DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated November 18, 2025, claims 1, 8, 10-12, 14-16, 19, and 20 were amended, and new claims 21 and 22 were presented. Claims 1-22 are pending.
The amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of the claims over Adamson and Adamson in view of Squiers have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for these reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s assertion with respect to claim 1 that “Adamson does not disclose this ‘the channels of a first subset of the plurality of female couplers each extend along a first primary channel that extends from a closed end at a bottom of the support structure to an open end at the top of the support structure,’ which amended claim 1 recites” and “the channel in Adamson cited by include an open back end and an open front end” (Remarks at pp. 10-11), the examiner disagrees. The claim requires each channel has an open back end and an open front end. The “closed end” of the “first primary channel” reads on the channel formed by the support structure for receiving the storage body, as explained in the rejection below.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion with respect to claim 2 that “it would not be obvious to modify Adamson to include at least because the devices of Adamson are configured to include a single channel extending the length of the entire device. Thus, Applicant respectfully submits that modifying Adamson to include channels (plural) that extend from a closed end to an open end would overly complicate Adamson for no identified reason” (Remarks at p. 12), the examiner disagrees. Splitting each female coupler into two female couplers is no more than an obvious duplication of parts, as explained in the rejection below. Applicant has not identified any reason this would “overly complicate” the structure, or pointed to any new or unexpected result produced by the claimed arrangement.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion with respect to claim 10 that “the couplers of Squiers appear to be centrally located, not extending from the edges as recited in amended claim 10. Further, the couplers in Adamson are also centrally located” (Remarks at pp. 13-14), the examiner disagrees. First, the couplers of Adamson extend from first and second edges (see e.g., Fig. 8). Second, the couplers of Squiers also extend from edges of the support structure (see e.g., Fig. 4).
Regarding Applicant’s assertion with respect to claim 14 that “neither of the channels of Adamson extend from an edge of the support structure, let alone a first subset extending from a first edge and a second subset extending from an opposing second edge” (Remarks at p. 15), the examiner disagrees. The channels identified in Adamson extend between opposing edges of the support structure, as shown in Fig. 8.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 14, line 14: “the plurality female couplers” should read “the plurality of female couplers.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each of the female couplers comprising:… the support structure, the sidewall, and the rib collectively define a channel parallel to the primary longitudinal axis, and wherein the channel extends from an open back end to an open front end, wherein the channels of a first subset of the plurality of female couplers each extend along a first primary channel that extends from a closed end at a bottom of the support structure to an open end at the top of the support structure” in lines 8-17. First, it is unclear what the “first primary channel” is. Do the first subset of couplers share a single channel? Is the first primary channel a separate structure from the female couplers? The “first primary channel” is not identified in the specification or figures. Second, it is unclear how each channel could have an open front end and an open back end, while the first primary channel has a closed end. The specification appears to describe channels having an open back end and channels having a closed back end as alternatives (see e.g., paras. [0004]-[0005]).
Claim 21 recites “a tongue of a first male coupler of the first subset extends towards a second male coupler of the first subset such that no portion of the support structure intersects an axis extending between the tongue of the first male coupler and the second male coupler.” It is unclear what this means. The first male coupler of the first subset extends from a first edge and the second male coupler of the second subset extends from an opposing edge. However, the figures show the tongues 156 of male couplers on opposing edges extending away from one another (see Figs. 1-2). Further, the only axes discussed in the specification are longitudinal axis 108 (shown in Figure 1) and axis 164 along a channel defined by male couplers (shown in Figure 2). Is the “axis extending between the tongue of the first male coupler and the second male coupler” referring to an axis of the channel? Applicant points to Figures 1-4 and paras. [0037] and [0043]-[0046] as providing support (Remarks at p. 16). However, the cited portions do not show or describe a tongue extending towards another coupler or an axis as claimed.
Claim 22 recites “a rib of a first female coupler of the first subset and a rib of a second female coupler of the second subset extend towards each other such that no portion of the support structure intersects an axis extending between the rib of the first female coupler and the rib of the second female coupler.” It is unclear what this means. The first female coupler of the first subset extends from a first edge and the second female coupler of the second subset extends from an opposing edge, and they extend towards each other. What is the axis, and how could no portion of the support structure intersect such an axis? The only axes discussed in the specification are longitudinal axis 108 (shown in Figure 1) and axis 164 along a channel defined by male couplers (shown in Figure 2). Applicant points to Figures 1-4 and paras. [0037] and [0043]-[0046] as providing support (Remarks at p. 16). However, the cited portions do not show or describe “an axis extending between the rib of the first female coupler and the rib of the second female coupler.”
