DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-7 are directed to “a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions …, and a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor …”
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judiciary exception because the generally cited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they would be routine in any computer implementation.
Please also note that much of the language following certain terms, such as “for remedying”, “for preventing”, “for implementing”, “to determine”, or “to perform”, would be interpreted as intended use. Additionally, the term “computer-readable medium” is normally preferred to be listed as a “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, so that it would clearly be identified as a tangible device or tangible computer or tangible processor.
The Specification filed on 03/01/2024 does not clearly disclose of a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instruction, a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor, and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandes et al [US 2015/0029026] in view of Jacob et al [US 2017/0188679]
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A carrying device (the baggage, see Figs. 1, 3, para [0031, 0076], comprising: a camera (the camera/image sensor, see para [0033, 0087, 0088]);
one or more sensors (see Figs. 1, 3, para [0033, 0078]);
a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions (the security device 200 in a baggage includes a processor 220 with software module and computer program and instructions to determine detected or sensed change in the status, see Figs. 1-3, para [0006-0023, 0048, 0060, 0081]); and
a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors and camera data associated with the camera (the security processor 220 couple and receives data information from the camera and/or one or more sensors 210 and including camera/image sensor, see Figs. 1-3, para [0008, 0017, 0023, 0036, 0043, 0051, 0081, 0082]). But
Brandes et al fails to disclose transmit to a web-based platform the sensor data and camera data, and receive a command from the web-based platform.
However, Brandes et al teaches that the communication unit transmits and receives data information and instructions/commands to and from the remote mobile smartphone or a supervision unit using cellular, Internet, and/or WLAN, see abstract, Figs. 2, 3, para [0006, 0008, 0014, 0060, 0083-0087]).
Jacob et al suggests that the luggage 100 may be used. As shown in FIG. 2, the environment 1600 may include a network 1601 configured to connect various computing devices, including the luggage 100, a mobile device 1650 (e.g., smartphone, tablet, PDA, etc.) of a user 1651, one or more luggage management servers 1660, and one or more third party servers 1670. Collectively, these computing devices may form a luggage management system. The network 1601 may be any type of network, like the network 1530 described above, and use one or more communication protocols (e.g., protocols for the Internet (IP), Bluetooth, cellular communications, satellite communications, etc.) to connect computing devices and servers within the environment 1600 so they may send and receive communications between each other (see Figs. 1, 2, 15, 16, para [0126-0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use or substitute the luggage management server of Jacob et al for the communication unit using cellular, Internet, and/or WLAN of Brandes et al for extending uses and applications on the Internet network and/or world wide web servers.
Claim 2. (New) A carrying device with a built-in security system (see abstract, Figs. 1, 3), comprising: a carry bag having an open and closed position and an outer surface and an internal cavity (the baggage item detects opening or when the item is opened, see para [0012, 0033, 0036, 0051]);
wherein said internal cavity has an inner surface (the baggage item has internal cavity for storing things, see para [0033, 0079]);
a security unit comprising: a camera with a light sensor; a GPS tracker (see para [0011, 0037]);
Brandes et al fails to disclose a microcontroller.
However, Brandes et al teaches that the processor 220 like DSP may operate according to a program loaded to the processor. Said program may be stored in memory 250, which may comprise any storage unit like a hard disk, optical storage like CD-ROM or DVD, or preferably semiconductor memory like RAM, ROM, Flash memory or the like., see para [0081, 0091]).
Jacob et al suggests that the luggage 100 is attached with a computing device 1500 including a microcontroller 1501 may control an iris scanner to perform iris scanning to authenticate a user of the luggage 100. As another example, the microcontroller 1501 may control one or more locks to lock or unlock the upper and lower lids 401 and 402. The microcontroller 1501 may be implemented with one or more processors and one or more storage units (e.g., databases, RAM, ROM, and other computer-readable media), one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), and/or other hardware components. Throughout this disclosure, the microcontroller 1501 may refer to the hardware and/or software used to implement a disclosed functionality., see Figs. 1, 15, para [0117, 0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the computer microcontroller of Jacob et al for the DSP processor of Brandes et al since both the microcontroller include one or more processors, ASIC circuits, storage RAM, ROM memories and program executive to carrying out operation functions.
a transponder for sending and accepting digital data (the Bluetooth transceiver or transponder, see Fig. 3, para [0003, 0014, 0038, 0083]);
wherein the microcontroller, the camera the GPS tracker, and the transponder are
electrically connected (see Fig. 3);
wherein the security unit is housed within a single integral unit (reads upon the security unit 200, see Fig. 3, para [0077, 0081]); and
wherein the security unit is built-in and embedded in the outer surface or the inner
surface of the carry bag (the security device 200 may be built in a baggage item like a bag, suitcase, or wallet, see para [0089]).
Claim 3. (New) A method of detecting environmental conditions surrounding a carrying
device, the method comprising: detecting, via a microcontroller coupled to the carrying device, a change in environmental conditions that satisfies a predetermined sensor condition (as the combination of the microcontroller between Brandes et al and Jacob et al in respect to claims 1 and 2 above);
collecting environmental conditions data via a security unit coupled to an outer surface
of the carrying device (the environmental conditions data such as air pressure, humidity and temperature data, see para [0012, 0033]), the security unit comprising:
a motion sensor (the motion detection sensor and vibration sensor, see para [0011, 0033, 0035]); and
transmitting collected environmental conditions data to a transponder; sending information, based at least in part on the collected environmental conditions data, from the transponder to a remote control; and receiving instructions data from the remote control, said instructions data directing the operation of the sensor housing (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Fig. 3). But
Brandes et al fails to disclose a gyroscope.
