DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/16/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asam et al (US Publication No. 20160164279) in view of Kase (US Patent No. 5559500).
Regarding claim 1, Asam discloses a semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]) for a disconnection (i.e., switching element is OFF; turning the first transistor Tl off may cause node N3 to have a negative potential with respect to the ground potential GND; see for example fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]) of an electric consumer (i.e., 122; the load 122; see para. [0026]) from an energy supply source (i.e., 120; A power supply; see para. [0025]) for a battery-electric vehicle (i.e., 120; such as a battery 120; see para. [0025]), the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]) comprising: at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) connectable between the energy supply source (i.e., 120; A power supply; see para. [0025]) and the electric consumer (i.e., 122; the load 122; see para. [0026]), the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) including a gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]) to switch on and off (i.e., ON/OFF switch status for Tl/T2; see para. [0048]) a power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) to connect the electric consumer (i.e., 122; the load 122; see para. [0026]) to the energy supply source (i.e., 120; A power supply; see para. [0025]) or to disconnect (i.e., switching element is OFF; turning the first transistor Tl off may cause node N3 to have a negative potential with respect to the ground potential GND; see for example fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]) the electric consumer (i.e., 122; the load 122; see para. [0026]) from the energy supply source (i.e., 120; A power supply; see para. [0025]); a drive circuit (i.e., 104; A level shifter 104, for example a DC-to-DC converter or a charge pump; see para. [0037]) configured to apply a drive voltage (i.e., 124; The signal source 124 may provide a signal Vcontrol; see para. [0025]) at the gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., T1, T2; The first transistor T1 and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]), the drive voltage (i.e., 124; The signal source 124 may provide a signal Vcontrol; see para. [0025]) is lower or higher (i.e., "0"/"1" = lower/higher = NO-Over-Current/YES-Over-Current; see para. [0042]) than a predetermined gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]); a detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) configured to determine a resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) of the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., T1, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) and, based on the resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) of the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]), to detect a drift (i.e., a drift region 244 reflects the drifted voltage of Tl as a Vgs1, a drift region 223 reflects the drifted voltage of T2 as a Vgs2; Vth1=Vthreshold-1 = Vgs1, Vth2=Vthreshold-2 = Vgs2; see para. [0052]- [0053]) of the gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]); and a control system (i.e., 101; The circuit 101; see para. [0024]) configured to indicate an issue (i.e., for example a "0" and a "1", at an output 118 of the comparator 108; A "0" may indicate that the current 12 is lower than a current threshold and that there is no over-current. A "1" may indicate that the current 12 is higher than the current threshold and that there is an over-current; see para. [0042]) with the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) based on the detection of the drift (i.e., a drift region 244 reflects the drifted voltage of Tl as a Vgs1, a drift region 223 reflects the drifted voltage of T2 as a Vgs2; see para. [0052]- [0053]) of the gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]).
Asam does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection circuit is connected in parallel with the at least one semiconductor switching element and is configured to impress a current in the power path of the at least one semiconductor switching element, the detection circuit comprises a detection resistor and is configured to guide the current impressed in the power path of the at least one semiconductor switching element via the detection resistor and the detection circuit comprises a voltage source and a current source, which are connected in series with the detection resistor and configured to impress the current in the power path.