Claims 2-9 are also rejected through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. 6,412,663 to Adamson, II et al. (hereinafter, “Adamson”).
Regarding claim 1, Adamson discloses a container (see Figs. 1, 8) configured to pour a pourable material (Abstract), the container comprising: a storage body (carton 135, Fig. 8) defining a containment area (annotated Fig. 8 below) configured to receive a pourable material (carton 135 is capable of receiving a pourable material, see e.g., col. 1, ll. 6-10), the storage body (carton 135) extending along a primary longitudinal axis (annotated Fig. 8); an opening (opening adjacent connector 125, see Fig. 8; col. 4, ll. 40-52) defined by the storage body (carton 135), the opening (opening adjacent connector 125) providing fluid communication between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body (see col. 4, ll. 40-52); a support structure (carton holder 100, Fig. 8) detachably coupled to the storage body (see Fig. 8); and a plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50, Figs. 1, 8; col. 4, ll. 24-31) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100), each of the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) comprising: a sidewall (annotated portion of Fig. 4 below; see also col. 4, ll. 24-32, 61-65) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100); and a rib (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4) above and offset from the storage body (see Figs. 1, 4, 8), wherein the support structure (carton holder 100), the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4), and the rib (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (annotated Fig. 4) parallel to the primary longitudinal axis (annotated Fig. 8), and wherein the channel (annotated Figs. 4, 8) extends from an open back end (annotated Fig. 8) to an open front end (annotated Fig. 8); wherein the channel (annotated Fig. 4) of a first subset of the plurality of female couplers (bottom channel in Fig. 8) each extend along a first primary channel (channel defined by holder 100 to receive carton 135, see Fig. 8) that extends from a closed end (end closed by wall 130 or stop 185, Figs. 8-9; col. 4, ll. 35-40; col. 5, ll. 21-35) at a bottom of the support structure (see col. 5, ll. 21-35) to an open end at the top of the support structure (Figs. 8-9; col. 4, ll. 35-40; col. 5, ll. 21-35).
Adamson Annotated Figure 8
Adamson Annotated Figure 4
Adamson does not expressly disclose plural channels of a first subset of the plurality of female couplers. Adamson does teach that a greater number of female couplers may be employed (col. 2, ll. 57-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the female coupler arrangement of Adamson to split each female coupler into two rows of female couplers since it has been held that mere duplication of parts or rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)-(C); see also MPEP 2144.04(V)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see e.g., para. [0045]; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 2, Adamson further discloses the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) are arranged in a grid (see Fig. 8) comprising at least two columns of female couplers (see Fig. 8).
Adamson as modified above already includes the grid comprises at least to rows of female couplers (see modification above).
Claims 3-8, 10-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamson in view of U.S. Pub. 2020/0165036 to Squiers et al. (hereinafter, “Squiers”).
Regarding claim 3, Adamson further discloses a plurality of male couplers (joining devices 55, Figs. 1, 4, 8) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100).
Adamson does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of male couplers comprising: a backwall extending from the support structure; an interior wall extending from the support structure; and a tongue extending from the interior wall and backwall offset from and above the support structure, wherein the support structure, the backwall, the interior wall, and the tongue collectively define a channel that extends from a closed back end at the backwall to an open front end opposite the closed back end.
Adamson teaches “other types of attachment means are also possible” (col. 2, ll. 57-61).
Squiers teaches a container having a plurality of male couplers. Squiers teaches each of the male couplers (connection projections 46, Figs. 3-4) comprises a backwall (annotated portion of Fig. 4 below; para. [0121]) extending from a support structure (bottom member 22, Figs. 3-4), an interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the support structure (bottom member 22), and a tongue (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) and backwall (annotated Fig. 4) offset from and above the support structure (see Fig. 4). Squiers teaches the support structure (bottom member 22), the backwall (annotated Fig. 4), the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4), and the tongue (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (channel 58, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]) that extends from a closed back end (closed end 66, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) at the backwall (annotated Fig. 4) to an open front (open end 62, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) end opposite the closed back end (see Fig. 4). Squiers further teaches that the plurality of male couplers are arranged in a grid comprising at least two rows of male couplers and at least two columns of male couplers (see Figs. 3-4). Squiers teaches that more or fewer male couplers may be used (para. [0121]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers allow the container to engage with female couplers on a utility module (see e.g., paras. [0121]-[0122]). Squiers further teaches a latch (latch assembly 78, Fig. 3) that is configured to interface with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers from the utility module when the male couplers are engaged with the utility module (paras. [0122], [0127]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers and latch assembly permit a user to quickly couple and decouple the container from the utility module (paras. [0127]-[0128]).
