DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaga et al. (WO 2011136009 A1; using Clarivate Analytics machine translation for English language citations).
Regarding claims 1-2, Kaga teaches inkjet inks, which are active energy ray-curable (pg3; pg12), comprising a polymerizable compound (instant radiation-curable component), a photopolymerization initiator, a gelling agent (abstract; pg3), and further optional basic compounds (pg8), pigments or dyes, and other synergists, additives, etc. (pg9). Kaga teaches the ink is irradiated with an active energy ray irradiation step (pg3; pg12) wherein the active energy ray includes ultraviolet rays, etc. (pg12).
Kaga teaches the gelling agent is preferably a fatty acid ester (instant gelling agent; instant fatty acid ester), wherein preferred fatty acid esters include pentaerythritol stearate (pg7)(instant claim 2) and teaches gelling agent may be used in a mixture of two or more, wherein further gelling agents include a dibenzylidene sorbitol (pg7).
Alternatively, Kaga teaches that two or more gelling agents may be used in combination wherein dibenzylidene sorbitol and fatty acid esters are described as suitable gelling agents and fatty acid esters are preferred. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the preferred fatty acid esters and from the additionally taught, known and suitable gelling agent of dibenzylidene sorbitol, to form a two gelling agent combination envisioned by Kaga and arrive at the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Motivation stemming from the direct teaching of Kaga that two gelling agents may be selected and that the noted gelling agents are suitable.
Regarding claim 5, Kaga teaches and/or renders obvious the active energy ray-curable inks as set forth in claim 1 above and further teaches the ink is produced by thoroughly dispersing the polymerizable compound, photopolymerization initiator, gelling agent, pigment and pigment dispersant via a dispersing machine (pg 10, top).
Regarding claims 6-7, Kaga teaches and/or renders obvious the active energy ray-curable inks as set forth in claim 1 above. Kaga further teaches methods of applying an image via the steps of ejecting the inkjet ink droplets onto a recording medium (pg11)(instant step a (claim 6)), applying in a step (A) an electromagnetic wave (abstract; pg3; pg12) for 0.1 to 60 seconds (pg14) and then applying the active energy ray, i.e. ultraviolet rays, for 0.001 to 1.0 seconds to cure the ink (pg12)(instant step b (claim 6)) (the step (A) time of up to 60 second delay before application of UV rays reads on instant at least 30 second interval between jetting and curing (claim 7)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaga et al. (WO 2011136009 A1; using Clarivate Analytics machine translation for English language citations) in view of Toeda (JP WO2016153035 A1; using Clarivate Analytics machine translation for English language citations).
Kaga teaches and/or renders obvious the active energy ray-curable inks as set forth in claim 1 above and, as noted, teaches two or more gelling agents may be used. Kaga further teaches the total amount of gelling agent is from 3.0 to 20 wt% (pg8) where fatty acid esters are preferred and where dibenzylidene sorbitol can also be selected.
Kaga teaches a total amount of 3.0 to 20 wt% gelling agent but does not specifically teach the fatty acid ester is present from 0.1 to 15 wt% (claim 3) or the dibenzylidene sorbitol is present from 0.01 to 5 wt% (claim 4). However, Toeda teaches similar active energy ray-curable inkjet inks comprising a polymerizable component and gelling agent (abstract). Toeda teaches similar gelling agents, including fatty acid esters and dibenzylidene sorbitols (pg3-4), and teaches that when two or more kinds of gelling agents are used, they are combined in a ratio of each gelling agent of from 5 to 95% of the total mass% (pg5, top). Toeda and Kaga are analogous art and are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely active energy ray-curable inkjet inks comprising similar gelling agents. At the time of filing a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the ratio taught by Toeda for the two gelling agents of Kaga and arrive at the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Motivation stemming from Kaga teaches selection of two gelling agents in a total amount of 3.0 to 20 wt% and further from Toeda who teaches that it is well-known in the art to select two or more gelling agents and that each gelling agent should be present in the noted ratio of the total amount.
Correspondence
/JANE L STANLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767