Kase discloses an overcurrent sense circuit (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown below, Col. 4 lines 24+); wherein the detection circuit (X) is connected in parallel with the at least one semiconductor switching element (11) and is configured to impress a current (I) in the power path (1) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (11), the detection circuit (X) comprises a detection resistor (2) and is configured to guide the current (I) impressed in the power path (1) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (11) via the detection resistor (2) and the detection circuit (X) comprises a voltage source (9) and a current source (51), which are connected in series (i.e., 9 is in series with 2 via pad 22; 51 is in series with 2 via pad 21) with the detection resistor (2) and configured to impress the current (I) in the power path (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the detection circuit in Asam, as taught by Kase, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the circuit detection mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the drive circuit (i.e., 104; A level shifter 104, for example a DC-to-DC converter or a charge pump; see para. [0037]) is configured to apply the drive voltage (i.e., 124; The signal source 124 may provide a signal Vcontrol; see para. [0025]) at the gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]), and the drive voltage (i.e., 124; The signal source 124 may provide a signal Vcontrol; see para. [0025]) falls outside a threshold range (i.e., In some cases, it may be sufficient to know if an over-current has occurred. For this, the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]) associated with the gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) includes a drain terminal (i.e., a drain terminal D; see para. [0050]) and a source terminal (i.e., a source terminal S; see para. [0050]), the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]) is defined between the drain terminal (i.e., a drain terminal D; see para. [0050]) and the source terminal (i.e., a source terminal S; see para. [0050]), and the resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) of the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) corresponds to a resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) between the drain terminal (i.e., a drain terminal D; see para. [0050]) and the source terminal (i.e., a source terminal S; see para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) further comprises the voltage source (i.e., 120; such as a battery 120 or voltage source, may be coupled to input Nl. The battery 120 or voltage source may have a voltage Vbat; see para. [0025]) and an auxiliary resistor (i.e., R_ls 312; The resistor 312 may have a resistance R_ls and may provide a path for current 12 through the second transistor T2; see para. [0060]), which are connected in series (i.e., coupled in series; see para. [0039]) with the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) and configured to impress the current (i.e., the drain to source current is Ids = Vds/Rds which is simply reflected by the factor k; see para. [0028]) in the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) is configured to detect a voltage (i.e., Vr; to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) at a first terminal (i.e., a first input 110; see para. [0041]) or a second terminal (i.e., a second input 112; see para. [0041]) of the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]), and to determine that the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) is high-resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) based on the detected voltage (i.e., Vr; to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) comprises a comparator (i.e., 108; the detecting circuit 102 may include a comparator 108 coupled across the resistor 106, for example by coupling a first input 110 of the comparator 108 across one terminal of the resistor 106 and coupling a second input 112 of the comparator 108 across the other terminal of the resistor 106. The comparator 108 may be powered by the supply potential, for example Vbat; see para. [0041]) configured to compare the voltage (i.e., Vr; to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) at the first terminal (i.e., a first input 110; see para. [0041]) or the second terminal (i.e., a second input 112; see para. [0041]) of the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) with a reference voltage (i.e., a first reference potential GND, for example a ground potential; see para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the comparator (i.e., 108; the detecting circuit 102 may include a comparator 108 coupled across the resistor 106, for example by coupling a first input 110 of the comparator 108 across one terminal of the resistor 106 and coupling a second input 112 of the comparator 108 across the other terminal of the resistor 106. The comparator 108 may be powered by the supply potential, for example Vbat; see para. [0041]) is configured to set a flag (i.e., OC 118; for example, a "0" and a "1", at an output 118 of the comparator 108; see para. [0042]) based on the comparison of the voltage (i.e., Vr; to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) at the first terminal (i.e., a first input 110; see para. [0041]) or the second terminal (i.e., a second input 112; see para. [0041]) of the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) with the reference voltage (i.e., a first reference potential GND, for example a ground potential; see para. [0036]) that indicates