Squiers is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention and Adamson of containers with couplers, and the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (i.e., male and female coupler arrangements on a container).
Squiers Annotated Figure 4
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson to swap the male couplers with the male coupler arrangement of Squiers having a plurality of couplers arranged in a grid, each having a backwall, an interior wall, and a tongue forming a channel with a closed back end and an open front end as it is no more than a simple substitution of one male coupler arrangement for another that is known in the art for the purpose of having a container capable of engaging another structure and would only produce the predictable results of having the container be capable of engaging another structure (MPEP 2143(I)(B)). It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson to add a latch as taught by Squiers for the purpose of preventing sliding disengagement of the male couplers when the male couplers are engaged with a utility module and quickly decouple the container from the utility module, as recognized by Squiers (paras. [0122], [0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 4, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the plurality of male couplers (Adamson, joining devices 55; Squiers, male couplers) extend from a first side (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (Adamson, carton holder 100) and the plurality of female couplers (Adamson, joining devices 50) extend from a second side (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (Adamson, carton holder 100) opposite the first side (Adamson, see annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Adamson further discloses the first side (annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (carton holder 100) and the second side (annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (carton holder 100) are integrally molded together (col. 3, ll. 23-30).
Regarding claim 6, Adamson as modified by Squiers does not expressly disclose the first side of the support structure and the second side of the support structure are detachably coupled together.
Adamson teaches that the support structure “may be constructed from a variety of materials,” and may be injection molded plastic (col. 2, ll. 15-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the support structure of Adamson/Squiers to form the support structure such that the first and second sides are detachably coupled together because it has been held that making pieces separable is an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see e.g., Applicant’s specification at para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) are arranged in a grid (Squiers, Figs. 3-4) comprising at least two rows of male couplers (Squiers, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]) and at least two columns of male couplers (Squiers, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 8, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes a latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78), wherein one or more of the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) are configured to engage with a utility module to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module (Adamson as modified by Squiers is capable of engaging a utility module to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module via the male couplers), and wherein the latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78) is configured to interface with the utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the one or more plurality of male couplers from the utility module (Adamson as modified with the latch and male couplers of Squiers is capable of the latch interfacing with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers).
Regarding claim 10, Adamson discloses a container (see Figs. 1, 8) configured to pour a pourable material (Abstract), the container comprising: a storage body (carton 135, Fig. 8) defining a containment area (annotated Fig. 8 above) configured to receive a pourable material (carton 135 is capable of receiving a pourable material, see e.g., col. 1, ll. 6-10), the storage body (carton 135) extending along a primary longitudinal axis (annotated Fig. 8); an opening (opening adjacent connector 125, see Fig. 8; col. 4, ll. 40-52) defined by the storage body (carton 135), the opening (opening adjacent connector 125) providing fluid communication between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body (see col. 4, ll. 40-52); a support structure (carton holder 100, Fig. 8) detachably coupled to the storage body (see Fig. 8); and a plurality of male couplers (joining devices 55, Figs. 1, 4, 8) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100), a first subset of the plurality of male couplers (bottom joining device 55 in Fig. 8) extending from a first edge of the support structure (edge formed where sidewall 120 meets wall 130, see Fig. 8) and a second subset of the plurality of male couplers (bottom joining device 55 in Fig. 8) extending from a second end of the support structure (edge at opposite side of sidewall 120 from wall 130, see Fig. 8) meets opposite the first edge (see Fig. 8).
Adamson does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of male couplers comprising: a backwall extending from the support structure; an interior wall extending from the support structure; and a tongue extending from the interior wall offset from and above the support structure, wherein the support structure, the backwall, the interior wall, and the tongue collectively define a channel parallel to the primary longitudinal axis, and wherein the channel extends from a closed back end at the backwall to an open front end opposite the closed back end.
Adamson teaches “other types of attachment means are also possible” (col. 2, ll. 57-61).