However, Brandes et al teaches that the wide variety of sensors is conceivable for monitoring, for example acceleration sensor(s), image sensor(s), position determination sensor(s), motion detection sensor(s) like e.g. an infrared sensor, distance sensor(s) like e.g. ultrasound sensor(s), and a power plug sensor. Of course any type of sensor that can be useful for status monitoring is conceivable, like for example vibration sensor(s), light sensor(s), air pressure sensor(s), tension sensor(s), humidity sensor(s), temperature sensor(s) etc. One further example is a sensor that detects opening or removal or tilting of a luggage item like a cover, zipper, clasp or lock or the like, for example in form of a standby current sensor, wherein an electric circuit is interrupted when the item is opened or removed. Therein, any single sensor or any combination of sensors may be used (see para [0033, 0035]).
Jacob et al suggests that the angle at which the luggage 100 is tilted may be determined by a computing device within the luggage based on measurements taken from a gyroscope, accelerometer, or other device within the luggage 100. In some embodiments, the determination to retract the kickstand 115 may be based on movement of the luggage. For example, if an accelerometer in the luggage indicates that the luggage is being moved (e.g., acceleration exceeds a predetermined threshold), then a computing device within the luggage 100 may control the kickstand to be retracted (see Fig. 3, para [0062, 0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the gyroscope sensor of Jacob et al for the accelerate sensor of Brandes et al since both the accelerator and gyroscope sensors detect of motion, movement and tilting of the luggage or suitcase.
Claim 4. (New) A method of notifying a user if a carrying device has moved, the method
comprising: detecting, via a GPS coupled to the carrying device, movement from a first position to a second position (the position determination sensors for detecting movement of the luggage leaves a certain predefined geographical area and record a tracking of its position, see para [0011, 0033, 0037, 0048]); recording movement data comprising the first position and the second position; determining, via a microprocessor, if the movement data satisfies a predetermined condition; transmitting the movement data to a security unit coupled to the carrying device, said security unit comprising a transponder; sending the movement data, via the transponder, to a remote control; receiving, via the remote control, instruction data from the remote controller; activating, based at least in part on the instruction data, one or more devices within a security unit coupled to an exterior surface of the bag, the security unit comprising: a camera (as cited and the combination of the microcontroller or microprocessor between Brandes et al and Jacob et al in respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and including a speaker (see para 0086]).
Claim 5. (New) A carrying device, comprising: a camera; one or more sensors;
a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions
and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions; and a processor, the computer-executable instructions configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: activate the camera based at least in part on a first command from a
user device; access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a
second command from a user device (read upon the receiving instructions transmitted by the supervision unit in response to the notification. Said instructions may comprise instructions to ignore the detected status change or instructions to raise an alarm, and/or instructions to change a mode of the security device “as a second command”. Based on the instructions, the security device may perform further actions, for example raising an alarm, e.g. by emitting a loud sound, flashing lights or the like, which may alert persons in the vicinity and cause an unauthorized intruder to release or leave the supervised baggage item. These actions may also include gathering further information that may be transmitted to the supervision unit, for example taking a photo, or a video and/or audio recording of the surroundings of the supervised baggage item, or record a tracking of its position (see para [0008, 0016, 0048, 0055, 0058, 0069, 0072]);
access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors; determine satisfaction of the preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on the accessed sensor data; and based at least in part on the determination, generate and transmit to
the user device an indication that the preprogrammed sensor condition has been satisfied (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1-3).
Claim 6. (New) A carrying device, comprising: a speaker (see para [0086]); one or more sensors; a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions; and a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a command from a user device; access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors; determine satisfaction of the preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on the accessed sensor data; based at least in part on the determination, generate and transmit to the user device an indication that the preprogrammed sensor condition has been satisfied (as cited in respect to claim 1 above); and activate the speaker to play a sound (the loudspeaker, see para [0086]).
Claim 7. (New) A carrying device, comprising: a camera; one or more sensors;
a computer-readable medium configured to store computer-executable instructions
and a plurality of preprogrammed sensor conditions; and a processor, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for execution by the processor to cause the carrying device to: access a preprogrammed sensor condition based at least in part on a command from a user device, access sensor data associated with the one or more sensors, determine satisfaction of the preprogrammed sensor condition based
at least in part on the accessed sensor data, and based at least in part on the determination, activate the camera (as cited in respect to claim 1 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 12/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under Brandes et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jacob et al to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
Brandes does not teach or suggest wherein a processor may be configured to access sensor data and camera data, transmit to a web-based platform, the sensor data and camera data, and receive a command from the web-based platform similar to what is recited in amended independent Claim 1.
Response to the arguments:
Brandes teaching of the camera or image sensors as cited in respect to claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to one skill in the art to combine the luggage management server of Jacob et al with the communication unit using cellular, Internet, and/or WLAN of Brandes et al for extending uses and applications on the Internet network and/or world wide web servers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
01/20/2026