whether the drift (i.e., a drift region 244 reflects the drifted voltage of Tl as a Vgs1, a drift region 223 reflects the drifted voltage of T2 as a Vgs2; Vth1=Vthreshold-1 = Vgs1, Vth2=Vthreshold-2 = Vgs2; see para. [0052]- [0053]) of the gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]) is present or not present (i.e., "0"/"1" = lower/higher= NO-Over-Current/YES-Over-Current; see para. [0042]) (i.e., for example a "0" and a "1", at an output 118 of the comparator 108; A "0" may indicate that the current 12 is lower than a current threshold and that there is no over-current. A "1" may indicate that the current 12 is higher than the current threshold and that there is an over-current; see para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) is configured to indicate the drift (i.e., a drift region 244 reflects the drifted voltage of Tl as a Vgs1, a drift region 223 reflects the drifted voltage of T2 as a Vgs2; Vth1=Vthreshold-1 = Vgs1, Vth2=Vthreshold-2 = Vgs2; see para. [0052]- [0053]) of the gate threshold voltage (i.e., Vr; the voltage Vr representing the current 12 may be compared to a threshold; see para. [0041]) is present (i.e., for example a "0" and a "1", at an output 118 of the comparator 108; A "0" may indicate that the current 12 is lower than a current threshold and that there is no over-current. A "1" may indicate that the current 12 is higher than the current threshold and that there is an over-current; see para. [0042]) based on the voltage (i.e., Vr; to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) at the first terminal (i.e., a first input 110; see para. [0041]) or the second terminal (i.e., a second input 112; see para. [0041]) of the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) as lower (i.e., "0"/"1" =lower/higher= NO-Over-Current/YES Over-Current; see para. [0042]) than the reference voltage (i.e., a first reference potential GND, for example a ground potential; see para. [0036]).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asam et al (US Publication No. 20160164279) in view of Kase (US Patent No. 5559500) and further in view of Ohshima (US Publication No. 20020012216).
Regarding claim 4, Asam in view of Kase and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above.
Asam further discloses the semiconductor fuse (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT 300 in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., T1, T2; The first transistor T1 and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]); the drive circuit (i.e., 104; A level shifter 104, for example a DC-to-DC converter or a charge pump; see para. [0037]) is configured to apply the drive voltage (i.e., 124; The signal source 124 may provide a signal Vcontrol; see para. [0025]) on the gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]), and the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) is configured to determine the resistance (i.e., a resistance R_ls varies with a factor k; Note: the resistance of a MOS is Rds = Vds/ls, wherein Is is relying upon the ratio of 11 to 12 that defines the factor k; see for example para. [0028] and para. [0060]) of the power path (i.e., a conductive channel reflects to N3; When a suitable voltage is applied to the gate electrode 220, a conductive channel is formed in the body region adjacent of the gate electrode 220; see para. [0053]) based on a gate voltage (i.e., Vgs1, Vgs2; see for example fig. 3, para. [0028]) at the gate control terminal (i.e., G; gate G; see para. [0028]).
Neither Asam nor Kase explicitly disclose wherein the gate control terminal of the at least one semiconductor switching element includes a gate resistor.
Ohshima discloses a conventional semiconductor switching device (power semiconductor device) is employed for power supply control (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0062]- [0118]); wherein the gate control terminal (i.e., driver 8; see para. [0065]) of the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., TrS; see para. [0038]) includes a gate resistor (i.e., via a gate serial resistance; RS = 20K; see para. [0065]; also, for more details see para. [0104]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the gate resistor in Asam, as taught by Ohshima, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards reducing the overshoot between the drain and source during switching, also known as an EMI noise-reduction.
Regarding claim 13, Asam in view of Kase and further in view of Ohshima and the teachings of Asam as modified by Kase have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Asam as modified by Ohshima have been discussed above as well.
Asam further discloses (i.e., 200; semiconductor device 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0049]; also, see the CKT in fig. 3, para. [0024]- [0062]); wherein the detection circuit (i.e., 102; The detecting circuit 102; see para. [0038]) comprises; the detection resistor (i.e., R_sense 106; The detecting circuit 102 may be configured to detect a voltage drop Vr across the resistor 106; see para. [0039]) and the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tl, T2; The first transistor Tl and the second transistor T2 may, for example, switch high voltages; see para. [0028]).
Ohshima furthermore discloses (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0062]- [0118]); a diode (i.e., D1; see para. [0094]) that is connected between the detection resistor (i.e., R1, R2, R4; see para. [0094]) and the at least one semiconductor switching element (i.e., Tr5; see para. [0038]).
Claims 5-7 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838