Squiers teaches a container having a plurality of male couplers. Squiers teaches each of the male couplers (connection projections 46, Figs. 3-4) comprises a backwall (annotated portion of Fig. 4 below; para. [0121]) extending from a support structure (bottom member 22, Figs. 3-4), an interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the support structure (bottom member 22), and a tongue (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) and backwall (annotated Fig. 4) offset from and above the support structure (see Fig. 4). Squiers teaches the support structure (bottom member 22), the backwall (annotated Fig. 4), the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4), and the tongue (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (channel 58, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]) that extends from a closed back end (closed end 66, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) at the backwall (annotated Fig. 4) to an open front (open end 62, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) end opposite the closed back end (see Fig. 4). Squiers further teaches that the plurality of male couplers are arranged in a grid comprising at least two rows of male couplers and at least two columns of male couplers (see Figs. 3-4). Squiers teaches that more or fewer male couplers may be used (para. [0121]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers allow the container to engage with female couplers on a utility module (see e.g., paras. [0121]-[0122]). Squiers further teaches a latch (latch assembly 78, Fig. 3) that is configured to interface with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers from the utility module when the male couplers are engaged with the utility module (paras. [0122], [0127]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers and latch assembly permit a user to quickly couple and decouple the container from the utility module (paras. [0127]-[0128]).
Squiers is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention and Adamson of containers with couplers, and the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (i.e., male and female coupler arrangements on a container).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson to swap the male couplers with the male coupler arrangement of Squiers having a plurality of couplers arranged in a grid, each having a backwall, an interior wall, and a tongue forming a channel with a closed back end and an open front end as it is no more than a simple substitution of one male coupler arrangement for another that is known in the art for the purpose of having a container capable of engaging another structure and would only produce the predictable results of having the container be capable of engaging another structure (MPEP 2143(I)(B)). It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson to add a latch as taught by Squiers for the purpose of preventing sliding disengagement of the male couplers when the male couplers are engaged with a utility module and quickly decouple the container from the utility module, as recognized by Squiers (paras. [0122], [0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 11, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) are arranged in a grid (Squiers, Figs. 3-4) comprising at least two rows of male couplers (Squiers, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]) and at least two columns of male couplers (Squiers, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]), the container comprising a latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78), wherein one or more of the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) are configured to engage with a utility module to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module (Adamson as modified by Squiers is capable of engaging a utility module to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module via the male couplers), and wherein the latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78) is configured to interface with the utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the one or more plurality of male couplers from the utility module (Adamson as modified with the latch and male couplers of Squiers is capable of the latch interfacing with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers).
Regarding claim 12, Adamson further discloses a plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50, Figs. 1, 8; col. 4, ll. 24-31) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100), each of the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) comprising: a sidewall (portion of annotated Fig. 4 above; see also col. 4, ll. 24-32, 61-65) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100); and a rib (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4) above and offset from the storage body (see Figs. 1, 4, 8), wherein the support structure (carton holder 100), the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4), and the rib (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (annotated Fig. 4) parallel to the primary longitudinal axis (annotated Fig. 8), and wherein the channel (annotated Figs. 4, 8) extends from an open back end (annotated Fig. 8) to an open front end (annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Adamson further discloses the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) are arranged in a grid (see Fig. 8) comprising at least two columns of female couplers (see Fig. 8).
Adamson does not expressly disclose the grid comprises at least to rows of female couplers. Adamson does teach that a greater number of female couplers may be employed (col. 2, ll. 57-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the female coupler arrangement to split each female coupler into two rows of female couplers since it has been held that mere duplication of parts or rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)-(C); see also MPEP 2144.04(V)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see e.g., para. [0045]; Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 21, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes a tongue (Squiers, annotated Fig. 4) of a first male coupler of the first subset (Squiers annotated Fig. 4) extends towards a second male coupler of the first subset (Squiers, annotated Fig. 4) such that no portion of the support structure intersects an axis (Squiers, see annotated Fig. 4) extending between the tongue of the first male coupler and the second male coupler (Squiers, annotated Fig. 4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamson in view of U.S. Pub. 2017/0217634 to Hendrickson et al. (hereinafter, “Hendrickson”).
Regarding claim 9, Adamson does not expressly disclose the storage body is formed from a first material comprising a metal.
Hendrickson teaches a similar container configured to pour a pourable material (see Fig. 1). Hendrickson teaches the storage body defines a containment area configured to receive a pourable material and an opening defined by the storage body providing fluid communication between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body (Fig. 1). Hendrickson teaches the storage body may be made of metal (para. [0056]). Hendrickson teaches that the material is a high-strength material that provides stackable rigidity (para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Adamson to form the storage body of a first material comprising metal as taught by Hendrickson for the purpose of providing a high-strength material that has stackable rigidity, as recognized by Hendrickson (para. [0056]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 14, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamson in view of U.S. Pat. 5,573,140 to Satomi et al. (hereinafter, “Satomi”).
