lock the lid in the closed position. The global positioning system transceiver configured to receive and transmit satellite communications for determining a location of the luggage; a weight sensor configured to determine a weight of the luggage including any items within the compartment; and a light configured to turn on when the lid is opened. (See para [0010, 0012, 0013, 0075, 0134, 0136]). And the blinking lights notification and the display the options/data indicates of satisfied of the luggage’s location, opening and/or closing conditions).
Claim 6. (Currently Amended) A carrying device, comprising: a speaker (the speaker 1517, see Fig. 15, para [0120]); one or more sensors; a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al in respect to claim 1 above); and a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a command from a user device; access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors; determine satisfaction of the preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on the accessed sensor data; based at least in part on the determination, generate and transmit to the user device an indication that the preprogrammed sensor condition has been satisfied (as discussed in respect to claims 1 and 5 above); and activate the speaker to play a sound (the loudspeaker, see para [0086]).
Claim 7. (Currently Amended) A carrying device, comprising: a camera; one or more sensors; a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions (as the combination between Jacob et al and Parkinson et al in respect to claim 1 above); and a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a command from a user device, access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors, determine satisfaction of the preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on the accessed sensor data, and based at least in part on the determination, activate the camera (as discussed in respect to claims 1 and 5 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob et al [US 2017/0188679] and Parkinson et al [US 2006/0238347] and further in view of Rayner [US 2014/0002239]
Claim 4. (Previous presented) A method of notifying a user if a carrying device has moved, the method comprising: detecting, via a GPS coupled to the carrying device, movement from a first position to a second position (read upon the distances may be determined from the GPS coordinates of the luggage 100 and GPS coordinates of the mobile device 1650 of the user, it may be assumed that the GPS coordinates of the mobile device 1650 represent the location of the user, such as when the distance position moves outside of 20 feet or within 30 feet of the luggage 100 by the luggage device 100 or by the user’s mobile device, see Fig. 23, para [0180]);
transmitting the movement data to a security unit coupled to the carrying device, said security unit comprising a transponder; sending the movement data, via the transponder, to a remote control; receiving, via the remote control, instruction data from the remote controller; activating, based at least in part on the instruction data, one or more devices within a security unit coupled to an exterior surface of the bag, the security unit comprising: a camera (as cited and the luggage data might still be transferred between the computing device (e.g., microcontroller or microprocessor) within the luggage 100 and another luggage and another computing device in respect to claims 1 and 2 above). But
Jacob et al fails to disclose recording movement data comprising the first position and the second position; determining, via a microprocessor, if the movement data satisfies a predetermined condition. However,
Jacob et al teaches that referring to FIG. 23, the interface may include an option that allows a user to edit a profile. Each user of the luggage 100 may have their own profile. Different embodiments may have different settings that may be customized within a profile. An example of a setting may include a setting for notifying the user of a distance that the user is from the luggage 100. In some embodiments, when the user moves within 30 feet of the luggage 100, an alarm may be sounded (e.g., by the user's mobile device or luggage 100). This may help users locate their luggage, for example, in a baggage claim area. In some embodiments, when the user moves outside of 20 feet of the luggage, an alarm may be sounded, e.g., by the user's mobile device or luggage 100. (see para [0180]).
Rayner suggests that the determining the geolocation of the location and status monitoring device may be aided with the addition of a magnetic compass or magnetometer that detects changes in direction of the monitoring device, which components may be part of the controller and/or status monitoring device, e.g., the tag, lock, and/or luggage. Determining the location of the location/status monitoring device may be accomplished using the location/status device itself, which can house a power source, such as a battery, and a circuit board with a processor. Alternatively, the device may transmit the location data to the controlling device, and the controlling device can analyze the location data to determine the location of the location/status monitoring device. In another implementation, the location data collected by the monitoring device may be stored on the device, and then accessed at a later time for analysis to determine locations of the monitoring device over time. Preferably, the monitoring and/or status, and/or controlling device can determine and/or store the date and time and/or condition of the device when location data is collected. (See Figs. 3, 4, 7, para [0046, 0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or implement the monitor control device can determine and store the date and time and/or condition of the device when location data is collected of Rayner to the luggage computing device with assigned distances between the luggage and a user of the luggage of Jacob et al and Parkinson et al for easily and quickly identifying and finding of the moving location position of the luggage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) The combination of references does not teach or suggest "a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions" as recited in amended independent claim 1.
(B) The combination of references does not teach or suggest a security unit having a camera embedded within one of the bag's surfaces as recited in independent claim 2.
(C) The combination of references does not teach or suggest detecting a change in
environmental conditions via a microcontroller mechanically coupled to a carrying device as recited in independent claim 3.
(D) The combination of references does not teach or suggest receiving instructions data from a remote control as recited in independent claim 4.
(E) There are a number of features recited in claim 5 that are missing from the combination of Jacob and Brandes. For example, the combination of references does not teach or suggest "a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions" as recited in amended independent claim 5.
(F) Neither teaches any sort of computer-readable medium that stores both (1) computer-executable instructions and (2) preprogrammed sensor conditions.
(G) the combination of Jacob and Brandes. The combination of references does not teach or suggest "a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions" as recited in amended independent claim 6.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to modify and/or implement the using programmable or pre-programmed logic to the two or more event detectors such as impact above a predetermined threshold, exposure of a predetermined position to light, opening an enclosure, motion, cutting, lifting a handle, and proximity beyond a predetermined distance from a predetermined location of Perkinson et al to the luggage computer device or servers being programmed or set and stored of biometric, fingerprint, iris, voice of a user/owner, and/or a predetermined angle and weight threshold of Jacob et al for executing to comparing and determining based on the store of biometric, fingerprint, iris, voice of an owner or user, and the movement of the luggage or opening/closing of the luggage to activate an alarm to notify a user or owner for retrieving his/her luggage.
(B) Jacob et al teaches that the luggage 100 is top portion 107 being integral with the shell/body during molding process of the shell/body 101. The top portion 107 includes a computer, microcontroller, LED screen, images, video, GPS and proximity sensors at the top handle 103, weight sensors at the bottom wheels 114, see abstract, Figs. 1A, 4, 5A, 5C, 15, 16, para [0054, 0056, 0068, 0075]). Thus, the computing device, sensors and other electronics are fixed or embedded within the top portion 107 and the weight sensor is embedded inside the wheel 114, see Figs. 2-4.
(C) As in sections (A) and (B) above, and Jacob et al teaches the environment conditions data such as pressure, temperature data and weather information, see para [0012, 0119, 0134]).
(D) Jacob et al teaches that the remote mobile phone, computer, laptop 1540 provides instructions and commands to the luggage 1500 such as of the computing device 1500, see Figs. 15, 16, para [0121, 0122, 0138, 0139]).
(E) It is obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the SD card port connected to another the computer device read as a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
(F) As indicated in section (A) and in claim 1 above.
(G) As indicated in section (A) and in claims 1 and 6 above.
Conclusion
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
07/08/2026