This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/21/2026.
Claims 1-11, 12-16, 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 12-16, 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krakowski et al. ( US 20220321384, hereinafter, Krakowski’s 384 ) in view of HOSSEINI et al. ( US 20170332369, hereinafter, HOSSEINI’s 369 ).
Regarding to the claim 12, Cui’s 096 teaches output, to a user equipment (UE), a set of reference signals via a channel (a set of DMRSs) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ] ;
output, to the UE via the channel, a signal for equalization based at least in part on a decimation of the set of reference signals ( DMRS MIMO Channel Estimation + MIMO Equalization ) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ] ; and
obtain, from the UE, an indication of the decimation of the set of reference signals [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ] .
However, Krakowski’s 384 does not explicitly teach the network entity.
HOSSEINI’s 369 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the network entity (base station) output, to a user equipment (UE), a set of reference signals via a channel [see Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Krakowski’s 384 in view of HOSSEINI’s 369 because HOSSEINI’s 369 suggests that in wireless communication systems employing legacy LTE, a plurality of UEs served by a particular eNodeB may be scheduled resources for communicating with the eNodeB over one or more channels using transmission time intervals (TTI) on the order of a 1 millisecond subframe. As UE capabilities and demand for bandwidth increases, lower latency in communications may be desired.
Regarding to the claim 13, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches output, to the UE, a request for an indication of a capability of the UE to decimate the set of reference signals; and obtain, from the UE, the indication of the capability of the UE to decimate the set of reference signals [ Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches output, to the UE, a request for the indication of the decimation, wherein the indication of the decimation is obtained in response to the request [ Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 15, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches determine, based at least in part on the indication of the decimation, a quantity for a second set of reference signals [ Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 16, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches output, to the UE, a second quantity of the second set of reference signals, wherein the second quantity is different from a first quantity of the set of reference signals, wherein the second quantity is based at least in part on the quantity [ Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 6-8, 17, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krakowski et al. ( US 20220321384, hereinafter, Krakowski’s 384 ) in view of HOSSEINI et al. ( US 20170332369, hereinafter, HOSSEINI’s 369 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, Krakowski’s 384 teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a set of reference signals via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates (receiving a set of DMRSs via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates ) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ], each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to a reference signal of the set of reference signals (each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to DMRSs) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ];
receive a signal via the channel [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ];
generate an equalized signal from the signal using an equalizer that is based at least in part on a decimation of the set of reference signals (generate an equalized signal from the signal using an equalizer that is based at least in part on a decimation of the DMRSs) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ],
transmit an indication of the decimation [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
However, Krakowski’s 384 does not explicitly teach wherein a degree of the decimation is based at least in part on the set of channel estimates.
HOSSEINI’s 369, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, a set of reference signals via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates, each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to a reference signal of the set of reference signals [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093];
wherein a degree of the decimation is based at least in part on the set of channel estimates [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093]; and
transmit an indication of the decimation to the network entity [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Krakowski’s 384 in view of HOSSEINI’s 369 because HOSSEINI’s 369 suggests that in wireless communication systems employing legacy LTE, a plurality of UEs served by a particular eNodeB may be scheduled resources for communicating with the eNodeB over one or more channels using transmission time intervals (TTI) on the order of a 1 millisecond subframe. As UE capabilities and demand for bandwidth increases, lower latency in communications may be desired.
Regarding to the claim 2, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches receive, from the network entity, a request for an indication of a capability of the UE to decimate the set of reference signals; and transmit, to the network entity, the indication of the capability of the UE to decimate the set of reference signals [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches receive, from the network entity, a request for the indication of the decimation, wherein the indication of the decimation is transmitted in response to the request [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches receive, from the network entity, a second quantity of a second set of reference signals, wherein the second quantity is different from a first quantity of the set of reference signals, wherein the second quantity is based at least in part on the indication of the decimation [ see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches determine the degree of decimation based at least in part on the set of reference signals [ see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 7, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches generate a measure of correlation between at least two channel estimates of the set of channel estimates [ see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 8, Krakowski’s 384 further teaches wherein the measure of correlation comprises a first measure in a time domain, a second measure in a frequency domain, or a combination thereof [ see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
Regarding to the claim 17, Krakowski’s 384 teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a set of reference signals via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates (receiving a set of DMRSs via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates ) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ], each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to a reference signal of the set of reference signals (each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to DMRSs) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ];
receiving a signal via the channel [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ];
generating an equalized signal from the signal using an equalizer that is based at least in part on a decimation of the set of reference signals (generate an equalized signal from the signal using an equalizer that is based at least in part on a decimation of the DMRSs) [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ],
transmitting an indication of the decimation [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0010 & 0011 & 0012] [also see the paragraphs 0022 & 0029 & 0041 & 0046 & 0047& 0064 & 0089 ].
However, Krakowski’s 384 does not explicitly teach wherein a degree of the decimation is based at least in part on the set of channel estimates.
HOSSEINI’s 369, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the UE to:
receiving, from a network entity, a set of reference signals via a channel to generate a set of channel estimates, each channel estimate of the set of channel estimates respectively corresponding to a reference signal of the set of reference signals [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093];
wherein a degree of the decimation is based at least in part on the set of channel estimates [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093]; and
transmitting an indication of the decimation to the network entity [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0075 & 0077 & 0079 & 0082 & 0093].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Krakowski’s 384 in view of HOSSEINI’s 369 because HOSSEINI’s 369 suggests that in wireless communication systems employing legacy LTE, a plurality of UEs served by a particular eNodeB may be scheduled resources for communicating with the eNodeB over one or more channels using transmission time intervals (TTI) on the order of a 1 millisecond subframe. As UE capabilities and demand for bandwidth increases, lower latency in communications may be desired.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 2, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 3, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same ground, or for the same reasons of claim 4, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose interpolate the first set of coefficients and the second set of coefficients for a third resource of the channel between the first resource and the second resource to generate a third set of coefficients of the equalizer, wherein a third reference signal corresponding to the third resource is decimated in accordance with the decimation.
Claim 9, 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose select the degree of decimation based at least in part on at least one threshold applied to the measure of correlation.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412