Regarding claim 14, Adamson discloses a container (see Figs. 1, 8) configured to pour a pourable material (Abstract), the container comprising: a storage body (carton 135, Fig. 8) defining a containment area (annotated Fig. 8 above) configured to receive pourable materials (carton 135 is capable of receiving a pourable material, see e.g., col. 1, ll. 6-10), the storage body (carton 135) comprising an opening (opening adjacent connector 125, see Fig. 8; col. 4, ll. 40-52) defined by the storage body (carton 135), the opening (opening adjacent connector 125) providing fluid communication between the containment area and the exterior of the storage body (see col. 4, ll. 40-52); a support structure (carton holder 100, Fig. 8) detachably coupled to the storage body (see Fig. 8), the support structure (carton holder 100) formed from a second material comprising a plastic (col. 2, ll. 15-21); and a plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50, Figs. 1, 4, 8) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100), the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) configured to detachably couple the support structure to a modular storage system (joining devices 50 are capable of detachably coupling the support structure to a modular storage system), wherein a first subset of the plurality female couplers (bottom joining device 50 in Fig. 8) extend from a first edge of the support structure (edge formed where sidewall 115 meets wall 130, see Fig. 8) to an opposing second edge (edge at opposite side of sidewall 115 from wall 130, see Fig. 8), and wherein a second subset of the plurality of female couplers (top joining device 50 in Fig. 8) extend from the second edge (edge at opposite side of sidewall 115 from wall 130) of the support structure to the first edge (edge formed where sidewall 115 meets wall 130).
Adamson does not expressly disclose the storage body comprises an inner wall and an outer wall that define a vacuum-insulated area between the inner wall and the outer wall, the vacuum-insulated area providing thermal insulation between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body, the storage body is formed from a first material comprising a metal.
Satomi teaches a container configured to pour a pourable material (Fig. 1), the container comprising a storage body defining a containment area and an opening providing fluid communication between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body (Fig. 1). Satomi teaches the storage body comprises an inner wall (inner container 1, Fig. 1) and an outer wall (outer container 2, Fig. 1) that define a vacuum-insulated area therebetween (vacuum insulation layer 3, Fig. 1). Satomi teaches that the vacuum-insulated area provides thermal insulation between the containment area and an exterior of the storage body (col. 3, ll. 20-38). Satomi teaches that the storage body is formed form a first material comprising a metal (col. 3, ll. 20-38). Satomi further teaches that this double walled vacuum-insulated container arrangement can be used for other types of metallic containers (col. 5, ll. 14-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson to swap the storage body with a metal vacuum-insulated storage body as taught by Satomi for the purpose of providing insulation for the pourable material within the containment area, as recognized by Satomi (see e.g., col. 3, ll. 20-38).
Regarding claim 20, Adamson further discloses each of the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) comprising: a sidewall (portion of annotated Fig. 4 above; see also col. 4, ll. 24-32, 61-65) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100); and a rib (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the sidewall and backwall (annotated Fig. 4) above and offset from the storage body (see Figs. 1, 4, 8), wherein the support structure (carton holder 100), the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4), and the rib (annotated Fig. 4)collectively define a channel (annotated Fig. 4), and wherein the channel (annotated Fig. 4) extends from an open back end (annotated Fig. 8) to an open front end (annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 22, Adamson further discloses a rib (bottom rib in Fig. 8, see also annotated Fig. 4 above) of a first female coupler of the first subset (bottom joining device 50) and a rib (top rib in Fig. 8; see also annotated Fig. 4 above) of a second female coupler of the second subset (top joining device 50) extend towards each other (see Fig. 8) such that no portion of the support structure intersects an axis (axis along channel, see Figs. 4, 8) extending between the rib of the first female coupler and the rib of the second female coupler (see Fig. 8).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamson in view of Satomi and in further view of Squiers.
Regarding claim 15, Adamson further discloses a plurality of male couplers (joining devices 55, Figs. 1. 4, 8) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100).
Adamson as modified by Satomi does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of male couplers comprising: a backwall extending from the support structure; an interior wall extending from the support structure; and a tongue extending from the interior wall offset from and above the support structure, wherein the support structure, the backwall, the interior wall, and the tongue collectively define a channel, and wherein the channel extends from a closed back end at the backwall to an open front end opposite the closed back end.
Adamson teaches “other types of attachment means are also possible” (col. 2, ll. 57-61).
