DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03-01-2024, 08-27-2024, and 12-10-2025, 03-25-2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0277705 hereinafter Kim in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0305294 hereinafter Tateishi.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a copper foil (negative electrode collector) for a negative electrode of a high-capacity Li secondary battery (paragraphs 18-19), the copper foil comprising a copper film with protective layers (paragraph 26), and wherein the copper foil has a thickness of 6 µm (paragraph 70).
Kim does not specifically disclose the work hardening exponent n of about 0.1 to 0.25 of the copper foil and a true stress equation as represented in the claim.
However, Tateishi teaches an anode (negative electrode) current collector for a secondary battery, the current collector comprising a copper-tin alloy (paragraphs 28-31, 76, see Example 3), wherein the current collector has a thickness of 10 µm and a breaking elongation of 21.3% (see Claim 1, Embodiment 3B, Figs. 10 and 11). The elongation at break is 21.3% (2.88 mm), since the length of the measurement portion of the sample is about 13.5 mm from Fig. 10, the work hardening index is about 0.16 when the work hardening index is obtained using the stress-displacement curve in the same figure. Examiner submits that this is within the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such copper foil (current collector) for the negative electrode before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Tateishi discloses that elongation after fractures of the copper alloy foil according to Examples 1B and 3B greatly exceeded 7.95% while the tensile strength thereof was lower than 500 MPa as shown in FIGS. 10 and 11, and the copper alloy foil of Examples 1B and 3B was able to sufficiently bear roll press when an anode was produced (paragraph 102).
Regarding Claims 2-5, the combination teaches a copper alloy foil having an increased elongation (i.e., greatly exceeds 7.95%) and work hardening index of about 0.16 as described above. MPEP 2112.01 teaches that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Because the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions (i.e., elastic modulus, yield strength, dislocation density) are presumed to be inherent.
Regarding Claims 6-10, the combination teaches an electrolytic copper foil including a drum side and an air side opposite to the drum side (paragraphs 13, 28 of Kim), wherein the average size of grains included in the drum side is expected to be smaller than an average size of grains included in the air side (see MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding Claims 11-16, the combination teaches an electrolytic copper foil (negative electrode collector) and the X-ray diffraction analysis on the negative electrode collector is expected to be similar (see MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding Claims 17-20, the combination teaches a secondary battery and a method of manufacturing the secondary battery, the battery comprising: an electrode assembly including a negative electrode, a separator, and a positive electrode that are sequentially stacked and wound in one direction; and a battery container (i.e., cylindrical battery case) that accommodates the electrode assembly (paragraphs 80-88 of Kim), wherein the negative electrode comprises the negative electrode collector (electrolytic copper-alloy foil) as described above (see Kim and Tateishi described above).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752