In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 05/05/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below. To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below.
/BORIS GORNEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2154
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 13, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 16, 17 and 18, respectively, of US Pat. 12,271,359. See table below.
US Patent 12,271,359
Instant Application
1. A storage system, comprising:
a primary storage node comprising a primary processing device and one or more authorities that determine types of erasure coding applied to data stored in the storage system, the primary storage node communicatively coupled to a secondary storage node, the secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device and a set of non-volatile memory modules; and the primary processing device configured to: identify one or more storage operations to be performed on the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node; and
transmit one or more instructions to the secondary storage node to perform the one or more storage operations, the one or more storage operations performed by the secondary processing device and the one or more instructions indicating one or more addresses in the set of non-volatile memory modules where the one or more storage operations are to be performed.
2. The storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage operations are further performed by a set of device hosts of the secondary storage node and the set of device hosts manage the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node.
6. The storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary processing device has less processing power than the primary processing device.
7. The storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary storage node lacks authorities.
11. A method, comprising: identifying, by a primary storage node comprising one or more authorities that determine types of erasure coding applied to data stored in a storage system, one or more storage operations to be performed on a set of non-volatile memory modules of a secondary storage node, the primary storage node communicatively coupled to the secondary storage node, the primary storage node comprising a primary processing device, and the secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device; and
transmitting one or more instructions to the secondary storage node to perform the one or more storage operations, the one or more storage operations performed by the secondary processing device and the one or more instructions indicating one or more addresses in the set of non-volatile memory modules where the one or more storage operations are to be performed.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more storage operations are further performed by a set of device hosts of the secondary storage node and the set of device hosts manage the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein the secondary processing device has less processing power than the primary processing device.
17. The method of claim 11, wherein the secondary storage node lacks authorities.
18. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed, cause a processing device of a primary storage node to: identify, by the primary storage node comprising one or more authorities that determine types of erasure coding applied to data stored in a storage system, one or more storage operations to be performed on a set of non-volatile memory modules of a secondary storage node, the primary storage node communicatively coupled to the secondary storage node and the secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device; and
transmit one or more instructions to the secondary storage node to perform the one or more storage operations, the one or more storage operations performed by the secondary processing device and the one or more instructions indicating one or more addresses in the set of non-volatile memory modules where the one or more storage operations are to be performed.
1. A storage system, comprising:
a primary storage node comprising a primary processing device and a first set of non-volatile memory modules; and
a secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device a second set of non-volatile memory modules, the second storage node communicatively coupled to the primary storage node, the secondary storage node performs storage operations based on instructions received from the primary storage node; the primary processing device to: receive a request to access one or more of the first set of non-volatile memory modules and the second set of non-volatile memory modules; and
transmit a set of instructions to perform a set of storage operations to the secondary storage node based on the request.
2. The storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage operations are further performed by a set of device hosts of the secondary storage node and the set of device hosts manage the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node.
5. The storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary processing device has less processing power than the primary processing device.
8. The storage system of claim 7, wherein the secondary storage node lacks authorities.
13. A method, comprising: receiving, by a primary storage node comprising a primary processing device and a first set of non-volatile memory modules, a request to access one or more of the first set of non-volatile memory modules and a second set of non-volatile memory modules; and
transmitting a set of instructions to perform a set of storage operations to a secondary storage node based on the request, the secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device the second set of non-volatile memory modules, the second storage node communicatively coupled to the primary storage node, the secondary storage node performs storage operations based on the set of instructions received from the primary storage node.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more storage operations are further performed by a set of device hosts of the secondary storage node and the set of device hosts manage the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the secondary processing device has less processing power than the primary processing device.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the secondary storage node lacks authorities.
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed, cause a processing device of a primary storage node to: receive a request to access one or more of a first set of non-volatile memory modules of the primary storage node and a second set of non-volatile memory modules; and
transmit a set of instructions to perform a set of storage operations to a secondary storage node based on the request, the secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device and the second set of non-volatile memory modules, the second storage node communicatively coupled to the primary storage node, the secondary storage node performs storage operations based on the set of instructions received from the primary storage node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mehra (US Pub. 2023/0195926) in view of Pagenberg (DE 2022002976U1).
Regarding claim 1, Mehta discloses a storage system, comprising: a primary storage node comprising a primary processing device and a first set of non-volatile memory modules (Fig. 1); and
a secondary storage node comprising a secondary processing device a second set of non-volatile memory modules, the second storage node communicatively coupled to the primary storage node, the secondary storage node performs storage operations based on instructions received from the primary storage node, the primary processing device to (¶ [0255]; be configured to receive client write and read requests from the primary storage subsystem, and direct those requests to the secondary storage for servicing):
receive a request to access one or more of the first set of non-volatile memory modules and the second set of non-volatile memory modules (¶ [0255]; receiving a request from the primary storage); and
transmit a set of instructions to perform a set of storage operations to the secondary storage node based on the request (¶ [0255] directing those requests to the secondary storage for servicing).
Mehta does not explicitly disclose a non-volatile memory; however, Pagenberg discloses at least a non-volatile memory for storage(¶ [0017]; including double data rate DRAM (DDR, DDR2, DDR3, DDR4 DRAM, etc.), non-volatile memory, graphics DRAM)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pagenberg into Mehta for memory operation (¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more storage operations are further performed by a set of device hosts of the secondary storage node and the set of device hosts manage the set of non-volatile memory modules of the secondary storage node (Mehta: Fig. 1; Pagenberg, ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the primary storage node and the secondary storage node are located within a chassis (Mehta, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 4, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the primary storage node and the secondary storage node are located in different chassis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary processing device has less processing power than the primary processing device (Pagenberg discloses “the memory devices F28 may be placed in a lower power mode (e.g., DRAM devices may be placed in a self-refresh mode in which the devices internally generate refresh operations to retain data, but are not accessible from the SOC F10 until the self-refresh mode is exited”).
Regarding claim 6, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the first set of non-volatile memory modules and the second set of non-volatile memory modules comprise heterogenous storage devices (Pagenberg discloses the unified memory architecture includes a unified address space that allows the heterogeneous agents in the system).
Regarding claim 7, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the primary storage node further comprises one or more authorities for managing data stored in the storage system (Mehta, ¶ [0289], Reseller who is authorized to view the raw results).
Regarding claim 8, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 7, wherein the secondary storage node lacks authorities (¶ [0290], Tenant’s data and prevents secondary copies (e.g., backup copies, archive copies, disaster recovery copies, etc.) from being viewed by or restored to unauthorized devices – meaning lacks authorities).
Regarding claim 9, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary storage node is configured to operate as a primary storage node for a period of time (Mehta, ¶ [0218], data retained for a period).
Regarding claim 10, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary storage node is coupled to the primary storage node via a network (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary storage node is coupled to the primary storage node directly via an interconnect (Mehta, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 12, Mehta in view of Pagenberg discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the secondary storage node does not receive requests to access data (¶ [0255], the request is being directed to the secondary storage from the primary).
Regarding claims 13-19, see claims 1-2 and 5-9, respective, for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claim 20, see discussion of claim 1 for the same reason of rejection.
Conclusion
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154