Squiers teaches a container having a plurality of male couplers. Squiers teaches each of the male couplers (connection projections 46, Figs. 3-4) comprises a backwall (annotated portion of Fig. 4 below; para. [0121]) extending from a support structure (bottom member 22, Figs. 3-4), an interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the support structure (bottom member 22), and a tongue (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4) and backwall (annotated Fig. 4) offset from and above the support structure (see Fig. 4). Squiers teaches the support structure (bottom member 22), the backwall (annotated Fig. 4), the interior wall (annotated Fig. 4), and the tongue (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (channel 58, Figs. 3-4; para. [0121]) that extends from a closed back end (closed end 66, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) at the backwall (annotated Fig. 4) to an open front (open end 62, Fig. 4; para. [0121]) end opposite the closed back end (see Fig. 4). Squiers further teaches that the plurality of male couplers are arranged in a grid comprising at least two rows of male couplers and at least two columns of male couplers (see Figs. 3-4). Squiers teaches that more or fewer male couplers may be used (para. [0121]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers allow the container to engage with female couplers on a utility module (see e.g., paras. [0121]-[0122]). Squiers further teaches a latch (latch assembly 78, Fig. 3) that is configured to interface with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers from the utility module when the male couplers are engaged with the utility module (paras. [0122], [0127]). Squiers teaches that the male couplers and latch assembly permit a user to quickly couple and decouple the container from the utility module (paras. [0127]-[0128]).
Squiers is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention and Adamson of containers with couplers, and the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (i.e., male and female coupler arrangements on a container).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson/Satomi to swap the male couplers with the male coupler arrangement of Squiers having a plurality of couplers arranged in a grid, each having a backwall, an interior wall, and a tongue forming a channel with a closed back end and an open front end as it is no more than a simple substitution of one male coupler arrangement for another that is known in the art for the purpose of having a container capable of engaging another structure and would only produce the predictable results of having the container be capable of engaging another structure (MPEP 2143(I)(B)). It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the container of Adamson/Satomi to add a latch as taught by Squiers for the purpose of preventing sliding disengagement of the male couplers when the male couplers are engaged with a utility module and quickly decouple the container from the utility module, as recognized by Squiers (paras. [0122], [0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 16, Adamson further discloses each of the plurality of female couplers (joining devices 50) comprising: a sidewall (portion of annotated Fig. 4 above; see also col. 4, ll. 24-32, 61-65) extending from the support structure (carton holder 100); and a rib (annotated Fig. 4) extending from the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4) above and offset from the storage body (see Figs. 1, 4, 8), wherein the support structure (carton holder 100), the sidewall (annotated Fig. 4), and the rib (annotated Fig. 4) collectively define a channel (annotated Fig. 4), and wherein the channel (annotated Fig. 4) extends from an open back end (annotated Fig. 8) to an open front end (annotated Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) extend from a first side (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (Adamson, carton holder 100) and the plurality of female couplers (Adamson, joining devices 50) extend from a second side (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) of the support structure (Adamson, carton holder 100) opposite the first side (Adamson, Fig. 8), and wherein the first side of the support structure (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) and the second side of the support structure (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) are integrally molded together (Adamson, col. 3, ll. 23-30).
Regarding claim 18, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the plurality of male couplers (Adamson, joining devices 55; Squiers, connection projections 46) extend from a first side of the support structure (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) and the plurality of female couplers (Adamson, joining devices 50) extend from a second side of the support structure (Adamson, annotated Fig. 8) opposite the first side (Adamson, see Fig. 8).
Adamson as modified by Satomi and Squiers does not expressly disclose the first side of the support structure and the second side of the support structure are detachably coupled together.
Adamson teaches that the support structure “may be constructed from a variety of materials,” and may be injection molded plastic (col. 2, ll. 15-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the support structure of Adamson/Satomi/Squiers to form the support structure such that the first and second sides are detachably coupled together because it has been held that making pieces separable is an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)). Here, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see e.g., Applicant’s specification at para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Adamson as modified by Squiers already includes the container comprising a latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78), wherein one or more of the plurality of male couplers (Squiers, connection projections 46) are configured to engage with a utility module in the modular storage system to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module (Adamson as modified by Squiers is capable of engaging a utility module to detachably couple the support structure to the utility module via the male couplers), and wherein the latch (Squiers, latch assembly 78) is configured to interface with the utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the one or more plurality of male couplers from the utility module (Adamson as modified with the latch and male couplers of Squiers is capable of the latch interfacing with a utility module to prevent sliding disengagement of the male couplers).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733